Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lionsgate Home Entertainment The Least Among You, DVD

Lionsgate Home Entertainment The Least Among You, DVD

Arrested during the 1965 Watts riots, Richard Kelly is sentenced to probation at an all-white seminary. The school's president encourages him to break the color line while former missionary Kate Allison remains aloof. Can janitor Samuel Benton guide Richard through racism---and away from prison? Starring Cedric Sanders, Lauren Holly, Louis Gossett, Jr., and William Devane. (PG-13.) 96 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.425 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
3
21 out of 2875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Least Among You, DVD
Review 1 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Extremely disappointing!

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was greatly disappointed by this movie! It was very slow and hard for me to focus! The one thing that greatly upset me was when he cussed in this movie with it being a word that I would not want my children to hear as well as throwing the cross on the ground! I was shocked that this movie had a Dove symbol on the case! Extremely disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible message

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
adrianmathewsDOTcom
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great addition to my growing library of Christian Movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspired by true events

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Least among You is a movie that is inspired by a true story.
Arrested in the 1965 Watts riots, Richard Kelly must serve probation at an all-white seminary.
I enjoyed this movie of a young man trying to rise above circumstance, dealing with family and personal issues while trying to successfully get through his post-secondary experience in the 1960's. This story is an example of persistence through times of fear was inspiring. I enjoyed this well filmed movie inspired by a true story. I have watched this movie a number of times since receiving and it still doesn't feel too predictable. The Least Among You is filled with interesting characters that causes one to evaluate and understand how our society has changed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://booksneeze.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
T. Forkner
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t usually post reviews about movies, but when I noticed that publisher Thomas Nelson had DVD copies of The Least Among You for review, I decided to see what I thought about it. The story is about a young black man, Richard Kelly, who was falsely arrested in 1965 during the Watts riots. His probation is to attend an all-white seminary school.
While attending the school as the only, and first, black man on campus, Kelly faces all the obstacles you can imagine for a man in that situation including prejudice, misunderstanding, and all out racism. As Kelly’s confidence grows he begins to fight for change within the school, but eventually realizes the school leaders’ motives to let him into the school are not entirely pure. Ultimately his situation inspires as much change in himself as in the students.
The best part of this movie is that it is a true story. I had never heard Richard Kelly’s story before and while I think the story is much bigger than can be told in 97 minutes, I was very inspired by the movie. The cast, which gives some good performances, includes Cedric Sanders as Richard Kelly, as well as headliners Louis Gosset Jr., Lauren Holly, and William Devane.
The Least Among You has found an audience in the Christian community, but I daresay the fact that it was directed by Mark Young and produced by Julia Verdin, neither one of them strangers to mainstream media, might be why it turned out so well. Even though I am a Christian, I’d be the last person to claim that the Christian community has turned out several great movies (Yes, there have been some and there will probably be more). It’s nice to see a movie that embodies Christian values that isn’t trite, preachy, or overly sentimental. I really believe that Christian values can be seen in all kinds of redemptive movies that are produced in the mainstream, but that’s another post.
Bottom Line: This is a great family movie (PG-13) for people who want to take the discussion about the civil rights movement beyond the classroom and into their living room. As a mom, I appreciate the struggle that Richard Kelly went through, not only as a young black man in a white school, but in the choices he had to make about his future. His faith took him through some pretty big trials and when my children are a little bit older, I plan to have them watch The Least Among You.
- Tina Ann Forkner, Author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dove Seal Of Approval? Really...?

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gideon
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I normally look for the Dove Seal of approval on a movie and that usually means I can trust it....no more. I do not expect Christian movies to have the F word in it. I did not get this movie free as many of the reveiwers did. I bought it to show our Bible Study for movie night. Thankfully we previewed it first. The story was pretty good but they did not flesh out the main character's conversion enough and as for the rest of the characters in the movie all I can is that is SOME seminary!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Watched many times already

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting that the professor was a female in 1965 in an all male Christian Seminary. "Whatever it is, God's got his hand on it."
Whenever I watch a movie set in the past, I'm always surprised how far we appear to have come in some areas, but yet how far we still have to go.
I enjoyed this movie of a young man trying to raise above circumstance, dealing with family and personal issues while trying to successfully get through his post-secondary experience in the 1960's. This story is an example of persistence through times of fear was inspiring. I enjoyed this well filmed movie inspired by a true story. I have watched this movie a number of times since receiving and it still doesn't feel too predictable.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://booksneeze.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Seminarian Must See

