Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls

Thomas Nelson How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls

What does it take to be a princess? Featuring the delightful character Gigi, Walsh's guidebook offers important answers for every girl, including how to make the best pink cookies, wear a tiara, earn money at home, bathe a royal dog, be respectful, use good manners, help Mom, follow Jesus, and much more. Ages 6 to 10. 128 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 out of 3197%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Review 1 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book for young girls

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nettie247
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Needed a book to use at our church for our young GA girls..after reading through the book we all ageed that this book would fit well in our program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very, very good resource for little girls

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My two youngest daughters were so excited when this book came. Settling down together, side by side they explored the wisdom contained within this volume; “What does God’s princess do? Let’s see…it says here….”
My daughters love doing the quizzes and going through the check-lists: “Ah, this is what God’s princess does!“
Covering issues such as personal hygiene, etiquette, respecting their families, enjoying being a girl and, most importantly, how to look to God for answers to their questions, this book is a boon for the younger ladies. With a pretty pink cover (that’s hardback) and lovely drawings, this book is well-pleasing to the eye as well as a good resource and a lot of fun!
While this book teaches young ladies to care about how they look, the focus isn’t ultimately on them. While the girls are taught to brush their hair, keep their clothes neat, enjoy their femininity, they are also taught about the ultimate purpose in doing these things. Unlike secular resources on grooming, How to Be God’s Little Princess keeps the focus on God…where it belongs. The same tact is used in everything else it teaches: in the end, it’s all about God.
My take? Your daughters will benefit from this book while having a lot of fun. This is a very, very good resource to have on hand.
I received a free copy of this title from BookSneeze for purposes of review. I wasn’t required to give a positive review only a fair one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Book, worth a read!

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
witheagerhands
Location:Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How To Be... is not your standard book of etiquette. Like I said, I really expected a bunch of fluff out of this book, but I was pleasantly surprised by how author Sheila Walsh moves from matters of royalty, to matters of personal hygiene and self-care, time management and developing a good attitude. There are 12 sections, from how to dress appropriately (and thank goodness for illustrations that are modest, but not babyish or frumpy!) to manners in different situations to how to be a friend to media wisdom and etiquette. This book is really quite full of information that doesn’t gloss over things in one blanket statement, but doesn’t get heavy at all.
This book is definitely geared towards the more girly of girls. While my oldest daughter would (and probably did) roll her eyes at how to wear a tiara or how to properly paint her nails, she would (and probably did) like doing the various puzzles, quizzes, reading the snippets of facts and verses included, and other activities that make up a fair chunk of the book. The examples and scenarios given include girls who like to climb trees,
don't like to wear dresses, and prefer function over fashion.
There are couple items in the book that I didn’t think my girls were ready to work with, such as how to be Internet-safe. Our girls have very limited access to the Internet, and zero access to social networking sites such as Facebook, so the Internet section is not applicable at this time. Still, I think it does a good job of presenting the girls with the do's and don't of using the Internet. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this, for future reference!
I am really glad I have this book a try. Walsh does a good job of hitting the outside beauty notes, while always and again returning to the Bible and biblical principles for WHY we should …
…care for our bodies
…offer forgiveness to friends and siblings who hurt us
…start to consider our gifts and how they can be used to bless others
…put others before ourselves
…think about how we write, text, and otherwise communicate with others
…not wear a ballroom gown to a school pizza party.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

how to be god's little princess review

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received How to Be God's Little Princess for free from Booksneeze.com. This is a collection of "Royal Tips for Manners, Etiquette, and True Beauty" by Sheila Walsh. This book includes scripture, tips, quizes, questions, recipes, and ideas about handling onself in a manner that would be pleasing to God and acceptable in polite society. It covers everything from how to make a royal wave to internet safety.
At first I thought the book seemed to strip away all individuality and creativity of the girl and pigeon-hole them into cookie cutter like girls. And it does. A great deal of the book does take the girl and tell them how to do everything exactly like every other girl, so that there won't be any uniquness. But it also has some good stuff on how to behave when a rural girl gets plopped into class with some warning on what to expect. It will never be a big seller would be my guess. But there are some things that would be useful such as what is the polite thing to do when one farts in public. (pretend it never happened) The whole proper fork thing gets addressed as well. It might be a good book to have around for manners and society questions, but it's never gonna be a classic.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Etiquette Book with a Christian Twist

