Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD

Good Gimbo---they're back! Join Marty and Gerard as they head out to recover treasure, catch the chocolate cake recipe thief, work 10,000 jobs---and learn about Jesus' parables. Includes "Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles" (Matthew 13:45, 46), "Wally the Waiter" (Matthew 13:24--30), and "The Flaming Monkey" (Matthew 22:2--14). Ages 4 to 10. Approx. 35 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
2.539 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
3
5 out of 1338%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Review 1 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stories from the Parables of Jesus

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellyn Leow
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This DVD is published by Thomas Nelson and it contains three episodes:
1. Squid Sushi loses his Marbles, ‘The lost Pearl’,
2. Wally the Waiter, ‘The Soil and the Seeds’
3. The Flaming Monkey, ‘The Wedding Banquet’
The viewing time is approximately 45 minutes.
The episodes were interesting and challenging. The quick actions are sure to capture most children attention. The three stories were based on the parables of Jesus and it uses a cartoon monkey and a giraffe to illustrate the stories. The lost pearl, the soil and the seeds, and the wedding banquet are the parables illustrated through a very goofy monkey and giraffe. Marty the Monkey and Gerard the Giraffe live in the paradise of Booga Booga Land and watch how they take their adventures throughout the land. They head out to recover treasure and save the day by catching the chocolate cake recipe thief.
The goofy antics of Marty and Gerard will soon become favorites. I recommend this DVD to anyone with young children.
Disclosure: I received this DVD free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not for my family

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marble is a children's DVD from Tommy Nelson Publishers. It's a collection of 3 short stories illustrating Bible stories. The stories are told through the 2 main characters, Gerard the giraffe and Marty the monkey. The 3 stories on this volume are the Pearl of Great Price, the Wheat and the Tares, and the Wedding Banquet.
I watched this DVD without my children, and I am glad. The meaning of the parables was completely lost in the telling. Even worse, the meaning turned into something resembling greed or vengeance. Characters were mean, the pearl was made an object of bragging. I think Tommy Nelson really dropped the ball on this one. I would not recommend this DVD to anyone. I'd give it a 1 out of 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for small children.

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles DVD
This DVD takes three stories from the parables of Jesus and uses a cartoon monkey and giraffe to illustrate the story. The lost pearl, the soil and the seeds, and the wedding banquet are the parables illustrated through a very goofy monkey and giraffe. Marty the Monkey and Gerard the Giraffe live in Booga Booga Land and take their adventures throughout the land.
The bright colors and quick actions are sure to capture most children. The goofy antics of Marty and Gerard will soon become favorites. I would recommend this DVD to anyone with young children
.http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=140031660X&title=The_Adventures_in_Booga_Booga_Land:_Squid_Sushi_Loses_His_Marble&author=Richard_Milner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is trying to teach Bible lessons

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I watched this video with my two Grandson's ages 3 and 5. The colors are very vibrant and they liked the antics of the Giraffe Gerard and the Monkey Marty. While the message kind of went over their heads, they asked to see it again. I think if I can interest them as they get older the messages will come through. The 5 year old asked me why they were wearing disguises when they were the only animals there? Good observation. I laughed when the bad people were sent to the Isle of Lostasouls!
Publisher's Description
Based on the parables of Jesus, join Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe as they bungle their way through the paradise of Booga Booga Land inadvertently learning lessons that Jesus taught many years ago.
Good Gimbo! Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe are back again with more exciting adventures, as they head out to recover treasure and save the day by catching the chocolate cake recipe thief. With another exciting episode, the parables of Jesus are presented in a clear, challenging, and engaging way that the whole family will enjoy. Follow Marty and Gerard as they become employees for 10,000 jobs.
Episodes include:
* Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles (The Valuable Pearl - Matt 13:45-46)
* Wally the Waitor (The Weeds - Matt 13:24-30)
* The Flaming Monkey (The Wedding Banquet - Matt 22:2-14)
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not what I expected

