Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson A Christmas Prayer

Tommy Nelson A Christmas Prayer

Snuggle up by the tree with your little one and enjoy this adorable Yuletide tale. Soothing rhymes and glowing illustrations tell the story of a child who walks through his house on a snowy Christmas night offering a prayer of thanks to God for the greatest Gift of all. Ages 2 to 5. 20 pages, padded boardbook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Christmas Prayer
Review 1 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Focus the hearts of children on Jesus!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well….this didn’t make it before Christmas, but this is a precious children’s board book for Christmas!
This would be a great learning tool about the real meaning of Christmas for small toddlers and even preschoolers. The child in the book takes pieces of the Nativity set and thanks God for His special gifts.
The rhyming text will have children repeating and hopefully retaining the meaning behind the book – God’s greatest gift is Jesus, and all other gifts point to Him.
The whimsical illustrations will capture children’s attention too. They look so soft, that they’ll want to reach out and touch them! And since it is a durable board book, they can!
This is a great book to use in beginning to instill a focus on Jesus during the Christmas season and not all the commercialism the world throws out there.
It may be after Christmas now, but a great time to begin preparing for next year! And if you know of someone that may be expecting a new little one soon, this would make a great baby gift for them to have in the future to begin planting those seeds of loving Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your children will love it! So will you!

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am excited to recommend A Christmas Prayer, by Amy Parker, illustrated by Marijan Ramlja. It is an absolutely delightful children's Christmas story. It is perfect for young toddlers and even older children. The melodic rhyming will keep even the youngest ones engaged in the story. It focuses on each main character of the Christmas story, Gabriel, Mary, Joseph, Jesus, the Shepherds, etc., and beautifully and simply tells the Christmas story through the eyes of gratitude. Each page has a simple short verse and it ends with a prayer thanking God for the character referenced on that page. It is so refreshing and sweet. The illustrations are also very simple (almost chalk like) and appealing to young children. This is the sort of book I would love to give as a gift. I wish I could afford to buy it for all of my daughter's little friends. I look forward to many nights this month reading this story before bed. It will be a new favorite, I'm sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christmas Focus

