Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD

Thomas Nelson Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD

Marty the Monkey and Gerard the Giraffe invite your kids to join them as they bungle their way through Booga Booga Land---and experience adventures based on Jesus' parables! Includes "So This Is Booga" (Matthew 20:1--16), "Marty's Sandcastle" (Luke 6:47--49), and "No Light in This Lighthouse" (Matthew 5:14--16). Ages 4 to 10. Approx. 35 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 out of 1979%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Review 1 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Understandable lessons

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sevenup
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not high octane,but my younger children aged 2-5 really enjoy it. Like most christian cartoons it will not compete with Dora and Diego or spider man, but if children have not been exposed to that fodder these characters may well be something they can relate to. Biblical stories, and engaging silliness get the point across, and I love the Canadian accents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cute

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Guppy
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My 3 and 7 year old loved it. It was funny and had some biblical theme in it. They watched it several times. They are not obsessed but certainly went back to it. There were three episodes. I think I will buy more of these, because kids are happy to watch them between other cartoony stuff that's out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A children's cartoon based on Jesus' parables.

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
ceemee
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gerard the Giraffe and Marty the Monkey are two best friends who are new citizens of Booga Booga Land. There they learn new things together, search for jobs and work together. Episodes included in this DVD set are So This Is Booga, Marty's Sandcastle and No Light In The Lighthouse. These are stories that depict Jesus' parables and make them engaging and fun for children ages 6 and above.
Jokes and slapstick comedy were applied to make the stories interesting and funny, especially for the kids. My 3-year-old laughed at the visuals because she couldn't understand the spoken jokes yet. The illustrations were simple and not very refined unlike mainstream cartoons. There were lessons that could be learned like honoring our words, appreciation for our friends and being responsible. There were lessons but the messages conveyed were different from what the parables represent or symbolize. For example, in the story Marty's Sandcastle, it depicts the parable of the Wise and Foolish Builders. Yes, it showed that a house built on a rock will last rather than one built on the sand, but it didn't interpret it as God's Word that is on solid foundation, God's Word that is put into practice. Over all, I would still recommend it since it is entertaining plus it has lessons that children will benefit from.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mingo
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tool to teach toddlers and pre schoolers a foundation in faith. It is bible true in principle. Many thanks to the writers and producers. I hope to purchase others from the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable and cute

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
khulifish
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent childrens DVD! It tells the story of Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe in the paradise land of Booga Booga. On their travels they learn lessons Jesus taught us many years ago. The events are based on the biblical parables and remind us of what they mean. They get into trouble but learn from their mistakes. My children love these kinds of flms and really enjoyed it , It is cute and inocent and well made for children. They have truley loved watching it. This movie helps to teach about Jesus and be a way to keep them interested. It is a good teaching tool and an enjoyable and honest movie with a wonderful message. If your looking fo a lovely and cute kids movie with a message then this one is it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adventures in Booga Booga Land Volume 1(Its A Hit)

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
leahnichole
Location:Freeville, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thanks to (booksneeze.com) I was given the privilege of reviewing the dvd "Adventures in Booga Booga Land - Volume 1" the DVD by Richard Milner.This cartoon series allows you to follow the friendship of Marty the monkey and Gerard the Giraffe while sharing their adventures with the parables of Jesus. The three parables that were shown were: Episode 1 The Workers in the Vineyard.,Episode 2 The Wise and Foolish Builders and Episode 3 The Lamp under The Bowl. Each of these parables were cute and I believe for anyone under the age of 10 that they make learning effective and fun.
I watched this DVD with my three nieces (4,6,8) and they seemed to enjoy it. I thought it was quite cute, but just not for someone my age. Each parable really got you thinking and Im sure that they learned quite alot in the 45 minutes. The graphics were good and it was quite colorful so I am sure that it helped to keep their attention. Overall I think Milner did a great job and I would recommend this DVD. It totally served it’s purpose and it kept with the biblical principle so I would give it a 4.5/5
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cute & Adorable, But didn't keep kids attention

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angell
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Adventures in Booga Booga Land" is a cute and somewhat humorous video that tells stories of Jesus's Parables. There are 3 stories/parables and they are the parables of the workers in the vineyard - Matthew 20:1-16, the wise and foolish builders - Matthew 7:24-27, and the lamp under the bowl - Matthew 5:14-16.
Gerald and Marty are the two main characters and they are what makes the stories so adorable, however they would not hold my kids attention. What I as a mom think is adorable isn't the same as a child so keep that in mind.
Overall I would give this a 3 star rating...it would be 4 if my own kids liked it.
I received this complimentary DVD from Thomas Nelson Publishers, through booksneeze.com in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun to watch