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
wahmivy
Location:Marikina City, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“How to Be God’s Little Princess” is a how-to guide on the expected behavior of a Christian girl. It bears the subtitle “Royal Tips for Manners, Etiquette, and True Beauty”. There are tips and instructions on matters of clothing, posture and poise, entertaining, etc. It is pretty much an etiquette book with a Christian twist. Geared towards tween and older reading, this book is a great resource for Christian girls on their journey to womanhood.
I found the book very thorough. It is rather like a compilation of the things we learned growing up. Of course, this is better because everything is in one package, including things that perhaps we learned quite late. A grown girl might find it boring since the information wouldn’t be anything new, but it should prove to be a treasure for girls 8-14. It is a fun book to read, channeling the “princess trend” that many girls are into and providing crafts, quizzes and other activities for the reader to try out. It wouldn’t have been an interesting read for a woman of my age, unless of course she had a daughter who’s about the right age for it or will get to the stage sometime in the future. If this is the case, I imagine it to be something that mother and daughter could read together. Let me add that even if it doesn’t really cater to older females, it would still be a good book to have handy, a helpful resource to review from time to time.
Available in hard cover with an appealing pink, purple and silver color combo, this book is sure to appeal to young girls. The illustrations are also fun and young. The book may look trendy, but the nuggets of wisdom within will apply and remain true forever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Cute!

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How To Be God’s Little Princess has a lot going on for it. Not only does it have a smash-up design (pink, sparkly cover, pink interior pages with playful drawings of modern-day princesses etc.) but it also contains content that every tween-age daughter-of-the-King will find enthralling.
My newly turned eight-year-old absolutely loves her copy that we received to review. She pores over it and has even made herself a ‘princess notebook’ to do further research with and to take notes in. Filled with many fun features, this book includes instruction on manners, character, poise etc., quizzes, ‘What’s Wrong With This Picture’ drawings, and more.
There are also fashion tips, home management tips (my daughter came up to me and said she needs to go through her clothes twice a year to do wardrobe management), fun ideas for hands-on activities and crafts, and even a scripture memorization system to help little princesses hide the word of their Father in their hearts.
This is a fun instructional/activity book for 8 – 12 year olds. My daughter can’t recommend it enough. As a parent I like the content, advice, and character emphasis. Some of the girls in the drawings wear their skirts and dresses much shorter than we are comfortable with our daughter’s wearing, but other than that, this is a sweet and cute book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute for Moms and Daughters

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a cute book and although my "Princess" isn't old enough yet, ,"How to Be God's Little Princess: Manners and Etiquette tips for your Royal Tween" makes a great gift for that special daughter or niece in your life.
In a world that often sends young girls with mixed messages, this was a cute and fun read and something that might be fun for moms with daughters (or nieces) and unsure how to connect with them.
So check out, "How to Be God's Little Princess: Manners and Etiquette tips for your Royal Tween" and discover with your daughters (or nieces) how they are God's Little Princesses.
Thank you to Litfuse Publicity for the opportunity to read and review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Book for Aspiring Princesses

