Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love

Thomas Nelson Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love

Influential and best-selling author Brennan Manning brings to children the message of the endless love of God with this wonderfully illustrated book. The first of Manning's children's books, this tender message is right on for the popular speaker and author who has traveled the world sharing Abba's incredible love for His children.

Willie Juan and Ana couldn't have their own children, but their home is always filled with children and their laughter and love. One day, Willie Juan asks the question, "Little friends, what is one thing you think Abba will ask you someday when you are in heaven?" After discussing it, the group comes to a common consensus that Abba loves each of us and that we are all smack-dab in the middle of His love. Recommended for ages 4-8. 32 pages, hardcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1984%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Review 1 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjoyellis
Location:Golden, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love is a book about a middle age couple, Willie Juan and Ana, who live in a small Mexican Village. They loved each other very much. Most of all, they loved God. Willie Juan and Ana, were unable to have children of their own, but they loved children dearly and always had a houseful of children from the village come to visit.
Willie Juan loved to ask the children questions and asked them one day, "Little friends, someday, when you are in Heaven, what do you think Abba will ask you?" This got the kids to thinking and a couple of the kids had a couple of very good questions.
I liked this book a lot for a couple of reasons. The main one is it is trying to show just how much God loves you. Not only do they show it through the couples love of children, but also in the conversations they have with the children. It does it in a way that younger children can understand it. Also, the illustrations in this book are beautiful. Very colorful and eye catching.
Overall, this is a very sweet book. My 6 year old and I loved reading it together. It will be a book that we will read often together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for my child

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
cwong77
Location:MY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love by Brennan Manning and John Blase is a children book, which is meant for children age 4 and above. The book writes about God's Love to every one, and Willie Juan and Ana whom do not have any children, but having the neighbors' children visiting them and laugh together with them. Willie & Ana is also a loving couple where they stroll the market each day hand in hand. Despite not having any children, they are able to communicate and well accepted in the neighboring children. Willie named God as Abba, and he taught the visiting children God's Love is just endless.
When Willie asked what is one thing that the children think Abba will ask when they in heaven, one child has a fear that GOD must be BIG since he has endless love for everyone. Willie take time to explain that there should be no fear on GOD.
I shall say that this is a simple and good book to illustrate God's Love, since the wordings are easily understand. The book is also not too thick for a child to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a cute childrens book that talks about the love of God
It is about a couple who could not have children of their own but they had so much love to share with so many children. They opened their home, hearts and lives to the children where they lived.
This book leaves a great message for children of God's love as well as a good message to minister to others.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An engaging and beautiful book!

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God’s Love – Brennan Manning and John Blase
This is a story about a Mexican couple, Willie and Ana Juan, who don’t have children of their own. However, they don’t let that stop them from opening their home and hearts to the children in their village. While Ana makes sopapillas with the children, Willie tells them about God’s love for each of them. Nicole Tadgell did an excellent job with illustrations; they’re bright and cheery and add a distinct Mexican flavour.
I definitely recommend this beautiful and engaging book for all children. The story is simply written, so even young children would understand it, although it’s probably geared for children between 3 – 9 years. The message about God’s love is the focal point of the story and is illustrated in a variety of things little children can relate to: grandparents, animals, food, and people who love them, all of which are God’s gifts to us. Furthermore, this Mexican couple are role models of what they’re teaching; they not only talk about God’s love -- they themselves demonstrate a kind and loving spirit in their interactions with the children.
I especially appreciated some of the delightful phrases: “Plop a little (honey) smack-dab in the middle.” That made everything just honey-wonderful. Smack-Dab in the middle of God’s Love,’ is a great title -- a catchy little phrase that children will easily pick up on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Book, But Missing Something...