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Adventures in Boogabooga Land is a cartoon featuring Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe. This particular DVD was suppose to have three 15 min. episodes based on the Parables of Jesus: The Lost Pearl (appox. 11 min), The Soil and the Seeds (approx. 10 min.), and the Wedding Banquet (approx. 10 min.). They were cute cartoons, but the Biblical message wasn't really there. The Wedding Banquet may have been a slight Bible message underlay. I was disappointed in this DVD. If you just want a cute cartoon then you won't be disappointed. I don't think it would hold any child's attention much above 3 years of age. The message for the money (price) don't think it is worth it.
I was provided with a copy of this DVD by Thomas Nelson for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Adventures of Booga Booga Land follows Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe as they take three adventures that mirror parables found within the Bible: The Lost Pearl, The Soil and the Seeds, and The Wedding Banquet.
The depiction of the animated characters is comparable to any other animated product found on the market today, but their actions and representative demeanor are not. In most animated features today, we find the main characters acting in ways that would be considered rude and disrespectful. That is not the case within the Adeventures of Booga Booga Land. The characters within these stories have the power to make a child laugh and smile, but not at the expense of teaching him inappropriate behavior.
Each story shared a positive message, but there was no direct explanation of how it related to the respective parables it represented within the Bible, unless one had a prior knowledge of the parable. Even so, it would be easy for a Sunday School teacher or a parent to use these video segments as a precursor to a discussion of each of the parables they represent.
All in all, I highly recommend this product, as long as it is used alongside a lesson plan centered around the parables they represent.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
JRiale
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I read the description for this children's DVD, I was very excited. I was under the opinion that each episode would be an analogy of sorts for a parable in the Bible; thus, explaining the parables more clearly to my children. I was excited to have my children watch such a marvelous Christian DVD. After viewing it, however, that was NOT how I felt.
First of all, there was too much slapstick/light violence type "humor" in this DVD. I didn't think that was necessary and prefer for my children to NOT see getting hurt as something that is funny. Secondly, in one of the episodes, a policeman was portrayed as being totally inept. The two main characters treated him with the utmost disrespect. Those are NOT values I want to instill within my children, and I would not expect a DVD labeled as Christian to have that kind of disrespect portrayed as something positive. Yet, that is exactly what happened in this DVD. Also, in two of the three episodes, the reference to the parable was only made at the end in one very brief comment--and the reference would be lost on my kids. In one of the episodes, the brief comment at the end actually changed the entire meaning of the parable and seemed, in my opinion, to devalue the central message that the original parable held.
Additionally, I really didn't feel as if these cartoons were "Christian" by any stretch of the imagination. There really was no reference to anything Christian at all and Christian values were not evident.
I will not be getting more of these for my children. Awful.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as Vol. 1

Date:January 31, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love reviewing Children's products when it becomes available, simply because I am always looking for new things for B and Baby M to use to learn. I had previously reviewed the first BoogaBooga Land DVD and loved it. When this one came up as an option to review, I was excited. However, I didn't like it as much as I did the first one.
The DVD is three short parables based in Matthew. There is Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles (The Lost Pearl-Matthew 13:45-46), Wally the Waiter (The Soil and the Seeds-Matthew 13:24-30), and The Flaming Monkey (The Wedding Banquet-Matthew 22:2-14). If you knew the parables and the Scriptures, then it was easy to follow. However, if you were a little child, you wouldn't quite get the concept. However, it does allow you the opportunity to talk about these passages with your child once they are at an age to understand. Before then, it's just a cute cartoon that you don't have to worry about being a negative influence.
_____________________________________________
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Parables of Jesus, not so sure

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovemyblessings
Location:ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This 3 episodes DVD was meant to be "an allegorical presentation of the parables of Jesus in a clear, challenging and engaging way." In my opinion it fell short of reaching that objective. I found the stories presented a little loose in their translation. My 11, 7 and 4 year olds all watched with me and were unable to make the connection to the biblical parables each episode represented(even I had some trouble). I didn't really understand a few scenes, were unknown characters popped in for a second as if the audience knew who they were and what they were up too. I have not seen previous DVDs; so I am not sure if that would have helped or not. Also, there were several scenes were "bad" characters were sent to an island called Lost-a-soul-a (so if you steal something your a lost soul?). That's how I perceived the message anyways.
On a positive note the characters were very humorous and engaging. This wasn't a high quality cartoon but the graphics were well put together and the flow was good. The DVD was 45 minutes long; just long enough for a good break during a long day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Christian entertainment? Not so sure.

