Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson You Were Made to Make A Difference

Tommy Nelson You Were Made to Make A Difference

Best-selling author Lucado and his daughter Jenna have adapted Outlive Your Life for teens who want to change their world! Interactive practical tips and real-life stories will help your youth groups learn that God can use them right now to make a difference for his kingdom. Includes journaling space for personal ideas and service goals. 208 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Review 1 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lucado is ALWAYS awesome!!

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
hoyboat
Location:Twinsburg, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One can never go wrong with writings of Max Lucado!! I would like a study guide for this particular book, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Creative and Encouraging

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
CTF Devourer
Location:CTF Devourer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Genre: Non-fiction
Target Audience: Girls & Boys 12-18
Subjects: Missions, Purpose
Summary: Do you ever wonder what your purpose in existence is? Do you feel as though you have nothing to give, as though your life is pointless? If so, this book can encourage you. Well-known author Max Lucado with the help of his daughter and Natalie Gillespie wrote this book to talk about your purpose in existence, what your Creator designed you for. The focus is that “You were made to be a world-changer – yes you”.
Notes: This book is written in a journal or scrapbook style with little sections here and there. It’s designed to look a bit like a bulletin board with notes tacked or stuck to it in various places. It is written directly to the reader, as though they were there having a conversation with the teen. There are sections for journaling and questions to consider, snippets of stories about teens who are currently making a difference in some way, verses to look up and read, and research projects to do. The goal is to get teens to wake up and realize they were created for an amazing purpose and should not let their “youth” stand in the way of doing great things for God.
Recommendation Scale: 5/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi
1 Timothy 4:12 –Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in life, in love, in faith, and in purity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for teens looking to make a difference!

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Huntter
Location:Hastings, NE
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible book!! I actually read it in like two days but I postponed putting out a review right away because I found out that my youth group was doing to video study on Wednesday nights as our curriculum. I wanted to see how it corresponded with the book. I was surprised at how well it corresponded and the way it was presented to catch a teen's attention. Provided practical ideas of how teens, like me, can make a difference in our world by doing seemingly mundane things. Teen's are often made to feel like they can't do anything to change or make a difference in their world. Max and Jenna did a great job at showing how much simple acts can change the world, but not only simple acts, simple acts done by teenagers. It was very insightful and VERY encouraging!!! Awesome book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An incredibly inspiring, hands on book.

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Specifically targeted at teenagers, the book is relevant, inspiring and fun. Encouraging teens to find out what gifts and talents God has given them and to then put them to use in creative ways to share the love of Jesus with others. Using success stories of other teens and sometimes children to prove that despite age, you can make a difference. Thought-provoking questions to answer, small snippets of information, websites to visit and a fun layout make this book interesting, interactive and engaging.
Chapter 1 sets the stage with 3 thought provoking questions:
Question #1: If you were a German Christian during World War II, would you have taken a stand against Hitler?
Question #2: If you had lived in the South during the civil rights conflict, would you have taken a stand against racism?
Question#3: When your grandchildren discover you lived during a day when 1.75 billion people were poor and 1 billion were hungry, how will they judge what you did to help?
He made you. He made you one-of-a-kind. He made you to make a difference.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Preteens, Young Teens

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Cool
Location:Ephrata, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book follows the same conversational arc that Lucado's adult book Outlive Your Life does, with the book of Acts as the basis for how to make a difference in the world. But the design and copy are teen oriented (although I feel it is geared more for young teens), and the stories told of people making a difference are all about teens and preteens.
The user friendly content and the stories of people their own ages should keep kids interested and hopefully give them confidence that they, too, can change the world. Practical ideas for doing just that decorate the pages, and it also provides ways for teens to raise funds to do God's work. I look forward to sharing You Were Made to Make a Difference with some of the teens in my church. I want to see if it inspires them to do big things for God as they allow him to use them.
As I read the book, it reinforced many of the points that struck me in the adult version of the book, including the idea that we don't have to be anyone more special than we already are (as God's child) to be God's hands and feet in a hurting world.
This passage really hit me:
Prayer is our foundation for making a difference. Trying to change the world without prayer is like trying to use a new iPod without charging the battery. You have to connect to the power source before you can start rockin'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a special book

