Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!

Thomas Nelson A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!

This complete resource helps teenage girls deal with all the traumas, dramas, and triumphs in their lives. The book is divided into Body, Mind, and Soul sections to address the relevant issues in each area of a young woman's life. It's "the" book for any girl wondering what's happening to her body, soul, and mind during these crazy years.

Revised and updated to include information on texting, sexting, and the viral cultural in which teens live, this book will help girls navigate their way through what can be a very tumultuous time in life.

With conversations with real teen girls, a foundation on God and the Bible, and helpful tips and questions for the reader, girls will gain an encouraging and fresh perspective on their lives.

Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Review 1 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan
Location:Lockport, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great resource for young ladies. Every teenage girl needs this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this book and it's previous version for our 6th grade girls retreat for the last several years. It is a very frank and open book about becoming a Christian woman and deals matter of factly with issues such as premarital sex and STDs. We decided to host an annual retreat when it became obvious that the girls were getting a lot of bad information from the World and were in dire need of some Christian based education in the area. The book is written to be easily read by girls of this age.
I have had several parents tell me that they find their girls picking up the book years later and going through it again. This book is an excellent resource when use with full knowlege of it's content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easy to read but not very serious

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stacie
Location:NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"A Girl's Guide to Life," by Katie Meier, is just what it sounds like--a two hundred plus page guide for tween/teen girls on a variety of subjects. She touches on issues such as self-esteem, romance, beauty, fashion, family, religion, peer pressure, and much more.
Meier writes in a plain, down-to-earth, rather light-hearted style which makes it an easy read. The sections are well divided so that one could even use the "Girl's Guide" as a reference book. Each section points out myths that teen girls often believe and counters them with facts.
Meier focuses throughout much of the book on strengthening one's mind, body, and soul, to become the person one desires to be. While this is technically a "Christian" book, it could just as easily be found in the general teen advice section--Scripture references and teachings are not many.
As a mom, keeping my young daughters in mind, "The Girl's Guide to Life" would not be the first book I would pick up to give them when they are looking for information. I understand that Meier is writing to teens, but her language, while easy to read, makes it hard for me to take her seriously. And she does touch on some serious issues. I think a bit more gravity would have gone a long way. Her advice also tends to lean too much to the liberal side for my liking. That said, I do like the fact that the author touches on some more "modern" issues not found in some other books of the genre--cyberspace etiquette and eating disorders, for example.
All in all, "The Girl's Guide to Life" is a fairly light-hearted advice book for teen girls, touching on a variety of topics with a focus on find and being true to oneself.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina Weigand
Going online, Guys-What's up with Them, Religion: These are just three of the chapter titles that Katie Meier covers in her book A Girl's Guide to Life.With the use of stories, charts, Bible references Ms. Meier covers the many issues that a teenage girl will face. She gives advice on how to handle the situations in a contemporary way using things like family, church, the Bible and God as your guides. In a very inciteful chapter she breaks down the different religious beliefs that a young person will encounter and states the truth behind all of them so the teen can make an informed decision on ways to handle situations that they will unlikely be presented with.Unfortunately I can't quote the whole book for you here. You'll just have to take my word for it that it is a book every teenage girl and every parent of a teenage girl should have. I wish that I had had it when I was raising my older daughter, and you can be sure I will be using and recommending it to my nine year old when she reaches those delicate teenage years. (Hopefully sometime around 20 or 30.) This is a book every teenage girl should have in their library.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
H G
I received a copy of A Girl's Guide to Life by Katie Meier from Thomas Nelson Publishers and I found it to be a great guide for young women. It touches on so many different subjects. From peer pressure to sex to even the subjects of text messaging and the internet! I especially love that the author really addresses how to be cautious when it comes to technology. So many young women use cell phones and the internet on a daily basis, so I think its really important to touch on this subject considering technology is a part of daily life for many people! It was nice to see this topic as well as many others. Such a broad range of topics. I feel like the tone of this book is definitely self respect and I absolutely love that because sometimes young women can forget how important that is with all the pressures of adolescence. Unfortunately it can be easy to lose sight of whats important: Self respect and respect for others. I really think that reading this guide will remind young women of what is important and empower them. This is a wonderful guide that I really believe in. I think it can definitely make a difference in a young woman's self esteem. This book has an incredible, powerful message. I wish there were more books like this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorrie Miller