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Guiding Light
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had the opportunity to review Adventures in Booga Bogga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles. They are stories from the Parables of Jesus. This particular DVD had these three stories: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, The Parable of the Lost Pearl and The Flaming Monkey. In looking on the website, there appears to be 26 total episodes available. Each episode is about 15 minutes long.
Fortunately the scripture verses for each story taken from is provided on the back cover as that is about the only thing that is biblical about these shows. They *ARE* entertaining and my boys enjoyed them but there is no reference to scripture, God, the Bible or anything else within them. The stories themselves are hard to "pull" something biblical from as well. However, they would provide a method of talking with your children about the principles discussed within those scriptures.
Would we recommend them to others? That depends on what you are looking for. If you want a good cartoon for your children to watch - these would be them...there is nothing in them that is inappropriate. If you are looking for something Christian based, I would probably not recommend these.
The price for the DVD is $12.99 - which in my opinion is a little high for a 45 minute video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Booga Boo!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
judesmommy08
Age:25-34
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recently received this dvd from Booksneeze. My son watched it for about 10 minutes and then claimed he was done with it. It wasn't a very interesting dvd and it certaintly didn't catch his attention. The stories are good and moral, but the graphics on the film aren't very good. It reminds me of some sort of cartoon network show, with a christian theme. I also wasn't too thrilled with the idea that on the main menu of the dvd it didn't give me the "play all " option to start, without a dvd remote I couldn't select play all and had to wait for it to run. Although, it did play through all the shows, i didn't like the lack of play all feature.
I don't think that I would really recommend this to anyone, unless you like choppy graphics and lame plots.
I give it 1 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Adventures of BoogaBooga Land

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jay I
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses his Marble by Richard Milne is a DVD that includes 3 stories: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles(The Lost Pearl), Wally the Waiter(The Soil and the Seeds), and The Flaming Monkey(The Wedding Banquet). Each story is about 15 minutes long, making the complete DVD 45 minutes long. These short stories are suppose to resemble modern day parables to help kids understand them.
That said, I would have to say that it is interesting that there is no mention of Jesus at all, my son, who can normally follow movies well, had no idea what it was about when I questioned him. To top it off, it did not hold his interest. He was down and playing with his toys in a few minutes with no looking back. I had to redirect him back to the T.V. several times.
Also, I think the graphics are very poor for this day in age, it makes it look cheap. I would say that it would have had more potential if it would have reviewed at the end by telling that particular parable of Jesus.
I received a copy of this DVD from Book Sneeze to review and was not obligated in any way to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Booga Booga Land: Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles, Volume 2 DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cliched humor, omits the point of the parables

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Adventures In Booga Booga Land" are based on Richard Milner's allegories and published by Tommy Nelson (Thomas Nelson). The 3 titles & the parables upon which they are based are:
1. Squid Sushi Loses His Marbles (The Lost Pearl) Matthew 13:45-46
2. Wally The Waiter (The Soil and the Seeds) Matthew 13:24-30
3. The Flaming Monkey (The Wedding Banquet) Matthew 22:2-14
We are invited to "join Marty the monkey and Gerard the giraffe as they bungle their way through the paradise of Booga Booga Land inadvertently learning lessons that Jesus taught many years ago." I taught preschoolers for many years, and have had to use my imagination to make a point to tie together a story, but I simply had difficulty seeing the correlation between some of these stories and the parable they were meant to teach. Had I not been told on the DVD cover that these are parables of Jesus, I don't know that I would have made the connection.
Despite my age, I still love cartoons, and I got bored watching these. The humor did not even get a smile out of me and I found the characters to be cliched (an Irish cop, for example). There were bright colors and the stories were short (each lasts about 15 minutes), but I would not purchase these. I'm not even sure what age group would be interested. However, my biggest complaint is that if you are using a medium to promote the teachings of Christ, it would have been nice to have mentioned Him.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.