Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson One Hand, Two Hands

Tommy Nelson One Hand, Two Hands

Written in rhyming text and illustrated with the charming art of Gaby Hansen, this simple message of God's blessing of hands not only entertains . . . as it teaches what wonderful things our hands can do from scratching, latching, and petting a pup to washing dishes with mommy and putting toys in a box . . . but it also conveys the important message: We can use God's gift of hands to show our love for Him by helping others.
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for One Hand, Two Hands
Review 1 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
acwsmom
Location:Covina, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent story to read to kids. Lots of fun to watch kids clap, snap, and wave their hands in the air. Also gives a very important message about what are hands are ultimately used for -- praying! Great book by a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful book for kids to read and enjoy

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book called One Hand, Two Hand by Max Lucado was a rally good book. It was a children's book I received from booksneeze.com. The book had very small words and alot of pictures that made it entertaining and fun to read. I know for sure my niece and newphew will love this book very much. They are 3 and 5 and love to read and play games. This book mentioned a few things kids can do with their hands such as helping to clean my room, feed my pets, set and clear the table and gather the trash. Also mentions how kids have kind hands to make a card for a sick person, give a gift to the teacher at school, help a friend put a band-aid on when they have a scrap on their knee, and sharing my snack.The book also mentions loving hands that kids have to fold them to pray to GOD, clap for someone else, to wave to a friend and hug my mom or dad. This book basically is a way for kids to show their mom and dad how much they appreciate them by helping around the house and the most important thing in the book is how we can pray to GOD to give thanks for the many things around us for having GOD in our lives is so rewarding and blessed and how getting to know GOD is one of the best things we could ever have!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The wonderful things our hands can do

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ellyn Leow
Location:Malaysia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited and waited for almost two months and finally this hard cover children storybook arrived safely in my hands. This is the first international parcel De’Little Ones received; and this book - One Hand, Two Hands, written by Max Lucado in rhyming text and illustrated with the charming art of Gaby Hansen, has traveled all the way from United States to Malaysia. I told Kylie (my 6 years old daughter) and Kylin (my 3 years old daughter) how far this book has traveled.
Kylin loves this book the most, requesting to sit on my lap and asking me to read the book aloud. She loves the interactive illustrations on every page and she even mimics the girl’s action on the book when I read this:
One right.
One left.
One here and
one there.
As I read along, I showed her all the things we can do with our hands and she followed actively with Kylie and me. At the end of their bedtime story, she requested me to read this book again so that she could have fun performing all the wonderful acts with her hands. She even asked me, “Have you seen God before?” after reading this -
…we fold them
together and
happily pray:
Before reading aloud to Kylin, Kylie had the honor of reading the book first. She had no problems reading and understanding the contents, with Kylin and me sitting by her bedside. Kylin listened attentively when Kylie read aloud. At the end of the story, I asked Kylie if she loves this book and she said, “I dunno.” When probed further, Kylie revealed that she prefers a pop-up book. :)
This book is a great book for children and I rate this book 5 out of 5. This book teaches children to be grateful to have hands and how they can show love, help others and be kind to others with their hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book that teaches good value to the children

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After waiting for almost 2 months, finally I received this book on last weekend. The beautiful illustrations straightaway captured the kids' attention and requested me to read for them on that night.
One Hand, Two Hands is written by Max Lucado in rhyming text and illustrated with the charming art of Gaby Hansen. The language is very simple, plus the interactive illustration, it is very easy for the children to understand. It teaches what wonderful things our hands can do from clapping, scratching, latching, squeezing, waving and petting a pup to washing dishes with mommy and putting toys in a box. As I read along, the kids will actively follow along doing all sorts of fun activities using their hands. Besides that, my 2 years old is also attracted by the beautiful and sweet illustration of the book. This is one of the few books that he will sit with me listen to me finish reading the whole book without running around. :)
I like the message of the book - To encourage the children to help others with their hands, and to encourage them to be creative and think about other ways they can use their hands to be helpful. I rate this book 5 out of 5.
Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Book To Grow Up With

