Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Fashioned By Faith

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson Fashioned By Faith

Do you believe that in order to be fashionable and in style that the less you wear the better? Think again when you read this book written by international professional model Rachel Lee Carter. She offers a cutting-edge approach to the concept of beauty with a Biblical foundation that will attract moms and daughters alike. Readers will love hearing about Carter's exciting story as she leads them on an engaging study that touches on a huge felt need for young women: real beauty has nothing to do with looks.

Offering three valuable perspectives from a teenage boy, a professional model, and God's Word, Carter explains her own standards of modesty in a way that will make readers acquire a specific understanding of her wardrobe choices and the impact that these choices have on others. Includes a section of full-color photos, a 45-day Bible study, and fun, fresh advice on how to dress stylishly in a way that honors God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fashioned By Faith
Review 1 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Unavailable
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This author is unrealistic given her own past as a Christian. Married 3 times, a child out of wedlock. Yes God forgives, but should she be authoring a book on modesty and purity? She is self centered and everything in her life is all about her. She will step on your head to get her name out there and not even think about it twice. She should have thought about social media before authoring a book on a subject she knows nothing about.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was great

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave the book away as at a fellowship discussion on dressing modestly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is what young girls need

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
International Model, Rachel Lee Carter, speaks with girls on modesty in dress. She also interviews male and shares in her book what guys think about modesty in girls. What they are truly looking for when it comes time to choose a wife. She tells it like it is. She is honest and straight forward. She uses scripture and helps girls see what God's Word has to say about their dress too. This book is set up as a devotional type each chapter is covered over a period of 5 days. Carter speaks from experience. She shares how you can still dress nice and be modest while doing it. I will be using this book with my teen daughter this fall in our schooling. It is designed to use as a Bible Study. It is written simple and to the point. We need more brave souls to stand up for modesty in the fashion world today.
A copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book deals with fashion issues

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Simply Shop and Save
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Model Rachael Lee Carter shares her story and speaks from personal experience. She has worked with famous clients so she really knows what she is talking about when she discusses modesty. In the beginning of the book she dressed according to current fashion but faced some situations that changed her mind about the way she was dressing. Rachael comes with practical ideas on how to dress modestly and ways to use the pieces of clothing that is already in the closet. It was interesting to read the accounts of youth when they saw women dressed scantily and the feelings these men face as they battle this issue in their mind.
This information that the author presented is familiar with me. I attended Bible College and the professor discussed how the way women dress could affect men and their behaviour. I liked the way she uses Scripture to show what God thinks about the way women dress.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

necessity for coming of age in skin-is-in culture

Date:May 2, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been thrilled recently to find so many fabulous Christian entertainment and resource ideas for tweens and teens. Fashioned by Faith is another great one!
In Fashioned, international model Rachel Lee Carter intermixes scripture, her own testimony, and the input of teen males, to create a vision for girls where modesty is easily the most beautiful option.
Fashioned chapters include Fashioned by Freedom, Fashioned for Faithfulness, Fashioned to Bear Fruit, and more. Each chapter concludes with several thought provoking questions and a prayer. The book ends with a 45-day Bible study. The questions and study would be perfect for self-reflection, mother-daughter talks, or a small group or girls book club.
I expect young readers will come away from this book with a clearer sense of who they'd like to be, a better understanding of the messages their choices send to others, and a greater respect for their responsibility in helping their male peers fight the good fight.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson publisher for the purpose of providing my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good starting point for modesty awareness

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fashioned By Faith, by Rachel Lee Carter, is written for women of all ages and explores the concept of being able to dress modestly within today's clothing trends. It's pretty straightforward and she includes thoughts from men of varying ages as well as lots of Scriptures and biblical examples.
The book is an excellent place to start for women looking to seek God's preferences in how they dress. It also addresses the heart issue of motivation in clothing choices, which is very valuable. However, some of Rachel's personal guidelines for what's considered modest seem to be contradictory, which could lead women to feel more comfortable in the world's trendiness than is spiritually helpful. Overall, the author is on the right track with her desire to be modest and not to cause Christian brothers to sin, although her application leaves a bit to be desired. I'd say it's definitely worth a read, but don't stop there!
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book on modesty

