Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Precious Moments Storybook Bible

Thomas Nelson Precious Moments Storybook Bible

Engage children with this Bible storybook that features whimsical and nostalgic Precious Moments characters that will delight little hearts in full color illustrations. The Bible stories have been adapted from the International Children's Bible, and the text is large and readable, ensuring young ones' understanding of God's word. Also included are children's song lyrics, prayers, and a presentation page that features a family tree. Recommended for ages 4-7.
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Review 1 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

execllent bible

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkjsbooks
Location:West Virginis
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book is so wonderful for children, the illustrations are beautifully done and over all it's a real good book for young children.
This is a perfect book to give as a first bible for any occasion, I got this for my granddaughter who is 10 months old as her first bible , with beautiful pictures and illustrations it will capture her attention and encourage her to read the bible.
I highly recommend this precious bible, perfect for baby shower gift or any occasion or just because.
I was provided this book by book sneeze in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good bible for a 4 year old.

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Geeknee
Location:San Bernardino
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My great granddaughter had her 4th birthday, and I bought
the Precious Moments Bible Stories for her. She was thrilled with it, the pictures are so great and I liked that the stories follow the bible closely. It has become her favorite bedtime story book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book to treasure

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shani
Location:Pretoria, South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from booksneeze.com and think I was more excited upon opening this book than my 3 year old little boy. The large pastel illustrations are beautiful and will keep toddlers interested while you read. The bible stories are written in plain and simple language, also with large writing, which is great for the beginner reader.
I was impressed by the different sections the book is divided into. There is a section to fill in the child’s family tree information, important church events, and favorite things. The bible stories are also divided into “Bible Classics”, “Words of Praise and Wisdom” , “More Stories of the Faith” and “Songs and Prayers” . The book ends of with a section that older children will enjoy, here the child can write down his/her own prayers “for someone who loves me”, and “my own bedtime prayer”. I think this will encourage children to think about what they are praying.
The book has definitely made an impression on my little boy who loves re-telling the bible stories to anyone who will listen.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Book

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Artsy Abbi
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently received "A Precious Moments Storybook Bible". It is a very nice padded hardcover book of nice quality. I enjoy the Precious Moments style pictures and this book is just filled with them. Each page with words has a cute colorful border and there are many full page pictures too.
I had expected the book to be in Biblical Order but instead the stories are listed topically with the following divisions: "Favorite Bible Classics", "Words of Praise and Wisdom", "More Stories of Faith" and "Songs and Prayers". The stories and Scriptures are definitely rewritten to make them easy for children to understand. It is a very kid friendly book!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Gift Book

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
delilahg
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Precious Moments Storybook Bible is a treasure. This 179 page children’s Bible begins with fill in pages for a family tree, a church record and a page to list the child’s favorite things. It continues with classic Bible stories, moves on to stories of praise and wisdom and then stories of faith. The stories are written in simple language and the use of a large font makes the pages very appealing to a child. The illustrations are endearing, like all Precious Moments, and fill the entire page. Smaller illustrations are included in the border around all the words in the story. This book has a hard cover that would be durable in the hands of a child. The story book bible ends with a section of songs and prayers and includes a page for writing your own prayer.
This book would make an excellent gift for any child and the price seems reasonable given the quality of this book. I would recommend it for children who are beginning readers. Completing the information in the family tree and other pages could become a family learning project.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Precious Moments Storybook Bible Review

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
FSA Home School
Location:michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reviewing Bibles, especially children's Bibles, they make great gifts and what better gift to give than that of God's Word written especially for little ones.
We have a bunch of Baby showers coming up and I think this would make the best addition to any baby shower, new arrival or Baptism Gift. A gift to be treasured always there is a dedication page in the front and a beautiful padded cover, with a picture of a Mommy reading the Bible to children.
The book is beautifully written and illustrated, as a long time follower of Precious Moments this especially touched my heart. Another feature I loved about this book, was toward the back there are simple prayers to teach young children as well as pages that are blank and awaiting for you to write in prayers that are near and dear to your family or maybe ones that you and the children think up. What a treasured Keepsake to be handed down for generations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Might be a bit expensive, but worth it!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
AyReen
Location:CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love precious moments! But at first I thought this book is too expensive.
However, I got it at the end, and like it!
This book is very nice to read, esp. for small kids.
It contains bible stories, and with the lovely pictures of "precious moments icons"..
The story it self is on a large font, so it's easy to be read.
The book basically covers some classic bible stories, from creation, the eden, flood in noah's time, and until Jesus going back to heaven. 15 stories at the total..
Also some praises and wisdom from Psalm and Proverbs.. And additional stories of faith.. Besides bible stories, there are also simple songs and prayers.
I would suggest to buy this for a "bed time story" time, so the kids can read along.. I'm sure it will add a value to the quality time we have...
I think this book is best for kids up to 10 years old.
Above 10, they may think it's too boring because the stories inside are somewhat popular stories that they might have known.. :)
I got this book from the BOOKSNEEZE.COM.. And ofcourse, this review is based on my personal point of view, and I'm not forced to write a positive comment.. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good storybook bible for children