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Catheryn Chuah
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
What Do I Think About The...
Story:
I love the storyline as it is about teaching children how God bless us with our hands and we can do so many wonderful things with it. From doing simple things for themselves to helping others in tiny ways. It also reminds the adults to be thankful too. The prayer at the of the book is also very heartwarming. Written in rhyming text, it is even easier and makes it more fun to read it to a 17 month old toddler. My favourite page is when Max wrote "Wipe tears. Give a gift. Write Grandma a letter. With hands and a hug, we make people feel better". It touches my heart deeply.
Book Cover:
Very sweet looking but the jacketed cover was a little flimsy so I had to remove it before my girl could get her hands on it and start tearing or chewing it away.
Pages:
Perhaps a thicker material would be great for younger kids as some of them enjoy turning the pages over and over again. And with a thicker material, we can read it to even younger little ones.
Illustrations:
My girl likes the characters especially the kitten and it reappears in most of the pages. That attracts her. I also love it that we can relate to most of the practical daily chores projected in the book : combing, holding a cup, buttoning shirts. Brilliant! Lovely pictures and soft colors. But the soft colors doesn't really appeal to little ones. Maybe pictures in sharper and bolder colors would do more magic.
Overall:
I know this is a wonderful book that I can keep reading to my girl for another few years down the road and will grow together with us. Looking forward to more such awesome books in the near future and definitely will recommend this book to friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A cute children book from Max Lucado!

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chin Jenny
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As part of the BookSneeze Blogger Reviewer program, I'm always on the look out for good children's books, particularly good Christian books for children. When I received the early invitation to review the latest books from Max Lucado, I'm immediately jump at the chance and monitored the time when the opportunity is available. I requested this book along with 1 other (still waiting for it sigh...) and here is my review of the latest book from Max Lucado entitled "ONE HAND, TWO HANDS"
My first impression of the book: They should do away with the French flap (or the jacketed cover for the book). I've never been the fan for flaps like this and I find it a waste of paper and annoying that I have to either tape it up or totally removed it away to prevent tearing from my 19 months old toddler.
I like the way they show us how we can make use of our hands, and the fact they incorporate how our little ones can help out with the cleaning, washing and all. I would have preferred if they show both little boys and girls in the illustrations instead of only the little girl as the main character. That way, both little boys and girls can relate themselves with the story.
I do however find it a joy to see Ben showing me things he do on daily bases when he saw the similar actions from the book, like washing and cleaning up and combing hair. I'm not a fan of soft and blurry illustrations like this though I do enjoys the pastel and light toned colors used in the illustrations. Overall, I give this book a 7 out of 10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Childrens Book

