Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Girl Talk with God - revised and updated

Thomas Nelson Girl Talk with God - revised and updated

Many teenagers do not know how to pray, but this book will help to teach teenage girls how to pray and how to have a relationship with God. Updated for teens in 2010, the new and updated text includes Godly information on how to deal with modern-day issues like texting, sexting, and social networking. It deals with real-life situations teen girls face daily and gives girls thought-provoking examples of how to pray and listen to God. Softcover edition, recommended for ages 12-17.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Review 1 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was great!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Location:Palmer, AK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book met all my expectations. I was happy to see that it introduced real teen issues that any girl could relate to. Also, it inspired me to talk to God even more!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very real picture of the heart of God for us.

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Victory in Christ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eye-opening, realistic, loving, and sometimes convicting, Girl Talk With God has greatly helped my prayer life and has renewed my desire to daily spend time with God. The author does an awesome job of showing that God wants more than just your faith; but that He wants your friendship and fellowship as well. He wants to be your best friend. Praying isn’t simply just praying at God; it’s a very real conversation with Him.
I also enjoyed how author Susie Shellenberger deals with such topics as hell, reaching out, and how we sometimes take for granted what God has sacrificed for us. It’s all in love and with plenty of scripture. I admit, I’m the type of person who sort of only prays before meals or when I need something big. But reading this book has helped me realize that our patient and loving heavenly Father longs for so much more in a relationship. He wants to explain things to us (through his Word and Holy Spirit) and is just waiting with open arms for us to run to him. I’m not saying replace your Bible with this book; never! But I am saying that it is a very relevant tool that can be used as a group Bible study, discipleship, or just devotions for spiritual growth.
This book is a great resource for teen girls and deals with relevant topics that we sometimes struggle with. I’d recommend it for high school ages (I‘m in the 11th grade and found it a big help in strengthening my understanding and relationship with God), or younger (if you’re a mom who would like to go through it with your daughter). Note: deals with some mature subjects such as: teen sex, cutting, eating disorders, pornography, etc. However, girls are encouraged to handle things in keeping with what God has to say about it, so it’s appropriate.
Like listening in on an honest conversation with the Creator of the universe, Girl Talk With God is a very real picture of the heart of God for the life of a believer.
. . . . . . . . . .
Disclosure in accordance with FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: I received this book free from the publisher through BookSneeze and was not required to write a positive review; all opinions expressed are mine.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INCREDIBLE!!! Highly recommended!!!

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Huntter
Location:Hastings, NE
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely incredible!!!!! Loved this book! Susie did a great job at making this book applicable to teens of all ages, even to those of us who are at the end of our teenage years and are almost to our twenties. She covers numerous topics that are extremely big issues for teens these days. From eating disorders to wearing crosses just because they look nice. I've read the whole book and it has definitely changed my point of view on several things. I am so glad that I got a chance to receive this book and read it. It is absolutely incredible and I am planning on giving my copy to a friend who I think will love it! Definitely sharing this book with friends and recommending it!! Great book! I recommend it for any girl in their teens or even their early to mid-twenties!!! Very inspirational!!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
nomi
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzie gives an example of what its like to have a conversation with God, not like blessing a meal, or a cry for help when things get tough, but something so much more personal and intimate. She goes over lots of different topics, things like eating disorders, modesty, boyfriends, God's love, etc.
I am a big fan of some of Suzie's other devotions and non-fiction, so when I saw this book on Booksneeze, I was really excited to get it for free. I was certainly not disappointed because it really has made me think of my relationship with God differently. God doesn't want you to feel any obligation to talk with Him. He wants you to get to know Him better so that you can see how He doesn't just know about all of the unimportant details of your life, He cares about them too.
So, as a teenage girl, I would recommend this book to my friends. I loved the conversations because it is the kind of things that I would ask God and talk to him about.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for girls!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Forever Changing
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I recently read, Girl Talk with God, a book I received free from Booksneeze. I had originally chosen this book to read with my daughters who are 11 and 13. When I first started reading over it to make sure that it was something that my daughters would be able to read and understand, I found that I could not put it down. Susie has divided up the chapters so that you can read the whole book or just a chapter on something specific. It is written like a dialog between God and a teen girl and the way it is presented is easy to understand. There are chapters on becoming a Christian, listening to music, forgiveness, getting married, etc... It is suppose to be geared toward teen girls and it is, but it is so much more. It is a book that any new Christian could get a lot out of. It is a great book for a mother of a teen (or soon to be teen) mom would get a lot from! It is a book that will be on my shelf for years to come so that my daughters can look up all kinds of things that they may be going through. I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a Great Book for Learning how to Talk to God!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne of Alamo
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Girl Talk with God by Susie Shellenberger
The book in a nutshell is conversations taking the Word of God as God’s actual word and the truth of the scripture as the basis of how God has already answered many questions, even those we don’t want to ask. As a believer and servant of Jesus Christ, having one on one conversation with God is the key to keeping the relationship fresh and real!
I was totally blown away at Susie Shellenberger's real life conversations with God, and how she takes the Word of God and brings that as God's response in a way that is easy to understand and take to heart! The issues she covers are not sugar sweet, but deep and thought provoking! I so recommend this book to anyone really who just wants to learn how to talk with God as not just our Savior, but as the friend and companion that never fails.
Each chapter caught my attention, and I found myself smiling at the wisdom of God time and time, and how with the grace and mercy of His Word and very nature is would so patiently bring the woes and problems of our lives back to the Gospel of how Jesus Christ died for our sins, and expects us to fully give our lives to Him.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for me..

