Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson The King's Christmas List

Tommy Nelson The King's Christmas List

Start a new family tradition. Celebrate Jesus' birthday by donating time and gifts to others! In The King's Christmas List, Emma and her little dog Shu-Shu were invited to the King's birthday party but arrived empty-handed after giving his gifts away to people along the way. Your 4- to 8-year-olds will be as happy as Emma when she discovers that she gave the King exactly what he wanted! Teach your children what it means to celebrate Christmas and give gifts to the King! 32 pages, jacketed hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The King's Christmas List
Review 1 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

tool to reach out

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
feather
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The King’s Christmas List by Eldon Johnson, illustrated by Bonnie Leick is a children’s picture book about a little girl, Emma, and her dog Shu-Shu. In this imaginary tale, Emma and Shu-Shu receive a golden invitation to the King’s birthday party. They collect a gift for the King and set out in a horse drawn carriage for the party. Along the way, they encounter some families in need and give away their gifts and treasures to help. At the party, they discover that by helping the families in need, they gave a gift to the King. The story is a great tool for families who want to expand their holiday gift giving into doing more to help others. At the end of the book, resources are provided to generate ideas to help others during the holiday season. While the book focuses on the Christmas season, the concept could be used at any time to teach about reaching out and helping others. The illustrations are very nice and detailed. I found some of the wording to lack a sense of flow, but my children enjoyed having the story read to them repeatedly and looking at the pictures. Disclosure: I received this book free from BookSneeze book review bloggers program, but the opinions expressed are my own (FTC 16 CFR, Part 255).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story on How to Win the King's Heart

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saundra
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Kings Christmas List is a wonderful story to remind both young and old the true reason for the season. The story unfolds with a special invitation inside of young Emma’s mailbox. This invitation is to the King’s birthday party. Emma gathers her favorite things to bring to the King but along the way she encounters numerous strangers in need. Emma’s giving and unselfish heart leads her to giving away her special possessions. But what she gains is so much better; she gains the heart of the King. Her actions embody the true meaning of Christmas and the reason we celebrates Christ’s birthday with presents. Gift giving is not just a holiday obligation, but a matter of the heart that fulfills the King's desire to have each and every one of us be a blessing to others.
The story is one that is appropriate for children 5 and up. The concept and wording may be difficult for younger children to understand. It is the type of story that can best be used as a tool to encourage discussion after reading it to your children. The pictures are beautiful and imaginative. The story unfolds in a way that holds a child’s attention throughout the book. The last pages of the book include website information for different world wide charity organizations that families can consider donating too. This book is a wonderful way to introduce these organizations to school aged children in a way that will lead to a lifestyle of giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christmas letter great to read!

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
SaraG
This is a sweet story of a little girl, Emma and her dog Shu-Shu. Her daddy builds her a playhouse that becomes a door to a new world, The Kingdom. Then the adventure begins as she receives an invitation from the King for his birthday party. Of course she must bring a gift. She bakes a special Christmas cake and hurries on her way. As she travels to meet the King she encounters a grandma and grandson who are cold and she gives away her coat. She encounters several others on her journey and has opportunity to show compassion. She learns about how giving to others in need from the heart is how we give gifts to God. The book also provides ways for families to give to others this Christmas season.
My girls very much enjoyed the story, especially my 5 year old daughter. She enjoyed the illustrations which really brought the the story to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart Warming

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Manda
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma and her little dog, Shu Shu, have been invited to a birthday party, for the King! After finding a perfect birthday present and grabbing her favorite toy and the cake Emma and her mother made, surprises await Emma on her way to the King's party.
A good lesson lies in the pages of this heart-warming children's book. This book will teach your children to give, and to give with a thankful heart. A wonderful book, and fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new book for the Christmas collection

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
sunflowermommie
Location:BC Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The King's Christmas List
Written by Eldon Johnson
Illustrated by Bonnie Leick
The King's Christmas List is a children's book about Emma and her little dog Shu-Shu. Emma and Shu-Shu are invited to a birthday party for the King. Emma searches the playhouse for gifts to give, but through a series of events, she reaches the King empty handed. Learn how the King responds to her lack of gifts.
This book is filled with colorful illustrations. This is a powerful story about how to give gifts from the heart with a call to action at the end of the book. It is an inspiring children's book to add to your Christmas collection or give as a Christmas gift. This book would be most appropriate for children ages 4-8. My children found this book interesting and it held their attention.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
What gifts would you give if you were invited to a birthday party for a king?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The King's Christmas List

