Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson God's Promises for Girls

Thomas Nelson God's Promises for Girls

The promise verses in this book are selected from the best-selling International Children's Bible. to offer comfort and encouragement when a girl is feeling afraid, lonely, worried, angry, dissatisfied, discouraged, sad, rebellious, impatient, or sick . . . and when they need reassurance of God's protection, love, forgiveness, help . . . and that He listens when they pray. It's a great way for children to hide God's Word in their hearts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Promises for Girls
Review 1 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book. Gave it as a gift.

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stugator
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book is perfect to read to the little one at night or in the morning as a devotion. Great for life's lessons and virtures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good gift book

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jjlibrarian
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a devotional-type book designed for young girls. I gave it to my friend's 10 year old daughter, and she really appreciated it. There are sections for many of the emotions that a girl encounters on a daily basis, along with verses that apply to each of those emotions. I also would have liked a different version of the Bible to have been used, either NIV or KJV or ESV. However, for a young girl, this version works as a supplement to her daily reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s a cute little book for children, it has a hardcover and it’s designed very attractively for little kids.
This book is structured into 7 big chapters – God’s promises for different situations or encouragement for different behaviors (God wants you to …)
Each page starts with a little poem and then 3 or 4 verses are introduced to emphasize the topic and at the bottom of the page there is a cute illustration that exemplifies everything that was told before.
I personally liked the book and I think it is perfect for preschoolers. It is really easy to read, to follow and to understand. I also love the idea of structuring into topics because that makes it interesting and easy to memorize as well. And the cute illustrations, makes it even more appealing for little girls.
I am convinced that this book is a perfect tool for parents to teach their kids precious bible lessons so that they can understand and use them, and also to fall in love with the word of God starting from early ages, therefore I totally recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for little girls.

