Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Gabby, God's Little Angel

Thomas Nelson Gabby, God's Little Angel

Teach your young children that God (and his angels!) looks out for them all day long! Gabby is an angel in training who gets her first assignment-to watch a little girl Sophie, who will need a lot of guardian angel help. After a close call while riding her pony, Sophie learns what the Bible says about guardian angesl: "He will put His angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go," (Psalm 91:11 ICB). Recommended for ages 4-8. 32 pages, hardcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
28 out of 3093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Review 1 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, lots of character, and great lesson

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MommyMendez
Location:Mt. Airy, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 6 year old and I bought this book at the book fair at my daughter's school because on the front, it said that it was a story about never giving up. This is something my daughter struggles with at times, so I decided to pick it up. She loved it and I loved it. I thought the message was clear, but in a fun positive way. I think its important for parents to read the "A Letter to Parents". I could totally hear the voices in my head when I was reading it and I loved it was attached with a Bible verse. I immediatley went to the computer afterwards to look for other books by Sheila Walsh, as this is the first book I have ever read of hers. I look forward to reading more with my daughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Angel Book!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamjenai
Location:Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gabby, God's Little Angel is the first angel book I've read to my kids, 6 and 3 years old, and they loved this book so much! The illustrations of angels and matching colors are cute and very nice to look at. The story is simple, can be easily understood by young readers. I liked that there are bible verses in the book and a picture of mom and daughter praying at night. I felt that my kids are now ready for more bible stories after reading this to them. A book I highly recommend to mommies looking for a great book to read to her children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet book for little girls

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Selabear
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book did not disappoint. The illustrations were sweet and the point well made. Kahlen and I enjoyed this one too. It is actually quite amazing to think that God loves each of us so much that He sends his angels to watch over us wherever we go. Kahlen's angel must be just as busy as Gabby these days keeping her out of harm's way. So, thank you NetGalley for providing the book for review, thank you Sheila Walsh for writing the truth in a way that is relevant to me AND my daughter, and most of all, thank you God for protecting us from ourselves and life!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NetGalley as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The quality of the book is excellent

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eszter
Location:Europe
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The quality of the book is excellent. It is almost an A4 format, hardcover and lovely illustrations. Even my 4 years old little son enjoyed the story. I had to read him twice. You can see some pages from the book HERE.
My daughter also enjoys it as it has some glitter on the cover, it is pink and easy to read the short yet important story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will be a favorite bedtime story!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
AndreaLisa
Location:Belize, C.A
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabby, God’s Little Angel is a wonderful Children’s Book that will be great read, especially at bedtimes. It will lead to many discussions I’m sure about God and angels with your little ones.
The book paints a wonderful picture of an angel named Gabby, she is described in such a way that children can easily relate to her, she’s like a best friend, funny, sweet and loving. The main message I believe is for our children to know that they are very special to God and that He places angels to watch over them and keep them safe. They are never alone. This is a wonderful message for children and adults as well.
I think this is an excellent book for children up 10 years old.
After I received the book, I read it first alone, then with my daughter. She wanted to read it by herself, at 7 years old she read it pretty easily; she only needed help with a few words. She really enjoyed the book and I think she felt pretty special that God places angels to watch over her.
We both found the characters very funny and felt like we could relate to them. The author, Sheila did a wonderful job in presenting a wonderful message about God’s love for us.
The illustrations were well done and painted an excellent picture of what was happening in the story.
I am recommending this book for sure to all those who has a special little girl in their lives. She will treasure this book.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cute!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
ML Michaels
Location:USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Gabby God's Little Angel" by Sheila Walsh just gave me the desire to say awe. This very sweet book about angel's and how they work in children's lives is a special way of helping children visualize the concept. As a teacher, I recognize that there are a lot of words in the book for this to be an early reader as the depiction of the illustrations lean toward early reading.
However, the concept and thread through the story follows Psalm 91:9,11 in a very special way. The words and concept are easy to follow and provide enough detail that any child could grasp the basic concepts of how God uses angels to protect His children.
Most of all I enjoyed the little Gabby character. She is sweet and doll-like in the illustrations. Gabby also teaches through the illustrations and writing that as a small angel, it is important to follow what God says, and that is what an angel does.
This book was provided for free by Thomas Nelson Publisher as a part of their Book Sneeze Blogger Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great christian book for little girls.

