Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Heroes and Villains of the Bible

Thomas Nelson Heroes and Villains of the Bible

Teach your children life-shaping lessons with this book featuring 50 real-life adventures of real people from the Bible. With Heroes and Villains of the Bible, children will realize their favorite heroes aren't from the movies, but are real people from the Bible. Using actual text from the International Children's bible, accompanied by brief introductions and thoughts and suggestions for applying the lessons from the stories to everyday life, this book is sure to make the Bible come alive for your tweens! 256 pages, hardcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Review 1 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for upper elementary

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received the Heroes & Villians of the Bible book back in November & I planned on using it with my Sunday school students but it was so close to the Christmas season that the book was set aside for Christmas program rehearsals. Finally picking up the book again, I thought hmm... wonder if the wisemen or King Herod are listed stories in the book? They are, along with many others. I like this book because the stories are direct from the Bible, the text is taken directly from the International Children's Bible and not someones interpretation. There is an illustration to go with almost every story and they seem to draw in the kids attention, I thought they could of been a little better myself but the kids think they are fun & that is what counts. I do give them credit that they are not so cartoonish & geared to young kids as I think this book is great for readers in the 8-10 year range and I often hear in class of other books that they are too kiddish. This book is not.
This would also make a great gift to be used in the home for devotional times as each story has a section with questions or reflections to help the reader dig deeper into the reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heroes & Villains Of The Bible

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
nchokkan
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, a big congrats (and thanks) to Tommy Nelson. There are many books about bible, thousands of slices are possible from this great book, when you look at it from different perspectives, and this book is a winner.
Conceptwise, it is quite simple. A book with lots and lots of stories, some of them about good people and some about bad people. End of each story, there is a small discussion on why (and how) they became good / bad and what lessons we can learn from their life.
With this simple idea, Tama Fortner (Compiling editor of this book) has hit a home run. Each story is just 2 or 3 pages with simple text (from international children¿s bible) and wonderful diagrams (all images from Eikon Bible art!). This makes reading a breeze.
Most important, each story finishes with a practical example, means the author says how this can be used in real life and you too can become a hero (or stop yourself from becoming a villain). These examples are simple and sweet, target audience will love them.
However, one comment I want to make is, the text in this book can be a bit more story like. As the publishers have decided to use bible text, there is a disconnect in many places. May be they could have opted for a 1 page story, followed by 2 to 3 pages of actual bible text, Short stories will pull people inside and the bible reference will give them more details.
Other than this small issue, I loved the book. Excellent production, clear printing (images, text and beautiful layout) and it is a recommended reading for everyone, especially children.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze dot com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission¿s 16 CFR, Part 255 : ¿Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.¿
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Heroes and Villains of the Bible

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaguar Hero
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heroes and Villains of the Bible is an illustrated Children's Book. It goes through various Bible stories about good guys and bad guys. It uses real Biblical passages and has colorful pictures to bring the stories to life.
I thought it was pretty resourceful. The passages come from the International Children's Bible so it's easy to read.
I also liked that at the end of each story there was a point about what heroes do. It encourages children to trust God and know they, too, can be heroes.
Because it is a lot more to read than a picture book, I'd put the age group to be from 6 or 7 years old up until probably 11 or 12 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not what I expected

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
nursemommypaige
Location:fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
<span style="font-style:italic;">Heroes and Villains<span style="font-style:italic;"></span></span> was not what I expected at all. I honestly expected a lot of commentary, pictures, and something slightly more kid friendly than this. This book is basically just bible verses and a tiny bit of commentary at the end of the chapter. Really there are no pictures or anything that would hold my four year olds attention for long. I do think this book would be great for an adult or an older child, but definitely not for small children. I enjoyed reading the verses and being refreshed on it…but will not be offering this read to my son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Oftentimes, compilations of Bible stories for children seem designed more to put them to sleep at bedtime than to inspire them to think about their faith. Not so with Heroes and Villains of the Bible, compiled from the International Children’s Bible by Tama Fortner! Divided into Old and New Testament sections, this book uses short character studies with actual Scripture to lead children to decide whether an individual is for or against God, in other words, a hero or a villain. Backgrounds for each story and a reflective real-world application following each segment make for a useful supplement to any child’s small group activities, bible study, or as a stand-alone devotional. High quality glossy pages and illustrations that look like they came from a video game will attract boys especially, helping to fill a void left by so many other reading genres and products. A wonderful idea brought to life in a creative and visually stimulating way, this book would make a great gift for any special young person.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2011
What kid doesn't like reading adventure stories? There are plenty of adventures in the Bible starring heroes like Noah, Moses, Joshua and John the Baptist. There are villains too: Goliath, Haman, King Herod, and Satan, the ultimate villain. And kids of all ages can learn a lot from these Heroes and Villains.
After reading the scriptures about each person, there's a short summary explaining what to learn from the story. These provide guidelines for kids to become heroes too. "Heroes walk with God" "Forgiving others is what heroes do" "Heroes think of others first" "Heroes give to please God, not to be praised"
Since this is directed towards older children, I think it would have been better to use a different translation of the Bible that makes it easier to understand. But ending with a little lesson to learn makes it helpful.
Tommy Nelson provided this book for review through the BookSneeze review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Heroes and Villains of the Bible