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alischka
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God's Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker is an amazing book! I haven't got children yet but I will definetely use this book when I have. In my opinion is this book a very good start how to speak with little girls about God and His place in their lives and how to get them interested in the Bible. And the illustrations are amazing! On each page you can find nice picture, title and Bible verse which is connected with the topic. Verses are from the International Children’s Bible® so children can understand better. It is done for whole bunch of situations in life – when the girl is scared, lonely, afraid of something, sad, worried, angry or things like trusting in God, feeling like a princess... It is most likely for girls aged 7-10 or maybe less. I love this book!
I would highly recommend it to everyone who has little girl.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
L
This childrens book is a collection of bible verses separated by topic. The book is most likely appropriate for girls 8-11. Each section normally begins with a picture and then a question or phrase relating to the topic. It is then followed by a collection of bible verses.When I chose this book I was expecting a good reference book for girls. One where if they had an issue they could look up a topic and find applicable biblical truths. However, I was surprised to find that I personally did not like this book. They got their verses from the International Childrens Bible. The wording for the verses was at times awkward and not clear. It was hard to understand the point they wanted the girls to see on each topic. I felt like the verses they used for certain topics were irrelevant. I would have liked the book a lot better if the verses were more relevant to the topics.I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
A King's Kid
This is a sweet and well written devotional. It is also organized nicely and to the point. My daughter loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendyburd1
This is a children's religious gift book. That is what it is supposed to be. There are verses from the Children's Bible on when you are lonely, angry, sick, etc. They are trying to get the message across that through any fears, feelings, any of these things, you are never alone. That God is always with you and won't leave you.I think the message is clear if you are a girl of 12 or older. I do not think this is a book for an actual girl. I think if I had been given this as a little girl, I would have found it as confusing, as the actual Bible. The illustrations are beautiful, as are the messages, I just don't feel is it for girls. Maybe 10 and up, but that is as low as I think it could go and those are for exceptional girls who really think. This is not a children's book as much as the author may have wanted it to be. Children need thinks broken down into even simpler ideas. These were thoughts, I, as an adult, found inspirational. I would recommend it for other people, just not children.*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cassie Hale
In a publishing world crowded by Promise books, Gods Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker, stands out from the pack. This book is sure to be a delight to any little girl and for many different ages as well. This book is well-categorized with such topics as anger, Gods Princess, fear, and forgiveness. There are seven subdivisions with several subjects within each. I especially appreciate the fact that the promises are covered in a two-page spread with just a few verses for each, opening with a nice little rhyme about the topic. Besides the wonderful layout and text, the illustrations are simply charming! There are representations of little girls playing soccer, knitting, worshipping in church, and standing in line at a bakery. This book is visually appealing to both young and old. My daughters, ages 10, 9, 7, and 2, all love this book. It has become our new morning (and sometimes evening) devotional and the girls take turns grabbing it up in between. Grab one today for your special little girl! Youre both sure to enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen
Years ago, I discovered my first Bible Promise book. Full of verses for every need, I used the book to find the perfect verse to claim for my circumstances, to uplift a friend, or even to put in a birthday card. Having given away several Promise books over the years, I was excited to find God's Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker. From the beautiful illustrations to the choice of topics & scriptures, this is a fantastic resource for young girls. The cute picture on the cover of the book is a great representation of what the inside holds for little girls. My daughter, who just turned 8, flipped through the entire book exclaiming over the pictures as she read the verses. On every page, a beautiful illustration captures the theme of each section, making the book fun even for pre-readers.Promises for Girls is arranged into sections that reflect a little girls heart. Each section includes 3-5 well-chosen verses from the International Childrens Bible. Scriptures are easy to read and to understand for little girls, while still reflecting the traditional verse. From Gods Promises When You Live Like His Princess to Gods Promises About Being a Good Sister to God Wants You to Keep Dancing! your little Princess will find a verse to encourage and comfort her. The books final section, God Promises to Save You includes verses reminding little girls that all they must do is believe in Jesus to be saved. One of my favorite parts of the book is the short poem at the beginning of each section. These four line verses bring the topic closer to home for a little girlreaching for her heart and explaining the relevance and importance of the verses to her life in a simple, fun way. Gods Promises for Little Girls makes a perfect gift for any little girl!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
My daughter squealed when we opened the package containing my latest BookSneeze book, God's Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker. She carried it around with her, and insisted I read the first few sections immediately. I was happy to comply.It's a small book -- roughly 7" by 5" and only 128 pages. Perfect size for Trina to be carrying around, and perfect size for me to not worry about having time enough to read.Each two page spread talks about a promise and includes a short rhyme, an adorable illustration, and a few Bible verses. One that hit home, as Grandma is visiting right now, is God's Promises About... Praying for Your Family:"Brothers, sisters, uncles, and aunts, Grandmommies and granddaddies too --Pray a prayer for your family,And thank God for giving them to you!"Verses such as Micah 7:7, Job 22:26-27, Acts 10:4 and 2 Thessalonians 3:3 and 3:5 follow, and the illustration has Mom, Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, two kids and a teddy bear around the table praying.My daughter adores this book, and I'm quite pleased as well.Disclaimer: As Booksneeze Blogger, I did receive this book for free from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
