Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson God's Promises for Boys

Thomas Nelson God's Promises for Boys

Perfect for little boys, this book is jam-packed with promises from God on subjects that affect boys' lives daily. Great for comfort and encouragement when young boys need reassurance of God's protection, love, and forgiveness. Promise verses have been selected from the International Children's Bible®. Recommended for ages 6-10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God's Promises for Boys
Review 1 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is also a good picture book

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
cinean
Location:TORONTO, ONTARIO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE WRITS IN THE BOOK FROM THE BIBLE ARE GOOD TO KNOW.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for teaching Biblical truths!

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
LisaS
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of this adorable book by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker from the publisher and of course, the timing could not have been better. Just a few days before, my 9 year old son asked Jesus into his heart!
This book of promises has been a perfect fit as my son makes his way through life as a Christian--trying desperately to understand that all of the answers he needs come from God. Of course, the easiest way to access this information is to read the Bible. This nice little book is 127 pages of wonderful compliment to the Bible.
With verses taken from the International Children's Bible, you can show your boys that God has made promises for everything from when you are tempted to do the wrong thing (1 Peter 5:8-9) to praising God (Isaiah 12:2). With this book of promises, you can teach your boys the basics with this fun resource and eventually, to turn to the Bible for the answers.
**Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun little book packed with advice and scripture!

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God's promises for boys" is a great book for boys that want advice from Bible verses about daily situations in life such as when: "You Want to Be Cool," "You Are Thankful," "God's Grace," "Being a Good Brother," "Stay Strong!" and many other topics.
Each topic has a couple sentences of advice and then three to four passages from the Bible that go along with that topic.
The illustrations are simple, bright, colorful and fun!
I think this is a wonderful book for boys to look up verses that are applicable to different situations.
It is fun and to the point.
Kids do not always have a long-lasting attention span and this book is perfect for that.
They can quickly find wisdom from the Bible in a neat little book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa
God's Promises for Boys book is such an encouraging and uplifting little book. Inside the book you can find bible verses showing God's promises. God's promises when you are worried, afraid, or don't feel important. God's Promises about begin a good friend, a good Christian, and on begin truthful. Children need guidance, and this book has helped me as a mother lead my son to scripture that will uplift him and answer some of his questions. Here is an example of God's Promises:God's Promise about...his LOVE!!!" Is God's love deep in your heart?It's time to let it show!Share a smile! Lend a hand!Let is overflow!"And this hope will never disappoint us, because God has poured out his love to fill our hearts. God gave us his love through the Holy Spirit, whom God has given us.Romans 5:5Each chapter has a Promise from God, a short paragraph to describe what the promise means and then scripture to show us more. We have been using this book daily, and I love seeing the change in my sons heart as he learns just how GREAT our father is.* I received this book from Thomas Nelson free of charge for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephenie
This is gift type book for boys. It gives topics, like "Making Each Day Count," "Obeying Your Parents," and "God Needs Boys." Each topic gets a two page spread (this is a smaller, hardcover book.) Under the topic heading, a short rhyme introduces the idea. Then appropriate Bible verses are listed with fun illustrations.This would be nice for family devotions, if you want to add your own discussion and prayers. You could choose a topic, read all the verses or just choose a few, then talk about it and pray together. I think it could be a great spark for family discussions.It is visually appealing with a contemporary color scheme (that appeals to me) and fun illustrations that will appeal to little boys.I think pre-readers to early elementary would most like this book.I'm looking forward to giving this to my nephews.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mattie
God's Promises for Boys By Jack Countryman & Amy Parker is a wonderful book for young boys and is packed with scripture from front to back. My son is too young to really understand these words on his own, but it is never too soon to start reading these scriptures and planting the seeds of the Word. The illustrations are adorable and the quotes at the beginning of each scripture are fitting and understandable for young ones. With kid-friendly topics like, "God's Promises When...You Want to Be Cool", "God's Promises About...The Man You'll Grow Up to Be", and "God Wants You To...Influence Your World", this book will be a go-to for topical scripture searches for our son. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
