Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs

Thomas Nelson 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs

Get your kids singing God's praises with this book and CD collection. Children can read a devotion, sing a song, and say a prayer all while learning and spending time with God. With bright illustrations, 100 Bible-based songs, and 100 devotions, children will have fun while they learn to walk and talk with God and apply the message of the Bible to their everyday lives. Includes 2 full-length CDs of music. 208 pages, hardcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Review 1 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great product for kids+family

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
odtos
Location:Norway
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We value this devotional a lot because it is simple and easy to understand for our kids (6yrs and 16mths). The graphical illustrations are of very good quality and even our 16months old could relate to them. Every evening, we study this devotional with our kids and play the corresponding track and these all together add color to our family daily devotion.
Above all, the messages are built on God's eternal word of truth with examples that make it simple for our kids to apply them. Even, we (parents) are always blessed with the messages and songs from this devotional.
I recommend this devotional to every family that desires to nourish their young kids with God's word in a simple and fun-filled way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Devotional for small kids!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
KRogers0512
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never write reviews on products, but I have to say that we LOVE this book! My 20 month old daughter absolutely loves dancing to the CD and my 2 1/2 year old son is constantly asking if we can "read the Bible and sing!" The stories are so great with the songs provided and the pictures are great too! My kids also love to bow their heads when we say the prayer each day. Definitely a MUST HAVE!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good for younger kids. Quick read, nice pics.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
wood
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is said, you must know something really well to explain it really simply. Now, while not everything can be explained simply, I believe this holds quite a bit of truth. That has been a bit of a convicting challenge to me lately. As I study Scripture and theology more and more, I’m excited about the things I am learning. But when faced with the question of how I explain this to my children, I admit, I’m a bit stumped. That’s why I’m excited to see tools for helping children grasp some of these concepts (which, quite frankly, sometimes mommies and daddies are still struggling to grasp).
100 Read & Sing Devotions by Stephen Elkins is one such tool we’ve recently discovered. As you may astutely surmise, there are 100 short devotionals with colorful illustration and a corresponding song on one of the two CDs that come with the book. Often the write up will give a quick (one or two paragraph) summary of a Bible story. Other times it uses some type of object lesson to teach a theological or moral truth. There’s a Bible verse (often ripped out of context … but I’ll let that go for now), a prayer that’s just a couple of lines and the reference to the song for that day.
Speaking of the songs, let’s turn our attention to the CD. It’s what you might expect here - Sunday school type songs sung by little children. It’s the type of CD that makes parents shudder on long car trips. However, the truer review comes when I walk into the living room to see my daughter dancing around with a huge smile beaming on her face. Or when I hear my son singing these songs and realize that some of them are teaching him Bible verses. That’s worth a little “ow, my ears.”
All said, this is not the greatest spiritual tool for children, but I’ve certainly seen worse.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

100 Songs and Devotions

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of three
Location:AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 Read & Sing Devotions is absolutely wonderful, what better way to share the word of God with your little one, than with a devotional. It’s richly illustrated by Tim O’Conner and the devotions are created by Stephen Elkins. With each devotional, your child will love learning about bible stories and teaching, to hide God’s word in their little hearts and a prayer. Also, included are two CD’s full of music that goes with each devotional.
This devotional can be used anytime during the day, my four year old daughter like to leaf through the pages while she is listening to the music, some songs she already knows and others she is learning. I read one devotional to my five year old son before we get into his reading in the evenings, because he starts kinder really early in the morning and I don’t like rushing through the devotions. It’s a very special time for us to spend together and reading the word of God. We are absolutely thrilled to include this devotional into our daily reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Bedtime Devotions

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I Wanna Throw Up (my hands in praise to the Lord)" is an example of a song that is on one of the 2 CDs which come with this book. (Note: the CDs do not have the stories on them.)
The book is padded and has an easily washable cover. The pages are fairly thick, so it would be easier for small hands to turn the pages. Each of the 100 stories are illustrated, have a key verse, a short prayer, and a song that goes with that lesson.
The short stories have stories from the Bible or the author's childhood. All the stories intertwine Biblical principles in them with application for today. One story teaches when to dial 911.
The songs are clearly marked on the devotional page. So, you will know which CD and which song number goes with that story. Some of the songs are classic songs such as "Now the Day is Over," and others are newer upbeat songs such as the one mentioned in the beginning of this review. The songs have children's voices singing with some adults. The 2 CDs are each over an hour long. The book includes a link to a Web site that has the lyrics of the songs.
Two things to note: 1) One of the songs about Noah's ark seemed to be more interested in teaching counting than staying with the Biblical account of the story. 2) Except for the cover of the book, most of the illustrations are of Caucasians. One ironic example is the devotion that includes the song, "Jesus Loves All the Children of the World."
Disclaimer: I received this book from BookSneeze in order to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a favorite of mine & my granddaughter's