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alice
Location:Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After waiting for nearly a month, I finally received this book from US. The book is titled “The King’s Christmas List”, authored by Eldon Johnson and illustrated by Bonnie Leick is special present for kids.
The story surrounds Emma, who is dressed in a Christmas cover, and her lovely and considerate buddy – Shushu, the dog. One day, they received an invitation letter to the King’s birthday. Without further delay, Emma and her mother decided to bake a cake, and present the delicious cakes to the King as a gift. Soon, they started a series of unknown journey… and she gave away the cake during the journey. Finally, Emma turned into the King’s birthday with empty-handed!
Surprisingly, the King remained calm and did not feel offended. Instead, he praised Emma for being a girl that know to share. Obviously, Emma understood being able to give and share is a blessing, and she unselfishly giveaway her favorite items. She always try to put herself into people’s shoes. This message is very simple and easy to understand, and is exactly what this book is trying to convey. Simple as it sounds, but many adults would probably feel ashamed for neglecting it.
My little baby, Angel, who is yet to celebrate her 1st birthday, cannot understand the meaning of sharing. I must show her this beautiful book when she grows bigger, and look up Emma, the character of this book as a role model. Learn the courage and learn how to share, and feel the borderless love that comes along them.
Despite the fact that we’re not Christian, we still celebrate Christmas because we know this is a unique day that we all should feel thankful for what we’ve got.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for babies