Having two little boys (and two girls) I'm always looking out for books that can be fun and encouraging to them -- ones that will lead their hearts towards Christ.Both hubby and I sat down and looked through this book. This 127 page book was loaded with goodies! We both agreed that it's loaded with scripture and something that our boys can learn from. We loved how it included the topic, a cute little rhyme and than the verses for us to either read out of the book or look up together with our boys. I mean how can you go wrong when it's based on God's Word right?I like that I could pick and choose topics like a concordance, so if we were dealing with a certain subject it was easy to find and pull out verses rather than a straight read through. I think that is useful and it will stay longer at our house because of that!We are stoked to start this book with our boys for their bedtime devotional. Not to mention the graphics/cartoons are cute and very boy friendly! My 5 year old was trying to draw them out too! We also appreciate that each devotion is short and sweet, so it will hold our boys attention!This would make a great gift/prize book for families, as well as just a nice devotionals for parents to read with their boys. Tommy Nelson also puts out a "God's promises for girls" as well, which I need to get my hands on!**review copy provided by Book Sneeze!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
As the Dad of two young boys, I am always looking for additional materials to use in discipling my sons. That's why I was pleased to have the opportunity to review God's Promises for Boys written by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker and published by Tommy Nelson, a division of Thomas Nelson Publishers.The concept of the book is quite basic. The book is divided into sections (God's Promises When...; God's Promises About Jesus; and five others). In support of each promise, the authors include a four-line poem, a cartoon illustration by Richard Watson that relates to the promise and 3-4 verses from the International Children's Bible.Upon receiving the book, I was surprised there was not more to it. After reading the book, I felt the same way. While the Scriptures listed are always applicable (not just for boys, but people of all ages), I expected more than a book of brief poems, possibly a book containing inspiring biographical sketches or stories of fulfilled promises. This book might be best used as a conversation starter with young boys. I've shared the book with my sons and while we have used it in our nightly devotional time on occasion, I do not anticipate that it will become part of our regular rotation before bedtime. I reviewed this book in conjunction with Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program, was not compensated for this review and the opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hope Marshall
In similar format and spirit to other titles on our shelves (God's Power for Fathers and The Bible Promise Book), God's promises...for boys... is a 127-page volume packed with topics and relevant Scriptures especially geared to engage boys and relate to them on a spiritual level. The plentiful and sweet illustrations are very appealing, and all three of my sons (ages 10, 5, and 3) enjoy the contents of this book. And what a pleasure it is to read aloud with them. Each section begins with a short rhyme explaining the topic then lists relevant Scriptural promises. It's easy to read several sections at a time or find a section that addresses a particular issue with which you are dealing. Topics cover a wide range of God's precious promises from His Word and include:God's Promises When You Are AfraidGod's Promises About Praying for OthersGod's Promises about Jesus - He is Your SaviorGod Wants you To Stay Strong!God's Love Never ChangesThe book uses Scripture from the International Children's Bible. I was not familiar with this translation, but I appreciate the simpler word choices in this type of format. There is a presentation page which makes it a perfect gift for that special little boy in your life. Highly recommended.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany Vaughn
I received God's Promises for Boys by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker. The book is 127 pages of pictures, poems, and scriptures. Each page deals with a different subject such as God's Promises About God's Grace or God's Promises When You are Worried. Each page has a short poem and several verses pertaining to the subject.It seems that the book is meant more as a gift book instead of a devotional appropriate for helping to exhort, instruct, and disciple your child. That, to me, was a bit disappointing. Anyone can go to the back of their Bible and find verses on a certain subject, but this didnt seem to appeal to a childs heart. Instead it is a cutesy concordance. However, this could be a great book to use as just that. If you want to teach your child how to use a concordance to look at what God says about certain subjects, this book with poetry and pictures would be very appealing to a child. Children need to be taught to search the scriptures to answer their questions instead of taking an adults word for it. If this is your goal, use this book as a tool, but teach your child to use his actual Bible to look up the verses in context.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com bookreview bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
KarenW