My oldest daughter (10yrs) started reading this and found that it is very helpful to her to find out what Gods Word says about these types of issues. I mean it talks about fear, being alone, feeling angry, etc and backs it all up with scripture. Its also talks about being Gods princess and just fills her spirit with Gods Word. I think this is a great little book to add to your daughters library and I would highly recommend this to a friend.I have found that the illustrations are beautifully done and on the same heart endearing level as Precious Moments. They are in beautiful color and go well with the subject matter for that page. As a mom I enjoy finding ways to encourage my daughters to find out what the Word says about certain subjects and this is one way I can do that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsay @ Lindsay Reviews
This book is filled with wonderful verses that any young girl can turn to for so many situations that life may hold for them. My girls are 2 and 3 years old.Well below the suggested age for the book (9-12 years).but I read parts of it to them nonetheless. My favorite was the section on being a good sister. My 3 year old loved it so much that she is sleeping with it right now.The illustrations are so adorable and really bring the section to life. Each section is only a few pages and has several verses taken straight from the Bible to support the opening rhyme. I think that a young teen girl trying to find her spiritual path would do well to have this book.Parents, this book is perfect for a baptism gift, birthday gift, I love you giftreally any occasion warrants giving your daughter Gods Promises for Girls. This and the complimenting Gods Promises for Boys would also make a wonderful guide to go by in a youth bible study group.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy
God's promise for girls written by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker is a must have for any girl in the ages of 7-13. This book is uses key verses to from the bible to encourage little girls. The illustrations in this book are the cutest and my kids love the. This book is broken down in to seven different sections of God's Promises such "making a difference", "help when" and other.Covering topics related to growing up , keeping your head up and also the gift of the Holy Spirit this book can prove to be an inspiration to any girl.This book is really a must have for any family with little girls. I have found that every scripture goes along with every promise in the book. My daughter wants to just keep reading and reading. This book would be a great way to daily devotionals with you daughter or even in saying bedtime prayers.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sabrina
Book Title: God's Promises --For Girls--By: Jack Countryman & Amy ParkerFirst off, I just have to say this book is adorable, the Design and Illustration is Purely adorable and so cute! I love it! That does really deserve a good 5 Stars!Second, I am Christian, And I do believe in God, as well as all of these promises.This book is a very good book, especially as an intro about God to the little girls. I read every single paragraph from the beginning to the end, and all of it was true, and I certainly did believe.I do really like how the related so much, and that all of the little- and big things- that little girls go through every day of their lives, is included here in this book, like "Dont be afraid of Monsters, God is with you. Or Being good with your friends, and ignoring fights. Or when you did a mess, and that you shouldn't lie."It kind of related so much to my childhood as to all of the things that would worry me, or scare me, or frighten me. Truly Amazing, each page made me smile.I do recommend Girls to read this, as this will truly fill your heart, and make you smile. Knowing that God is always there for you, Jesus and Your Angels as well.Very Neat. Informative. Sweet. Nice. What else? What words can I use to describe this? This book would certainly go to my permanent book shelf, and which I will show to my family. And every little girl from our family, letting them know that they are God's Child. That God, Jesus, and their Angels will Always be with them during the good and the bad. And I love how this also as well as giving the message, gives the message of also doing the right and good. And great Bible References, very well chosen.I truly love this book, It makes me smile, and it makes my Heart brighten...I love it.SabrinaLadiez Life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
We read this at the library this week. Gods Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker utilizes the bible and great biblical references and implements them into easy to understand illustrations for children. This book is so beautiful that I decided to write my review now so I can get the second book Gods Promises for Boys. The book illistrates the bible in a way to comfort young children when they are hurt, sick, sad, happy, lonely among many other feelings that young children have. Growing up I was a very emotional child and now I question the bible so much because I didn't have the bible or church implemented into my life. I do not know what to believe but I do know that there is God and I want to help children understand what I never could figure out. These picture/bible books are a great way to get children thinking about God, the bible, and their own lives and feelings, family, and what they want to value in their young and growing lives. The book is so attractive- one that I see little hands wanting to touch, feel, and hug tight. I personally feel like these books would be great to read to my own children before bed time- I want my own children to know that their mommy is learning along with them as well- they are not alone in this world and I as well as their God will be there with them every step of the way. I love children's books and I think children's bibles are a great way to entice children into learning more about their religion and these are perfect. They are not too wordy and they are perfect for slow, bed time reading that can help calm children's fears and make them feel relaxed and know that they are not alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Promises for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda
We read this at the library this week. Gods Promises for Girls by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker utilizes the bible and great biblical references and implements them into easy to understand illustrations for children. This book is so beautiful that I decided to write my review now so I can get the second book Gods Promises for Boys. The book illustrates the bible in a way to comfort young children when they are hurt, sick, sad, happy, lonely among many other feelings that young children have. Growing up I was a very emotional child and now I question the bible so much because I didn't have the bible or church implemented into my life. I do not know what to believe but I do know that there is God and I want to help children understand what I never could figure out. These picture/bible books are a great way to get children thinking about God, the bible, and their own lives and feelings, family, and what they want to value in their young and growing lives. The book is so attractive- one that I see little hands wanting to touch, feel, and hug tight. I personally feel like these books would be great to read to my own children before bed time- I want my own children to know that their mommy is learning along with them as well- they are not alone in this world and I as well as their God will be there with them every step of the way. I love children's books and I think children's bibles are a great way to entice children into learning more about their religion and these are perfect. They are not too wordy and they are perfect for slow, bed time reading that can help calm children's fears and make them feel relaxed and know that they are not alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.