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maureen
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year I add special Christmas books to our book basket. I picked this book up to add for this year. The first thing I noticed were the soft, whimsical illustrations by Marijan Ramljak. The wonderful pictures paired with the repeating phrases by Amy Parker made this book enjoyable to read. A little child talks about how every aspect of the nativity story is a gift from God. From Gabriel to baby Jesus, they are each a precious Christmas gift to us from God.
I liked the simple text with the repeating phrase, "Thank you, God, for __________ Your precious Christmas gift". My little ones were able to repeat that phrase after reading the book a couple of times. I appreciated that this book allowed us to talk about how each of the characters in our nativity set were real and each played an important part in ushering the King of Kings into the world. I think this book would make a wonderful gift for toddlers and preschoolers. Disclosure: I received this book to review from BookSneeze. Opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trish B
A Christmas Prayer is a childrens board book, recently published by Thomas Nelson Publishers. It is written by Amy Parker and beautifully illustrated by Marijan Ramljak. This is a cute little childrens rhyming story, where a child thanks God for her many blessings, as she sits by the family Christmas tree. This short story is perfect for preschool age children during the Christmas season.I liked the simplicity and rhyming words of this book. And as this child tells God of her thankfulness, she recounts part of the Christmas story. This is a quality, biblical Christmas story that is appropriate for young children. It is both well-written and nicely illustrated.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill K.
The latest book I received from booksneeze.com is A Christmas Prayer by: Amy Parker. It is a soft, chubby board book with soft pastel colors and soothing illustrations. It is a poem that goes through the different people and things that helped to make the first Christmas and every Christmas after so very special. The message of this book is that gifts and toys are fun but the Jesus and His birth are what make Christmas extra special.I read this book to my 7, 4, and 2 year old and they all loved it. I asked the older two what they liked. My 7 year old said he liked the part at the end of each page that we repeated together. My 4 year old said that she like the part with the angel Gabriel. My 2 year old took it to my older kid's Frontline Club to use as a Bible so I think he liked it as well. My favorite part is how it teaches that Jesus and the first Christmas are our special Christmas gifts and that it does so in such a gentle, peaceful manner.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill
A Christmas Prayer is a children's book written for young children as a repetitive thank you prayer. A child is telling the story of how Christmas is not about the presents and the toys but a much better gift baby Jesus. The child then goes through and thanks God for all the important things that go along with the birth of Jesus.This book does a excellent job telling the story of the Nativity. Not only that but, Marijan Ramljak did a great job making the pictures warm and inviting. As much as I enjoyed it and thought it told the true meaning of Christmas extremely well my children were not overly in love with it. I read it once to them when we got it and no one has looked at it since then. So as far as a recommendation goes I would recommend it as a great book to explain to children that Christmas is not about presents and toys, but if you are looking for a Christmas read over and over favorite this would probably not be the book you are looking for.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah A.
A Christmas Prayer, written by Amy Parker and illustrated by Marijan Ramljak, is a wonderful childrens book that emphasizes the true meaning of Christmas. In a Christmas Prayer, a little child thanks God for the many gifts of Christmas the angel Gabriel for bringing Good News, Mary for carrying the Christ child, Joseph for trusting in Gods plan, a donkey for carrying Mary to Bethlehem and many other TRUE gifts of the Christmas season including Jesus Christ, the best gift of all!A Christmas Prayer is written in easy to understand words and with rhyming words, which makes it so enjoyable for little children. A great plus is the beautiful padded board book! Your children will not tear this one apart! The illustrations are soft and cozy and follow along with the story very nicely. The child is putting together is nativity scene as she prays a prayer of thanksgiving for each item/person.Overall, I believe this book will be a great addition to any childrens library and I am so excited to read it to my baby girl again at Christmas time praying that she will learn at an early age that Christmas is not about toys and gifts, but instead the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer D
In the delightful board book A Christmas Prayer, Amy Parker has written a story that highlights the true reasons for Christmas. In the story, a child recounts the different characters in the Christmas story and thanks God for them. The child uses Christmas decorations as props for the characters, including Gabriel, Joseph, Mary, the donkey, and baby Jesus.The book is sturdy. The illustrations by Marijan Ramljak are beautiful. The rhyme helps the story along. My particular baby is a little too rambunctious to stay still during the story, but I think she will enjoy it when she's older. I had a little difficulty with the child thanking God for a manger as a precious Christmas gift. I might have left out the thanks for everything until the end of the story where she thanks God for Jesus, the perfect Christmas gift. That part makes sense. The overall message of the book is great: Christmas is about Jesus, not toys. I recommend it for the little ones in your life. [I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing's Booksneeze program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanne
A Christmas Prayer is an inviting board book with an intriguing message. The author, Amy Parker, has captured the true meaning of Christmas in short prayers of thanksgiving to God for the many gifts that brought about the miracle of Christmas. No, these gifts are not the normal baby dolls and toy trucks, but the people and places involved in the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ. Even a small child would understand the message told here, reflecting on the importance of family, helpers, creation, and the Creator Himself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Holly Lawson
I was given the book, "A Christmas Prayer" by Amy Parker. It is a story of a young child acting out the Christmas story one night. The book is written as a prayer, thanking God for each person and animal. This is such a sweet story! The pictures are very soft and the story shows the true meaning of Christmas. A young child would love to read this with their family at Christmas!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Snyder
What do you picture when you hear the word "Christmas"? I picture snowflakes softly falling, Christmas carols playing, and a nativity set. Most kids look at Christmas more as a winning lottery ticket then the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ. Help your little ones remember the real reason for Christmas with this book.This story is a prayer, told from a child's perspective as she acts out the first Christmas story. She thanks God for all the REAL gifts of Christmas; Mary, the wise men, the donkey, and more. The story is simple and sweet, and fun to read aloud. I was surprised at it's size, it is larger then most board books and would be too big for all but the biggest stockings. It is perfect to unwrap and read on Christmas Eve!Illustrated with charming, simple pictures, this book is perfect for toddlers and preschoolers alike. It is a board book with a soft, padded cover, perfect for tiny hands. However, the story is told in rhyming text that older preschoolers will find equally appealing. And the message of this gentle story is relevant for us all, as we ponder the miracles of our Lord's birth. If you are looking for a great gift for one of the precious little ones in your life, this is sure to be a perfect choice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Ritchie
I was happy to get my copy of A Christmas Prayer in the mail today. It is written by Amy Parker and illustrated by Marijan Ramljak. It is a cute little hardcover book. The cover is a little bit padded. The illustrations are cute and the message is simple enough to hold children's attention ages 2 and up.A little child realizes that Christmas is not all about toys and gifts under the tree. Instead it's about the gift's of the first Christmas - the most important one being Jesus, the Savior sent to save the world. The book is written in a rhyming poem style of the child thanking God for the gift He gave at Christmas from Mary and Joseph to the manger and Jesus. A very sweet book with the true meaning of Christmas. I can't wait to share it with my children ages 2, 4 and 5Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie
This morning I received the children's book, A Christmas Prayer, by Amy Parker. At first glance, you notice the quality of this book. The cover is padded, the pages are sturdy. The illustrations done by Marijan Ramlijak are soft and almost look like paintings. The story is a prayer done by a young child, thanking God for Gabriel, Mary, Joseph, the manger, the Shepard's, and of course Jesus, all of which are "perfect Christmas gifts".A precious gift, is truely what this book is. The way Parker sends this message is perfect because it teaches children to be thankful for things other than toys and presents at Christmas. A Christmas Prayer is the type of book you would want to read to your family on the days leading up to Christmas. As the holiday approaches, our society gets so caught up in the gifts and toys and often neglect or forget the true reason we celebrate Christmas. This book is perfect for young or old because it is a great teaching tool or even a reminder for those that need it, of the real reason we celebrate Christmas. I look forward to reading this again with my family in the weeks leading up to Christmas.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amie Moses
This book is a wonderful Christmas book for children that doesnt focus on Santa Claus or any of the other fictional characters usually associated with this wonderful time of the year. The story is that of a small child who wanders through his house on Christmas night praying a prayer of thanks and blessing for all the things around him, ending with a prayer to God for the greatest Gift of all. I would recommend this book for anyone with a small child who wants to have a Christmas book that includes the true reason for Christmas.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Christmas Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenelle
Always ready to add to our Christmas book collection, I requested this book to review from booksneeze. I was not at all disappointed. This story is a very cute retelling of the Christmas story. A child, surrounded by parents and small sibling, acts out the Christmas story and thanks God for the various characters in the Christmas Story - calling them each "precious Christmas gifts" to all of us. The story ends with the child thanking God for Jesus, the "perfect Christmas gift."With uncomplicated, yet very cute illustrations, this retelling of the Christmas story in rhyming verses from a child's perspective is simply adorable. I enjoyed the inclusion of all the characters from the story, and I especially loved how the story includes the Wise Men, without improperly placing them at the stable in Bethlehem. I also loved how the story emphasizes the true reason for the season of Christmas on the first page, where the child says, So this, my Christmas prayer, is not for toys and dolls - its thanking You for Christmas gifts, Youve given to us all.My two-year old also approves of this book and it will definitely be one of the stories we pull out at Christmas-time for years to come.The FTC demands that I disclose the following information:Many thanks to Tommy Nelson for providing this book to me for free. They did not ask for a positive review, merely an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.