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
outdoorextremeyo
I chose to read The Kings Christmas List by Eldon Johnson because I am a new mommy and love to read to my baby. I highly recommend this book to others because it covers a very important concept in life: giving. The pictures were very colorful so they interested my 2 month old a lot. However if not just focusing on the pictures, I would recommend this book to children older than 2 months. The amount of writing on the page makes it take a while to read before you turn the page. My 2 month old’s attention span is too short to sit there while I read the entire blurb on the page before she seemed to get bored and want to look at the next page in line. I did however enjoy how the illustrations filled the entire pages with a lot of vivid color. I believe that reading this book to my children will become a lasting Christmas tradition.
I also like that on the back cover the book promotes the Blood Water Mission as well as World Vision. I think that both of these organizations are wonderful and they relate to the concept behind the book very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Ring
This story is a sweet story about a little girl, Emma, who is invited to attend the Kings Birthday Party. On her way there, she meets people that need the gifts she has intended for the King and ends up giving all the presents away. When she gets to the party, the King explains to her that when she gave the gifts to those that needed them, she also gave it to Him.I liked how the story is showing children how we honor the Lord, when we share what we have with people (especially those that need it). I did not like how the story was written. At times, it didnt flow as childrens books normally do. Other times, the writing was a bit confusing for children to understand. It didnt seem like a lot of thought was put into the writing part. The pictures were only so so. They look very computerized. They are nice, but I have seen much better illustrations for childrens books.I also thought the title was not very fitting for the story. Only once and very briefly is this list even mentioned in the story. Its great that the author wanted to put emphasis on the Kings Christmas List, however, it wasnt very identifiable throughout the story.The overall message is good though and it is a great way to put a new perspective on Christmas. They also did a good job in putting a way to help someone right there in the back of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Holly Lawson
I was given the book "The King's Christmas List" by Eldon Johnson to review through Book Sneeze. This book is the story of a little girl going to the King's birthday party at Christmas. Emma takes a cake and her favorite teddy bear to the party. On the way she helps a family by giving them her cake and then her teddy bear. When she arrives to the party, no one is giving gifts to the King. She asks why and He says that when she gave to others, she gave to Him. This book teaches children that when we give to others, we are giving to Jesus as well (Matthew 25: 37-40). I would recommend this precious story to all parents. What a great way to teach giving!! There is also a website you can go to and give to World Vision together as a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
CinnyBBS
I recently reviewed this adorable children's book: The King's Christmas List. I was looking for something child friendly and suitable for my two nephews to read and in this book exceeded my expectations in every way. Eldon Johnson has written a beautiful Christmas story that I believe not only teaches the Christmas spirit but also the special gift of giving and sharing. It utilizes adorable child Emma and her dog, Shu Shu to illustrate the true meaning of Christmas as they make their way to the King's party and offer their aid to many others along the way. It brings forth the concept that often, helping others is the greatest gift of all. This is a wonderful lesson for people of all ages and I think its wonderful for children to pick this trait up as they are little. Now, the book is a tad long so I'm not sure if younger kids would be able to read it or sit still for it. It may be a good bedtime story for the younger ones or a great book for children who have learnt to read or have just started reading. Any way, it would make for a good learning experience as well as family time together during a joyous season.To conclude, I think this would be a great choice as a Christmas present for the kids and my nephews are going to be enjoying a great story about Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina Fosdick
The King's Christmas List by Eldon Johnson is a children's book for the Christmas season. This would be a great gift for a little girl. The little girl's name is Emma and she has a dog named Shu-Shu and they have a magical playhouse. They receive an invitation to go to the King's birthday party, but along the way they are stopped by people in need. Emma and her dog show kindness and compassion to people they meet along the way.The book helps reinforce the true meaning of Christmas and serving Christ. The book has nice colorful illustrations that make the story come to life. The main point of the story is based on Matthew 25. It is an easy story to help children show Christ's love to other people. I would recommend the book for children ages 4-7. This would make a good Christmas gift for someone in your life. I was given this book by Booksneeze.com to review.Older Post Home Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom) Mommy Dearest Followers Blog Archive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melanie
The King's Christmas List I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for my honest review. I really appreciated the new direction that this book takes in the realm of Christmas stories. So many Christmas stories for kids are centered around Santa Claus and gifts that it is easy to forget that the holiday is about celebrating the birth of Christ. Christian Christmas stories celebrate the birth of the King, but often stop there. This story goes one step further.Just what does a king want as a birthday present? Obviously we would want to give him the very best things we have to offer, but is that really what He wants from us? I like the message given in this book. Reading through this book could easily become a family holiday tradition that sparks some great conversations with your young children. Not only that, there are opportunities for your family to take part in giving a gift to the King listed at the back of the book. This is a good story for your children. The pictures are also very engaging. My biggest complaint is the name of the little girl's dog, Shu-shu.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
lbcmom
I was so excited when this book arrived on my doorstep last week! I love books. I love children's books. I love books that teach me a lesson. As a mom, I love books that teach my children how to live their lives for Christ EVERY day. Eldon Johnson, in the book, The King's Christmas List, helps teach a concept to readers of all ages. Through Emma's journey to the King's birthday party, we see how we can give anywhere, anytime and anything. AS the story begins, we see Emma taking what she had to the King; teaching us to use what you have at that moment. On the journey, we see Emma give her time, her favorite thing and her self. When she arrives at the birthday party empty handed, we all learn that she gave the best gift - giving herself to others. Matthew 25:37-40 is the key verse to this book:The King will reply: "I tell you the truth, whatever you did for the one of the least of these brothers of mine,you did for me.Matthew 25:40 NIVThe end of the book provides the parent resources to help teach their children how to give of themselves as they walk the Christian walk.. This a wonderful book with a year round message for a year round practice. Keep it out all year long!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norma Edie