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the mom of a tween and a three year old, princesses are quite the topic around my house. It's hard to say which Disney princess is a favorite, but I know I want my girls to totally get to the core of their being that they are the ultimate princesses. Sounds like too much?
It isn't, because they are God's princesses.
I've loved Shelia Walsh's Gigi, God's Little Princess books and DVDs. My tweener began outgrowing the books about the time my three year old began to fall in love with the idea of princesses. It's time to pull them out for her. And just in time, Shelia Walsh has written a book filled with royal tips for manners, etiquette, and true beauty. Currently, I plan to use the book with a tween class I lead on Wednesday nights at church. The content is perfect for girls who are growing into young women, and the way it is presented, in a beautiful pink and silver book with lots of fun activities is something that girls will enjoy. From how to dress, to friendship, to phone manners, just about every topic is covered.
And what I know my tweener will love? All the great craft ideas and fun quizzes. It's like an American Girl interactive book -- only with a Christ-centered focus. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book for Princess Wannabes!

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do princesses need to know? It's not all about the party dresses and tiaras. In this princess-pink book, Sheila Walsh teaches girls the ins-and-outs of etiquette regarding clothing, dining, friendships, and hostessing. While this may seem like any other Emily Post-like manner guide, Walsh takes her tips straight from the Bible and gears them toward young girls. There are chapters about caring for your attitude, dressing modestly, and being smart on the Internet.
I love the way that this book is divided into chapters with interactive quizzes and games sprinkled throughout. This is not a serious, study-guide type manual but is written more along the lines of a fun, girly mazagine that just happens to have a rigid spine. The information is sound and basic and very relevant to young girls' lives today.
The only issue I have with this book is with the princess theme. This book is not watered down or written for toddlers; I would guess it would be most interesting and be useful for girls ages 5-9. However, they are not all going to be able to read the text independently at that age, and after that many girls lose interest in the princess concept. I think, though, that this book would be great if read with an adult and discussed together.
I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can't wait to share this book with tween girls..

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
Location:Sunny South Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If tween girls could grasp just how special they really are and how much God truly and deeply loves them, then maybe, just maybe, we can we a change start to happen in not only their lives, but the lives of so many tweens all around. This book, How To Be God's Little Princess, could be a great start to this change.
I read the entire book, through and through, and was thrilled to see all the topics that Sheila so gracefully talks about...
* How to Dress Like a Princess
* How to Wear a Tiara (and other princess necessities)
* How a Princess Perfects Her Poise
* How to Be Friends Princess Style
* How to Dine with Royal Success
* How to Sparkle Like a Princess
* How to Have a Rockin' Royal Party
* How to Be Media Wise
* How to Be a Perfectly Polite Princess
* How to Be a Princess at Home
* How a Princess Sports a Good Attitude
* How a Princess Knows She Needs an Inner Beauty Makeover
Let's face it...these are things that each of us could benefit from, but more importantly if our tween girls can grab hold of and learn from, then great strides can be made to raise this next generation of girls resting solidly in who they are in Christ...wouldn't that be awesome?
If you have or know someone with tween girls in their lives, then you absolutely need to get this book! The girls will LOVE IT and you will too! There's plenty of fun packed into the pages as well...believe me, they will not be able to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book provides great info about manners!

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Simply Shop and Save
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to be God’s Little Princess is a delightful book written in a fun and creative way. Included are fun crafts like making bracelets and tye-dye projects, quizzes, cute pictures, and other activities that I think will keep your young princess following along. This book is a great way for moms and girls to do these projects and learn together. Sheila’s book can be used as a way to talk about issues that face young girls. I think the book has an very appealing covering too!
The book provides very practical information in giving advise about social graces and “all things a princess might need to know.” Sheila Walsh provides the young reader with manners, etiquette, and true beauty knowing that they are unique and valued by God.
I think How to be God’s Little Princess scores high and I heartily recommend this sweet valuable must-have resource especially for tweens and parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Primer for God's Little Princesses