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
JRiale
Location:Binghamton, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love reading fun children's books, and Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love is definitely a fun book. Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love is the story of Willie Juan and his wife Ana. Although they don't have any children, their house is always filled with children from the neighborhood. The children enjoy the food, the company, their surroundings, and they enjoy learning about God from Willie Juan. Willie Juan, who is kind of like a second dad to all the children, calls God "Abba." I like that this book points out that relational view of God for children especially. The authors do a great job with the setting of this book, too. While the story could have taken place anywhere, the authors chose a little village in Mexico. The culture is tied in through bright colorful pictures and a plot that occasionally features an abuela or sopapillas or a burro.
I like that this book clearly shows children that God loves them. However, the text focuses on God's love as seen through things here on earth. While I agree that these items are indeed a manifestation of God's love, the book doesn't mention the greatest manifestation of God's love: the fact that He sent His son to die for our sins. The book is, however, a "cute" story that mentions that God love us, something that IS reassuring for children. I just think it should express that further. Additionally, the book mentioned that Willie Juan and Ana couldn't have any children. My seven year old asked the obvious question: "Why?" I wasn't really ready to have that conversation, so I wish the book would have simply said that they didn't have any children. I can, however, see the redemptive aspect of this in the fact that Willie Juan and Ana are always surrounded by children anyway.
All in all, I would say this is a cute book. It isn't deep and it doesn't mention the greatest feature of God's love for us, but it is still a fun book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This delightful children's book takes place in Mexico. Willie Juan and Ana can't have children. But that's ok, because all the neighborhood children liked to gather around them, especially when Ana made sopapillas.
If you have never had a sopapilla, I recommend that you try one. I've made theses myself. And they are fantastic! Now, I've never tried it with honey, like Ana does. MAybe next time I make them, I will have to try it.
Willie Juan likes to sit around with the kids and talk to them about anything, and everything. The children love to ask Willie Juan questions. And sometimes he asks them questions too. This leads to a discussion about God's love.
All age groups will enjoy the way that Willie Juan tells the children about God's love, and the examples he uses to show the kids how much God loves them. I know I've enjoyed this book.
As Ana says, “Every good thing comes from smack-dab in the middle of Abba’ s heart.” Even sopapillas.
----------------------------
I received a complementary electronic copy of this book in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful illustrations, inspiring message

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m big into reading and hope that if I continue to read stories to my daughter she will also be a book lover like myself. So I recently got Smack-Dab in the Middle of God’s Love by Brennan Manning and John Blase. The first thing that caught my eye was the illustrations by Nicole Tadgell. She used beautiful colors that just popped off the page. I kept saying over and over again how amazing the illustrations were.
Once I got past the pictures and read the book, it was inspiring. This book, in so few pages, covers everything from love a husband and wife have for one another to God’s love for everyone. I think the most important question that was answer in the book was how could God possibly have enough room in his heart to love everyone. This is a great book to read to children to teach them about God and about love. I would definitely recommend this book to other mom’s I know.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some great conversations came from this book!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book made me smile for several reasons - the vivid and beautiful pictures that go along with the text.. and well the text.
smack-dab in the middle
my daughter is in love with that phrase now. She thinks its beautiful, funny and fitting for a lot of things. I'm rather fond of it as well after this book.
I love how this books helps us see God's immeasurable love and just how much we are loved. A fabulous book to share and read over and over again with my children! I liked that I could read it to my 4 year old, as well as have my 8 year old read it on her own - both enjoying it! Some great conversations came from this book!
oh, and the other thing that caught my attention with this book was it's subtle inclusion of Spanish language. It gives a bit of culture to the readers if they aren't familiar with Spanish words (thank-you Dora lol) and gives you the concepts around them (ie. such as sopapillas - a sugar-dusted pastry). My kids found it extremely fascinating with those little details thrown in!
I'd recommend this book to teachers, friends and of course kids!
*review copy provided by booksneeze
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book with lovely illustrations

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wumi
Location:London, United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love is a children's book published by Thomas Nelson. This book is about discovering ways God loves us from a child's perspective and also the relationship between adults and children and the way adults convey the message of God's love to a child in a way that they would easily understand and connect with.
This book is appropriate for ages 2 upwards. Even if a two-year old cannot understand everything being read to them, the illustrations are there for them to enjoy.
The writers use care for the elderly, animals and food as ways of getting the message across about God's love. They have come to the level of a child and presented the story in a way they can easily identify with. The setting is in Mexico and it is reflected by some of the terminology written in Spanish. This is one of the ways the writers have been able to present a connection with the children in the setting by applying some of the local lingo, so to speak in the book. There are only a few in the book and the reader gets to know the meaning straight away.
You get to see the innocent questions asked by the children and how they perceive God.
My daughter who is two and a half years old was transfixed by the illustrations. The drawings were very clear and colorful. The drawings fully complement the story.
Anyone picking up this book would immediately see the message of God's love being portrayed throughout. There is no disguise as to the message being conveyed here.
I would recommend this book because of the simplicity of how God's love is being shared. Children will love this book and would want to read it over and over again. The parts that have Spanish in it should not pose any problem because one gets to know the meaning of the word pretty much straightaway.
Disclosure: This book was received as an e-book via BookSneeze®.com - book review blogger program. I was not required to give any positive review. The review given for this book is my personal opinion only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautifully illustrated children's book.