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Fashioned by Faith" is an excellent Christian living book about modesty and true beauty. At the back of the book, there's also a quick-to-do 45-day Bible study on the same topics.
At the beginning of each chapter, a teen boy gave his perspective on what girls wear (though the boys all said the same sort of things). The author then talked about what modesty is, the heart-issues behind wanting to get attention from boys, some useful guidelines for clothing that will help you not show too much while wearing and moving around in clothing, and a few style tips for using stylish clothing in a modest way. She also quoted Scripture and explained what God has told us about modesty, beauty, and our bodies.
This book was written in an easy-to-understand level for teens, but the author made some great points for adult women as well. I was expecting a little more about how to dress "in fashion," but it was mostly about how to wear "in fashion" clothing in modest ways (layering, etc.). Also, much of the book focused on the motives behind wearing immodest clothing, why Christian women should wear modest clothing out of consideration for others, eating disorders, and trusting God. She described various incidents in her life that illustrated her points. For example, God kept providing her with work even when her agents told her no one would hire her if she refused to model underwear, etc. So you also learn some about the modeling industry.
There were several pictures of the author from various photo shoots and from her "normal life." Personally, I thought some of the clothing she was wearing pushed the edge of modest. Ironically, in the only picture where she looks like she wouldn't blow away if the wind blew too hard, her agent was apparently pressuring her to lose some weight because she was "too heavy." Go figure.
I've read all of this modesty information before, but I think this was one of the better books I've read on the topic. I'd recommend this book to girls and women, especially those struggling with why modesty matters.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for Teens!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fashioned by Faith
By Rachel Lee Carter
Fashioned by Faith takes the aspects of teenage guys, Rachel, and God in regards to today’s clothing and styles. Rachel is an international model that has chosen to dress modestly with today’s style of skin is in and sex sales. She has two chapters specifically giving advice on how to choose clothes that look fashionable, but still cover the body. She has also taken the opinion of Christian guys in regards to how girls dress, as well as Bible references and what God says about the issue of modesty.
I would recommend this book to anyone that has girls in the tween or teen stage. This can even apply to adult women. I would love for every teen girl at my church to read this book. I will be donating it to the church library in hopes that some will.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1400316928&title=Fashioned_by_Faith
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for teen girls!! Very encouraging!!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Huntter
Location:Hastings, NE
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this book I was thinking that I would read through it and see what it was like, write a review, then give it to my younger sister to read as she is having issues with modesty lately. However, once I started reading it and answering the questions, I realized that it is not just a book for those who are dealing with how to dress modestly in our skin-is-in society, but also as a reminder and an encouragement for those of us who already dress modestly. I have been greatly impacted by the book and have noticed even some small things in my wardrobe and how I dress that I am working on changing. I love how Rachel shares her story and how she has continued to dress moestly even in the midst of being a model for world renowned fashion designers. Having the guys tell their point of view and what think of modesty definitely added to the lessons in each chapter and it encourages girls to dress more modestly despite media and social pressure because guys actually prefer a girl who dresses modestly and appropriately. Absolutely loved this book!!! Recommending it to a lot of friends and family friends!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rachel Lee Carter: A role model

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
vtkid
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To say that I am not "fashionable" is an understatement. I have no idea what looks good or not. But I do know what is modest. Unfortunately, most women do not...in my opinion.
I was very pleased to read this book by Rachel Lee Carter. She knows fashion, she knows Jesus, she knows modest! Someone who young (and maybe older) women can respect when it comes to her opinion about fashion.
She lives in the world of fashion and all that entails but she holds onto her modesty and integrity. She has managed to be successful in spite of her convictions. Or should I say because of her convictions....God has blessed her as she is not ashamed to stand up for Him. She is a wonderful role model for our young girls.
In this book she shares her experiences as a top fashion model....the good, the bad and the ugly.
Each chapter begins with a he says, the guy viewpoint, followed by she says, Rachel's experience, then comes He says, God's way and finally what do you say? giving the reader a chance to respond to the chapter topic.
For a more in-depth study, there is a 45 day Bible study included.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virtuous Girlhood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m HUGE on fashion. I want to own the latest and greatest products. I’m a huge modest yet stylishly fashionable advocate. Unfortunately being fashionable doesn’t always mean being modest. So what’s a girl to do? Dress in sacks? Nope! You CAN dress modestly while being stylish! So, I am always on the lookout for good books on this issue and I’ve ***found*** it! My latest find is called Fashioned by Faith and it’s written by Rachel Lee Carter. A former model. I loved that this book is written from a Christian perspective! (gotta love that!)
My thoughts-
This book is a true gem. Not only does Rachel share stories from her life inside the modeling industry. But, she explains to girls the importance of dressing modestly and tips on how to dress modestly yet stylishly.
One of my favorite aspects of this book is that at the beginning of each chapter there are testimonies from young men who are talking about how the appreciate young women who dress modestly. And their thoughts on young women who dress modestly. I really enjoyed reading their thoughts…… In today’s society it’s SO easy just to “go with the flow”, but as Christians are not called to just go with the flow. We are called to obey God and be different. We are to be in the world, but not of it.
All in all this book is WONDERFUL! And I love it!!!!
I highly recommend that you buy this book on CBD here.
Virtuous Girlhood received these products in exchange for writing a review. I was under no obligation to review them if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review. This review is my honest thoughts of the products and company. All opinions are my own and not impressed by monetary compensation. Virtuous Girlhood does not endorse nor agree with everything at the websites featured.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Important Reading for Young Women