Jack Countryman and Amy Parker present a small volume of verses in one of the latest entries in the "God's Promises" series: God's Promises for Boys.The formula is simple: create a list of scenarios that a boy might encounter, add relevant Bible verses, sprinkle with whimsical illustrations to attract the eye and speak to the heart. The result is a charming book that makes a nice gift for an older preschool or young elementary-aged boy.Each 2-page spread focuses on a different topic. For example:God's promises when you are happy, when you are worried, when you are angryGod's promises about the man you'll grow up to be, about being a good brother, about being a better friendI shared this book with my own preschool-aged boys, who looked at the pictures while I read selected verses that I thought they might grasp. Whether they understood or not, they sat thoughtfully looking at the pictures as we talked about God's promises when you're afraid and when you need to be a good sport. I like that this book celebrates and uplifts boys (God Needs Boys, Stay Strong, Wear His Armor) while teaching Biblical truths that apply as much to parents as to children.I plan to leave this on their bookshelf: to pick up when we need a discussion starter or an encouraging verse to help them navigate the sometimes rough seas of childhood.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen
Jack Countryman and Amy Parker present a small volume of verses in one of the latest entries in the "God's Promises" series: God's Promises for Boys.The formula is simple: create a list of scenarios that a boy might encounter, add relevant Bible verses, sprinkle with whimsical illustrations to attract the eye and speak to the heart. The result is a charming book that makes a nice gift for an older preschool or young elementary-aged boy.Each 2-page spread focuses on a different topic. For example:God's promises when you are happy, when you are worried, when you are angryGod's promises about the man you'll grow up to be, about being a good brother, about being a better friendI shared this book with my own preschool-aged boys, who looked at the pictures while I read selected verses that I thought they might grasp. Whether they understood or not, they sat thoughtfully looking at the pictures as we talked about God's promises when you're afraid and when you need to be a good sport. I like that this book celebrates and uplifts boys (God Needs Boys, Stay Strong, Wear His Armor) while teaching Biblical truths that apply as much to parents as to children.I plan to leave this on their bookshelf: to pick up when we need a discussion starter or an encouraging verse to help them navigate the sometimes rough seas of childhood.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of theirbook review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacy
God's Promises for Boys was written by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker. My son and I have been reading this book at bedtime. He really enjoys the pictures on each page, and the little poems at the beginning of each "Promise".I also enjoy the poems and the pictures buy what I truly like about this book is the way it is divided up. It may be more appropriate for boys a little older than my three year old, I would say maybe first or second or third grade. The book is divided into seven sections, each section being broken down into a particular subject such as: "God's promises of help when... you don't feel important, or nothing is going right. Each promise has it's own poem and that poem is followed up by an excerpt from the bible to reinforce the promise. I think that for a young boy this could be a great reference. He can just flip through and find the appropriate section and find words of encouragement. Also a great reference for mothers and fathers as they encourage their children through the tough times that children face while growing up.I really enjoyed this book and I recommend it to any mom with a young boy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
The book is broken down into seven sections of promises that are close to the hearts of little boys. Each of these sections is further broken down into two page topics that have a title, a catchy couplet, and three verses. Some of the topics my son got the most excited about were God Wants You To Wear Your Armor and God Wants You To Stay Strong. The front of the book has a gift page so you can mark giving the book to the special little boy in your life. The promise verses are all taken from the International Chiildrens Bible, so they are easy for children to understand. That differs a bit from what we use in school, so the ones Isaac has memorized were different, but he really liked reading them in this version. The couplets are cute and easy for children to remember as well. I has been hearing the one about putting on your armor a lot around here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
AshleyJene
I recently have taken the time to read through this little devotional book for boys. I think it is a great book for both boys that can read and a nice reference book for parents of younger boys that are not yet able to read! My son is only three and with things like, "God's Promises when you need to be a good sport" and then they give a little poem, along with three scripture references. This book is full of great places to go to in the Bible to help little boys in certain situations in life!The other part of the book is the wonderful illustrations! Each of the Promises has an illustration that goes with it and the poem! A great book for parents of boys both younger and early teens!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Each 2 page spread has a 4 line poem celebrating an attribute of God, 3-4 Bible verses which support the theme, and a cartoon of a little boy reflecting the theme. It is a simple formula for a cute book. This book is a simple book of promises for little boys ages 6-8. Like any book of promises, it is not meant to be read cover to cover but in topic form. I am not sure a young boy would use this book for its intended purpose, but it is a cute book of promises.I am not sure if I really like this book but it does speak truth.To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
