Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2

Thomas Nelson Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2

A Bible storybook and DVD combination! Features more than 100 printed stories with delightful art by Steve Smallman and two DVDs with 26 fully animated three-minute Bible stories in stunning 3-D animation. Some stories that are featured are Joseph, Moses, Balaam, The Promised Land, Solomon, Elisha, Daniel, Jonah, The Boy Jesus, Miracles of Jesus, Jesus' Death and Resurrection, and more. Recommended for ages 1-4.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Review 1 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Volume 1 could be better than volume 2

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
NicoAtom
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have believe in the reviews. This book is not up to my expectations. Bible stories are overly summarized, squeezing into a book. Though stories are not those common ones we heard. I wish the stories and drawings can be more eye and ear catching when read out. I am not satisfied!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Little Ones

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
AG Smith
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ultimate DVD Read and Share Bible volume 2 is A Bible storybook with DVDs to help you share the joy and wonder of God’s Word with the children in your life.
It has bite-sized DVD presentations with short stories in an accompanying book. This is good for the short attention span of little children. This volume contains many of the favorite, often told stories of the bible like Moses, Jonah and the Whale, etc.
I’ll admit that when I first choose to review this bible, I was skeptical that it would actually hold my 2 ½ year olds attention. I was afraid that the DVD presentations would be hokey and that my tech savvy soon would be bored but that was not the case. Instead he actually would request to watch his bible stories in the evening. That makes this tired momma very happy to say the least. This is definitely for the younger children though. The graphics and the stories are very simple and kind of monotone so once you get past kindergarden, I do not see this being appealing. Overall I would recommend this to parents, grandparents, caretakers, etc. of preschool age children without any reservations.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful bible storybook

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We actually watched the DVD before reading the book. There are 26 stories in the DVD, all selected from the book. The animation is simple, accompanied with a voice narrating the stories, using simple language. At first I thought the kids may find the DVD dry with hearing the narration most of the time. However they love to watch it again and again. As for the book, I find the story is short and simple, but not too brief. Instead of having one long story, they break it down to many short stories make it easy for young children. Most of the stories are from Old Testament. All pages are accompanied with colorful illustration, with the right font size, the book is very attractive to young children.
So far this is my favorite bible stories for children. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alysa Sawyer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Bible book for children comes with 2 DVDs that go along with the stories. There are over 100 Bible stories in this book. Each story is on a 2 page spread with pictures and a couple paragraphs (in large print) of writing. The stories on the DVDs can be watched in clips or straight through. Although nothing unBiblical about the stories, I was disappointed in how most of them didn’t use the whole story. They did use the main points so the stories would be good for a very young child with a short attention span. I also did not like that the DVD didn’t follow the book word for word. Do you remember those read along tapes and books that you turn the page at the sound of the tone? I used to LOVE those when I was my daughter’s age and learning to read. I was hoping that this set would be similar but it was not.
I have 4 & 2 year old girls who did not seem to care for these DVDs & book compared to other children’s Bibles and Bible stories on DVD that we own. To be honest, I am not a huge fan of the illustrations (not that I could do any better because I can’t) but a young child (1-2 years) would probably like them. I teach 2-3 year old Sunday School class at my church and I plan to use the DVDs as they coordinate with our lessons. I did read in another review that there was a scripture reference error on one of the DVDs which I did not catch myself. I will have to investigate that further before using them in my class.
I am a HUGE fan of sharing Bible stories to young children because they are so open to them. Ultimately, whether you do it through this book or another, teach your children the values of God’s Word from the moment they are born!
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission I am required to disclose that Thomas Nelson provided this book for free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is a good "starter" Bible for young children.

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollymsc123
Location:Miles City, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible is a good starter one for young children. The illustrations are colorful and stories are short and accurate. I like the layout of the pages however, would like to have seen a prayer included. The DVDs are excellent quality and fun to watch. Overall, I recommend this Bible for parents looking to start reading Bible stories to their young child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Kids Favorite! A Must Have & Makes a Great Gift

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
countrymama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, let me just say this book deserves more than 5 stars! My 5 year old HAD a favorite bible out of the 3 kids bibles she has. She really loved her bible and it would honestly take alot to top that favorite bible. But The Ultimate DVD Bible did just that! The DVD is fantastically done, my 5 year old would rather watch it again than watch nickelodeon! Personally, the only fault I can find with the DVD is the narrator’s voice is not the perfect choice in my opinion, but its really not that bad. I’d still give the narrator 9 out of 10. Even my teenagers will sit down & watch the dvd!
The bible stories in the book are typical of what would be found in a story bible for an older toddler or preschooler. But what I really loved about the Ultimate Bible is that there is a little blurb at the end of each couple pages with thought provoking questions and topics to further discuss with your child. None of her other bibles have this.
The combination of the great DVDs and hardcover book makes this a must have in my opinion. I know I will be purchasing more copies to give as gifts!
Note: the publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy through BookSneeze®
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible/DVD Set