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:Somewhere, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Girl Talk With God by Susie Shellenberger
*Many teenagers do not know how to pray, but this book will help to teach teenage girls how to pray and how to have a relationship with God. Updated for teens in 2010, the new and updated text includes Godly information on how to deal with modern-day issues like texting, sexting, and social networking. It deals with real-life situations teen girls face daily and gives girls thought-provoking examples of how to pray and listen to God.
I found that this reads more like a novel than a how-to guide. I wasn't impressed at all. It was interesting in some parts, but I thought this was to tell me how to have a better prayer life, not what Susie thinks God might think about what I do. Yes, it contains scripture, but should we be trying to represent God like that? I also found that the topics only applied to me in certain areas and would be better suited for a more "modern" girl.
Summing this up, I didn't like it. Maybe it would be better suited for a more "modern" girl. I'll give it 3 stars though for writing style, quality, and value.
*description taken from Christian Book.com
In compliance with new laws, I am required to say that I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson @ booksneeze.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
aunterica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I thought this book was really cute.
The only thing I didn't like about it is it uses different versions of the Bible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome tool for teens

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenniferG
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Girl talk with God is a fresh new devotional for girls that teaches them how to talk to God through prayer. Susie Shellenburger gives examples of intimate conversations that young girls may experience when they open up and listen for God's voice. The book is broken up into 23 chapters or "talks" with a variety of issues facing girls today. These issues include things like cutting, sex, eating disorders, divorce as well as many other topics that our teens face today. My 15 year old read the book and really loved it, it made her think of God like a friend and helper, someone she could go to with her problems. I wish this book would have been available when I was younger, but even now this book has given me fresh insight to how kids think and how God's grace covers them. We often tell our kids to pray, sometimes even give them repetetive prayers and expect them to know what to do. Unless we equip them with examples and tools we don't help their prayer life develop. This book does just that! What an amazing tool for young girls to have! This book reveals real conversations with real answers from a God who is compassionate, full of Grace and Love but who at the same time challenges our teens to live as he has commanded. This is a great book that I would strongly recomend for anyone with teens or who works with teens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unintentionally blasphemous.

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Apple Jones
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I was a teen, I LOVED Brio magazine. Heck, I even read my brother’s Breakaway. That’s what drew me to review Susie Shellenberger’s Girl Talk With God. Unfortunately, the book’s description isn’t an accurate depiction of what’s found inside.
The first thing I discovered was that the book is, basically, a fictional conversation between God and young women. I consider that to be completely blasphemous. It’s not intentionally blasphemous, I believe that Ms. Shellenberger meant well, but what is man to put words in the mouth of God? (Isaiah 55:8-9) She plays him out to be sarcastic, and at times, juvenile.
As I continued in the book, I made a conscious decision to read it through (despite how I felt about the “conversation” aspect) and write notes in the margins marking what I liked and didn’t like with opposing dog ears. Well, there wasn’t much that I did like.
I appreciate that Ms. Shellenberger went straight to the heart of a lot of teen issues, like sex, fitting in, porn, cutting. These are all issues that need to be addressed to our teens, especially when the media is coming up with a lot of poor “role models”.
Now, as to the meat and potatoes of the book… there were some good biblical references, and some really poor biblical references; some good and realistic “conversation”, and some really poor “conversation”, you get the picture. There were times when she contradicted what she was trying to teach the young woman, first of all teaching her not to care about fitting in, and then turning around and saying “Go ahead. No one’s watching.” Our faith isn’t something we should feel insecure about, and that is certainly not a statement that I would make to a spiritually insecure young lady.
The description claims to show young women how to pray, but really, it’s just pretending real conversations. After I put down the book, I found it actually hard to pray because of what I’d just read.
I would not recommend this book to young women, despite its good intentions.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for older teen girls