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
WeRead
Location:In the Reading Chair
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be thoroughly engrossing, though I am older than the target audience. After all, we are all subject to the same messages from the media, fashion, and others.
This book provides a thoughtful, faith-based message for girls and young women of all ages. Likely to appeal to tweens and teens are "real" young men giving their impressions and thoughts about modesty. Hearing a male perspective that reinforces the notion that modesty in women is appealing to men is perhaps one of the best parts of this book.
I also enjoyed the author's perspective on modesty, as she has done modeling (many young girls' dreams!). She discusses times when she turned down lucrative jobs that would have forced her to reveal more of herself than she was comfortable with. There are also "real" photographs of the author in various modeling shoots, where she is beautiful and modestly dressed. These images are likely to reinforce her message.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough to young women (perhaps age 8 and up, as young girls are increasingly subject to many of these influences) and their parents, teachers, youth leaders, etc.
[Please note: I received this book at no cost through BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.]
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent For Parents, Teacher, and Young Ladies

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Empowering Mommy
Location:Larimore, ND
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel Lee Carter did an excellent job in writing this book. This was just not her opinion - she took opinions from guys, she backed it with God's Word, and then what her background as a model was to base her entire thought line. I may differ in the level of modesty that I hold in my life but the truth that she had to impart in young girls was outstanding. I was able to use Rachel Lee Carter's research in a devotion that I gave to young girls in our Christian school.
As an Assistant Pastor and a mom, I am concerned for our girls modesty in today's society. It is harder and harder to live modestly and Rachel Lee Carter really hit that on the head. I do think that every mom should read this book with their daughter. Take the time to share with your daughter your convictions and why you choose to dress the way that you do. Let daddy take the time to share how certain types of clothing affects him - I would highly recommend using Fashioned By Faith as a teaching and guiding tool.
This book will really challenge your thinking and cause you to rethink what you put on every morning. Scripture quotations are not in KJV but this is still a book that parents and counsellors should take the time to read through.
Disclosure: I received this book free of charge from Book Sneeze for this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own and were not influenced by the sponsor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fashioned By Faith
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have for all Tweens - Young Women.

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Fashioned by Faith - Rachel Lee Carter - May 2011
"Don't let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for believers, in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity"
1 Timothy 4 v 12.
From the front cover which looks like a magazine design layout to the last page of this book, it is a wonderful guide that all girls -no matter how young you are - it is ideally written for tweens - to young adults, this is the perfect guide to have on your bedside table. Each chapter covers a He says section : Which is what guys think when we dress appropiately and what's not appropiate . As though girls , some of us think that guys will only go for the ones dressed to the nines is skanky and slutty clothing - that's not true . Guys like modesty, as it shows them that we are not easy and that we have a high respect for ourselves. The next part talks about what God says about each and everyone of us from the clothes we wear to what our attitude tells about us . God's instructions for us are to be a living sacrifice for him , holy and pleasing to god" we can't do that if we mistreat or missuse our bodies. The third part is always my favourite - Rachel has compiled a list of questions after each chapter - to get us thinking about what we have just read and how we all liked to be treated .
An example of a question is : We see Guys gawking at immodesty all the time , what do you think is going on in their heads ? What is going on in those females hearts? - Are the guys thinking pure thoughts and do these females think about what they are projecting ?
At the back of the book, Rachel has produced a 45 day Fashioned by Faith Bible Study - Each day covers a verse to read and then followed by that verse , a related question to get your brain thinking e.g
"Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit , which is of great worth in God's sight"
1 Peter 3v4.
The Question : How Does God Define Beauty ?
This book I found was similar to those written by Hayley DiMarco - another favourite Christian female author who writes along the lines of modesty in her book 'How Sexy is too Sexy ? ".
For more Information on Rachel Carter and her book , Check out her website http://www.modelingchrist.com/
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.