A Girl's Guide to Life by Katie Meier:This is a book written for a teenaged girl. It is supposed to be a guide in many areas of life, including self-esteem, going online, sex, guys, family, religion, and much more. I received it from Thomas Nelson for the purpose of review.I enjoyed the conversational style of the book. I also thought the author covered some topics well--such as the "sex and sexuality" section. The book is honest and has some good information for mid-to-older teen girls.The author seems to write for a Christian girl, yet I found that her discussions in many topics are lacking in Biblical reference. Often the author includes biblical principals, yet fails to mention that they are Biblical. Other times, she simply comes from a seemingly worldly viewpoint and fails to include Biblical principals. (For example--in the chapter discussing family, the author concludes that families need to bring up hurts and discuss them, even if it isn't pretty and may cause a fight. She fails to mention that families need to forgive and move past hurts and love each other as Christ does. The reader is left with a somewhat worldly taste of what a family should do to solve conflict, rather than a Biblical view...)Overall, I think the book might be ok (and even helpful) for some girls. But, as a mom, I would not want to give it to my daughter! I'd much prefer a book with a more biblical perspective. I'd certainly want to discuss it with any girl who reads it--but it might work well as a conversation starter, anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heatherly
This updated re-release is a great discussion guide for teenage girls and their parents. Divided into three sections: Mind, Body, and Soul.As the author herself states, "Each topic is laid out pretty much the same way so you'll get info, answers to questions, and a dose of sisterly advice with each chapter."There is no need to read this book in order, or as a whole in one sitting, although I can imagine it being a great book to use for mother-daughter discussion dates.Since my own little girl is only one, I plan on passing this great book on to my sisters-in-law to use with my young teenage nieces. It would be a great go-to guide for girls with questions wanting factual advice, and scriptural input. A definite recommendation for moms of preteens, or anyone that plays the "big sister" role to a young woman after God's heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
A girls guide to life is written for teenage girls. The guide glosses over a variety of topics important to the pre-teen girl such as romance, sex and sexuality, peer pressure, your rights and guys. Katie Meier exposes a big myth in each chapter and presents the girls with the real deal so they can face life confidently. I feel the information in the book is well written and a great stepping stone for mothers and daughters to use as a starting point on how to become a young women. I would love to see a small group of pre-teen moms and daughters working through this book together while they enjoyed pizza and facial scrubs. Honestly, though my girls wouldnt buy this book for themselves. The layout of this book is boring, if my teen had flipped through it in the store, she would have put it back and that is unfortunate because I think she would have enjoyed it. The book lacks pizzazz and eye candy like pretty graphics and funky fonts. In an age where you have just seconds to grab a teens attention I feel this fails the test. I do recommend parents to buy this book and challenge your pre-teen daughters to read it, but what would be even better is if Mom or Grandma would read it with them. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Adverting".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
I had low expectations for this book. The title is so ... cheesy. I had visions of after-school-special style dialogue.And, there is some of that. As I read, I tried to think, "If I read this as a teenager, would I like that or would I roll my eyes and walk away??" Verdict: I think it's okay. Maybe a little eye-rolling, but maybe not walking away.Otherwise, the book has advice on various subjects: texting, sexting (!!! I didn't have to deal with that as a teen), dating, religion, fashion. As a mother of a girl, I appreciated that the author encourages girls to really think about these things--and from a Christian perspective.Four stars.FTC disclaimer:I was given this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers, and was not compensated or required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Katie Meiers a Girls Guide to Life teaches young Christian girls how to become safe and happy teenagers and young women. The book is divided into three sections: Mind, Body and Soul. Not only does Meier tackle the expected subjects of self-esteem, peer pressure, and dating, but she also addresses other issues, such as sex, sexuality, dieting, fashion, and online activity, that affect young girls as they transition into teenagers. I have to confess, Im not a young girl or teenager; but, the book would have answered many of the questions I had growing up. The layout of Meiers book (quizzes, fill-in charts, squiggley-line borders, and a nice lavender purple font) makes the book physically appealing. More important, is Meiers content. Although the book is geared toward Christians, religion does not overwhelm the reader. Yes, she does provide biblical support for her arguments, but a non-Christian could easily enjoy her book. Because much of the book is concerned with dating, I suspect some strict Christian families may oppose it. Personally, the only complaint I have about the book concerns the age group Meier is honestly addressing. Some of her language seems like it is written for first graders. For example, she warns readers that if they call a hotline, they will have to speak to a grown-up. Im pretty sure, most readers will know this. Nevertheless, I would recommend this book to young girls.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angell