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jelly Fish
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabby, a guardian angel in training, has been sent to watch over Sophie, who is turning out to be quite a handful! When Sophie almost has an accident while riding her pony, her mom tells her about how God has His angels watching over her; Psalms 91:11 "He will put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go."
Gabby, Gods little Angel, is a great book for little girls because it is all about how God has sent his angels to watch over us.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very sweet, easy read! :)

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mandy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All in all, this book was a very sweet and easy read. The message of the book is based on Psalm 91:11 “The Lord will command his angels to take good care of you.” (taken from the NIRV, emphasis mine). In the book, Gabby, an angel-in-training, gets her very own assignment: a little girl who has a lot in common with the little somewhat clumsy little angel. We get to see Gabby’s first days “on the job,” and how the little girl keeps Gabby on her toes!
I read this book with my 7 year old girl, and we loved it! My daughter is reading proficiently now, so it was great to share the story with her, alternating the reading. I didn’t find any of the text of the book to be too difficult for my daughter. I also appreciated that the message was not condescending, either. The illustrations are beautiful and as sweet as the story! My daughter loved the pictures, and they made her giggle! She is a big fan of the “Gigi” books & DVDs, and wasn’t disappointed with “Gabby.” My daughter and I highly recommend this as an addition to your bedtime story library.
*disclaimer* I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very wordy

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
IN R Dream
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I kind of thought it started slow and a little wordy. But the lesson is nice and the point gets across.
Sophie is an adventuress little girl who, likes to leap and climb. And Gabby is a guardian angel in training who has been assigned to her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2011
Gabby God’s Little Angel by Sheila Walsh is the first in a new series for children about a somewhat clumsy guardian angel. The book is absolutely precious! The illustrations are adorable – very colorful and cutesy! The best part of the book, though, is the message that God protects and watches over us! The story told of God’s very personal interaction in our lives, rather than a distant, far-off God. I also loved how Gabby’s purpose was to show that God cares for us. This is a very sweet story that will show God’s love and care for us to young readers.
I received a free galley of this book from Thomas Nelson and Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Littlest Angels

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story is touching, and its message is a simple but powerful reminder that God is always watching over and protecting His children. My favorite part is, when Gabby talks about how much God loves Sophie, she tells the horse, "So no funny business! Not a waddle to the right or a toddle to the left."
While lacking in Biblical accuracy - still - the tory is sweet and the lesson within taught in a very age appropriate way. It is a springboard to the understanding of what angels are and how God uses these "mighty ones who do his bidding, who obey his word" (Psalm 103:20, NIV).
The illustrations in the book are beautiful, very colorful and
probably the only thing that kept my childrens attention. The book
seemed a bit wordy and didn't need to be. The author tried to be "funny"
and those little moments flew right over my childrens heads.
Psalm 91:11, "For He will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways."
I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part
of their booksneeze.com blogger program. I was not required to write a
positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR
Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Gift Book

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
boboross
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabby, God's Little Angel by Sheila Walsh and illustrated by Marina Fedotova is a very adorable children book about Gabby, the guardian angel in training received her first assignment in taking care of a little girl named Sophie. She was very excited in riding her pony but little did she know things would be out of control! The pony was frightened by the dog's barking and started to buck and Gabby rescued her right in time. This story is more appropriate for preschoolers and lower elementary school grade students and would make a perfect gift book.
In general, the message I get from this book is mainly focus on God's protection to all his children. God sent different people in our lives to be guardian angels and this story is a good introduction to children on how God will look over us. It is a good reminder to all of us that God is the Almighty and He is always around us in good and bad times. The illustrations are very lovely and the color of the book cover attracts more female audiences in my opinion. This book is good for bed time stories and Sunday school’s reading materials. I would recommend this book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com (http://BookSneeze®.com) book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255(http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html) : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

endearing introduction to guardian angels

Date:September 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have mixed feelings about author Sheila Walsh's earlier book series for young girls, the Gigi series. In Gigi, it seemed Walsh had good intentions with awkward, even questionable, delivery. Thus, when I saw that Walsh had come out with a new series for that same set (4-8 year old girls), my interest was piqued. And so, with hesitation, and being ready to close the book at any moment if it turned dicey, I read Gabby, God's Little Angel, to my daughter...
... and we loved it! The illustrations are absolutely adorable, and the prose is done in varied font, which serves as a nice boost to early print awareness (a pre-reading skill). The story itself, somewhat like Gigi stories, includes some unnecessary and awkward tangents, but they do not detract from the overall message, that God loves us and his angels watch over us. Certainly, as children get older, questions like, "if I have a guardian angel, how did I break my arm?" will have to be addressed, but Gabby provides a cute and comforting first introduction to the concept of guardian angels.
If that isn't enough, you have to love that Gabby ends with a Bible passage, Psalm 91:9,11: "The Lord is your protection... He has put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go." Anytime a book can reinforce a child's interest in the Bible, I'm happy.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publisher for the purpose of providing my honest review. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