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many things for teen girls to be reading; how many of them are listening to the Lord speak to them through Scripture? The easy-to-read dialogue format of this book encourages reading in short bursts, chapter by chapter. The topics are timely for today, and show how to talk to God and listen for His answers.
In flipping quickly through this book, I did not think I would like the format; however, I found that it made it easy to read in quick little bits. The topics ranged from music to love to missions to sex, and even to Facebook. There is one theme per chapter, which encourages focus on that idea. There were a few chapters of the book that would be appropriate for pre-teen aged girls, but several of the topics were more mature themes, such as cutting, sex, and eating disorders. I would recommend this book for older teenaged girls. The topics were covered very gently and lovingly and gave a very good idea of how God can and will communicate on a personal level through Scripture. It’s not a devotional per se, but certainly can enhance one’s devotional interactions with God.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to encourage prayer

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply put, prayer is a conversation with your Best Friend about anything and everything. Susie Shellenberger brings this to life in Girl Talk with God. The book is organized by topics, so it can be a convenient resource for teen girls to see in to God’s heart and wisdom about issues ranging from God’s Love and Spending Time with Him to Social Media, Boyfriends, and Cutting. “But be prepared: God tells girls the truth, and sometimes it’s not pretty. But when He challenges, He offers His grace, His comfort, and His awesome love.”
It is apparent that Susie, who was the founding editor of Brio Magazine and is now the editor of Susie Magazine, has a heart for teen girls. She writes with such compassion, understanding, and humor without being patronizing. The conversations that are written between God and a teen girl point the fictional young lady and the readers to their Bible and to continue in prayer.
I wasn’t expecting the book to be written as actual conversations, but for those who find nonfiction books harder to read, this book make it seem more like you’re reading a story or over-hearing a conversation. Sometimes it’s easier to see our lives and the changes that need to be made when we first take a look at someone else’s life. I plan to pass along this inspiring and challenging book to some young ladies who could use some wisdom and encouragement in their Christian walk.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Girl Talk with God - revised and updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was surprisingly good

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a chance to review this book called Girl Talk with God by Susie Shellenberger and was pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the book was. It had so many good points in the book and only 2 points I did not like at all. I really enjoyed chapter one of the book which talked about that being a Christian is really believing in God and making a life style change. To simply quote the book it says "People consider themselves Christian, however, because they assume a Christian is someone who believes in God and tries to be a good person. The bible is a crystal clear on what being a Christian is. And it's more than simply acknowledging with our brain that there is a God." I could not agree more with this statement. When you truly believe in Jesus and God then you live your life according to the bible and live a wholesome life.
The second part I agree with is music. On page 20 of this book the author says" Whatever music you put into your mind will eventually show up in your lifestyle." As a Christian we have to be careful what music we allow ourselves to listen to because it can affect us and we want to listen to pure music that will please ourseleves, family and God.
The third part I agree with can be found on page 25 of this book. It talks about how as a Christian we are no part of this world. We do not listen to the same music as others, watch the same movies as others,etc. We are supposed to be different. John 15:19: “You [Jesus’ followers] are no part of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world.” (Thus true Christians are no part of the mass of human society that is alienated from God. They care for normal human activities, but they shun attitudes, speech, and conduct that are characteristic of the world and that conflict with Jehovah’s righteous ways.)
The fourth thing I agree with is modesty. Which is talked about on page 177 of the book. "What you wear and how you present yourself is your responsibility. But brothers and sisters should be helping one another instead of being a stumbling block. We should have a desire to reflect God. Think about how our dressing has on members of the opposite sex. " The author makes great points once again. We should make sure our skirts are not too short, our shirts are not too revealing,etc. We should have a sense of respect for ourselves and those who look at us. We should never have a man look at us for the wrong reason because they are looking at us with lust.
My last and fifth point I agree with is about facebook. The author says" However you post yourself on the internet represents your character-or lack there of it. It's a reflection of what's inside your heart. You will have to deal with the consequences of what you post on facebook. " We can get caught on facebook and take away from the more important things such as prayer, attending meetings at Kingdom Hall,etc. We need to make sure that the more important things get our attention. Also once we put something up on facebook, it will still be out there on the internet and can come back to haunt us like inappriorite pictures and such. So we should be careful about facebook and its consequences.
The one thing I did not like was the subject of hell in the book. There is no such thing as Hell. When you die, you are simply sleeping which can be found in the scripture Eccl. 9:5: “The living are conscious that they will die; but as for the dead, they are conscious of nothing at all.” Also God is a loving God and would not want to torment his people. The bible says that the penatly for sin is death. As found in the scripture Rom. 6:23: “The wages sin pays is death.”After one’s death, is he still subject to further punishment for his sins? Rom. 6:7: “He who has died has been acquitted from his sin.”
So all in all I really enjoyed this book and would reccoment it anyone.
I got this book from booksneeze and was not required to write a good review
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.