Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tommy Nelson No Place Like Holmes

Tommy Nelson No Place Like Holmes

When Griffin is sent to stay with his detective uncle at 221B Baker Street for the summer, he is certain that his uncle must be the great Sherlock Holmes! But Griffin soon learns that Holmes lives at 221A Baker Street and his uncle lives unit 221B. Sure, his uncle is a detective, but he's not very good. That won't stop him from taking a case that Holmes has turned down. Deemed to be ridiculous, a woman claims that her husband was swallowed whole by the Loch Ness Monster. Along the way, Griffin shows his uncle just what it means to have true faith in God, even when the case challenges that. But the question remains-are monsters real, or aren't they?
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Place Like Holmes
Review 1 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids will undoubtedly love this book!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
bdswriteon
Location:St Louis
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend reading No Place Like Holmes. It is about an observant boy named Griffin Sharpe (yes, THE Griffin Sharpe, the World’s Most Secret Detective) who goes to visit his uncle who he thinks is the great Sherlock Holmes. After all, his uncle lives at 221 Baker Street. But when Griffin arrives, he finds his uncle lives in 221a Baker Street, and Holmes lives in 221b. His uncle, Rupert Snodgrass, is a great inventor who uses his inventions to fight crime. Rupert’s inventions are very similar to what we use today, and some are more futuristic. Like, for instance, a modern invention is his Snodgrass Falsehood Detector, much like our lie detectors. And a futuristic invention is his Snodgrass Chrono-Teleporter, which is a time-traveling machine that proves very useful in The Future Door, the sequel.
This is a mystery with a lot of action. The plot was very fast-paced, with a lot of twists and turns. The characters were very easy to get to know, and they learned a lot, like the virtue of forgiveness. Griffin’s character really comes out during his summer with his Uncle Rupert. At first Rupert is an old grouch, but then he eventually (and not always willingly!), he grows to like Griffin and they become good friends. As a closing statement, No Place Like Holmes is a very good book with a wholesome cast of characters and a very imaginative setting. After all, if there is a 221b Baker Street, there has to be a 221a Baker Street. I can't wait for the next in this series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for young adults

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
momoffour
Location:kentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In No Place Like Holmes Jason Lethcode has produced an enjoyable work of fiction for young adults. In the story young Griffin Sharpe has traveled to England for the summer to spend time with his mysterious uncle. The story carries the reader through the summer as Griffin gains confidence, survives an adventure, foils the plot of a mastermind criminal, and softens the heart of his uncle. The story is well written and enjoyable. It is a crime story however, and therefore might not be for the young preteen set. There is a crime afoot and some violence results, so parents should be sure that their readers are ready for that sort of thing. I decided not to share this book with my ten year old who has a tender spirit and I felt would be too upset by the actions of the villain in this story, especially those at the end of the novel. That said, the character of Griffin models good morals, maturity, and a strong faith. He provides a good example to readers of how to deal with a relationship with an adult who is not a believer. These qualities make this book a good read for young readers. Lethcode does a good job of weaving in Holmes traditional setting, character, and feel to the story. This will provide a good introduction to later reading of the Holmes books by Doyle. Normally I shy away from modern works for my kids, but this will likely be one I will happily let them enjoy in their late preteen years. I am confident No Place Like Holmes will entertain and be an enjoyable experience for them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sherlock Holmes meets faith in God...