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am eagerly looking forward to sharing this children's devotional book, along with its music CDs, with my young granddaughter. There are so many things that I love about 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs. The illustrations are delightful and will attract any child's attention. The Bible stories are presented in a way that young children will understand; however, the lessons are appropriate for any age, so the book will be a favorite now and for many years to come. The Bible songs are catchy and will reinforce the concepts that are given in the book. This is a great combination, which I highly recommend.
If you have children or grandchildren, if you are a Sunday school teacher or a preschool teacher, or if there is a child you want to give a very special gift to that will move him/her closer to Jesus, this is the book.
I received this book from publisher Tommy Nelson Publishers so that I might give my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own, as I am not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stephen Elkins had a great idea when he created this book! Two cds (50 songs each) are included with the book and each song goes with a specific devotion. In addition a song, each devotion has a key idea written out, a memory verse, and a prayer. The cover is padded and the pages are thicker than normal book pages so you know it’s made to be used and last for a long time. The illustrations are amazing and eye-catching and go right along with the devotion. What better way for kids to learn about God than with a song and a devotion! Perfect for older toddlers through grade school age.
I have to say, I didn’t even get to open the package when we got it in the mail. Our kids knew it was coming and were eager to get their hands on it. They weren’t disappointed, and neither was I. Our oldest was happy that there’s a devotion with Noah’s Ark, our middle child was turning the pages telling me who was on them (“Jesus, Goliath…”), it was great to see. I had a hard time getting it away from the kids so I could look it over, that’s how engaging it is for young kids! As a parent I liked that it had a “Dear Parents” note in the beginning to give you an idea as to how the book was designed to be used (listen to the song first, read the devotion, say the verse, close with prayer). We are planning on using this book as the start to our school day (homeschool). It even has some of my favorite songs that I remember from when I was my children’s age. I would highly recommend this book to parents of young children who are looking for a good way to start the day with their little ones.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great gift for God's little people!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 Read & Sing Devotions, 100 Bible Songs, created by Stephen Elkins and illustrated by Tim O’Connor, is an excellent devotional for younger children. It comes with two CDs that include 100 songs, one song for each devotion. The padded hardback cover and thick pages make it sturdy for children to look through without tearing the pages. The songs are mixed with many classic songs that I grew up singing in Sunday school mixed with some more updated worship classics. Each page of the devotion lists which song it goes with, not to mention it gives the CD number and what number the song is on the list! The devotions are simple and make a great point for a little child. There are plenty of detailed pictures to go along with the story to keep the young child’s attention while going over the devotion. I was excited to hear that the CD is the same voices and songs of a CD mix (Wonder Kids) that I already had so I knew right away I would enjoy the voices of the small children signing these songs. I loved the song varieties. I am looking forward to sharing God’s word with my young son as we go through this devotional. I would recommend this for anyone with a young child or looking for a nice gift for a young child of God. This book was provided to me for my honest opinion in a review by Thomas Nelson publishing and the booksneeze blogger review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 Read & Sing Devotions, 100 Bible Songs, created by Stephen Elkins and illustrated by Tim O’Connor, is an excellent tool for younger children. It comes with two CDs that include 100 songs, one for each devotion. The padded hardback cover and thick pages make it sturdy for little hands to maneuver. Also, the incredibly beautiful illustrations draw and hold one’s attention.
Each of the devotions includes several parts. They begin with a song from the CD, listed by both CD number and song number. Then they move on to a short devotion, written in simple terms that children can easily understand. There is a “Word Watch” Bible verse to remember and a prayer for each day. The entire devotional time should not take more than about fifteen minutes, great for even a child with a short attention span.
I was quite impressed with this book and the music. It will be perfect to use with young ones at home or church. The music includes some familiar tunes as well as some that were new to me. It is definitely a recommended book, a blessing to all who open it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Kara
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read and Sing

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so thrilled to finally receive 100 Read & Sing Devotions by Stephen Elkins. I have a little worship service and bible lesson with my kids every morning after breakfast. It just helps start off the day in a good place. I was glad that a lot of the songs on this CD are ones I didn't have in our music library. So the kids and I have some new songs to learn.
Each page has a devotional, a prayer, and a piece of scripture for everyday. Also listed for each devotional is what song on the CD goes along with that story. This is going to be very useful for the song part of our daily sessions.
Illustrator, Tim O'Connor, did an amazing job with the colorful pages. Each page has a picture that goes along with the story. My kids enjoyed flipping through the pages of this book.
I received this book from the wonderful folks @ booksneeze.com for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs--Book and CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Bedtime

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 Devotions, 100 Bible Songs is a well thought out book that kids and parents alike will love to use. Cute catchy songs, bright bold illustrations and engaging stories make this new devotional book for children a wonderful addition to the family library. The full color padded hardback book contains 207 pages of daily devotions. The padded cover and thick pages are a must for tiny hands. Each devotion covers a two page spread in the book and includes reference to the song of the day, the story devotion that ties into the song, and a memory verse and prayer. Each story, memory verse, and prayer is short enough to hold attention and easy enough for small children to learn. Included with the book are two audio CDs that contain all 100 songs used in the book. Performed by children, the songs will get a child’s attention and are sure to get your child singing. This will be a great bedtime book for quality family time to help reinforce God’s word and learn important life lessons. The fact that it requires no preparation time and can be completed in about fifteen minute’s time will make it a wonderful family bedtime ritual for years to come.
I received this complimentary copy from the Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.