little girls will love this book

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If this wasn't the cutest book I've ever read on guardian angels. I believe any little girl would just fall in love with Shelia Walsh's little angel, Gabby. What is there not to love about cute little angels sent to watch over us. Gabby is quite the active little angel and she is given a big responsibility keeping watch over a very active little girl. The illustrations are just as adorable as the angel and the story; very beautifully illustrated. Any girl ages 3-7 would fall in love with this book (psst even my teenage daughter loved it; and if you tell her I said so I'll deny it.)
A copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gabby, God’s Little Angel, by Sheila Walsh, is an adorable book. It is a durable, hardcover book with sparkles on the dust jacket that will appeal to most young girls. Marina Fedotova has created some wonderful illustrations that help readers clearly picture the events of the story.
In the story, an accident-prone angel, Gabby, is assigned to watch over Sophie, a precocious little girl. Sophie needs a lot of protection, so Gabby has her work cut out for her. The two of them turn out to be a well-matched pair.
Overall, this book is extremely cute. From the story to the illustrations, it captures and holds one’s attention. Children and their parents will love this story. I do, however, have a few concerns in regard to the concept of the guardian angels. First, Gabby is an extremely young angel, and children may think that all angels are small children. Second, the book says that all people have guardian angels that protect us at all times. Children may wonder what happened to their angels, then, when they fall or get hurt. The book may raise questions for parents to consider before they read it to their children.
Still, this is a wonderful book that would be a great addition to any children’s library.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gabby's Gods Little Angel wonderful sweet

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“He will put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go” Psalm 91:11 ICB.
Gabby is the first in a adorable series by Sheila Walsh and Thomas Nelson. Each book will offer a comforting sweet message for the little readers/listeners. God loves you very much and is always there for you and watching over you.
Your little one will fall in love with Gabby she is the sweetest, funniest angel. Gabby is a angel in training, angels have big job to do and it takes a lot of training to become a guardian angel. Gabby's first job is to look over and protect Sophie. Guarding Sophie is a bigger job then Gabby ever could have imagined.
This was a great book and I can't wait to read the rest of the series with my little Sprite.
thank you Booksneeze for sending us this wonderful book for review! Sprite LOVES Gabby God's Little Angel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mixed Messages Concerned Me

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Gabby, God’s Little Angel" is a guardian angel on her first assignment. Her job is to keep Sophie safe. Since Gabby and Sophie both tend to be a little bit accident prone, it’s a challenge for Gabby. But by protecting Sophie, she shows her God’s love and care.
The story is based on Psalm 91:9, 11, “The Lord is your protection . . . . He has put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go.”
While it is a sweet story with darling pictures, it left me with some concerns. If the message is that God sends angels to keep us safe because He loves us, what will children think when they get hurt? What happens when they really do fall out of trees or off their ponies? What happens when injuries occur?
What’s more, while Gabby is absolutely adorable, she’s a child herself, appearing younger than Sophie and prone to accidents, too. She comes through for Sophie in the end in the story, but she’s not what I’d want my children to picture when they think of angels watching over them. I’d have reservations about what they’d learn from this book. The intent is good, God loves you and sends angels to watch over you, but what comes through is a little mixed up.
Thomas Nelson Publishers sent a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A cute story all girls will enjoy

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gabby, a guardian angel in training, stars in this first children's book in a new series from author Sheila Walsh. When Gabby is given a new assignment to watch over little Sophie, she realizes watching over this gal will be harder than she thought!
The moment I sat down with my children to read this book, they were captivated by the beautiful pictures and the delightful character that the author has created in Gabby. The book is humerously written, and kept their attention the whole way through. It created a great opportunity to talk about guardian angels and what the Bible has to say about them, bringing to life the verse “He will put his angels in charge of you. They will watch over you wherever you go” (Psalm 91:11 ICB). I myself have never really thought of Angels as being cute and little like Gabby (preferring the image of a warrior instead), but my children stated that they love the book, and it definitely delivers an important message of God's love and protection.
For those reasons, I give this book a solid recommendation and a rating of 4 out of 5 stars. I have no doubt I will be reading this book again and again with my daughters as the days pass by!
This book has been provided courtesy of the publisher via the Booksneeze program for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable Story!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabby, God's Little Angel written by Sheila Walsh and illustrated by Marina Fedotova is the sweet children's story about Gabby, an accident prone angel who gets her first assignment from God for a little girl that is learning about how God is always protecting her. This book is very child friendly and is great for young kids, the message is broken down in a way that toddlers can also enjoy and understand this book.
Gabby, God's Little Angel is an adorable story the follows accident-prone guardian angel in training Gabby and the little girl, Sophie, she watches over. Sophie, who is always looking for adventure is riding her pony, Glitter for the first time. Sheila Walsh and Marina Fedotova were a great pair for this book, the illustrations are beautiful that every child will enjoy. Walsh does a great job in taking
the message that God is always with us and making it understandable. Every little girl will love the story of Gabby.
This book was provided complimentary through the BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest reviews. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gabby, God's Little Angel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Remember: God Loves You

Date:September 6, 2011
When I was a little girl, I used to lie in bed at night and try to imagine what my guardian angel looked like. Now I watch little ones stumble over, barely missing the corner of a table, and think, "Well, their guardian angel is at work!" And sometimes wonder how many bruises guardian angels retain from catching children as they fall out of trees, tumble over on bicycles and squeeze through spaces that look far too small. Perhaps that is what author Sheila Walsh ponders upon, too.
The little guardian angel Gabby is given little Sophie to watch over, a young girl who likes to ride horses, and climb trees, and dare gravity. With colorful pictures and words that will make you smile, Gabby, God's Little Angel will teach children that God gives them special angels to watch over them. Why? Because He loves them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>