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ian4Christ
Location:Pineville, Kentucky
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Place Like Holmes by Jason Ethcoe is a brilliantly written young teen novel in the classic styling of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes mysteries. The story line of this book is very intriguing and I found it a delightful read. I truly enjoyed the weaving in of the Christian faith that is presented throughout this story.
I am a huge fan of the old Sherlock Holmes stories by Doyle and I have a feeling that Jason Ethcoe is as well. He has written this story in a similar style and fashion that the classics present. With a gripping plot, clues that leave you hungry for more (not to mention trying to figure the story out for yourself), and twists that leave you astonished; Ethcoe's mystery is one definitely worth reading.
The story follows a young boy, Griffin Sharpe, that is brilliant - a genius, in the early 1900's. He is sent to be with his uncle who is a private detective in London, England. The crazy thing? He lives at 221 Baker Street - the address of the famous Sherlock Holmes. The boy finds out about Holmes on his way to London and is immediately fascinated by the similarities that they share. Much like Holmes, Griffin is able to deduce information based upon deductive reasoning. He can not wait to meet the famous detective!
Nearly as soon as he arrives at 221 Baker Street a case presents itself. He and his uncle race against the clock to save the lives of many people in London. Will they succeed? Tune in and find out for yourselves...
This book was given to me in an Ebook format for an unbiased review by Thomas Nelson, through their BookSneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sherlock Holmes for Preteens

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"No Place Like Holmes" is the first book in a series for preteens based on the concept of Sherlock Holmes. American 12-year-old, Griffin Sharpe is sent to live with his uncle in England for the summer in order to experience the culture his mother grew up in. This uncle, an aspiring inventor and private investigator himself, just happens to live in the same building as Sherlock Holmes. The uncle believes investigations should be conducted scientifically and scoffs at the deductive reasoning of Sherlock Holmes. Griffin, however, notices everything, and shares the talents of the famous detective. Though the uncle is unhappy at first about Griffin’s arrival, he learns to appreciate Griffin’s observations as the two team up on a case in which London’s fate itself is at stake.
I’m a big Sherlock Holmes fan, so I really enjoyed this book and am happy to recommend it. However, I did wonder how much of the Sherlock Holmes comparison preteens would understand. How many 12-year-olds have heard of Moriarty and Watson and Baker Street and such? Not knowing of these things won’t keep them from enjoying Griffin’s story, but, without that background knowledge, kids will miss some fun elements of the story. Maybe they know more than I think they do. Or maybe, Griffin will inspire them to read Sherlock Holmes, too!
Also woven into the story are Griffin’s personal challenges. He is lonely because he is different—so intelligent that he scares friends away. He longs to befriend this uncle he’s met for the first time, but struggles not only with his uncle’s rejection of him, but also of God. "No Place Like Holmes" is the story of a 12-year-old learning to get along in the world, but not of it, independently, almost, for the first time.
Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending this fun book free to me for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sherlock Holmes's Successor

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received No Place Like Holmes by Jason Lethcoe, I thought there had been a typographical error on the back of the book - its genre was listed as juvenile non-fiction. I was sure the publisher would have it fixed before too long, as it seemed strange to have a work of fiction categorized as non-fiction. But after reading the preface (“About the World’s Most Secret Detective”), I was corrected. The main character, Griffin Sharpe, became a famous detective and I was holding the first written account of his start into crime-solving.
No Place Like Holmes is a fantastic, edge-of-your seat story that is almost unbelievable as non-fiction. I thoroughly enjoyed it, even though it was written for children. The characters are well-developed and each scene is full of details that will allow you—if you are paying attention—to help solve the mystery. The chapters are short, making the book more manageable for reluctant readers. There are inventions which will have inquiring minds intrigued to dig into history and find out how on earth these worked during that era. Readers are forced to consider how their actions and attitudes affect others as well as to consider the little details that can make a big difference. Compassion and the spiritual well-being of others are a constant theme—things that are still greatly needed in our world.
The book ends with a section called “How Sharpe Are You?” with fourteen questions about details in the story and questions that challenge readers to think about and discuss their faith. There are two Griffin Sharpe mini-mysteries for readers to solve and a recipe for scones (yum!).
I am eager to learn more about Griffin Sharpe and plan on doing some detective work of my own about him. I eagerly anticipate book two in the series, The Future Door, coming December 2011. More history needs to be taught this way. Well done, Mr. Lethcoe!
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No Place like Holmes

