Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set

Thomas Nelson Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set

Your 3- to 8-year-olds can learn a lot from an uncommonly wise caterpillar and his not-so-creepy-crawly friends! This triple-feature boxed set includes Buzby and the Grumblebees, with a lesson about "bee-having"; Hailey and Bailey's Silly Fight, showing the importance of getting along; and Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, promoting---you guessed it!---prayer. Three-DVD boxed set, 3 hours total.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Review 1 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Principles

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joyce
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another winner for Max Lucado and my Day-care kids!
We're looking forward to more videos from Max!
Blessings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Attention grabber.

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suttie
Location:Georgetown, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I bought the Hermie series for my Sunday School class. I have four and five year olds. The kids really enjoy the DVD's. Great Biblical lessons from Hermie and friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids love watching these videos

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of 3
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love the videos and so do my husband and I
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun and good moral for kids

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There are 3 DVDs in this A Bug Collection DVD Box Set by Max Lucado. Each DVD has 1 episode on them which last 30 minutes. They are: -
1. Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray
2. Buzby and the Grumble Bees
3. Hailey and Bailey's Silly Fight
"Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray" is about prayer and asking help from God. "Buzby and the Grumble Bees" is about misbehaving and how it affects the people around us. "Hailey and Bailey's Silly Fight" is about getting along and make up after fight.
The stories are fun and good moral for the kids. The animation is captivating and lively. The duration of 30 minutes for each DVD is just right to keep the attention of the kids. We enjoy it very much. I hope to receive my own copy soon.
I rate this 3 out of 5 stars.
Note: I receiced this DVD free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute characters catch kids attention

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
CPhT97
Location:UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just watched the last of the DVD's in this set by Max Lucado. The DVD set was provided to me at no charge by Booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review.
The bugs in this collection of stories teach lessons about fighting, bad behavior, and not saying your prayers. I thought the characters in were cute and the voices were fun. I showed one of the DVD's to my nieces, ages 3 and 6, and they were captivated by characters and story. While I think that the intention of the stories is to teach children not to fight, to say their prayers, and to "bee"have, I was not a fan of the bickering that was on display for the kids. That being said, I did appreciate main point and the Christian focus of the stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MUST HAVE FOR TEACHING CHILDREN!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first time to view any Max Lucado Hermie and Friends DVD’s. I was very impressed not only with the quality and entertainment value, but how they zeroed in on children’s attitudes and challenges in different areas of behavior.
In Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn’t Pray, Milo wouldn’t pray even in the face of disaster. His problem was he didn’t know how to pray. He tried many different ways to get God’s attention when in reality he was just taking of his problems on his own rather than turn to God.
This was a timely DVD as my granddaughter, like many young children, wouldn’t’ pray because she said she didn’t know how to. It encouraged her that there was no right or wrong way to pray and that God is always listening. You can talk to God anytime and anywhere. It also taught that God doesn’t always answer prayers in our time or our way but He does answer them.
Buzby and the Grumble Bees, dealt with children’s rude and demanding behavior and resistance to follow rules. Bubzy is corralled into keeping his ill-mannered niece and nephew. Through Buzby and all his friends working together, the children learn what it would be like if there were no rules and everyone did as the pleased. From messy homes, grown-ups who sit and gripe to poor table manners, they see how difficult and disgusting life would be. The little bees are quick to learn that it’s no fun and rules do have a purpose.
In Hailey & Bailey’s Silly Fight, the story addressed a big problem, siblings fighting! Hailey and Bailey decide to do something thoughtful to help a needy family. Instead they end up fighting about each of them wanting to do it their way. Soon everyone is fighting and their goal is forgotten. It is a powerful lesson in that when we fight no one wins. Realizing their mistake they begin to work together and the family is helped. The girls learn that nothing is worth fighting over.
I cannot stress how much I liked these DVD’s. All my grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed them and were able to grasp the lessons being taught. I want to purchase more Hermie and friends DVD’s after viewing these.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection Volume 3
~ Max Lucado
I requested this dvd set because I am involved in Children’s ministry at my church and felt this would be so beneficial for kids of any age. I am a big fan of Max Lucado’s work and have heard many good things about “Hermie & Friends” but never seen any. Thanks to booksneeze for sending this to me to review! There is humor in this that adults will enjoy! Great family entertainment as well as impacting Christian lessons!
Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn’t Pray
Milo learns that when you pray you don’t have to do anything special, use any fancy words to get God’s attention but that He is always listening and is with us all the time.
Buzby & The Grumble Bees
Buzby’s neice and nephew come overnight and don’t have any manners at all but with the help of Buzyb’s friends they teach them how to behave the way God wants us to behave. Great lessons!
Hailey & Bailey’s Silly Fight
Hailey and Bailey fight along with a few others in the garden but after they pray, God shows them that they are arguing over something silly and their initial plan was to help others but they got sidetracked. They learned that fighting can be silly, and that we need to love each other.
This is an incredible DVD set for ministry, and families. Great practical lessons for everyone to learn in a fun way. Each DVD has a sing a long song, colouring sheets, a story book and other features! A great tool for anyone that is around children!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
aimy
Location:seattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Max Lucados Hermie & Friends is a dvd collection. Its titled “A Bug Collection” and it is volume number 3. there are three different dvds in this set. First one is “Milo the Mantis who wouldn't pray” second is “Buzbee and the Grumble bees” and last is “Hailey and Bailey's silly fight.”
I was super optimistic about these, thought they looked super cute and enjoyable. I couldn't get through the buzbee one. The other two I could get through but most of the time it was just not very exciting. Not veggietales thats for sure. In all they were just okay not my favorite kids show ever.
It may be good for like a 2 or 3 year old but i'm not sure any older kids would really enjoy it at all. I was not a fan at all.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great DVD set for the whole family!