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryBethWrites
Location:Placerville, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peer pressure can play a strong role in a young girl’s choices. Now Sheila Walsh offers a guidebook to aid girls in making Christian choices. “How to Be God’s Little Princess” takes a fun approach to a potentially stressful subject.
With chapter titles like “How to Dress Like a Princess” and “How to Wear a Tiara (and other princess necessities),” you might mistake this book for a very vain directive for spoiled girls. On the contrary, Walsh provides practical advice on making solid life choices without talking down to girls. Other subjects include poise, friendship, table and general manners and party planning.
Walsh encourages royal behavior in her young reader through a number of devices. The attributes of a princess parade through the book, providing a positive example for her. A typical chapter might include a multiple choice quiz, a “What’s wrong with this picture?” exercise to help build critical thinking skills or a puzzle. Parents become “royal advisors” to the princess.
The light-hearted treatment doesn’t diminish the importance of the message. Walsh gives girls a positive standard to measure their actions against, while giving them the tools to help them reach the goal. She punctuates her points with appropriate scripture references and activities to help a girl grow.
The illustrations echo earlier “God’s Little Princess” publications, creating a connection to other books and materials. Walsh provides those who love a little girl with excellent tools to help her achieve her best. The book is suitable for any girl, from toddlerhood on up. Whether a parent reads the book aloud or the girl can read it for herself, the material will benefit her.
Sheila Walsh speaks at women’s conferences as well as writing for women and young girls. Her books remind readers that they are “a child of the King,” and therefore royalty. In a world where entertainers and athletes become poor superstar role models, the reminders are urgently needed.
This review is based upon a review copy of the book provided by the publisher with no constraints on content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My niece would like this book

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very delightful and kids will love this book. I am going to give to my niece.
This book has tips in it for manners, etiquette and true beauty and I like a lot of the tips in the book. The first tip I liked was how to dress modestly. I have noticed that when it comes time to show reverence to Jehovah GOD at our Kingdom Hall that people dress immodestly. They wear short skirts that show a lot of skin, they wear shirts that show off cleavage and so on. Its horrible because not only is that not appropriate to wear in a nice setting but other people are seeing things on you that they shouldn't and could be tempted to do something that they normally wouldn't do. And when way to know if you should wear something is to ask a person who is close to you if they think what you are wearing is appropriate or not.
Another topic they discuses in the book is about friendship. And they mention a question to ask yourself, "Are you a Christian, Be sure others can tell by the way you talk,dress and act. If we are a true Christian then we need to act like it all the time, just not when people are around watching us. Its how we act when we are along that matters. And GOD still sees everything we are doing and he can tell how we are by our heart condition.
The third tip or topic they talk about is media and the dangers of it which needs to be talked about because other people skirt around the issue and needs to be talked about. Some people may end up spending so much time on the internet or websites that they miss out on real life opportunities and could be hurting themselves spiritually. And another good tip the book brings out is that you represent GOD no matter where you are talking to people. And that you would want to keep your talk pure to represent that you are a clean Christian. And also try not to give out too much personal information on yourself out there because people can find out too much about you and try to hurt you in someway. And the biggest tip of all is don't write or post anything or any picture you wouldn't want the whole world-including GOD-to see. Because sooner or later, the whole world will see it.
All in all , I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a good book and get some helpful hints/tips as well throughout the book. This book is encouraging and both adults and children would enjoy reading it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun book on manners, kindness and fashion