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
JEllis3
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Edmond Burke wrote, “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” The Least Among You is a capitivating film based on the vocational beginnings, a true story, of Richard Kelly, an African American who reluctantly entered into ministry, not to mention, relatively speaking, on account of being forced into an all-white seminary. With God’s guidance and godly counsel from some of the most unsuspected corridors of life, he would eventually perservere and become an advocate for the least of these who most recently was a faculty member of San Francisco Theological Seminary. In typical fashion, Louis Gossett, Jr. does a wonderful job, but with a career as storied and a talent so rich we have come to expect nothing less. The Least Among You is a must see film, especially for those at a vocational crossroads or who are otherwise seeking to catch a glimpse of God through the fog of trial and tribulation. Indeed, God is present in the seemingly mundane, as well as the seemingly grand books and crannies of our existence.
[Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”]
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great movie

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
maegy97
Location:sydney, australia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Least among You is a movie that is inspired by a true story.
Arrested in the 1965 Watts riots, Richard Kelly must serve probation at an all-white seminary. Although encouraged to break racial boundaries by its president Alan Beckett, the school wants black followers, not leaders. Even former missionary Kate Allison initially rejects Richard. With a prison sentence looming, Richard meets Samuel Benton-"the gardener in the basement." As Samuel guides him through his many trials, Richard must choose between his dreams and hid destiny.
Cedric Sanders as Richard Kelly, William Devane as Alan Beckett, Lauren Holly as Kate Allison and Louis Gosett, Jr as Samuel Benton
This is a really good movie you should watch it.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson publishers’ Booksneeze program. The program allows me to review books for FREE as long as I give an honest review of the book on my blog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Kirkland, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy movies based on true events; especially when I was alive and remember hearing about them. But this movie still wasn't type of movie to watch. It did have very good acting, raw emotions that you could feel through the screen, and it was very moving. I did enjoy watching this Christian flick on the one hand though because it wasn't the typical low-cost, new-actors feel to it. I feel this movie represented what happened and what went on very well. This movie was and is inspirational and eye opening to those who didn't know about the Watt Riots and about doing what is right even if you know there are people against you or possible consequences.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative & Educational

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:Indian Head, Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Personally, I never had to endure the direct hardships of segregation, but director Mark Young made feel as if I did. In his compelling movie, The Least Among You a young man name Richard Kelly portrayed by Cedric Sanders must choose to do the right thing, even if it cost him his future dreams or his life. Richard being the first black student accepted into an all white seminary challenged his peers and leadership to remove racial barriers.
Although there are many films that are similar to this one, The Least Among You is filled with interesting characters that causes one to evaluate and understand how our society has changed. This film enlightens all to understand that racism not only exists in the secular world but it was a deeply embedded into the church. Moreover, when the roots of segregation were pulled out, there was a strong resistance inside the church. The primary theme teaches that “Leaders and not called they are chosen”. In addition, it is through a calling that one can unite others. Overall, I enjoyed this film and I would high recommend it to others. The Least Among You is an influential film that empowers individuals within the United Sates to embrace there past; while promoting a future filled with change, success and victory rather than racism and segregation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Faith Based DVD

Date:October 30, 2010
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to review a DVD from BookSneeze (Thomas Nelson) this time around. I love faith based movies, so when I saw that a DVD was available for review I jumped at the chance. The DVD that I reviewed was a movie titled, "The Least Among You". This movie is inspired by a true story about a man named Richard Kelly (Dr. Charles Marks).
Richard was arrested in the 1965 Watts Riots. In order to get out of prison he had to serve his probation at an all white seminary. I won't give you the rest of the story, but the movie deals with the issues of racism, abuse and forgiveness. Ultimately, the movie shows the journey of how Richard comes to really know and accept God's will for his life.
This movie was really good. There are well known actors in this movie, such as Louis Gossett, Jr., Lauren Holly and William Devane. I do not really know the actor that plays the role of Richard Kelly, but he does a wonderful job. Also included on the DVD is a featurette titled, "Rev Dr. Charles Marks-The Real Richard Kelly". I like when movies feature small documentaries of the real life characters.
One of the things that I like most about this movie is that it deals with very sensitive and life situations that are graphic, but the movie deals with it in a way that is appropriate and not at all graphic. As a Christian this is real important to me that I can watch a movie without hearing and seeing all the "stuff" that can be so offensive.
I definitely recommend this movie as one to purchase. It would also be a movie that could be watched with your family (older children). Thank you BookSneeze for making this movie available for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring Movie