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventures in Booga Booga Land - Volume 1 consists of three stories, all based on the parables of Jesus. The three parables are Workers in the Vineyard from Matthew 20:1-16, Wise and the Foolish Builders from Luke 6:47-49, and Lamp Under the Bowl from Matthew 5:14-16. Each story is about 15 minutes long.
The stories are presented in a fun and humorous way. The two main characters are Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe. Marty is a monkey who acts without thinking much while Gerard is the smarter one between the two. My 4yo enjoyed watching it very much and asked for more while the 2yo did not seem to show much interest on it. Nevertheless he stayed with us to finish watching the whole DVD.
In summary the stories are fun. It would be better if they could have more emphasis on the Bible story and how it relates to us.
I rate this DVD 3 out of 5.
Note: I received this DVD free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Leave this one on the shelf

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Book Moms
Location:Hutchinson, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For my full review, please visit me at www.bookmoms.org.
This DVD takes you to an imaginary island where Marty (the monkey) and Gerard (the giraffe) are best friends. In three short stories they portray stories from some of Jesus' well known parables - The Workers in the Vineyard, The Wise and Foolish Builders and The Lamp under the Bowl.
My unfavorable recommendation is not based on bad content, but rather lack of content. I watched this DVD with my 5 year old daughter and 10 year old son. My daughter laughed at one or two things, however when I asked her if she wanted to watch it again she said "no thanks". My son watched it for awhile then asked if he could go read a book. The 2-dimensional drawings were ineffective. The humor that was portrayed fell short and the Bible content was very questionable. My kids could tell that the stories came from the Bible, but as my son pointed out, they didn't accurately tell you the meaning of the parable. There was no mention of anything spiritual, no connection was made for the children that this was a Biblical story and should impact their everyday life. No Biblical principles were mentioned. Overall, it was very confusing and I wasn't sure what the purpose of these stories and characters were.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun watch for all in the family

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ellis Reviews
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Based on the Parables of Jesus, join Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe as they bungle their way thru the paradise of Booga Booga Land inadvertently learning lessons that Jesus taught many years ago.
This DVD had three parables included in it. First, the Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard from Matthew 20:1-16. Marty and Gerard learn that they are not being 'ripped off' but that their boss is being truly generous to the other workers. Second, the Parable of the Wise and the Foolish Builders from Luke 06:47-49. Marty plays the part of the foolish man quite well as Gerard plays the part of the Wise man. Lastly, the Parable of the Lamp under the bowl from Matthew 5:14-16.
Each of the parables has a specific purpose but each one is not specifically portrayed in the story. I thought the stories were cute and fun to watch. I thought that they could have had more of an emphasis on the Bible story and how it relates to us. All of the kids I have watched it with have loved them and we have watched them LOTS since I received the DVD. One thing I would suggest is that as a parent you need to be involved in the discussion of these parables after they watch them. We had some good discussion about behavior and attitudes portrayed in the DVD.
I hope that Boogabooga land comes out with more parables in which we can have active discussion in our house.
Thank you to Tommy Nelson a division of Thomas Nelson Publishers via their Booksneeze program for a free copy of this DVD to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Entertaining Show!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My kids and I were given the opportunity to watch Adventures In BoogaBooga Land the other evening. I have a nine year old son and twin five year old sons, so getting all of them to sit down and watch a show is no little feat by any means. But this show did manage to capture their attention the entire time. And we all sang the catchy theme song for days after watching the show. The premise of the show is to show several Biblical parables in the life of Marty and Gerard. My five year olds enjoyed some of the silly scenes and in general enjoyed the shows. My nine year old watched the show with us and said, "okay....what does this have to do with God?!?" So the Biblical lesson is a bit on the subliminal side. After I explained it, he got it. All in all, we give this movie 3 thumbs up and 1 thumb down.
Now back to the song......new adventures in boogabooga land.......
*I was provided a copy of this DVD in exchange for my review*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great movie, but lacks scripture

