Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx

Tyndale House NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx

The Guys Life Application Study Bible features designs and notes created uniquely for guys 11 and up. This Bible was developed and written by experienced youth and children’s writers, ministers, and experts to engage today’s tween- and younger teen-aged guys. The notes help them learn to think biblically about real issues they face, such as self-esteem, friendship, and peer pressure. Based on the bestselling Life Application Study Bible.

FEATURES:

  • Age-appropriate notes, including:
    • Freeze Frame—A first person narration of Bible characters about their own experiences and lessons learned
    • What Now?—Unique, authentic scenarios about boys that are written in the third person, in a conversational format. Designed to leave readers to make their own decision about a real-life situation, while being pointed to scripture for answers
    • I Survived!—Personal stories of how older teens handled situations tweens are currently facing
    • I’m Not the Only One!—Gives a lighter perspective on embarrassing situations
    • Amazing Facts—Interesting tidbits of information from the Bible designed to hook readers to scripture
  • Fashionable cover designs
  • 16 pages of full-color illustrations walk the reader through Bible-time daily life and customs
  • Presentation page
  • 90-day reading plan
  • Topical index
  • 8.75 font size
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Review 1 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Better for the younger crowd

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
NutsAboutBooks
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Both this for our 12 year old. It looked like it would appeal to him from the cover, but the illustrations in the Bible seem geared to a younger age group (at least to him). I feel like it would be best suited to boys age 10 or so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Really a Study Bible

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
7wheelers
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To me, a study bible helps you translate what you just read by "talking" about the verses at the bottom of the page. This bible does not have any notes to help explain what you just read. There are some questions to help you think about how what you read relates to your world today and some information at the beginning of each book of the Bible that talks a little about that book. If you are looking for a true study Bible, this is not it. I love my Life Application Study Bible, NIV, by Tyndale - sometimes there are more notes on a page then text from the Bible just to help you understand what you read. I was hoping this was similar but geared towards my boys, it is not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My nephew loved it

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
gglendy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it as a gift for my sixteen year old nephew and he has told me more than once that he loves it. He said it was a great gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great products and service

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kell
Location:Big Flats, Ny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered study bibles, highlighters, bookmarkers and many other books and stocking stuffers, we were pleased with everything and great service and delivery on time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Son can't put it down!!!

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Niagara, Ontario CANADA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's something every parent wants! My son is 10 going on 11 in a month and loves his new bible. It gives him senerio's he has encountered or will encounter at school with his peers. He loves how this version reads easily for him, in everyday language. He has had such revelation relating God's word to his everyday life!! It's so good that he has committed to reading as much as he can on his summer break! I would encourage anyone to purchase this particular version for this age. This will be a great source right into highschool.... very pleased!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tween Bible

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hope4kids
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our church bought this product for our 5th grade graduates. Very happy with them. The life application aspect of this Bible is a great plus. It points to specific scripture regarding specific issues they deal with.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nine
Location:Miami, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item as a Christmas gift for my older brother, who has just been diagnosed with cancer, and even though he is a Churchgoing man, I am not sure he has a close personal relationship with the Lord.
I trust the Holy Spirit will inspire him to get closer during these next months and he will maintain this relationship all his life.
The Bible is perfect for him and he can carry it to his chemo sessions as well as use at home while convalessing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula W
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an excellent resource for us. We gift our third graders with Bibles, and they were very excited about receiving them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great teen bible

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
momoftwo
Location:NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read, real life scenarios to tie in with scripture, engaging to read, plain talk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dawn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this Bible!!!! He does keep it in the case because he likes the picture and we ordered the leather cover not the hard cover
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Was just what we thought it would be.

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this Bible. Nice colors. Text is clear and easy to read. Lots of fun, interesting details. The name on the front turned out to look very nice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vincent Owoc
A great bible for the 11-16 age group. I highly recommend the engraving so that there is a visual reminder that the teen/tween personally identify with the bible. Cover is very nice and my son loved the silver lining on the pages. He loves this bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
brenda chastain
My son picked out this Bible and loves it he reads it all the time. It makes it easy for a teenage boy to understand. It also has pictures and inserts of things that young boys are faced with today. I would highly recommend it for any teenage boy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Guys Life Application Study Bible - leatherlike onyx
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Bouie
I bought this Bible for my 10 year old grandson and he loves it.When he saw the illustrations it was likeWOW.Next year I will get the girls edition for my granddaugther
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.