Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson NKJV Velveteen Bible

Thomas Nelson NKJV Velveteen Bible

A sweet addition to the Tommy Nelson Baby/Toddler Bible line, using an adorable image of a flocked velvet bunny. This Bible is perfect for children with its cute little animal images and its fuzzy, touch-n-feel cover with bunny fur and tail in "velveteen". It is in the New King James translation and features a beautiful presentation section and 16 color inserts of illustrations and sentiments of God's love for children and His Kingdom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Review 1 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is extremely beautiful!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blue Rockies
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The cover of this bible feels just like velvet, and it's illustrations are very colorful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Bible for Children and Teens

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennie
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Velveteen Bible from Thomas Nelson arrived a few days before Jed’s 6th Birthday. Since I ordered it around February, I totally forgot about it. I know how crappy our local postal system can get. So I was kind of not expecting to receive it altogether. But the timing cannot be more perfect.
My son loves it so much as he is now ready for a "real" Bible. This Bible is in New King James version, has Christ's words in red text and has a yearly reading plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great gift

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellieb
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the Velveteen Bible to be a wonderful starter Bible for a child. It comes in a matching box and the cute rabbit on the front cover of both the box and the Bible are velvet. I found the Bible to be easy to read and loved the pictures placed throughout. The Bible is in the new King James Version and is part of the Tommy Nelson line from Thomas Nelson Publishers. The small size is perfect for smaller hands and there is a dedication page which allows the child to list brothers and sisters, grandparents, parents and events.
Overall it’s a great gift idea, but depending on the age of the child it may be a few years before they can read it. Its published in the same style and font as most Bibles and is a full Bible. The pictures do offer scripture on them that the child will be able to look at. I am excited to give this to my daughter as her first Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Velveteen Bible

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful hard cover bible perfect for any child. The soft flocked cover and case of this bible makes it look and feel very special. Though a children’s bible, it is not a summarized or bible story book, but instead contains the full biblical text making it a good resource for children’s bible study. The illustrations are beautiful and the layout is well done. It comes in a sturdy case covered in the same design as the bible and can be used to house and protect the bible, or as a special place to keep treasured items. Would the perfect addition to this year’s Easter basket! Love it! I received this bible from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed Emotions About This One...

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Triple Shot
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have mixed emotions about this sweet little Bible. If you are looking for a nice gift to present a new mom for their baby, something unique, then this might be a good choice for a keepsake gift. It comes in a gift box that exactly matches the front of the Bible, and it is also accented with velvet. The quality of the box is okay, but the spine of the box came unglued on the inside the first time I opened it... not a huge problem, just needs to be re-glued.
It is the New King James Version.... which is good and bad in my humble opinion. I think with the cover being so oriented towards a very young child, that it might have been an adapted Bible inside, but it's not. My 6 year old son does love this book, so perhaps not all is lost. There are some beautiful pieces of artwork in here too. If you could take them out, they might be worth framing. (Of course, this would destroy the book.)
So, don't expect this to be the "perfect" Bible for any child, but there is something here for multiple ages. I think it is most appropriate for a new baby gift, as it is decent quality and would make a very unique present. It would be cute displayed in a child's room too.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from the Booksneeze bloggers review program in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erin Lowmaster
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There’s nothing like receiving your own Bible as child. I still remember receiving my own and to this very day I still hold it near and dear. Though both my children are a bit to young for their own Bibles right now, I’m on the look out for very special ones that they can hold near and dear just like I do with my own.
I recently was given the opportunity to review The Velveteen Bible from Tommy Nelson Publishers. And my search for my daughter’s first Bible is now officially over. I know when she is the right age, that she’ll very much so enjoy this special Bible. This Bible is recommend for children ages 4-8 years old.
This Bible is not condensed in the least bit, just so people know. I thought it might have been but it’s not. The version of the Word is New King James Version which is my preferred version to read. It’s great for us that the whole family will be in the same translation when it comes to devotional time.
The words of Christ are in read and at the back of the Bible there’s a yearly reading plan which is a great addition. Included inside the Bible are beautiful illustrations that feature key verses to take to heart.
This hardcover child sized Bible comes in a special keepsake box that has fuzzy features the same as the Bible has.
Overall I think this Bible would make a wonderful first Bible that can be treasured for a lifetime. I can’t help think that with Easter coming up soon it would be a good time to gift it in also reminding our kids why we really celebrate the holiday.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of The Velveteen Bible through the Book Sneeze book reviewers program, in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

