Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends

Thomas Nelson The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends

A must have guide for any teenage girls looking to lead happier, healthier lives. Chad Eastham, adding humor to his advice, will help teens make better decisions for themselves and their future and have healthier relationships. He gives girls practical, healthy advice on dating, love, and friendship and encourages girls to balance their hearts with their heads. Recommended for ages 12-17.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Review 1 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended by mom that raised four teens!

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm running late on this review of Chad Eastham's "The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends" since it was published over a year ago! Maybe it's for a reason though...maybe this is a book that we need to be reminded that it's out there and a great book for our teens on not only dating, but relationships in general!
I was first introduced to Eastham's writing when my teenage daughter picked up a copy of his book "Guys are Waffles, Girls are Spaghetti." His writing relates to teens! There is so much practical information in this book about friendship, relating to the opposite sex, dating etc.! The information is written though so that it's not overwhelming to teens. They can flip it open somewhere in the middle and find a list that captures their attention such as "Dumb dating things even smart people do" or "10 things you should never say to a guy" and begin reading.
"The Truth about Dating..." contains many interactive sections where teens can write and process what is being discussed like crazy, mixed-up emotions. Chad also includes questions from "real teens" that the "real Chad" answers in a conversational way not like a lecture from an "adult"!
Having raised four teenagers of my own, this is one book that is at the top of my mom-recommended list for girls or guys – along with Chad’s other book “Guys are Waffles, Girls are Spaghetti”!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Connecticut
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I've seen Chad Eastham at Revolve Tour 2 times before. He is AMAZING! When the book first came out, I had been struggling with a relationship I was in. I had been dating a guy for over a year behind our parents' backs, and when they found out, our parents made us end the relationship because we were emotionally too close too fast, and made us go back to being friends because we weren't old enough to date yet. It was a real struggle for me, because I still reeeally liked and cared about this guy. My leader from our church's teen club would always listen to me about my struggles with just being friends with him and how I still really liked him. I had a semi-skewed view on dating, and I had a lot of questions. So she bought me this book! It totally helped me. Not only does the book have amazing advice for practically every situation a teenager can be in in a relationship, but it's easy to read, very fun and interactive! It keeps your attention throughout the whole book. I would DEFINATELY recommend this book! It saved me from a lot more heartache and issues!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Dating Book for Teenagers!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter recently turned 16 and began dating, so I was very interested in reviewing this book when it became available. The official title is actually: 'The Truth About Dating,Love & Just Being Friends...and how not to be miserable as a teenager because life is short, and seriously, things don't magically get better after high school and lots of other important stuff, but we'll get to that later...'by Chad Eastham. I decided that I would read the book first, and then give it to my daughter. She just began reading it, and likes the idea of it being written by a guy. I liked the idea of it coming from a Christian standpoint.
Mr. Eastham does a great job at speaking directly to the teens about the basics of dating in a very relaxed, fun way. He discusses both positive and negative reasons for dating, gives many statistics, quizzes to take, and letters he has received from teens. I believe both young men and women would benefit from this book. I was looking for something deeper, but this is a good start for my daughter. This is a light, fun book about dating with some practical information in it. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very awesome book! Smart girls rock!

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tori
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to revolve and liked the sound of the book. Chad was cool! This was a good investment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Truth About Dating, Love By Chad Eastham

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
leahnichole
Location:Freeville, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing I was given a chance to review this awesome book! This book is not full of truth about dating but it also implements a teen friendly biblical perspective. Being as I am a Youth Leader, I found that this book gives you a lot of insight without being overwhelming.
From the beginning I noticed that Chad Eastham, made an attempt with his typical humor and wisdom for youth (teens). Chad in my opinion aimed this book at teen girls who are just beginning to date and need some guidance but it can really be used for guys also. To be completely honest I believe that The Truth About Dating, Love, and Just Being Friends is the best book on teenage relationships I’ve read!
Chad makes it a point to connect with the teens on their level rather than lecturing their behavior and choices….he lets them know what they need to hear but he does it with comedy and insight that leaves you wanting more. I definitely recommend this to anyone ages 12-18 =)
I loved this book and can’t wait to read more of Chad Eastham’s work in the near future !
Note: I received this book free of charge from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a favorable review, only an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If I'd known then what I know now

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Dating And Love
I admit I was skeptical preparing to read someone’s dating advice to modern teenagers, what with all the other compromises professing Christians seem to be making these days. I was pleasantly surprised by what I found in Chad Eastham’s “Truth About Dating and Love…..” He speaks from experience and grounds his advice in Scripture and common sense, avoiding condescension by his empathy and humor. While he provides personal testimony of his troubled past and the transforming power of faith, this is a book that any young adult could relate to. I would’ve appreciated Chad’s perspective during my teenage years. However, I confess that Christ makes all the difference. It would’ve been far too easy to have exempted myself from applying the practical information in this book to the situations I encountered. Nonetheless, reading this insightful book has given me both a newfound perspective on the “angst” I felt during my coming of age as well as a boost of confidence in steering my own children toward a healthy, happy, God-honoring adolescence. I would recommend this to tweens, teens, and parents alike. Bravo!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Love!