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellyn Leow
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good children storybook and I love every picture in the book. The print is very large, suitable for children age 4-7, a thick hardcover A4 size book and most important - very easy to read, to understand and to complete a story. Although I am not a Christian, I still love reading the whole book. It helps me to understand bible in a much simpler and faster way. This book has 4 sections - Favorite Bible Classics, Words of Praise and Wisdom section, More Stories of the Faith section and the Songs and Prayers section. I was delighted when I saw the lyric of Jesus loves me in the Songs and Prayers section. The lyrics pattern resemble so much of the song (Mummy loves me) - a song Kylie sang to me during Mother’s Day 2 years ago. I am now determined to find and listen to this song.
This book is a great bible book for children and I rate this book 5 out of 5. This book teaches children to be good to people, to ourselves and to have faith. I believe this is what every religion is preaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimy
Location:seattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The precious moments story book bible.
How can you not think precious moments are cute? My friend used to say that they were so cute that you could hate them. Its hilarious. But I digress. I received the story book bible in the mail through booksneeze.
And yes it is cute. Its such a good tool. I don't have kids but I will probably save it for when I do. Its nice and short stories. I don't like that it skips from book to book though. I wish it would be in order. Just picking out the stories from the bible in old testament and new testament. But it is what it is. Its still good regardless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Precious Moments storybook Bible

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
judesmommy08
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing, beatufiul, great. I love this book. The words are big enough to read without squinting. There are all the major stories. There are even songs at the end (no cd though). My son and I will have a lot of relaxing moments reading this book together.
I highly recommed to anyone wanting a childrens storybook bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Precious Moments Storybook Bible

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm always interested in Children's Bibles and was excited to see Precious Moments had one! It's called ‘Precious Moments Storybook Bible’, by Sam Butcher. It's filled with adorable Precious Moments illustrations of those cute teardrop eyed children and animals making it a very sweet Children's Bible indeed. It has a section in the front to fill out such items as who this book belongs to, a family tree and a record area for special events. The Bible stories are broken up into three sections: 'Favorite Bible Classics, Words of Praise and Wisdom and More Stories of the Faith'. I really appreciated the section 'Words of Praise and Wisdom' which includes scriptures from Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Isaiah. There's also a section of 'Songs and Prayers' including such favorites as 'Jesus Loves Me' and 'Amazing Grace'. These Bible stories are great for 3 - 8 years old as the stories are a bit lengthy and not the short rhymes that you find in many Children's Bibles. I have a few problems with a couple of the stories for example, the creation story leaves off the 7th day of rest and the story of Joseph focuses on the story up to when he's sold into slavery. It concludes summing up the rest of Joseph's story with the fact that Jacob 'didn't know that Joseph would become a successful ruler in Egypt and a faithful man who loved his God'. I would have liked to see more included on Joseph's time in Egypt. It's a beautifully illustrated book with thoughtfully selected Bible stories and lots of opportunities to personalize it into a special keepsake for your child.
I received a free copy of this book from Book Sneeze blogger review program for the purpose of this review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are loving this book!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
squidmom
Location:San Angelo, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really lovely book; my daughter was really excited as soon as she received it. I imagined that it was smaller and an actual Precious Moment’s bible like the one I had growing up. It’s neither of these things but is what it says it is a storybook bible.
I don’t find fault with that, it contains all of the favored stories from the bible and each is illustrated in full color. My child likes looking at the book even when I am not reading it to her. It is worded in a way for the youngest of children to understand, but not in a babyish way; I would say perfect for ages 3- 9 at least. The Precious Moment’s storybook bible is a great book for your child or to give as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful keepsake