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Location:S
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Least Among You, starring Louis Gossett, Jr., relates the true story of a young black man, Richard Kelly (Cedric Sanders), who is arrested during race riots in the 1960s and as a result finds himself enrolled in an all-white seminary according to the terms of his probation. Although the seminary president (William Devane)--for political reasons--encourages Kelly to take a leadership role at the school, Kelly faces hostility from his classmates and professors. Only when Kelly forges a relationship with the older black custodian of the school, Samuel Benton (Louis Gosset, Jr.), does Kelly begin to develop the spiritual depth required for him to truly step out in leadership at the seminary.
This movie provides an interesting portrait of the racial turbulence that pervaded even the religious institutions of the period. Although at times, the storyline was complicated and distracted from the overall message of the movie, Kelly's story of personal growth and conviction is truly inspiring.
Thomas Nelson provided a complimentary copy of this DVD for review, but the opinions expressed here are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific.... A must see movie!

Date:October 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Least Among You from Lionsgate is a film that teaches about history, racism, religion, self-worth, and hope. It's an inspiring story about destiny. Through the acting talents of Cedric Sanders (Richard Kelly), William Devane (Alan Beckett), Louis Gossett, Jr. (Samuel Benton), and Lauren Holly (Kate Allison), the story comes alive.
How is a young, black man to live after being arrested in the 1965 Watts Riots? His dream job was just out of reach and his mom opened the door to a seminary education. This movie, inspired from a true story, shows us how to get past ourselves and seek peace and friendships with those who are different from us. The story pulls you into the hardships of life in 1965. From the difficult beginnings to the ending, this movie shows how God is always with us even when we don't feel Him or desire Him.
Is it easier to choose your dream or follow your destiny? Pick up this movie and see how God can orchestrate your dream into becoming your destiny.
I give this DVD/Movie a 5 Star rating! (I'd rate higher if I could!)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2010
The Least Among You is a great movie! Based on a true story, it tells of a young man who goes to seminary in order to escape the life of the ghetto. What he doesn't know is that he's the first black student at the seminary. He faces prejudice from classmates and teachers alike and struggles to get through the first semester. Along the way, he is changed and the people around him are as well.
I thought the movie was very well-done. It caused me to consider how each of the characters felt. It was both thought-provoking and moving. It deals with tough topics in a positive way. The movie reminded me of movies like Finding Forrester and Glory Road. I was also impressed that the movie wasn't "cheesy" like many Christian-themed movies are. Well done! (I'm also not sure why the movie is rated PG-13. Perhaps for some of the issues they addressed?)
I received a free copy of this movie from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Family Night Movie

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Larri at Seams Inspired
Location:Upstate, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a good family movie with tweens and teens, this is it. The Least Among You is inspired by the life of Richard Kelly. The story will give your family an opportunity to discuss racial boundaries in not-so-long-ago history, and open their eyes to see that even a Christian seminary was not exempt from prejudices.
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. It's subject matter was handled well with an underscore of redemption and grace. My boys' attention was held throughout the movie. They had questions after viewing it, so we were able to weave in a history lesson as well as create a dialogue about character and morality. The acting was well done. At just over 90 minutes, it's perfect for a family night of movie watching.
I received my review copy through BookSneeze, a blogger review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Video

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
reggie
Location:Landmark Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "LEAST AMOUNG YOU" Inspired by the true story of Richard kelly I just finished watching a true DVD that I had received free from from a book club, to review it on my blog. I must say that I thought that this would be another DVD that was not up to excellent movie standards, but I was wrong. This movie has great acting and a story line that you are enticed to watch. This movie is about racial boundaries that were broken by a student at an all white seminary. It portrays the limits that our Christian leaders have had and the reality of their biases. There have been many movies made about brave people fighting for their rights, this is a true story about Richard Kelly (Cedric Sanders) fighting for the rights of black people. Cedric has a lot of opposition from people who seemed to support him at first and also from his own past. It is a repetitious story of history. I found that the movie was more real and portrayed Christian values much better than the movies that I have seen before. I loved the way that the actors prayed and listened to the Holy Spirit for guidance. This movie quoted a lot of scriptures that opened the listeners eyes to what God has to say about these situations and offered guidance . The difference that I found was that the story did not rely on a persons strength to overcome opposition but God was the central focus. I would recommend this movie for families to enjoy and for church groups also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Relevatn Storyline