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sonora Mama
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How To Be God's Little Princess by Sheila Walsh (author of the Gigi, God's Little Princess series) is a modern-day princess manual on etiquette, fashion, and behaving in a way that honors God. This was a cute and fun little book that I enjoyed looking through with my four year old daughter, and that we will use again as she gets a little older. The hardback book has a pink and purple cover with shiny silver print, which was very appealing to the little princesses in my house. The pages inside have illustrations in pink as well as pink-tinted pages. So if you're not a fan of pink, be forewarned!
The publisher's information says that the book is for reading level ages 9-12, but I found this a little puzzling. It is supposedly written for older children, but the Gigi picture books appeal to younger girls. Most 11-12 year old girls I know no longer want to be called a "little princess", as it sounds a bit babyish. Though the reading level is older, I would place the content level at around 6 to 9 years.
Things I liked about this book:
- It teaches etiquette, including phone manners, table manners, how to pay a compliment, restaurant behavior and party manners.
- It teaches heart issues, like being a good friend, helping at home, honoring parents, asking forgiveness when you make a mistake.
- It has fun with the princess theme, such as how to choose a tiara that suits your face shape, how to dress appropriately for an occasion, how to wash your face and hair, how to pour tea. I think this part of the books keeps it from being a lecture in how to behave (the book is fairly long at about 130 pages of chock-full content, though it is broken up by illustrations).
- It has cute little quizzes and "what's wrong with this picture" illustrations that make the book fun.
- It contains craft ideas, such as making jewelry from shells or beads, and how to decorate a headband.
Things I didn't like about this book:
- As mentioned earlier, the reading level doesn't necessarily correspond to the younger maturity level that the book speaks to. I got around this by reading some of the quiz questions to my daughter. She thought the quizzes were fun, and laughed at the obviously wrong answers, which was fun too. There are tips on choosing shirts with arm-holes that don't show your bra, but I personally feel that by the time a girl has hit puberty, she will not be interested in this book.
- It uses some out of context bible verses. For example, the chapter on clothing and fashion quotes Isaiah 61:10 "...All that I am rejoices in my God. The Lord has covered me with clothes of salvation..." and the chapter on personal cleanliness quotes 2nd Corinthians 2:15 "Our offering to God is this: We are the sweet smell of Christ among those who are being saved...". These inappropriate verses lead me to believe the author just googled bible verses with "clothes" and "smell" in them and threw them in.
Despite these flubs, I think this was a cute little gift book for girls who are still in the princess stage but ready to learn etiquette and general fashion/fun. I really liked the gentle reminders about how to be a good friend, how to have a right attitude to match princess-like behavior, so it's more than just crowns, gowns and beauty.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the BookSneeze.com book review blogger's program. The views expressed are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, Godly book for Little Princesses!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's face it. Being a princess is not as easy as some might think... I have some wonderful news. That's where grace comes in! What is grace? Grace is God's free gift of unconditional love poured out on all His princesses. That means you are as loved on your good days as your bad days. It means that there is nothing in the entire world that can keep you from God's love or keep His love from you. The best news of all is that when you are God's princess you don't have to get it right all the time. Being God's princess is not about being perfect, it's about being perfectly loved... And now... let's take a look at all the things a princess might need to know.
So begins Miss Walsh's book How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls. It's for any little girl because, after all, every little girl is a princess because her Father is the King. And, honestly, that intro touched my own heart. Even we grown-up princesses sometimes need to remember what grace really is and that we are daughters of a wonderful King, too.
I homeschool my daughters and we're using this as the textbook for a fun class on, you guessed it, "Royal Manners and Etiquette for Girls." The idea that every girl is a princess is one that I think of often (I'm actually writing a YA novel about that very thing) so as soon as I saw this book, I wanted it for my little girls. They already believe they are princesses inside because Jesus is the King but, as 5 and 6 year olds, their manners and etiquette need a little work. This book is a fun way to teach them those things.
I think this book is spectacular and believe it would benefit any little girl from 5 to 12. It helps girls to understand what it mean to be a real princess, a Jesus-is-my-Savior kind of princess, and it does it in a fun, easy going way. I've seen some reviewers saying that the biblical message isn't present in every section and so they gave it 3 stars, but I don't find that to be true--God relates to every part of our lives and is very evident in this book. Even though the author doesn't point Him out in every little section, He's there through and through!
I give How to Be God's Little Princess 5 stars but don't just take my word for it. Click the link and read it for yourself!
This book was provided for free from Thomas Nelson to facilitate an honest and thoughtful review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Coldwater, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to be God's Little Princess is a pink hardcover book by Sheila Walsh. The book is loaded with surveys, crafts, helpful tips about manners and etiquette. The book is divided into short little chapters that include scriptures that pertain to the topic, such as beauty and the scripture reference is 1 Peter 3:3-4.
This book would be a great gift for a little girl in your life that was between the ages of 7 and 11. I have a daughter that is 10 and this would be a great book for her. I love that it mentions relevant topics such as having a perfect party, thank you letters, phone and internet manners. I know my daughter will like all the activities and quizzes. This is a fun must read for that tween girl in your life. I hope you enjoy the book!
I was given this book by Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good intent but princess theme dangerouslyoverdone