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
marybeth
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com
This is a fun kids mystery novel. It is written for ages 9-12
The book really draws you into it, but only after reading a few pages of the first chapter.
It’s a really enjoyable read and you can read the book in just an afternoon or two.
The book is about a twelve year old boy named Griffin who goes to London to stay with his uncle for the summer. He knows nothing more than his uncle is a detective and lives at 221 Baker Street.
Thinking that the great Sherlock Holmes who resides in the same building is his uncle he is disappointed to find out that he isn’t and although his uncle is a detective, he is a poor one at that. His uncle is barely scraping by, as his neighbor _The Great Sherlock Holmes has a business that is thriving.
Highly recommend this book and give it a 4 & 1/2 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Juvenile Mystery

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Is your child into reading mysteries? I was when I was a kid. Having been a fan of Nancy Drew and Sherlock Holmes growing up, I was delighted to see a book that incorporated the notorious Sherlock Holmes with a new character: 13-year-old Griffin Sharpe. The following is a brief description given of No Place Like Holmes, by Jason Lethcoe.
Book Description:
"No Place Like Holmes" - By: Jason Lethcoe
“The new resident in 221A Baker Street is about to give Sherlock Holmes a run for his magnifying glass!
When Griffin is sent to stay with his detective uncle at 221A Baker Street for the summer, he is certain that his uncle must be the great Sherlock Holmes! But Griffin is disappointed to discover that Holmes lives at 221B Baker Street and his uncle lives unit 221A. His uncle is a detective, just not a very good one. But when Griffin meets a woman with a case that Holmes has turned away for being too ridiculous, he and his uncle team up to help her. Along the way, Griffin shows his uncle just what it means to have true faith in God, even when the case challenges that. The woman claims that her husband was eaten by the Loch Ness Monster, but monsters aren’t real—or are they?”
As I mentioned before, mysteries were one of my favorite genres to read growing up. When seeing that this juvenile mystery story incorporated Sherlock Holmes into its plot, it struck my curiosity. Overall, I was pleased with the story, layout, the characters, etc. … however… I did not like the fact that it took the first 40 pages of the book to explain background information about the 2 main characters, Griffin Sharpe and his uncle Rupert Snodgrass and to get anything exciting to happen. Looking from a 4th or 5th grader’s perspective, I would not have continued reading the book because I would have become a bit bored and a bit tired of waiting for anything “good” to happen in the story to keep my interest in it. It (the story) just seemed to take too long to unfold. I do feel the author did a decent job giving examples of Griffin’s photographic memory and of how observant an individual he is, however, I don’t feel the excessiveness to which it was done was really necessary. Other than those few aspects, I did enjoy the mystery story itself. I also liked the mini-mysteries included in the back of the book that gave the reader a chance to make his/her own deductions and conclusions to little puzzles Griffin encounters after the original story.
I would recommend this book to any fourth or fifth grader who enjoys mysteries and problem solving, but would also go the extra step in warning him/her that the story takes a little while to really get interesting so s/he doesn’t get frustrated and stop reading after the first 20-30 pages. Once the reader can get past that, the story is worth reading. And the way the author, Jason Lethcoe, subtly incorporates hints of Griffin’s faith and how God could have a hand in some of the events that take place is an added bonus and done in a way that will not take away from or make the story seem “too religious or preachy” to a juvenile reader.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Place Like Holmes
This review is fromNo Place Like Holmes - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very interesting.

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kiersten
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Place Like Holmes is about a 12 year old boy, Griffin Sharpe, and how he changed England. When Griffin came to England, he was welcomed by his not-so-happy-uncle. His uncle, Rupert Snodgrass, was a detective and did not know Griffin was coming, so he demanded that the rules be followed, and Griffin was to not interrupt his work. But when Griffin helped solve one of Snodgrass' cases, Snodgrass lightened up a little. When Snodgrass was faced with the biggest case of all, Griffin was right there beside him. When the greatest masterminds, the Moriarty's were about to blow up half of England, Griffin and Snodgrass knew they had to act. To find out if England is destroyed, read the book for your self!
When I first started reading No Place Like Holmes, I wasn't that interested. But about a third of the way through the book, it got more suspenseful, and more entertaining by making me feel like I was a detective myself! No Place Like Holmes made me feel like a detective by providing very elaborate details, and by explaining how Snodgrass and Griffin came to their conclusions. By the end of the book, I was satisfied with what I read, and I was glad that I made time to read this book. I would definitely reccomend this book to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable mystery for kids