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved this DVD from Thomas Nelson for reviewing. I'd never heard of this cartoon before, but I have young children and am always looking for Chrisitan based stuff for them to watch! We just recieved it on friday and I think we've watched it about 6 times! My children are ages 4 and 6 and they love it! Its definately geared towards that age group (as far as the format of the cartoon, being able to hold attention). The characters in this movie retell 3 parables from scripture in cartoon format! The building your house on a rock parable. The parable about the workers who all got paid the same although worked different hours. The parable of the lamp under the bowl.
While we really enjoyed this movie and its a good clean show for kids (there is one insult at one point where the monkey calls his teacher a square, not a bad insult lol, but an insult none the less!), the only problem that I had is that it doesn't really mention scripture in the movie at all. You're not really going to understand that this is based on scripture unless your kids really know those stories to begin with! I would have like to have seen scripture told in the movie better! But I still liked the movie and its a great resource for your children, especially if accompanied by teaching the parables!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for younger children

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hb3908
Location:Annapolis, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We recently received the Adventures in Booga Booga Land Volume I to review - what a cute movie! This was definitely geared toward younger kids, even younger than 8 (my daughter's age). The characters are bright, colorful and keep children interested.
Marty the Monkey and Gerard the Giraffe explore three parables from the book of Matthew. While each parable is retold in a simple way for children to understand, the stories overall were a bit jumbled. However, there was not a lot of biblical mention in this DVD.
I would recommend this to families with children under 7 years or so. The DVD runs about 45 minutes, just the right amount of time to keep kids entertained, but not so long that they become distracted.
*I received a complimentary copy of this DVD for the purpose of a review. The opinions are mine - always have been, always will be!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Animated stories from the parables of Jesus

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elise Klepatz
Location:Maryville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adventures in Boogabooga Land dvd series is based on Richard Milner's allegories. Each episode is animated and relates to a parable of Jesus from the New Testament.
My children, ages three and four, enjoyed the video. Each episode, three in this video about 15 minutes each, did hold their attention. Although, it seemed like the lesson from the parable was a little bit beyond their grasp. I think the ideal audience is ages four to seven or eight.
I received a complimentary copy of this dvd from the Thomas Nelson publishers through booksneeze.com. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just OK

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Greenville, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This movie received mixed reviews in our home. At first the boys (5 and 3 1/2) had no desire to watch the movie. They didn't like the cover and were probably cranky when presented it. I decided after waiting a few days for them to change their mind just to watch the movie on my own. I thought the music was pleasant and the character's voices were fine. The illustrations are cute and there is some humor just the adults will catch. Over all, these were just ok. I had a hard time on some of the stories trying to figure out what the corresponding parable would be. My kids came in and out of the room and nothing grabbed their attention for more then a minute. I would certainly chose this over a secular video at at point, but I'm not sure how it would be received. I have included the company's summary of the movie as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adventures in Booga Booga Land Volume 1 Review

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
FSA Home School
Location:michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a fun children's dvd, we were delighted to have the opportunity to review this and we will be giving it to our church library now that we have seen it. Here is what the publisher has to say.
Book Resources
Adventures in Booga Booga Land - Volume 1 (DVD)
By Richard Milner
Published by Thomas Nelson
Average Blogger Rating:
3.81 Stars
Book Description
Based on the Parables of Jesus, join Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe as they bungle their way thru the paradise of Booga Booga Land inadvertently learning lessons that Jesus taught many years ago.
So This is Booga: Marty and Gerard meet for the first time in the city of Booga Booga, becoming instant best friends. Early one morning they decide to become window washers for a day to earn 20 bamolies. But when they see the boss also give 20 bamolies the other works who arrived late in the day, Martya and Gerard want to know why. (Based on the Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard from Matthew 20:1-16)
Marty’s Sandcastle Marty and Gerard decide to go to carpentry school, taught by the German instructor Mr. Guudsaw. After graduating, they each decide to build their own home. But one night a great storm destroys Marty’s flimsy house. (Based on the Parable of the Wise and the Foolish Builders from Luke 06:47-49)
No Light In This Lighthouse: Marty gets a bright idea to build a lighthouse, but ends up rushing the job when he sees that there are ships being lost while he works! (Based on the Parable of the Lamp Under the Bowl from Matthew 5:14-16)
The title is so fun to say we knew we were in for a treat, even my 10 and 12 yr old sons love to say this Booga Booga, We were equally pleased as we watched the dvd how fun this was to watch to learn about God's word. The parables were perfect for learning God's teachings of long ago and prompted us to put them to use for our family today. I am so excited to be able to share this with our church to put in their library. I am sure someone in your life will love this as an upcoming holiday gift. A perfect stocking stuffer this would make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful graphics