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly Cook
Location:AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is a based on a true story that I was not familiar with prior to ordering this for review purposes. I prefer "based on a true story" movies over fiction more often than not, and this was no exception. The storyline was a bit slow moving, but who says it has to be high speed to be good?
Set in 1965 following the Watts race riots, Richard Kelly finds that he is unable to take the job with the big computer company that he was so proud to get. Instead, he'll be spending "time" at an all white seminary as the only black student in their history. In the process he learns about reverse racism, forgiveness, consequences, perseverance and loyalty. To tell you anything else would give away too much, so let it be known that I enjoyed the movie and recommend it to all. It's an important life lesson learned.
I received a review copy of this DVD from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is satisfying

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evangeline Han
Location:Melaka, Malaysia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Least Among You movie is based on a true story. Richard Kelly (Cedric Sanders) is sent to an all-white theological seminary to serve probation after being arrested in the 1965 Watts riots. Faced with racial prejudice and struggling with his own personal problems, Kelly has to choose between his dreams and God’s will.
I watched this movie with skepticism and finished it half-convinced that it was worth my time. The plot was averagely interesting. There were comedic and touching parts at the most unexpected places, and I liked that. But there were also vague scenes and I felt that some conversations were too lengthy and unnecessary. Additionally, some of the scenes were complicated and confusing. This movie might be a good watch for those looking for entertainment, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone wanting a good movie.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this DVD free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Inspired by a true story, “The Least Among You” is the tale of Richard Kelly, a young black man who is arrested during the Watt’s riot in 1965 and accused of assaulting a police officer. Rather than go to trial, Richard chooses to take the Prosecutor’s deal and serve probation at an all-white seminary. Upon his arrival at the seminary, Richard is immediately faced with opposition and prejudice by his peers. His confidence is lifted when he meets and later makes friends with his white roommate from Texas who shows him some support throughout his tenure at the seminary. The faculty and students alike continually treat Richard prejudicially.
The Gardener, a black gentleman who exemplifies the true faith of a saint, soon befriends Richard and becomes a great support.
This is a movie that you must pay close attention to, because it is a little difficult to follow. Tragedy seemed to be around every corner and affecting faculty and students alike. I was a little disappointed because I sat anticipating a great inspirational victory. In the end, the victory finally arrives when Richard’s friend steals a letter that the Administrator wrote intending to use it as blackmail against Richard if he continued his feat to present a plan to the board that would desegregate the seminary.
The movie is a web of violence, deceit, and lies. I was hoping that somewhere the Gospel message would be presented however it never came. There are scenes where Richard prays and even shows compassion toward a teacher who suffered daily due to a loss in her life that was hinted upon but never made clear. I appreciated the end of the movie when good finally triumphed over evil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Least Among You, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although it had some excellent scenes, overall I was deeply disappointed in the “Christian” views presented in this movie.
Inspired by a true story, “The Least Among You” is the tale of Richard Kelly, a young black man who is arrested during a riot, and chooses to serve probation at an all-white seminary, where he encounters deep prejudice from both faculty and students. His main support comes from a black gardener and his wife, whose faith is the bright spot in this movie. Unfortunately, many of the others are portrayed in ways that cast Christianity in a negative view: the college president, who initially supports Richard, but turns against him when funding for a media centre is pulled; a woman professor who teaches that miracles in the Bible are allegories; other students who are shown as extremely bigoted. The gospel of Jesus Christ is not presented at all; Richard himself is shown to have lied during his application to the seminary, and although it seems that he acquires a genuine faith during his struggles, there is no message of salvation, but rather a description of a “moment of prayer”. There is also a veiled reference which may imply a consciousness of Christ.
There is some redemption in the end of the movie, as right prevails over wrong in a decisive victory, but it is too little too late, in my opinion. As a Christian movie, this left a lot to be desired.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>