There is a new gift book available by Thomas Nelson. It is titled God's Promises for Boys, and written by Jack Countryman and Amy Parker. It has a collection of verses, taken from the International Children's Bible, that can comfort and encourage young boys in their everyday life. Each page has colorful illustrations and a 4 line poem, followed by 3 or 4 Bible verses that apply and support that particular truth. The first section is God's Promises When... and that includes topics like when you are worried, feel guilty or lonely, are angry, are afraid, etc. The second section is God's Promises About...God' love, grace, obeying your parents, serving, etc. Then it goes on to subjects like God Wants You To..., God's Promises of Help When..., God's Promises about Making a Difference, God's Promises About Jesus, and God's Promises for You. I feel it is a handy reference book for a school-age boy to see the promises made by God. As a parent you can help teach them how God is there for them through every situation. The verses are right at his fingertips and he can easily find them when going through a tough time. I read this book to my 7 year old boy, and I believe he is just at the starting age for this. He can easily use this book up until at least junior high. The colorful cartoon-like pictures help keep his attention as he hides God's word in his heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chin Jenny
This is the 7th book I have reviewed as a book review blogger for Book Sneeze (previously known as Thomas Nelson).I immediately request to review a copy of the book when I saw how cute the cover is, what more, it's for boys! Hooray! As a mother of a 14 months old boy, I get very excited when I stumbled into books for babies, toddlers and especially boys!Like I said, the book has a nice adorable and appealing cover. I like the colors used in the illustrations as it brings a comfy casual feeling - sort of like a prelude to a relaxing and easy going book.I love the way the authors lay out the scriptures accordingly, like God's promises when you are happy, or when you need help and so on. Of course at the moment, as I read and show my toddler the illustrations, I can see how fascinated he was with the colorful pages.Overall, I give this book a 9 out of 10. Go and get one! :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Cute little book full of Gods word for little boys. This is a very attractive, hardcover book . The illustrations are colorful and eye catching, making it easier to keep the attention of little ones. I like that the book is organized by subjects that make it easy to apply scripture to many given topics. Some of the headings are Gods promises when you need help, God wants you to count your blessings, and Gods promises about Jesus; He is your friend. Each topic starts out with a little rhyme and then includes 3-4 bible verses that coincide with that particular promise. The verses are out of the International Childrens Bible, and are very understandable while still being true to the Word of God. The text is age appropriate for about ages four and up as a read aloud, however, I wouldnt expect a very young child to be able to read this on there own. Because each topic can be read in as little as five minutes, this would make a great bedtime book. Each topic is illustrated, which is a plus for most children. The pages are high quality and glossy, making it a nice gift book as well. Very nice! I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God's Promises for Boys
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
I think it was in college when I bought a book of "Bible Promises". Essentially, it was a collection of Bible verses on various subjects taken out of context. I knew that this book was going to be such a book, but I was hoping that the verses would be really good ones and on target for the various subjects I expect to have to tackle with my son in the years to come. What I found was a book with 3 or 4 rhyming lines about the topic and then 3-4 verses. Sometimes the verses made logical sense to me and then other times not. I don't think it would be a very good devotional because it would be too quick. If you just want to check the box, I suppose you could use this book, but there are so many books out there that I think would be better. There were several topics about doing something wrong. Rather than reminding children that they should strive to do the right thing or that they should apologize and ask forgiveness, this book talked over and over about forgiveness and how children shouldn't feel guilty. Yes, it is true that we are forgiven. We attended a church for several years where grace was preached a lot--but living rightly wasn't. People are so afraid of legalism that as a culture we seem to shy away from even talking about how we should live. That way of looking at things seems to be very prevalent in this book. There is much talk of grace, but not of living rightly and repentance. I know this is just a book for little boys and parents. Maybe I sound too serious in this review, but I think there are many books that I would recommend instead of this book. For younger children 2-4, I would recommend the Read Aloud Bible Stories by Ella Lindvall and Big Thoughts for Little People by Kenneth Taylor for devotionals. For 4-6 year olds, I would recommend an out of print book called Everyday Adventures by Pat Holt if you ever come across a copy. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>