cover for young kids, but NKJV for older kids

Date:February 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product description states that this Bible is perfect for children because of its cute little animal images and its fuzzy cover with bunny fur and tail. So far, agreed. The cover is perfect for children. Where this Bible becomes less than perfect for young children, in my opinion, is inside. When they say it's the New King James translation, they mean the whooooole New King James translation, as in 1088 pages! Do not be fooled into thinking that they're using excerpts from the NKJV, as many children's Bibles might. Good for older kids, but not sure it's appropriate for the age group that would still like a fuzzy bunny cover.
Given the way our family practices Bible time, I would not recommend this book. While we occasionally read to DD from Daddy's ("grown-up") Bible, we read to her on a daily basis from a Bible that can engage her understanding and interest. So, this Bible is "out" for us and those like us. But, I know that there are families who feel it is very important for children to hear from the "real" Bible every day, for whom this Bible might be better suited.
While this Bible doesn't meet our family's needs, I should note its positive features. It comes in a keepsake treasure box, and both the box and the Bible's cover have touch-and-feel bunny fur. The 16 watercolor images inside are very cute, and the corresponding verse for each is a perfect length for early memorizing attempts. (In fact, a book with those paintings and verses would be of much more interest to our family.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great heirloom bible for older children

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
MooMama
Location:Midwestern US
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I selected The Velveteen Bible as my latest selection for review from Thomas Nelson Publishers I was expecting a bible that my oldest daughter might be able to use as her personal copy.
When it arrived it was evident that this edition of the New King James Version bible was not suitable for my six year old girl!
It's a gorgeous bible with a flocked cover and beautiful storage box.
There are some of the most beautiful illustrations that I've ever seen in a children's book.
But it's a very traditional printing with extremely thin and fragile pages. The binding seems quite sturdy but the pages just would not hold up well to daily use by an inexperienced reader.
However, we have chosen this edition to be our daily scripture study bible! The girls are excited to have me reading it to them every morning and are ecstatic when I bring it out of its box for morning scripture study.
We've already read through much of the book of Genesis and I was surprised by how intently my six year old daughter was listening. She's a very energetic girl and was nearly mesmerized by my reading. I'm certain our family will enjoy our readings from this bible.
In addition to the beautiful illustrations it also has a very helpful guide in the back of the bible to assist you in scheduling your daily readings.
This edition is a very small version measuring about 6.75" x 4.5" and therefore the print is small. This small size would make it a good version for an older child as it would be easy to hold and not as heavy as some bibles. Unfortunately for this middle-aged mama, that means it comes with small print as well.
All in all, though, it's a very nice edition of a New King James Version bible and would be a great heirloom purchase for an older child patient enough to carefully turn the pages and care for this beautifully illustrated children's bible.
5Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for Primary Children

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The designs of Bibles these days can run the range from very plain to highly decorative, and that’s just the outer cover! What appears in addition to the actual Bible text (study guides, maps, etc) also sets some apart from others. The Velveteen Bible is a Bible is nicely designed for young children.
The Bible comes packaged in a nice box with a magnetic closure; the design on the box and the design on the Bible itself are a sweet bunny picture, with a fuzzy texture. The cover of the Bible is nice and sturdy and the pages have rounded edges; there are a few sweet pictures interspersed throughout the pages.
I was very pleased with many aspects of this Bible. First off, I was VERY glad that it was an actual Bible, not just a few limited Bible stories. My children do appreciate the “cutesy” look of this edition and want to be able to look up verses in it. When they take their Bibles to Sunday school, they need to be able to find what they are studying (and yes, they are young, just learning, but this is a skill they’ll need their whole lives!) There is also a plan at the back for reading your Bible through in a year, which is nice as well, but maybe a little grandiose for the age this Bible is designed for. The only things I thought were lacking were some maps (kids love maps!)
Overall, I think this is a wonderful Bible, not just a “gift” Bible or a decorative Bible, but one a primary girl would love to have and use.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Velveteen Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Disappointing

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dee S
Location:Richland, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bible was geared for young children and should make them want to pick it up and either have it read to them or read it themselves. The print was small, very few pictures and the only thing that would attract a child is the cover and the box that contains the bible. There are no features in the bible that relate to a child. It is pretty much a King James Bible with a pretty cover and box. I was very disappointed that it was not more children user-friendly.
I am reviewing this book for BookSneeze.com and I am not paid. I review the book in an honest, unbiased opinion. I do, however, get to keep the books I review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.