A Girls Guide to Life is just about that. This book discusses many things that are concerns for a teen girl in her everyday life. From dealing with boys, peer pressure, friends, sex, and so on, this book covers it. It is like having a big sister wrap her arms around you and say Ive been there and done that and here is what you should do.I really wish I had this book back in my teen years. There is such an attack these days on young girls and this book helps these wonderful young women to find the balance and show them how to fight for themselves. Not only is it hard to be a teen girl today, its even harder to be a Christian teen girl. Katie Meier lists some common myths that teens believe and explains the realities of them. One example is Guys are just jerks. Ill just deal with their joking about my bodyher response is Guys are abusing your rights if they tease you about your body. I wish someone told me that when I was in school. This book is filled with them and with great advice that any teenage girl could benefit from. I thank Thomas Nelson for providing me with this complimentary book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
I am really looking forward to Kayla doing this book this year for school. When I got it in, I thumbed through the pages and was immediately drawn to all the topics it covers for girls. I think every teen girl should read this book. I wish I would have had it when I was a teenager. I could have had many answers to the questions I had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
I have to admit at first I was a little disappointed in Katie Meir's book - "A Girl's Guide to Life." Very little is mentioned about having a relationship with God and his involvement in our lives, and it has even less mention of any Scriptures or Scripture basis for any of the topics. One chapter is dedicated to religion and showing that Christianity is different from other world religions, but still no Scriptures are mentioned. Katie is pretty cut and dry when addressing the readers, which Im sure many girls just need someone to be upfront with them about life in general. Katie begins chapters with statements like, "This chapter isn't going to pull any punches," and "This is the hardest thing I'll have to tell you, and I'm not gonna beat around the bush."She does however address many up-to-date, time-sensitive issues in the lives of teenage girls such as texting and sexting, disorders such as anorexia and cutting, body changes including answering questions about breast changes and tampon vs. pad use, etc.My own 16-year-old daughter wasn't really captured by Katie's style of writing. She's read several books for teenage girls such as Jenna Lucado's "Redefining Beautiful" , Rebecca St. James' "Pure", and Eastham/Farrels' "Guys are Waffles, Girls are Spaghetti" and loved them!Even though my daughter and I aren't rave reviewers for "A Girl's Guide to Life," this does not mean God isn't using it! It does hold a lot of great factual, in-your-face reality advice that many teenage girls need to hear from somewhere! Katie addresses important issues that many parents may not feel comfortable talking to their daughters about especially if their daughters are in the midst of dealing with these sensitive issues, or you may know girls who do not have anyone in their lives to share this with them. Katie does give solid advice; I was just disappointed there wasn't more Scripture included to back up the truth that was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Girl's Guide to Life: The Truth on Growing Up, Being True, and Making Your Teen Years Fabulous!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Now that I'm a mom of a little girl, I worry about her having self esteem issues like I had when I was growing up and how my husband and I will teach her to overcome these insecurities (or not have them at all).A Girls Guide to Life by Katie Meier, from Thomas Nelson is a book that shows girls how to be the best person they can be by having confidence in their beliefs, values and decisions.I loved the fact that the author was encouraging girls to talk things out - with their parents or a trusted adult in almost every chapter.This book is written from a Christian perspective and I can appreciate how Christian beliefs were incorporated into the book. However, I found what the author was saying in certain parts of the book contradictory. In one of the chapters, Katie discusses how one must always be open minded and accepting of other people's beliefs. Yet in the religion chapter where she describes the differences and similarities of other religions compared to Christianity, she says that there is no other choice but to be a Christian.Aside from that one chapter, I think the book would be a great resource and read for girls who are approaching or in their teenage years. It's also a great resource for parents as it explains all the emotions and realities of what it is like to grow up in the technology age (they talk about texting on cellphones, interacting on social media sites like Facebook and MySpace). These things weren't around when I was growing up but will definitely be topics of discussion in my home when my daughter gets older.Overall, the book was good and Katie did a good job of dispelling the myths of teenage emotions. Girls need that - not those tests in magazines that try to figure out "Your Perfect Guy", "Your Dating Style" etc. It was great that Katie shared stories of her teenage years and how she dealt with some issues/decisions - I just wish there was more of that in the book so she could connect more with her readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.