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mammaduck
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to finally receive this beautifully illustrated children's book. I actually opened it in the post office, and showed it to friends before even taking it home! I was not disappointed. The pictures are so colorful and inviting - I wished I had a ready-made group of children around me to share it with.
The main subject of the story is the importance of looking around us to see God's gifts in the common things of our lives. Through Willie Juan's question, "What is one thing you think Abba will ask you someday when you are in heaven?" he causes the children to not only think of God's love and His gifts, but also their responsibility in responding to the gifts.
Where the story is used in non-Spanish cultures, there would probably need to be a few explanatory remarks to help children understand the difference in culture and language, but this is not a negative thing, rather, an opportunity to expand horizons. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, though I probably would also draw the child/children into a discussion of more of God's gifts, including the best gift of all, Jesus. The story provides a natural opportunity to take the discussion in this direction. Overall, I would recommend this book with enthusiasm.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God's Love

Date:August 22, 2011
The love of God, how rich and pure!
How measureless and strong!
It shall forevermore endure
The saints’ and angels’ song.
The words of this hymn have echoed in my head often over the last couple of years as God has taught me how much He really loves me. It's a truth we all ought to know, right? After all, how many of us could sing Jesus Loves Me backwards? And yet we forever need to be reminded.
Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love is a colorful book that will remind kids that, yes, their God does love them. Very much. So much that He keeps us safe - smack dab in the middle - of His wondrous love. Kids will love the colorful pictures and story of a loving couple who teach the kids in their neighborhood about God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
PamS
Location:GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love
By Brennan Manning and John Blase
Illustrated by Nicole Tadgell
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love is a children's book from Tommy Nelson. Willie Juan and Ana live in Mexico and are unable to have children, but consider all the local children their own. Ana makes sopapillas for the children, while Willie Juan teaches of Abba's love for everyone. Willie Juan explains to the children how each and every one of them is smack-dab in the middle of God's love. There are colorful pages filled with Willie Juan, Ana, the children, and the things they love.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it for children about 4 years old and up. I read this book to a 2 year old, but it was a little wordy and long for his attention span and interest. The teachings are very basic and would do well as a supplement to a deeper Sunday School lesson or teaching of why God always loves us.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1400317134&title=Smack_Dab_in_the_Middle_of_God%27s_Love&authors=Brennan_Manning_and_John_Blase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

enjoyed the uniqueness, but the lessons are weak

Date:August 20, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As a family with scores of religious, spiritual, and Bible-based children's books, we found Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love to be a unique addition to our collection. Even before reading the book, we were struck by the illustrations. They aren't the typical cartoon-like images of many children's books, but rather have a childesque sophistication. The page framing and layout, and even the quality of the paper, further the attractiveness of the book.
The story itself is endearing in its slow pace, where the object clearly is not to develop a plot, but to draw the reader into another place and mindset. This easy simplicity is another welcome change from the run of the mill, over-the-top plot, children's book.
Despite these enticements, we weren't enamored by Smack Dab. The primary spiritual lesson of the book appears to be that God wants us to enjoy the things around us. Does that "lesson" need to be reinforced, given society's narcissistic leanings? Other Smack Dab lessons included: don't be afraid of God because he loves us very much, he always remembers us, and he has enough love for all of us. None of these lessons seemed as prominent, though, as the focus on teaching the meaning of the expression "smack dab," which was used almost awkwardly, and with no real benefit, every few pages.
While Smack Dab won't make our short list, I'm sure we'll pull it out from time to time, maybe on a night we're making sopapillas, and certainly enjoy it for its uniqueness.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publisher for the purpose of providing my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its ok but has really good illustrations