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
How To Be God's Little Princess, by Sheila Walsh, is "a fun guide book for God's little princesses". It covers many topics that are of interest and importance to young girls:
There are quizzes that are great starting points for positive, constructive discussion. Some of the areas covered are proper manners, appropriate dress, developing poise, making friends and maintaining healthy habits. There are also fun tips on everything from planning a party to being media wise. Crafty readers will enjoy some fun projects. Girls who like to cook will find some easy recipes that can be used for a tea party.
With all of these positive points, I must say that I feel the princess aspect is way too dramatic, and emphasized to the point that I would not be comfortable with my granddaughters getting into this mode. I respect the author's perspective that all young girls are God's princesses, but it is overdone. (The section on "How To Wear A Tiara" comes to mind.)
I would like to reiterate that there are many good points to this book. However, I have serious reservations about the depth of the princess fantasy that it promotes.
I received this book from publisher Tommy Nelson Publishers so that I might give my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own, as I am not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute and practical

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to be God's Little Princess is a book by Shelia Walsh. My daughter was a bit too young for it, but she loved it anyways. She loves to learn about princessy things and this one is about manners and behaving nicely. She especially enjoyed the part about wearing the tiara, even though it wasn't all that practical. She already knew a lot of manners but now looks forward to moments she can mimic this book. It is really cute and a must have book for your daughter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God's Princess

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How to be God's Little Princess. Royal tips for Manners, Etiquette, and True Beauty by Sheila Walsh. Sheila is also the author of the GiGi series.
There are a lot of things I like about this book and some things I really don;t care for.
I love that this book is about Manners. I think it is a very good idea to focus on girls having great manners as well as building Godly Character qualities in little girls. The thing I am concerned about with this book is the emphasis it seems to give about self beauty and image. As a child of God we are to put God first then others and then self.
Some great aspects of the book I really liked:
I liked that it teaches girls to set the table and proper place settings.
I like that it talked about having a good attitude.
Also the importance of good friendship
Some things I did not really care for:
One thing is about wearing the right kind of Tiara
Another thing is how to wave like a princess.
I think there are so many other more important aspects that I think Godly parents should encourage in their daughters above all the princess stuff work on being Christ like and building Character.
I received this book free for review from Thomas Nelson The opinions posted here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for How to Be God's Little Princess: Royal Tips of Manners and Etiquette for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect For Little Girls

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How to be God's Little Princess, Royal Tips on Manners and Etiquette for Girls is by Sheila Walsh, the author of the "Gigi, God's Little Princess" series. What little girl doesn't want to learn how to be a princess? The pretty dresses, the crowns, it's all so exciting! But what's even more exciting? Being God's little princess. For every little girl who wants to know exactly how to be that princess, there is Sheila Walsh's book.
This little pink book is chock full of activities and crafts that girls will love to do, as well as fun quizzes to take. The illustrations are wonderful and illustrate the many "how-to" topics.
But most of all, this is a quality book in another way. It is not focused on making little girls grow up too soon. In our culture, I think that girls are forced to grow up faster and faster, and that's just not right. But How to be God's Little Princess is a book that lets little girls be their own age and love it.
This is a book for any age. An older girl can enjoy reading it on her own. For younger girls, the book is best shared with mom. Together they can do the activities, make the crafts, take the quizzes, and learn all about what it means to be God's little princess!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>