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice children book - hardcover, beautifully illustrated, and large print. It is a very beautiful keepsake. It has a presentation and family record section, where you can write your name, family tree, church record and My favorite things. It has 4 sections - Favorite Bible Classics, Words of Praise and Wisdom section, More Stories of the Faith section and lastly is the Songs and Prayers section.
The stories are taken from the International Children's Bible. All stories are simple and easy to read, and mostly not more than 3 pages including illustration. It is great for morning devotions, nap-time, or bedtime stories. This book is recommended for ages 4 to 7. Besides the children, I myself like this book very much. It helps me to understand bible in a much simpler way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Graet for children

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
markntiff777
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to receive the Precious Moments Storybook Bible from Thomas Nelson, Inc. I started reading the stories to my 2 year old daughter. She enjoyed looking at the pictures. I like how the book is divided into sections: Favorite Bible Classics, Words of Praise and Wisdom, More Stories of the Faith, and Songs and Prayers. This book is very rich in Scripture and your children will enjoy hearing the Bible truths over and over again. I also like that it is a hard cover book. This is a great book for 2 - 5 year olds. I know this book will be read over and over again for many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
cher
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my niece's baptism gift. It is a beautiful keepsake that I know she and her family will read and enjoy for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for young children!

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
BrandtBookTree
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I picked the package up at the mail, opened it up and showed it to my 2 children, they were really excited. They wanted to sit down and read the whole thing right away!
I wasn't sure what size the book would be but was pleasantly surprised that it is about the size of an 8x10 picture. The words are large enough that a beginner reader would be able to read or follow along.
The pictures in the book, held the attention of my 2 little ones (4 & 2) and my 4 year old daughter commented how nice they looked.
The Bible Stories were detailed enough for young children so that they would get the true meaning of the story but were still simple enough so that they could understand everything that was being read.
The Bible is split into 4 sections:
Favorite Bible Classics: Noah and the Ark, Moses and the Basket & David & Goliath are just 3 of the 14 stories.
Words of Praise & Wisdom: sections from Psalms & Proverbs
More Stories of Faith: such as Daniel & the Lions' Den, Jesus' Birth and parables.
Songs and Prayers: also is included a place to record special prayers you and your child have.
There is also a section in the front to record a family tree and church records.
The Precious Moments Storybook Bible, has great stories for children and wonderful colorful pictures that would make this a great Bible or devotional book for your little one. It would also make a great gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Children's Bible

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Precious Moments Storybook Bible
The Precious Moments Storybook Bible is a large, hardback, children’s Bible that is written in language easy for a child to understand. It is divided into the following sections: Favorite Bible Classics, Words of Praise and Wisdom, More Stories of the Faith, and Songs and Prayers. Each page has illustrations to capture a child’s attention. The last section, Songs and Prayers, has well-known songs written out for children, as well as traditional prayers and rhyming prayers.
I would recommend this Storybook Bible to anyone with young children that wants to read the Bible in words the child will understand. As a child learns to read, this will also be a great Bible for him/her.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1400315999&title=Precious_Moments_Storybook_Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Precious Moments Storybook Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet little gift book for any young child.

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
remmie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Precious Moments Storybook Bible” by Sam Butcher is a delightful book for any toddler, preschooler, or elementary school aged child.
The book includes important lessons, instructions and parables from the Bible in a format a young child can understand. Stories are from both the Old and New Testaments. Each story lists the Bible verses that the story refers to, so you can look up the verses in your Bible as you read. It also includes adorable and sweet full color illustrations of the Precious Moments characters. Each page has a charming border with little animals or objects as well. The colors are pastel, but appropriate for a boy or a girl.
The text is very large, making it easy for a beginning reader to see and follow. It is also great for a grandparent or anyone with poor vision, because the large text makes reading to a child easy and enjoyable.
As a bonus, included is a wonderful section of childrens songs that many readers will recognize (I grew up singing these precious songs in Sunday School). There is also a great section of special prayers that you can use for bedtime, or anytime you want to pray with your child. You can also use this to teach children to pray on their own. The front of the book has a nice record section you can use to record presentation information, the child’s family tree, and special events in the child’s life.This Storybook Bible would make a very nice gift for any young child.
(Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing me a copy of this book to read and review. I'm a member of Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.