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review: One Hand Two Hand
by: Max Lucado
This is the first children's book by Max Lucado I have read. Ooh what a joy. Just as his others, he is a wonderful author. I chose this book as the first book for our new grand daughter. I look forward to reading this to her and teaching her, thru Max's words and photo's, just how wonderfully made we are. All the wonderful thing's we can do with the hands God has given us. From play to praise.
A wonderful book for children and adults alike, to read to the little ones.
Thanks Max, for another great book. A must have for every family with children and grand children!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janelle
One Hand, Two Hands, by Max Lucado is a charming book about how kids use the hands that God gave them every day. It starts off showing how kids use their hands to play and concludes with how they can use their hands for Gods glory by helping and serving others. The illustrations, done by Gaby Hansen, are quite adorable and my children quickly noticed her creativity in making the characters stuffed animals come to life through imaginative play.I enjoyed reading this story to my little ones and since it was so short it held the attention of my two year old son. While I have found other childrens books by Max Lucado to be more enjoyable, this book is still a nice addition to our library. My four year old daughter especially liked the story and asked me to read it to her several times in a row. Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa (ForstRose)
Whimsical and frolicking illustrations bring the pages alive with color while the rhythmic and flowery prose will capture children's vivid imaginations. As they hear and repeat the words and inspect the illustrations even toddlers will find encouragement for the tasks they already perform at home. Youngsters will also discover new ways to use their skills and talents for the benefit of others as well as the satisfaction of receiving back through their own giving. Parents will be thrilled with the additions to this book which assist in finding additional media from this author, an introduction written in the form of a letter to parents with activities and suggestions to correlate with the story, and even some simple questions and lists of tasks or projects to involve children long after the book has been read. Even the language itself is formatted for emphasis on specific phrases through the use of bright colors and larger fonts. Other adults who have relationships with children in their lives will enjoy sharing this book with the youngsters as well. Don't miss out on a wonderful new tale for your younger loved ones or the young at heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
I love Max Lucado, so when I saw that he had a new children's book out I requested it so I could review it. I also teach Preschool at a Church so I thought this might be a book that I could read to my class. I was right; Max's new book "One Hand, Two Hands (Oh, the ways we can help with our hands!) is a perfect book to read to my class of 4 year olds.In this book Max shows that even the youngest children can use their hands to serve others. He also emphasizes that the hands of little ones can be used to help and show love to others, especially to their family. Max states in his book that children know that "hands" can be "kind or harsh", "helpful or hurtful", so he wanted to write this book to show how their little hands can be helpful in all kinds of ways.The book itself is not to long, but just the right amount of pages for little ones to listen to. The words in the book (the story) are written in a bigger font, which makes it easy to read. Max also writes so that words and phrases rhyme in the story. I just love reading a book out loud that flows with a rhyming pattern. The illustrations of the book were done by Gaby Hansen, and they are really beautiful. Soft colors and full illustrations fill each page. Max ends the story with a list of ways a child can use their hands to show love and to help others. It appears Max is giving the children that read the book a list of actions that they can complete when they are done reading the book. I like that... I would recommend this book to parents, grandparents, and teachers. Actually to anyone who has a little one in their lives. Max is a gifted, talented writer and he can write for any audience, young or old. Once again, I am thankful to BookSneeze for allowing me the opportunity to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mechelle Champion
"One Hand, Two Hands" This book by Max Lucado is a phenomenal children's book! The story is very well written in a manner for children but won't bore the parents reading it to those children. Teaching kids that their hands and the things they use their hands for are simply tools that God can use to reach others. I really appreciate the simple rhyming style which is great for my daughter who is in kindergarten, this is a great "first book" and I love that it is Christian! Max Lucado weaves together the joy and importance of serving others and gives kids a down to earth look at just how they can help others with their own two hands. In the back of the book there are a couple of pages that are great discussion starters with your children and different ways they can reach out to others in every day life, i.e. draw a card for someone sick or clap for someone else. Overall this was a wonderful addition to my kids bedtime book collection and one we will read often!Disclosure of Material Connection:I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze.com http://BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosy Posy
Max Lucado has created another wonderfully sweet book for children all about their hands. In a fun sing song rhyming way he describes our hands, what they can feel, do for ourselves and most importantly how we can use our hands to help others.The story wraps up with a great little poem thanking God for our hands and asking Him to put them to good use again :) I must say this is a fabulous book for younger children and something every parent will enjoy reading and using as a great tool to discuss how to make the best use of our hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill
One Hand, Two Hands by Max Lucado is a wonderful children's book. In a fun rhyming way he tells how we can use our hands for feeling things like our pets, doing daily tasks like combing hair, and getting a drink, and how our hands can make noise. He also explains that hands can feel cold in winter and that we can use them to determine the texture of objects. Hands can give hugs and gifts and are used to be helpers. Then at the end of the day they can be folded together to pray! This book sends a message to children that our hands are meant for helping others, being kind to others, and loving others. I really liked this booked and so did Owen and Ava! Max Lucado does an excellent job explaining all the things we can use our hands for. I really like at the end of the book how he has three categories of ways our hands can be used and several examples of each. Gaby Hansen fills the pages with great illustrations to make the book appealing to the eye! One Hand, Two Hands is a great book and I think anyone who has young children would love this book as well I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Gillstrap