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda W
Location:Waterford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of course, you can't go wrong with a book with the Lucado name on it and this one is from two Lucados! Max's daughter wrote it.
This book has a special journal appeal. With cute illustrations and great information to help someone who could use a little boost in self-esteem. Great for teens!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book for teens!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently provided a copy of 'You Were Made to Make a Difference' by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado Bishop to read and review. Max Lucado is a well-known author, and this is co-written with his married, young-adult daughter. The book is aimed at the teenage population, to inspire them to make a difference in their community, but I could see any adult getting knowledge and inspiration from reading it. I enjoyed the style of this book. It is not overwhelming in size, a fairly quick read. Many different fonts are used throughout, which would keep a teen's attention. The sections are written by and labeled 'Max' and 'Jenna', which is great to get both of their perspectives. There are cute illustrations, photos, and blank sections to answer questions asked. At the end of each chapter is a prayer. There are many true stories and analogies in 'You Were Made to Make a Difference', and frequent scripture references. This book convinces kids that they CAN make a difference, even now before they are adults. It encourages them to start in their own community, with small acts of kindness. I really enjoyed this book, and I'm looking forward to having my kids read it! I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a cool little book from it's contemporary scrapbook style, to the textured fingerprint on the cover. It's a highly motivating, straight forward, easy-to-read and follow-along-with inspiration written directly to today's texting-teen generation. It's full of examples of teens who stepped out to make a difference- some I've heard of, some I haven't, but all encouraging our teens that they CAN make a difference. I LOVE how the book is divided into little blurbs clearly labeled as "Max" and "Jenna" as each is commenting. Jenna's personal experiences from a teenager's language and views coupled with her dad's amazing relational style of writing makes this book an absolute joy to read. It is full of scriptures, quotes, prayers, thought-provoking questions as well as cute illustrations and photos of real people making a difference in their world.
After reviewing "Outlive Your Life", I especially enjoyed reading the parallel of the adult book with this teen version.
Highly recommended!!!!!
*I received this book free as a part of the Thomas Nelson Book Sneeze program, opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
SafferSeven
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You were made to make a difference
By Max Lucado and his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop
It is a book aimed at the youth of today, encouraging them to realize their need and ability to change the world. However, it is a book that would be helpful to anyone looking for inspiration or motivation to be more active in changing the world. There are many personal stories about people who did make a difference and people who are making a difference. It is also filled with useful and practical ideas and suggestions.
The layout of the book is awesome! With all the watermarked pages, pictures, fingerprints, and testimonials it’s hard to put down.
The book is a must have, if not for any other reason than the stories of people making a difference. It will inspire you to want to make a difference. Even if you are a ‘plain cheese pizza’ person ☺
This book was given to me for free in return for a non-biased review. I was not required to write a positive review. You can also get free books at booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You Were Made To Make A Difference by Max Lucado and Jenna Lucado Bishop with Natalie Gissipe is a terrific book! I love books that inspire and encourage me to open my eyes to the needs of others and make a difference! Maybe I’m young, maybe I’m idealistic, but I like to think that by the grace of God, I can help change the world. I hope I never outgrow that. They talk about how important it is to have a close relationship with God because without that, you can forget about truly changing the world. It makes me think of John 15:5b ”apart from Me you can do nothing”.
There are real life stories of teens who have been used by God to meet the needs of others. I was already very familiar with the story of Austin Gutwein (founder of Hoops of Hope and author of Take Your Best Shot) and Alex and Brett Harris (founders of The Rebelution and authors of Do Hard Things and Start Here). I also knew about Zach Hunter but there were other stories I hadn’t known; they were interesting to read. I encourage both children and teens to read this book.
~This book was made available to me for free by Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an amazing book for teens!