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BethR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ultimate DVD Read and Share Bible, Volume Two is an excellent resource for parents of small children. Based upon the International Children’s Bible, the Read and Share Bible is paraphrased in such a way that children can understand and will be engaged. Included in this children’s Bible are 100 Bible stories including the stories of Joseph, Moses, Solomon, Elijah, Jonah, and most importantly Jesus. Two DVDs also accompany this Bible. On each DVD you will find brief stories to give your child another visual experience while they are learning these important foundational stories of the Bible.
When I first received this children’s Bible, I was a little unsure about it. I was not very fond of the illustrations at first. But as I spent some time and looked through the pages, and watched the DVDs with my children, it grew on me. The stories are paraphrased in a very engaging way. At the end of each story, there is either a statement or question to help the child reflect on what he/she has just read. This is also helpful to the parent if they are unsure in what way to guide or discuss the story with their child. Each of the stories on the DVD is very brief, but very powerful as a tool to reinforce the truths they learn while reading the stories. The teaching aspect is something that is very important to me.
I would recommend this Bible to parents of small children ages 2-10. The product details from a well known bookseller indicate the reading level at ages 4-8, but I believe you can start reading the stories with your children a little earlier than that, and continue as long as their interest remains in this particular format. The Bible commends parents in Proverbs 22:6 to “Train up a child in the way in the way he should go and when he is older he will not turn from it.” This Read and Share Bible is another tool to help parents to do just that. I believe it will be a valuable tool to be shared in time together learning about the Bible as a family. I am thankful I found this Bible. I had been looking for a resource that contained only the Bible stories in video format. I believe it is extremely important to teach children the basic stories of the Bible while they are young. We all learn through stories. If you are a home school mom, a preschool teacher, a children’s church worker, this Read and Share Bible will be valuable to you as you teach the children in your life. Many Blessings!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book/DVD's are ok, but could be better.

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Read and Share Ultimate DVD Bible Volume 2 is a bible story book with 2 DVD’s which cover many popular bible stories. The stories and videos are short to keep the attention span of the children watching them. Some of the bible stories include stories about Joseph, Moses, Balaam, Jonah, Jesus, and many more.
Each page brings a new story or a continuation of a larger story. For example, Joseph’s story from a boy to him being in Egypt spans several pages, but are broken down in to short stories such as “Joseph’s Coat” and “Joseph in Jail.” The DVD is split up the same way for each story.
I find that splitting the stories up into small chunks as they did leaves out many details that could be put in if the writer simply wrote out the story and took the necessary pages needed to give a good rendition of the story. Because of the illustrations, there really is not much text on each page. Also, the narrator from the DVD is not reading word for word by the book for each story. It is close, but he phrases sentences differently. It would have been nice to have the DVD and the stories in the book match the text in case the child wants to follow along. Finally, the DVD had a scriptural error, which I had to bring to Thomas Nelson’s attention…the story book did not pose this scriptural error.
Overall, the book and DVD are OK. The animations are fun for kids, but the lack of detail and the differences between the book and DVD in the story telling will keep me from truly recommending this book/DVD to anyone else.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
ramblings
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently I was able to review The Ultimate DVD Read and Share Bible volume Two. This set contains a book with 105 Bible Stories and two DVD’s with corresponding stories. The book is written by Gwen Ellis and illustrated by Steve Smallman.
The set is described as “Perfect for the attention span of little ones” and I would have to agree. Each story, is approximately two pages. Nice, big, easy to read print. The stories are short and sweet. If you are looking for a devotional to do with your young ones, this is probably not what you are looking for. However, if you looking for something to incorporate into pre-school or home-school, this would be great! It is very easy to read and the DVD is interesting to watch. We played the DVD and our older kids actually asked to keep watching it! I think this set would be ideal for a 2-3 year old Sunday School class. You could easily read the story and watch a small portion of the dvd. If you followed along with that you would have 105 lessons for $19.99! That is an incredible price!!!
I would recommend this book and dvd set to parents of children under 4-5 years old and to anyone involved with those ages in Sunday School or church. For the price of $19.99 you are getting a great deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Read and Share: The Ultimate DVD Bible Storybook - Vol 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT children's Bible & DVDs

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw that Booksneeze was requesting people to review a new children's DVD Read and Share Bible, I jumped on the chance. I reviewed volume one a while back, and my daughter has grown to love that DVD since then. It is certainly one of her favorites (and what Christian parent doesn't love hearing their child exclaim "I want to watch Jesus!"?). Volume Two has definitely exceeded my expectations. It is not just a two DVDs, but also a book. Each of the DVDs has 13 beautifully animated stories from the Bible. They are short-the whole DVD ran about 30 minutes, and at the perfect level for young children (my oldest is almost two, and loves them. However, she does wander a bit!). The book is just as perfectly matched for young children. It breaks down Bible stories into small segments-which will be perfect for bedtime. Each segment is printed on one full page spread with a wonderfully drawn illustration. I feel very lucky to have found this book/DVD set, and am even thinking about letting our church know about it as they give a toddler Bible to every child dedicated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.