How many of you have heard of Max Lucado? I'm sure many of you have...he has written kids books, such as "Just in Case You Ever Wonder" (a book I personally love), several books for adults, bible studies, and many of you may know him from the kids "Hermie and Friends" DVD series. Anytime I pick up a book or movie by Max Lucado, I expect great things. When I received a hardback copy of his new children's book "One Hand, Two Hands" from Booksneeze I was excited. I immediately grabbed Sydney and told her we were going to read a new book (she loves to read just like her mommy). It starts with a letter to parents on how to use this book to teach your child. I love it when authors do this! It gives a little insight as to why they wrote the book the way they did. This book is all about the things hands can do. It is written in rhymes, with short sentences and large print. Sydney loved the colorful pictures and animals throughout the book. She loved clapping and snapping and waving her hands with the words in the book. They story ends with a short prayer to God about using their hands again.The last page in the book is a great way to take this book to the next level for older toddlers. It helps them learn what helping hands, kind hands, and loving hands can do and gives them a chance to say ways their hands can be helping hands to others. As usual, I love this book by Max Lucado! The pictures and the message are both great! The short story can be enjoyed by young toddlers, and as they get older you can let them help tell how hands can be helping. *I received this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
One Hand, Two Hands by Max LucadoCute book with bright and engaging pictures. The narrative is most appropriate for preschool aged children, as it is simple and repetitive. A good lesson on ways we can bless others with what God has given us. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan
I received this book from Thomas Nelson book review bloggers program. It is written:In an easy to read style with rhyming words on every page - 24 full pagesThe rhymes will be easily memorized by the child and will no doubt be used many times during the day. Although the illustrations use a little girl on each page, the words are gender neutral and one page does include a little boy.The little girl engages the reader by her interaction with her large St Bernard style puppy dog and also her pet kitty cat. The way she cares for her stuffed animals and make them come to life dancing with her in the garden is just what kids love to do play pretend.It brings an important message to young children about Helping Hands, Kind Hands, and Loving Hands and also makes ordinary chores look like too much fun.I especially enjoyed the page where the little girl is sitting cuddled in her Grandmas lap with hands and a hug, we make people feel betterThe pictures:Are certain to keep your little ones attention; with lots of details and color to look at while youre doing the reading. One page shows the girl and her animal friends dressed up in baseball uniforms and a frog jumping excitedly on home plate.Another favourite page of mine is near the end where the little girl is kneeling beside her bed with the big puppy dog saying her prayers; the other animals are lined up on her bed, covered with a beautiful hand stitched quilt!The little girl is pictured as very independent parents are only showed once.There is a lot of material on each page, providing good quality reading timeThis book could be improved by:Making it in a smaller format at approx 10 in x 10 in - it is hard for little ones to turn the pages but please keep the large format as wellIncluding both boys and girls in more of the pictures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
One Hand, Two Hands by Max Lucado, illustrated by Gaby Hansen. This cute childrens book has a very simple message about how our hands can do all kinds of things, but that the best thing to do with them is help. This book is written more for younger children ages 2-6, although the message is one that everyone should practice.The message in this book is presented in a very simple way and would really only interest younger children. The pictures are very cute and colorful. The message throughout the book is that we can use our hands for many things but the best thing to use them for is to help. I would recommend this book if you have younger children or children who are just learning to read, this would be a great book to practice reading skills with. I would like to thank Tommy Nelson for providing me with an advanced copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
One Hand, Two Hands by Max Lucado--This book was an adorable book. I read it to my girls and right away they wanted to do things to be helpful. Max Lucado is such a wonderful writer and really is able to inspire others to live out our values.In this latest book of his, he shows kids how they can be a help and encouragement to others by what they do with their hands. It is all written in a rhyme with cute illustrations. It is a very sweet book that every parent and grandparent will want their little ones to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angell
Let me start off by saying that the illustrations (done by Gaby Hansen) in Max Lucado's book "One Hand, Two Hands...Oh, the Ways We Can Help with Our Hands!" are absolutely beautiful! The book is a feast for the eyes.The story is about how children can use their hands for good. It starts off by showing children the things they do with their hands every day, and then it goes into using them for good, and for praying, and so on.Max Lucado is such a wonderful author and I recommend this book highly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for One Hand, Two Hands
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esther
Little hands are busy hands and they can keep us busy too ! This colorful hardcover book teaches little ones in a rhyming way how to use their hands to show love to others by helping. It not only entertains little ones with the rhyming words and wonderful art, but teaches them to be little helpers. Be it petting a pup or holding a cup...use those tiny little hands for God! Give a warm hug, write grandma a letter, wipe tears...oh and the times we wish we had an extra pair of hands!This is the first time, i got to personally see a children's book by Max Lucado and i must admit, it is geared to teach young children with short, sweet and colorful illustrations. Just the way i like it ! I highly recommend this book for children.It ends with a sweet little prayer:One hand, two hands,Five fingers, tenGod, thanks for my hands.Please use them again.You can buy it from Max Lucado's website & Amazon.(Disclaimer: Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishers, I received a free advanced reading copy of this book as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not monetarily compensated for this review. Please note that the review was not influenced by the Sponsor in any way.All opinions expressed here are only my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>