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado brings another set of stories from his Hermie and Friends series. There are three stories in this DVD set. The stories are: “Buzby and the Grumblebees,” “Haily & Bailey's Silly Fight,” and “Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray.” Each story is contained on one DVD, making this a three-disc DVD set.
All three stories are quite entertaining and enjoyable to watch. Max Lucado and Hermie have a conversation at the beginning and end of each story to bring the message home, which is a nice addition to the animated story. The stories themselves have moral themes which are easy for children to learn and understand and the story-lines use humor to get children to laugh. I recommend this DVD set for families to watch together so that parents and children can have dialog about the themes and morals in each story.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The creative mind of Max Lucado has brought forth yet another amazing, God-centered product. Through his ingenious teaching, we are introduced to three fabulous Biblical lessons within the product entitled Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection DVD Box Set.
Each DVD follows the adventures of a delightful, stimulating character while sharing a sound Biblical message. As young eyes are drawn into the various elements of the story, they are engulfed with a visually stimulating adventure that is able to hold their attention throughout the entire program.
The lessons heard are easy to comprehend as they are brought forth with the purpose of teaching the importance of prayer, the need to get along with others, and the necessity of behaving. These important principles are taught through Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray, Buzby and the Grumblebees, and Haily & Bailey's Silly Fight.
The integration of Max and Hermie within the conversations at the onset and completion of the story serve to collectively tie together all the aspects of the video, thus making them complete and understandable.
All in all, I highly recommend this product for use within the church, in a classroom setting, or as a reinforcement tool within the home.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This DVD set teaches children in a fun way

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollymsc123
Location:Miles City, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited to review this collection because I am a big Hermie fan. With Sophie, I look for videos that are educational or teach a lesson. These DVDs are Christian-based that teach the lessons of behaving, getting along, and prayer. I love anything that teaches Bible lessons. These do it in a fun and creative way.
1. Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray teaches the importance of prayer. Even at age 1, Sophie is learning the pray at meals. This will be a good video as she grows.
2. Haily & Bailey's Silly Fight teaches getting along with others and not fighting. As an only child (right now), Sophie doesn't do well with sharing her toys in the nursery at church. This one will be great if she ever has a brother or sister.
3. Buzby and the Grumblebees are about a bunch of bees that learn how to behave. We watch it the most!
These videos are great for kids. They teach lessons in a fun way while showing emotions like sadness that children need to be aware of. These use insects to tell stories. These are timeless videos that children will love for many years. I would recommend these to parents that are looking for clean, Biblical videos for the family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Bug Collection DVD

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bluerose
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised at how much I liked these DVDs!! I liked them enough that I hope to add more of them to our movie library. There were good lessons in each of the DVDs. The characters were adorable, and for the most part, the quality was better than expected. The first one we watched, I had no complaints at all, as far as quality. The second one was ok. I noticed at the beginning(kinda where the previews are) that the mouths of the characters and the actual words weren't lined up properly. That's actually my biggest pet peeve watching any kind of movie. I want it to look like they are actually speaking when I hear the words. When the movie started, though, it was better. The third one was that way throughout, and the overall quality was the worst. I'm not really sure why they were all different, but it wasn't bad enough that I wouldn't recommend these. I still loved them!!
Another negative is they didn't keep my little boy's attention. I think they will be more appropriate for when he gets a little older. He is pretty picky at this point what does keep his attention, though. And I think these were made for a slightly older audience anyway. We did watch them at two different settings on different days.
Overall, though, I definitely recommend these movies!!
*I was provided a review copy of this box set from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Conversation Starter

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
countrymama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure that these DVD's would go over well in my home because my kids don't like A Bug's Life movie. I was wrong. My 5 year old loves all 3 dvds. There is a dvd about praying, another about little fights and a 3rd about being grumpy. The DVDs capture her attention wonderfully, and the message is right on target for a 5 year old. She has even been repeating certain messages to others since watching the DVD's.
The greatest thing about these DVD's is the conversations between our family that the dvd's triggered. These conversations we have had include treating others kindly & that god is always listening.
All in all, this is a wonderfully animated dvd series, I would not hesitate to give as a gift to a 2-6 year old.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection DVD vol. 3