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bess
Location:USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is geared toward teenagers & young adults (the Milleys, as the author calls us – those in the Millennial Generation (born anywhere from 1980-2000))…those in middle & high school are the main target, though, I’d say. I’m an older Millenial, myself, but I have to say, I truly enjoyed reading the relationship advice & wisdom found in Mr. Eastham’s pages. He puts things clearly, truthfully, & with godly encouragement (though in a non-pushy way, which makes this book great for a non-believing friend you want to witness to)… Oh, did I mention he’s quite funny, too? Well, he is – so you won’t be bored reading about “Dating, Factoids, & Quark-Gluon Plasma” (one of his chapter titles). He’ll hit you up with some of the strangest facts ever – seemingly unrelated to dating, relationships, & love on the surface – but he takes you deeper, & you come from the book not only better prepared for the relationships of life (friendship & romantic) but also smarter. For instance, did you know coconut liquid is a universal blood donor? Yep, Chad’s made me one smart girl. I love how in the chapter entitled “Why This Book Could Be Stupid” (stay with me here), he humbly explains that this book can’t answer all the complexities of relationships – you need to use what you know, too, & keep learning. Chad doesn’t have all the answers (as he’s confessed) - only God does – but he undoubtedly has wisdom teens & anyone else willing to read can glean from. From advice on how to tell whether someone from the opposite sex is attracted to you, to the myths of “just being friends,” to answers for our vampire/zombie/werewolf/weird obsessed culture… Chad helps guide you through the often crazy waters of relationships with a God-loving voice.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publishers through the BookSneeze program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK FOR TEENS AND THEIR PARENTS or mentor

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As part of Booksneeze's program I get the pleasure of reading books-then writing a blog and review. I requested this book to see how it could fit into my life as a mom of an outstanding teen daughter: five children, one daughter--get the picture.
This book is probably the most practical, well written book on the subject of dating and relationships for teens.
Chad Eastham takes a subject often ignored or rather deemed "old fashioned" and puts questions and answers out there on the subject of dating and decisions that need to be made in and out of "relationships". He uses real live statistics, biblical truth and humor to ask hard questions that need answers that are not "Sunday School" answers for our 21st century teens. The book is equipped with questions and discussion starters for teens, facilitators in small groups and even, PARENTS with their teens.
I am challenged personally to get this book going with my daughter and some friends and I encourage others to do the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book for any teen

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PhyllisASherer
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends by Chad Eastham
This is a wonderful book for teens. I am looking forward to my son reading it. He just turned 14 on Tuesday. Great timing!
The footnote on the front of the book says this:
...and how NOT to be MISERABLE as a TEENAGER because life is SHORT, and seriously, things don't MAGICALLY get BETTER after high school and lots of other IMPORTANT stuff, but we'll get to that later...
I wish this book had been around when I was growing up. I made so many mistakes! If you had quiet parents like me, you know what I mean. You may even be as uncomfortable as they were to talk about dating, sex and the truth to your kids... either way, get this book for your kids! It's going to cover things you may not think of.
He covers a lot in this book! From "5 ways to know if he/she is really into you" to "The problem with dating mythical creatures".....Huh?! LOL : )
The BEST part? He will not BORE the teen! He covers something in a couple of paragraphs and moves on to either backup what he said, or to lead into another subject, and educates the teen while keeping their attention.
He includes quips and quotes from famous folks & the Bible, has interviews from kids who want to know what's what, interviews with kids who already know what's what, and so much more! Ever wondered why a guy did this, or why a gaggle of girls do that? It's in here!
There is also information like online links for them to visit for support on different topics, from abuse to addictions.
Get this book for your teen. NOW!
242 reading pgs + notes
Written/Published in 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Truth about Love, Dating...

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Emily Ruthann
Location:Idaho, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely adored Chad's book The Truth about Love, Dating, and Just Being Friends.... it was just perfect! Chad really knows how to capture our teens today - with "sloppy talk" he entices you to read more and more until you have the book all the way read in just a few hours! (In other words, Chad's book isn't hard to read.) I love how Chad includes statistics and lists - as well as quotable quotes, which is very helpful.
I like how Chad is so enthusiastic and he uses lots of true facts and stories in his book. He also includes a variety of letters he has received in the past - which is very neat, except that there was one bad word - well - what I call a bad word - in one of the letters he included in his book: cr-p. Besides this, I would rate the book a 6 star! (But I know there's no such thing as a six star so I just did 5.)
I know that you'll enjoy Chad's book - I did. It's all about how to act around guys/girls that you like. (Um... it's kind of a unisex book.) It also talks a little bit how to act around a person that likes you but you don't like - or that you like, but s/he doesn't like you. =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angell
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an excellent book!! Chad Eastham definitely knows how to talk to teenagers...and not only what to say to them but, with this book, definitely knows how to keep their attention with comedy and even visually (I do know that's important lol. Every page in the book has some sort of cutsie teenbop graphic on it.)
Teenagers these days are bombarded by sex in the media. He answers questions from real teenagers dealing with the same kind of stuff that ALL teenagers are dealing with. He gets right to the facts and offers excellent advice for these really hard years. I believe this book is great for boys and for girls and is a very easy read. I highly recommend it.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About Dating, Love, and Just Being Friends
By Chad Eastham
When first ordering this book from booksneeze I wasn’t too sure what it would be like. As someone who works with youth I was interested.
As I opened this book I was surprised. Eastham is very straightforward and honest about dating and relationships. He brings a humorous spin to the book and covers a lot.
This is definitely a book that would be great for teenagers, guys and girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Truth About Dating, Love & Just Being Friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just an FYI- this book is great

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaeb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dating.. What does he want anyway? What about her? Does she like me? Does he really only want sex? Can I date Edward? Why can't I be happy? Parents- just and FYI- these are the questions teens are asking and Chad Eastham deals with these questions and more in " The Truth about Dating, Love, and just Being Friends." He gives some solid, God based answers to some not so easy questions. This book contains letters from teens that are dealing with life just like the teens that we know and love. In our sex-crazed, media based, fast paced life, teens are getting lost. They are learning more from media than from their parents. Chad helps redirect them back to their parents, as well as has them interact with the text providing several places to engage with what is being discussed. I would highly recommend this text to teens everywhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.