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Ruckersville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Encyclopedia Brown meets Sherlock Holmes in this enjoyable mystery novel for kids. Griffin Sharpe heads to 221 Baker Street to spend the summer with an uncle he’s never met. Certain that his uncle is the famous Sherlock Holmes, Griffin is looking forward to meeting someone who might understand him and his ultra-observant ways. Imagine his disappointment when he realizes that his uncle, though a detective, is unknown, odd, unwelcoming, and has a grudge against Holmes. But when Griffin and his uncle stumble upon a mystery and work toward its solution, a tenuous relationship begins to form.
Despite Griffin’s attention to detail and his need to count things when nervous, there were times when I felt like the description was overdone. However, it was a clear look into Griffin’s mind and it was more of a hiccup than an interruption in the story’s flow. All in all, I believe it will appeal to readers of Encyclopedia Brown, The Hardy Boys, and Nancy Drew books.
The story itself was well put together, creating an intriguing case that have the reader cheering for Griffin and his uncle. And the book ends with a hint of the next mystery, and the first chapter of book 2. As a side note, be sure and read the mini-mysteries and see if you can solve them before you peek at Griffin’s answers.
A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers with no expectation of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christian mystery for kids!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Place Like Holmes
By Jason Lethcoe
No Place Like Holmes is a juvenile fiction book that introduces Griffin Sharpe as a 12 year old boy that is going to meet his uncle in England for the first time. He mistakenly thinks Sherlock Holmes is his uncle when he is told the address, 221 Baker Street. Griffin knows that is the address he is to go to and meet his uncle, but he knows only his uncle’s nickname, Snoops. Upon arriving, Griffin meets Rupert Snodgrass, his uncle, and most definitely not Sherlock Holmes. As they stumble upon one of the biggest cases that even Sherlock Holmes is only vaguely aware of, they learn to work together as they unravel the mystery. The conclusion leaves the book open for a second in the series.
Both girls and boys will love this book! As an adult, I enjoyed the book and would even like to read more. For those that love the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mysteries, this series will shape up to be just as much fun.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/consumer/product_detail.asp?sku=1400317215&title=No_Place_Like_Holmes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No Place Like Holmes
This review is fromNo Place Like Holmes - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:TX
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holmes, get it? Sherlock? Okay, obviously that's the jumping-off point for this YA novel, and it is s-l-o-w going at first. But, happily, it picks up and turns out to be quite an entertaining and uplifting story about a boy named Griffin Sharpe who is sent to London to stay with his Uncle "Snoops" for the summer. Turns out his uncle lives next door to the famous Sherlock Holmes. The rest? You'll have to read it and see!
Free (e-book) copy provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze program. No compensation was given for the review (positive or not).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful mystery for young readers! Griffin is an intelligent boy with a photographic memory. His classmates find him annoying and call him teacher's pet, since he usually knows the answer to the question before it is even asked. He notices tiny details and can deduce where a person has been, just by careful observation. Since he wasn't invited to go to summer camp with his fellow classmates, Griffin heads for London. Only, his uncle is not aware that he is coming.
After only one day in London, Griffin already wishes he was somewhere else. His uncle is a private detective, but has a hard time finding clients since Sherlock Holmes lives next door. Eventually, a case falls into Rupert Snodgrass's lap, thanks to his nephew Griffin. Rupert is given the opportunity to use the inventions that he has created to help solve the case. But more importantly, Rupert learns a few things from his nephew, like how to show compassion and how to trust God when things seem bleak.
At the end of the book are two mini-mysteries, very similar to Encyclopedia Brown mysteries. I am very impressed with this book, and I am sure my son will enjoy reading it as well. He loves mysteries. And since this one also promotes a relationship with Christ, I give it 5 stars!
--------------------------------------
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No Place Like Holmes
This review is fromNo Place Like Holmes - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fun mystery for kids