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Howson
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a teen you can feel that your purpose in the world is of no value. Max, Jenna and Natalie write to inspire youth of their value to a living God. Then they challenge us to stand up and live! With inspiring stories and helpful suggestions they encourage teens to not settle for the hoo hum but instead live up to their potential.
This book is written for pre-teens to young adults. I found this book to be an energnetic read. Jenna and her Dad’s passion to show teens that they can make a difference; just leaps off of the page. I loved the catchy graphics and the layout of the pages, the book keep you visually stimulated without be overly done and cheesy. Speaking of cheese, the analogy of the cheese pizza is something that every teen will completely understand! Parents, youth pastors, I think this book would be excellent for your youth to read. Do you have a group of kids who want to do more, be more than they currently are? This is your book. I don’t believe any teen could come away unchanged after reading Jenna’s words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
This is another young adult book. I loved it! It has an appealing cover and overall design (you know you like that in a book, too). It includes short stories about teenagers making a difference in the world by finding ways to help other people. Which ought to inspire anyone, of any age. Read it and help someone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Messenger
I received this book for review complimentary from Thomas Nelson Publishing Company. This book was thoroughly enjoyable and inspirational. I wish I had read a book like this as a teenager. The book talks to a teens heart from Gods perspective. He loves you, created you for a purpose, made you with specific talents and desires to serve, and is passionate about every aspect of your life. Wow, to truly know that as a teen could shape every day you are alive. I recommend this to every young person, teen or young adult who doubts Gods plan for their life, is unsure of the path ahead into adulthood and for every parent who wants to inspire their kids on to greatness in the kingdom of God. As a parent, this inspires me to see my children as God sees them and makes me more prayerful that they look beyond themselves to reach a world crying out in need for a Savior. Thanks Max, Jenna and Natalie, for your wisdom, biblical truths and inspiration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missie Schumaier
I haven't even finished reading the whole book yet but I had to share it. You were made to make a difference was written by Max Lucado and his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop. It is the teen version of Outlive your Life.The witty style, the heartbreaking facts and the down to earth writing style really cuts down to your heart.Did you know that there is enough food on the planet to offer every person 2,500 calories of sustenance a day? Why the heck are there people who have nothing to eat when I can shove a whole pizza down my throat. Wow, that hit me between the eyes.Max poses three questions that were asked of him.1. If you were a German Christian during World War II, would you have taken a stand against Hitler?2. If you had lived in the south during the civil rights conflict, would you have taken a stand against racism?3. When your grandchildren discover you lived during a day when 1.75 billion people were poor and 1 billion were hungry, how will they judge what you did to help?It is easy to say "of course" to the first two, we weren't there, but we can saw that we would have stood up for what is right. But, question 3 is now. We have to answer to it. How are we going to?I am so excited about this book. I am going to write an email to my church youth pastor and share this amazing book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
This book is a great one for teens to help motivate them to realize that they can make a difference, no matter what their age. We are brought back to the book of Acts and look at the first church, what they did and relate it to now, it is no different. We just have to be willing. This is an awesome book for teens to read. I encourage you to pick one up for your teen. Encourage them that they can make a difference; they are not too young. There are many people in the Bible that were young, for example, David. He was small and young and did amazing things for the Lord. This book was sent to me by booksneeze.com in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You Were Made to Make A Difference
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Kasprzak
It is no secret around here that Max Lucado is our favorite author, from books to videos he is the one we turn to first and foremost. I was so excited when offered the opportunity to review his new book that he co-wrote with his daughter, how cool is that. Having a teen starting high school this book especially touched my heart. You were made to make a difference by Max and his daughter Jenna Lucado Bishop touches on the fact that even teens can make a huge impact on the world and they are not too young to make a difference for God. God wants to use the teens now not when they are older, more mature or more powerful or wealthy. They can make an impact on others even now at this stage of their growing lives. Not only does this book tell the story of how God will use teens to do wondrously good deeds, but it includes great resources for the teens to journal and also tells facts about need children around the world and how little it really does take to help others that are less fortunate. This book is a great gift to any teen in your life it will truly make a difference in them knowing they can help make a difference for God now and they do not have to wait to be an adult. If you have not had the pleasure of getting to know Max Lucado's work make this your first, it definitely will not be your last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.