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Location:Western NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DVD came today but my grandchildren were not available this week so the review you get will be mainly what this 65 year old grandmother thought of it.
The author is Richard Milner and based "Adventures in BoogaBooga Land" on his beloved allegories. The episodes follow the story line of biblical parables.
The one I received has Marty the Monkey and Gerard the Giraffe come together in BoogaBooga and follow 3 different adventures while trying to find jobs.
Their first adventure, So This is Booga, starts after Gerard the Giraffe leaves his home town to find somewhere that fits his large size and meets Marty the Monkey as he falls out of a plane after disobeying and playing with the airplane door. They get their first job with a kindly man named Stan, the old man in charge of window-washing, who is always accompanied by his faithful companion, Rufus. He continues to bring workers to the job site throughout the work day and Marty and Gerard feel that they will receive a bigger payday because they were first and worked the most hours. This follows the workers in the vineyard parable in Matthew 20:1-16 Of course, they didn't and the way they accepted Stan's explanation was very nice and a real learning lesson for very small children.
Their second adventure, Marty's Sandcastle, takes place on the shore of BoogaBooga where Marty and Gerard decide they need to have someplace to live. Each being competitive they decide to build separate houses and see which one is best. Mischievous Marty builds his as a sand castle on the shore and Gerard builds his on a rocky outcrop and evidently likes to blow things up. As expected Marty causes all kinds of problems with the build. A great storm comes and washes Marty's house out to sea and Gerard rescues him then they move in together. The storm is a short part of the story but quite a violent one. I would have to be sitting by my 3 year old granddaughter, at least the first time she sees it. This follows the parable of the Wise and Foolish Builders. Matthew 7:24-27
The third and final story on this DVD was No Light in the Lighthouse. It followed the Lamp under the Bowl parable of Matthew 5:14-16 Marty is now living with Gerard in the house built on rock and Marty feels they need to build a lighthouse to protect ships at sea from hitting the beach. They go about building it and are having problems getting a light to continue to shine for the safety of the seaman. They find this out because 2 nights in a row Stan has had his boat go down. It was a good story and brought out some little differences between Gerard and Marty showing how they gave space to each other and accepted their differences.
There are a few characters that come in and out of the adventures and they are funny and accepting of the 2 strangers to their city. The animation is really nice and bright and I feel it will be something my grandchildren will enjoy seeing over and over again. It runs about 45 minutes and that's enough for ages 3, 6 and 10. I feel our 10 year old would probably just watch it once but the others would probably play it again and again.
If you are looking for something safe, clean and pleasant I think this would be a good addition to your DVD library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a good teaching tool

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I agree with Momma C.
This lacks in teaching your child anything about Jesus. There are no mentions of Jesus or scripture verses that I heard. Now my 10yo and 13yo sat through every episode but it didn't teach them a thing about the parables of Jesus. The voices were not as creative as other christian cartoons and the episodes were so short, 15 minutes. I was not impressed with this video series at all. The only good thing about them is they were entertaining, but I want more than just entertainment, I want some details behind the lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land Vol 1 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Needs Some Refining

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Momma C
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Adventures in Booga Booga Land is the newest Christian DVD available mid-October by Thomas Nelson. In cartoon format and with the use of slapstick humor, the friends Marty (monkey) and Gerard (a giraffe) experience adventures based upon parables in the Bible. This DVD contains three episodes featuring: The Workers in the Vineyard, The Wise and Foolish Builders, and The Lamp under the Bowl.
Momma C's Thoughts:
Sweet Pea and I watched this DVD together during quiet time. While I loved our "girl time," I felt the video was a little lacking. I felt like the parables were roughly presented but never explained. To use this program effectively, an adult would need to view the episode with the child and then help the child understand Jesus' meaning. From the info on the DVD packaging, I understood that the message would be clearly presented. So, this was a disappointment.
Workers in the Vineyard - The story was very clearly presented with Marty and Gerard washing windows all day and making the same amount as those who washed for one hour. The concept that Jesus was trying to teach was never explained. Actually, other than the title and scripture, Jesus, God, or the Bible are never mentioned throughout the episodes.
The Wise and Foolish Builders - For me, the whole point of this story is that Jesus is our rock and foundation. Building upon any other source is foolish. I believe that it is impossible to tell this story without including Jesus in it.
The Lamp under the Bowl - I missed the correlation between the parable and the cartoon episode. I could see where they were going with it but in my mind it never made it to the finish line.
Sweet Pea said she liked the video although I don't know that she would say otherwise since she was having one-on-one time with Mommy! If you are looking for animated stories from the Bible, I would stick to Veggie Tales or something comparable. I believe the message is clear and easily grasped by young children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.