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
May
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For me, when the words hero and villain are used together they conjure an image of something epic. Maybe a battle with swords flying and people doing amazing twist and turns. I think it is the addition of the word villain. A hero can be an ordinary man, but a villain MUST be evil. Reguardless, when I saw a book called Heroes and Villains of the Bible on the list of books I could review, I knew I wanted it.
Hero and Villains of the Bible is walk through the bible with an emphasis on the different choices that make someone a hero or someone else a villain. It was not exactly the book I expected and yet, I enjoyed it. It takes 25 Old Testament people and 25 New Testament people and using bible text show the choices they made that forced them on God's team, the Heroes, or Satin's team, the Villains. My only complaint is that Tama Fortner chose to compile the text from ICB, International Children's Bible.
The book uses Eikon Bible Art which is, as the publisher summarizes, amazing four-color, full-page digital images that bring to life these heroes and villains.
Over all, I liked the book, but with the bible text being from ICB, I am not sure I can recommend it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heroes & Villains of the Bible, by Tama Fortner, is a collection of Bible stories compiled of actual Bible text from the International Children’s Bible. Its purpose is to teach children about being heroes for God, as well as to warn them of tricks that the villains use to prevent this.
I was impressed with this book right from the introduction, when the author says, “Being a hero isn’t about capes, or special powers, or being faster than a speeding bullet—it’s about choosing to follow God.” The fifty stories of heroes and villains that follow include magnificent illustrations, Bible text, a short lesson, and a one-line summary about heroes. For example, the story of Abraham ends with “HEROES BELIEVE GOD WILL DO JUST WHAT HE SAYS HE WILL.”
This book is clearly written in such a way that it will impress upon children the importance of being like Jesus. It would be very useful for teaching Sunday School or Children’s Church.
It was a fantastic book. I enjoyed it very much and even found some quotes that I need to hang up in my home! Any child would benefit from it.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for older children

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
thriftymommy08
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently downloaded "Heroes & Villains of the Bible" in ebook format. I have a young daughter, and was interested to see if it would be something that I could read with her. Obviously, I would much rather she look up to heroes of the Bible than some of the "role models" that are out there today. I liked the book, but think that it would be better for an older age group than my daughter. I would suggest 7 or 8 years old and up. While the cover of the book suggests it is a "boy book", it actually follows more than just men of the Bible. I liked that they included some female characters, such as Ruth and Delilah. The book reads as a Bible, albeit the children's version, so it isn't like a traditional bible story book. Each chapter offers a thought or discussion to help your child connect with the reading. It also offers up a short moral of the reading. I liked that it helps the child get involved in the story. The readings are taken from a small percentage of the Bible, from the books of: Genesis, Exodus, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 1 Kings, Esther, Daniel, Jonah, Luke, Matthew, John, Mark, and Acts. Not such a great read for smaller children, but definitely great for boys or girls who are a little bit older.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heroes and Villains of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heroes and Villains of the Bible is not exactly the book I expected and yet, I really enjoyed it. First, it is a children's book and my son wanted me to request it. Unfortunately, I downloaded it on my kindle as well as my laptop. On the kindle, it misses all the color and illustrations. This is a huge drawback! I recommend getting the print book if you have a black and white e-reader like I do.
This is written for 9 to 12 year olds and I was surprised by how much actual scripture is in this book! It really lets the Bible speak for itself and then it sums it up with a "hero" or "villain" snippet, such as the case of Stephen being stoned, the "moral" of the tale is: "Heroes forgive because they know they are forgiven."
If you have a child that thinks Scripture is boring, I recommend this book. It is nearly an older version of a "storybook" yet in a real Scripture translation. It is about 250 pages and recounts the lives of 50 Biblical heroes or villains of the faith. I can't wait to let my son read this, as I am sure he'll enjoy it as much as I have.
I was provided with a free copy through Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.