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Flame
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Smack Dab is a children’s book with very cute, understandable title that maybe some one's own grandparent might have come up with. The story is one of a couple who express love to each other and those around them; everyone gets the overflow especially the children. The story always comes back to the theme of being smack dab in the middle of God’s love regardless of anything a child might think would disqualify them. This children's book is meant for very young children being introduced to the truth of God being our loving Father.
This is the first time I have ready anything by either authors, and although I am on the look out for Christian materials to share with the kids in my life, this one seemed just a little too bland. I did like the fact that another culture was represented in the story but still was looking for a little more substance. The Illustrations, were beautiful, that was something that I really enjoyed. Would I recommend this book to someone else? I’m not sure that I would unless they are looking for something extremely basic with pictures that the children could really enjoy.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smack-Dab in the Middle of God's Love, written by Brennan Manning and John Blase, and Illustrated by Nicole Tadgell, is a children's book written to solidify the presence of God within the center of a child's life.
This story follows a couple who are "smack-dab in the middle" of their existence on earth. While they have no children of their own, they relish the opportunities to share the love of God with those living within their village, Hopi.
The story carries it's youthful reader and/or listener through a thoughtful understanding of God's love and His desire to be at the center of their lives, while using illustrative descriptions that can be found within a child's everyday life.
Word's cannot begin to describe the magnificent illustrations within the book. They use bright vibrant colors, colors that will surely catch the eyes of any child. Ornate clothing and scenes bring to life that which is being described on each page.
If you have children, grandchildren, great grandchildren, or work with children within a church setting, this book would make a wonderful tool to enhance their lives.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfectly Delightful!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love children’s books! And when I read the title of this one, I knew it would be fun. I wasn’t disappointed! If ever I have grandchildren, I’m buying them this one.
"Smack Dab in the Middle of God’s Love" tells about a couple named Willie-Juan and Ana who couldn’t have children of their own, “but their house was always filled with children from the neighborhood, and maybe that was the next best thing.”
One day the children gather around Willie Juan, with Ana nearby, and they ask him questions and he asks them questions and together they explore the concept of God’s love—and it’s expressed delightfully! This book will make you smile all over and praise the Lord for loving you so much!
Storytellers Brennan Manning and John Blase weave so many colorful details into this story. The explanation and repeated us of the phrase “smack dab in the middle” is fun. The hummingbirds are sweet, and when they giggle, it’s just too much! The children’s questions are well-thought out and answered perfectly. And Nicole Tadgell’s illustrations are just right for the story.
Thomas Nelson publishers offered me a complimentary copy of the eBook version of this book for my honest review. For children, though, I absolutely recommend the hardcover version they can hold in their hands and savor, turning pages themselves and snuggling next to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smack Dab in the middle review

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received "Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love" by Brennan Manning (e-book) for free from http://www.booksneeze.com/. Smack Dab is a children's book of about 2nd grade reading level and interest level. However, it is such a sweet story it could easily be read by an adult as a short story with pictures. Smack Dab is the story of a middle age couple with no children who sort of adopt the neighborhood children. The children come every evening for sopapillas. While they are there Willie Juan asks them life's questions. At this particular visit he asks them, "what do you think Abba will ask you when you get to heaven?" The story is the children's answers and their discussion.
This is a really sweet, feel-good story. I read it to my 6 year old daughter, but since she doesn't really like the kindle she didn't pay attention. (she very much prefers real books.) The pictures are good, there is some multi-culture qualities, and cross generational issues. Good book, should have gotten the real book though instead of the e-book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smack Dab

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love is a delightful children's book by Brennan Manning and John Blase. Based in Hupi, Mexico the book introduces us to a couple that is full of love for all the children of their neighborhood. Ana makes sopapillas with the children and they put honey "smack dab" in the middle to make them even better. Once full of their sweet delicacy, the children and Willie Juan begin to talk about God's love. The story is sweet, at the level of about a 6-7 year old and the illustrations are beautiful. I loved this book, and I am certain I will hear my daughter use the phrase "smack dab" often after reading this book with her.
I received this book for free through Thomas Nelson Publishing's Booksneeze blogger program. I am not required to provide a positive review, and the thoughts expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Smack Dab in the Middle of God's Love
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane Kinney
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The description of sopapillas made my mouth water. I need that recipe! I want to enjoy these pastries like the children in the story. So yummy. So mouth watering with honey smack-dab in the middle of the pastry.
The pastries are a metaphor that Willie Juan and Ana use to demonstrate God's love where "Every good thing comes from smack-dab in the middle of Abba's heart."
This book is a delightful little story to teach young children about God's love. God reminds us to taste and see that the Lord is good (Psalm 34:8). Even more, I am inspired to be smack-dab in the middle of God's love.
Thomas Nelson has provided me this book free in ebook form in exchange for this review. I was able to read this book as soon as it was published so that I could write this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.