The Kings Christmas List by Eldon Johnson has a wonderful message for children and is presented in a way in which theyre sure to be able to relate. It is also beautifully illustrated by Bonnie Leick. The illustrations alone present the message, making it a book for even non-readers. It tells the story of Emma and her dog Shu-Shu receiving an invitation to attend the Kings birthday party and follows Emma as she carefully chooses a gift to present to the King, continuing with her experiences along the way and finally actually attending the party and meeting the King.Its a story of a caring, compassionate child and how that compassion leads her to not only give away the gift shes chosen for the King, but also something of her own that she needs and something she cherishes. As we reach the end of the book and she realizes just who the King is, children (as well as perhaps ourselves) gain a new understanding of the words Whatever gift youve given to a person in need, is indeed a gift you have given to me.I received a free copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for reviewing it. I was not required to write a favorable review, this is my own evaluation of the book. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Monique
Emma and her little dog Shu-Shu are invited to the King's Birthday. They are very excited to attend. But first they must find a gift to bring. After deciding to bring the King a special cake, they depart for the party on a carriage sent by the King himself. Along the way they meet several different people. Each set of people has a different need that Emma can meet if she is willing to give up some of her favorite things, including the cake she was bringing for the King.Upon arriving at the party Emma and Shu-Shu notice that no one is giving gifts to the King for his birthday. The King notices Emma's confusions and explains to her that over the years people have forgotten that He too would like a gift, a gift given from the heart.Positives: A delightful story and a wonderful message for children and adults. This story clearly communicates the importance of giving to others. I did like at the end where the author invites kids to log onto the website for ideas on how they can give. Negatives: While it is implied, it is never stated that the King is Jesus. I think it is important, especially for young children, to understand this. Talking Points: This story is a wonderful springboard for question and discussion. I think children need to understand that the greatest gift they can ever give someone is the gospel message. This may be accompanied by food, water, clothing or other necessities, but the greatest need any person has is for their soul to be right with God. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
April Wynveen
I love this book and it will be added to our library and read for years to come. It is a lovely story about a girl who finds the true meaning of Christmas on the way to a party. It reminds us all that Christmas is about giving and not getting. It also at the end has ideas and ways to give through different organization and not all require money. It is a great way to teach children what Christmas is about and then put it in to practice. I received this book through Booksneeze.com and I am so thankful to have picked a great book for my children to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
The Kings Christmas ListBy Eldon JohnsonIllustrated by Bonnie LeickJoin Emma and her dog, Shu-Shu on adventure that starts right in her own playhouse. Emma receives an invitation to the kings birthday party and she and her dog Shu-Shu are picked up in a horse-drawn carriage to go to the party. Along the way they meet people in need and Emma does what she can to help them. Upon arriving, she has nothing to give the king, but finds out she has given the best gift of all.The Kings Christmas List is beautifully illustrated and well written. It is a great story of what our king really wants from us at Christmas and all through the year. There are even suggestions at the end of the book on how to help others. You and your child can give together.http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1400316456&title=The_King%27s_Christmas_List
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
jwright
I got a free copy of "The King's Christmas List" by Eldon Johnson from Tommy Nelson Publishing for review. I picked this one mostly because my 3 year-old son loves books, and lately he'd been having me read the Christmas book that got last year to him at bedtime. So, we read "The King's Christmas List" tonight.While he did like the story, and Bonny Leick's illustrations, I was less than impressed with the writing. It being a children's book is no excuse for bad writing. Kids get a feel for story, and they learn to discern if writing is uneven, or if there's something out of place in a story. So, a mediocre book might be entertaining a few times, but they'll outgrow it more quickly than a good book at the same reading level.The first few pages seem like they were written last. It felt like Johnson knew what he wanted to happen, but not how to set the characters in motion. So, he just "winged it" for a couple of pages. Then, the girl's dog, Shu-Shu, serves no purpose in the story. It can talk. The dog's dialog doesn't move the plot forward or provide extra exposition, or information. So, it also feels like an afterthought, added in to give an excuse for not leaving the dog out. Last, and this is really minor, she only made two stops. For some reason, that bothered me. It read as if it had been rewritten and two of the interruptions of her trip combined into one(maybe so the dog could have more lines?). Also, (Spoiler alert!) Emma doesn't go home at the end of the book. Between the angels, and sitting on Christs knee, some children may be left wondering if she hadn't died.However, it does teach an infinitely valuable lesson (based on Matthew 25:40), and even gives information on notable charities that young children may want to help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
We LOVE this book! This book is a wonderful story about the true meaning of christmas and how it's not about the amount we spend but that the gift comes from the heart. I love how the story is told so even the youngest child can understand that it's our love and kindness that is what God really wants. We have read this non stop since we recieved it and it will be looking pretty worn by christmas I'm sure. The Meaning, The Illustrations, The Story this book is the whole package! My favorite part the charities listed in the back. I decided that we are doing a charitable gift this year in their name. My oldest loved the idea of the $25 dollar gives 2 chickens that gives food and income to families from WorldVision. thank you booksneeze for allowing us to review this heartwarming book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The King's Christmas List
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becca
I was excited to get a children's book to review next, especially one about a king & a little girl, since Kyla is reading everything in sight lately. This one, The King's Christmas List by Eldon Johnson, did not disappoint. The illustrations are nice; brightly colored, full page, and quite beautiful on several pages. I also liked that even though the main character was a blonde haired, blue eyed little girl, there were a wide variety of skin, hair, etc. colors portrayed throughout the book, something that is all too often not the case. The story itself is a bit whimsical, almost like a fairytale. Honestly, I thought it was all a bit far fetched, but my daughter loved it, and since that's the audience it's actually written for, I can't complain. I won't ruin the whole story for you, other than to say that it is based on Matthew 25:37-40, and they did an excellent job of portraying the message in a way children will "get" and want to apply to their lives. I also really appreciated the way they tied in our giving of Christmas Gifts to each other to the question of "Whose birthday really is it?" and then "What will we give to Him then?" The challenge at the end is basically, "What are you going to do about it now?" and some examples of cheap and/or free ways to help the poor and/or hurting around you are given, such as Christmas Caroling and asking for canned food to give to a local foodbank, and various endeavors through World Vision, etc. I would highly recommend the book for anyone with younger children. Although I found the beginning part a bit silly almost, the point is made very effectively at the end, making it all worthwhile. As my daughter told her Grandpa when he asked her about the book after she read it the first time through, "Jesus wants us to share the fruits of the Spirit with others." and any book that helps her come to that conclusion is a winner in my book :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>