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fast paced mystery takes place in London; in fact right next door to the renowned Sherlock Holmes. The hero, Griffin Sharpe, is a 12 year old boy with uncanny powers of observation. His uncle, Rupert Snodgrass, who Griffin is visiting for the summer, is a bungling, inefficient, detective-want-to-be. Nefarious criminals, a man-eating Loch Ness monster in the Thames River, kidnappings, and a disappearance of a boatload of Chinese fireworks all come together to create a challenging adventure.
I enjoyed this book and think it’s a fun mystery for kids and is fast-paced enough to keep the attention of even reluctant readers. It is a Christian book, and introduced some themes of forgiveness and faith, although I felt that those parts of the book were a bit forced and awkward.
My daughter said that the book was "exciting" and finished it in 2 days. She is eagerly awaiting the next book in the series to come out.
I received a free review copy of this book from BookSneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Detective Series For The Youth

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Place Like Holmes
Jason Lethcoe
Thomas Nelson
Juvenile –Non Fiction/ Christian
5 Stars
I love to read a good cleanly written mystery book no matter what age group they are written for. When I seen this book listed for review I thought to myself that sounds like it would be very good and I was not the least bit disappointed. The one thing that has me wondering about the book is it is listed as non-fiction and at the beginning it tells about the world’s most secret detective. This leads me to believe that Griffin Sharpe was a real person and was a detective. Whether true or not this is a most interesting book.
In the beginning of the book we find Griffin Sharpe headed to London to spend the summer with his uncle Rupert Snodgrass. Never have meeting his uncle before he only knew one thing .. his address 221 Baker Street which Griffin soon learned is also the address for the famous Sherlock Holmes, Putting two and two together he soon figured out who his uncle was. Boy did he get a shock when he finally met his uncle and found out he was not the famous Sherlock but a would be inventor and detective that had never solve a case yet. Seems his uncle lived in Apt “A” and Sherlock in Apt “B” and Griffin really wasn’t wanted there by his uncle, but guess since he was there he had better make the best of it since Griffins mother sent money to help and money he needed. Little did he know that Griffin had the abilities to be as great a detective as Sherlock is. With a photographic mind that help him remember clues it was useful when a watch maker ends up missing and a cache of fireworks are stolen. Griffin finally puts two and two together and reaches a conclusion that even Sherlock is involved in, in a round about way so to speak .
Geared toward 9 to 12 years old I think this would be a great book for them to add to their reading collection. With book 2 in the makings it would be great to see a whole series of Griffin Sharpe detective books. I feel even young girls would enjoy reading the adventures of Griffin along with adults. Look for No Place Like Holmes on the shelves of your book store in May.
I received this book free from the publisher through their Book Sneeze blogging program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own thoughts about the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No Place Like Holmes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mystery and Adventure for Young Readers

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blog4readers
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“No Place Like Holmes” by Jason Lethcoe is an action/adventure book aimed at pre-teens. The book’s main characters are an insightful, precocious boy, Griffen Sharpe and his uncle, Rupert Snodgrass, a less-than-well-known detective and inventor. Sent to his uncles London flat, at 221 Baker Street, for the summer, he discovers that his eccentric uncle finds him an unwelcome guest and that his close neighbor is none other than the famous Sherlock Holmes. A series of adventures begin to unfold as Griffen’s uncle begins to soften toward him and they are drawn up into a strange mystery that could threaten much of London.
The plot of the story was well put together and would hold the interest of most young readers. There were a few “loose ends” on occasion, when Griffen was hospitalized at one point and his mother or father did not show up at the hospital. (Being a mother, I would have been there!) The other thing that was a little odd to me was the way that God was mentioned from time to time, almost as though it was slipped in there to make the book sound “Christian.” Most young readers would probably not notice these things and all in all it was a good story. I would give it 4 stars.
Thomas Nelson Publishing) provides me with complimentary copies of their books in exchange for unbiased reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.