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mama Britni
Location:Pacific Northwest/Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bug Collection, Hermie & Friends, 3 Complete DVDs. Including: Buzby and the Grumblebees—it’s about bee-having. Haily & Bailey's Silly Fight—it’s about getting along. and Milo, the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray—it's about prayer. The DVD's are great way for young children to learn about prayer, good behavior, and getting along with others. These three DVDs are set up using an outstanding lesson plan as a model.
What's not to love? Bright, Fun and colorful characters, the fact that they are worms, bees, ladybugs and other insects is a HUGE plus in our home, coupled with biblical teaching, and Max Lucado's story telling, make this series of Hermie and Friends an excellent choice for kids of all ages, my 6 years old thoroughly enjoyed them. During Haily & Bailey's Silly Fight, I could hear him interacting with the fighting sisters. At one point they tell Hermie, "We're sister's, We don't fight" to that my son responded "Brothers and sisters fight, but that doesn't mean they don't love each other."
This DVD set is wonderful choice for a family to enjoy together and then talk about afterwards. Even the twins (18 months) enjoyed the set. They like dancing to the songs!
I would definitely recommend these to family and friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bug Collection DVD

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since my kids have watched Hermie and Friends, and I wondered if perhaps it was for a younger crowd. My kids are 6, 7 and 11. The stories are cute and well done and the topics in this set are on getting along, prayer and good behaviour. All three disks kept my kids attention, even the oldest, which was quite a surprise. Afterwards we discussed a few things about the video and laughed at some of the antics.
This is a wonderful series and I'd recommend it to others with kids. I have a feeling the 6 and under crowd would enjoy it the most, but it was entertaining to all, even me.
I received this free from Booksneeze and was not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HIGHLY recommended!

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
JRiale
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooray for Hermie and Friends! My children have always loved Hermie, so I was thrilled to have an opportunity to review Max Lucado's Hermie and Friends: A Bug Collections (volume 3). DVDs included in this set are "Milo the Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray--It's About Prayer," "Buzby and the Grumble Bees--It's About Bee-having, " and "Hailey and Bailey's Silly Fight."
Each DVD started with Max Lucado sharing about the DVD's topic in some light-hearted way. Of course, Hermie joins him, which always adds to the fun. Then, the cartoon itself intricately weaves Biblical truth into the plot. Both of my children sat captivated while they watched the DVDs. The true test if a DVD's lesson caught or not is shown when the kids put what they learned into action. My children definitely "caught it"--my youngest kept talking about how to pray for DAYS after watching Milo trying to figure out how to pray.
Additionally, there are several wonderful bonus features. Each DVD has a "trivia game," which is basically a comprehension quiz. This is a great way to see if older kids understood what they saw. Also, there were stories in the bonus features. My oldest loved to sit there while someone basically read a Max Lucado book to him...complete with pictures. Also, there were "the making of" type features so the kids could see the real actors and actresses behind the adorable bugs.
These DVDs are EXCELLENT! The stories are cute, yet contain an important lesson. Children can have fun watching the DVDS while learning more about how to live for God. The entertainment is professional and appealing to all ages. I highly recommend this set!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection #3, DVD Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 excellent videos about relationships.

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Volume 3 of the Max Lucado's Hermie & Friends: A Bug Collection is absolutely delightful. A common theme among the 3 dvds is interaction with others. There are great lessons to be learned in each video, but presented in a fun and colorful manner.
Disc 1 is "Milo, The Mantis Who Wouldn't Pray" (it's about prayer) and features a praying mantis who does not know how to talk to God. Since he is unsure of the language and posture he should use, Milo just assumes that God is not listening to him. In the aftermath of a storm, he learns that God is always listening to him. This a a great lesson that even many adults need to learn, so I was thrilled to see it spelled out for very young viewers.
Disc 2 is "Buzby And The Grumble Bees" (it's about bee-having) which deals with the visiting niece and nephew of Buzby. Their rude behavior to all of the residents of the garden causes Buzby to come up with a plan! Everyone comes together to demonstrate how it feels to be treated poorly. This a the perfect video to illustrate The Golden Rule: treat others as you want to be treated.
Disc 3 is "Hailey & Bailey's Silly Fight" (it's about getting along) and reinforces the idea of compromise. While these twin ladybugs are usually the best of friends, their differences cause much fighting in this episode. Not only are they arguing with each other, but their disagreements have caused their friends to be at odds at one another.
I am a huge fan of Max Lucado, so I jumped at the chance to review these dvds. Of course I love the books he writes for adults, but I am just as easily moved and taught by his products for children. Featuring the voice talent of Tim Conway, [the late] Don Knotts, Melissa Disney, Richard Kind, Victoria Jackson, & Sam Mercurio...along with a short segment with Hermie and Max Lucado, these dvds are sure to be a huge hit with young children. There are bonus features that are always enjoyable, and the dvds have the all important feature of being self-starting (and even automatic replay). I highly and enthusiastically endorse this box set!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.