Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)

Tyndale House Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)

Manga MessiahManga (Japanese for "comics") Messiah is a Bible for comic book and anime lovers of all ages. The cutting edge genuine manga artwork and fast-paced, compelling storytelling make this rendition of the gospels a great outreach tool for a segment of culture that isn't always easy to reach.Manga MetamorphosisThe team that brought you the breakthrough Manga Messiah illustrated novel is back with Manga Metamorphosis! It's the second in a series of comic books featuring authentic Japanese Manga style art. Teens and adults alike will find this edgy rendition of the birth and spread of the early church compelling and engaging. The cutting-edge art style is combined with fast-paced storytelling to deliver solid biblical truths, making it a great way to introduce anyone to the Bible. Recommended for ages 12 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Review 1 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pierson Hahn
A New Way to see the Bible. Stories take on new light, in full color, but not written for children.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lee Turner
I ordered this (and the second book) for our 16-year-old grandson, who loves to draw and loves Manga. His mother told us he was really impressed--that's a great reaction for a 16-year-old!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teya Nguyen
This Manga is one to treasure. Combining all the gospel in one accurate and easy to understand manner. I read this in it's entirity before giving it as a gift and I loved it. I plan to purchase the NLT Manga Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lenae Williamson
Manga Messiah was good but scary and weird. First of all it made the demonful people look like zombies and second is that Manga books are usaully un godly.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Bach
15 yr old Helena cannot put it down Rave reviews by the younger set who normally wouldn't read their Bibles
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rita Crespo
I bought it to give it to my teenager brother who doesnt know Christ (apart from some films), as a good way for him to get close to the person of Christ. I read it first, for I too am a comics fan and I was really well impressed!!All the gospels were included - not just one of the narratives - the graphics are great and really appealling to the eye. This generation eats more with the eyes than with their mouths (sometimes). So this is a great way to introduce Christ to some, with a garantee that the Word is nicely and respectfully presented and a way to keep young christians connected and thirsty for the real thing!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suziann Gross
I have two young teenage boys and another boy in 2nd grade. They all loved reading this book. Once they started reading they couldn't put it down. It was so great to hear them discussing Jesus and the stories with each other!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
gavin
i have just finished reading it and i hope they make a manga bible because it was so good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Murphy
My daughter loves this. She is really into Manga and this fits in with her beliefs and does not contradicts them in any way. She is understanding better some of the concepts of the hard sayings more clearly than when she reads the Bible. Her favorite comment that is it totally awesome!!!!!!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daniel Lilly
Manga Messiah takes you through the story of Jesus in a way that is easy to understand, but still has the same effect if not more powerful. I can't wait for the rest of the series. Thanks NEXT Manga for making positive manga.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynette Dupre
There were a few details missing and their names were different, but overall it was incredible! I couldn't put it down. It really brought the Bible to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna M.
Manga (pronounced mahn-ga, not mayn-ga) done in the style of Mel Gibson's "Passion of the Christ", this book is absolutely terrific; it even goes back to the use of Christ's original Hebrew name of "Messiah Yeshuah". If your teen tears through Manga like my nephew does, this is definitely the way to get them to chew through the gospels, not once, but over and over again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rick
The writer/writers? took some creative liberty, adding some interpretation here and there. also adding some extra non-biblical content. However, I feel as though they have remained true to the text and original meaning. Really, it is a Harmony of the Gospels with pictures. It likely will not appeal to those who have been around for any length of time; however it will appeal to many who are younger. While I would not preach from Mange Messiah, I would say that this is an excellent tool for reaching out to those who find reading the bible boring. It is an excellent tool for ministry to the young, or even the young at heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Manga Messiah (Manga Book #1-The Gospels)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anne
The below average, teenage readers that I work with were mesmerized by the format. They kept reading! They also seemed more able to self correct. The format was motivating and encouraging giving the reader an immediate sense of success.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.