Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)

Tyndale House Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)

¿Puede el amor de Dios salvar a cualquiera? La autora de éxitos de venta Francine Rivers magistralmente vuelve a contar la historia bíblica de amor de Gomer y Osea en un relato que toma como transfondo la excitante fiebre de oro de California. La heroína, Angela, es una joven que fue vendida como prostituta cuando era solamente una niña. Miguel Oseas es un hombre de Dios enviado a la vida de Angela para llevarla al amor redentor del Salvador.

Can God's love save anyone? Best-selling author Francine Rivers skillfully retells the biblical love story of Gomer and Hosea in a tale set against the exciting backdrop of the California Gold Rush. The heroine, Angel, is a young woman who was sold into prostitution as a child. Michael Hosea is a godly man sent into Angel's life to draw her into the Savior's redeeming love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Review 1 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

redeeming love review

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
You MUST read this book! "Redeeming Love" by Francine Rivers is the retelling of the Hosea and Gomer story (from the Bible) set in the 1850s in California. It looks like a sappy love story, it could have been a melodramatic Christian novel. But it is soooo not. It opens with Sarah meeting her father for the first time and being rejected. Her mother, a prostitute, basically chooses her father over Sarah. He later rejects the mother as well. Then at the ripe old age of 8, yes 8, she is sold into prostitution by her mother's drunken idiot boyfriend. The story then picks back up at Sarah (now working under the name Angel) being 18 at still a working girl. Michael then comes to rescue her whether she wants to be rescued or not. The two begin a wonderful, complex, intense and strange love story.
By the end of the first chapter this book has the reader completely trapped. I couldn't stop reading it. It is so well written. It doesn't pull any punches yet doesn't leave you feeling sick either. The characters are fabulous. I am only kicking myself for not reading it sooner. Read it. I received this book from Blogging for Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
jelysno
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work at a Christian book store and see many titles of books and various authors that sound interesting. I hadn't thought too much about this one until I noticed that a large percentage of our customers buy this book. It really grabbed my attention knowing this book was 20 years old and we still have a hard time keeping it on the shelf. I finally broke down and read it. I was hooked by the first few pages. Very well written. The characters are believable and the setting is perfect. I was amazed at how well Francine Rivers told the story of Hosea and Gomer in a western scene. I love old westerns and this was a perfect match. I would highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome book

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome, the author makes you feel like you are actually there going through everything the characters are. It is emotional in every sense. And the moral of the story which is forgiveness in God is something that we all can relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful reading material!

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kari
Location:The Midwest
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best novel that I've ever read! I felt like I had lost my best friend after I finished reading the book. Francine Rivers obviously writes directly from the heart. I love her attention to every small detail. I plan to read every book that she has written in the past two decades!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this book is amazing

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gabby
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMOR REDENTOR IS AN AWESOME BOOK, THIS STORY BLESS MY LIFE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Val
Reviewing this book is tricky. It is an exciting read, and hard to drop. The story is very well told, and I was truly blessed through the story itself and the characters. HOWEVER, I found the details of the first 9 chapters of the book on Angel's life in prostitution a little too many. It wasn't only terrible, it was maybe even disturbing in a 'I'm not even sure that reading this is ok' kind of way. Also, some details of the marriage sex life of Angela and her husband maybe me question my conscience as I read on.A little too much info. Maybe it's just me, but after a while I simply chose to skip bits when I saw them coming.Having said that... it is a good novel. I wish some other Christian female friend of mine had read it, so we could talk about the stuff that I thought was inappropriate... see if she agreed.Still... just my opinion. :) Hope it helps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Claudia Cain
This is the best book I've ever read! I was so happy to know they had it in Spanish! I ordered it for my mom for Christmas!..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bernadette Gregoire
I read this book in 3 days, recommended it to my niece of 23, a non reader, and she bought this book for 2 aunts and 2 co-workers who have in turn recommended it to friends as I have also done. God's ways are not our ways, but He is in control. AMEN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Cooney
Francine Rivers es un autor poderoso. De todos sus libros este tiene un mensaje muy impactante. Lo unico es que tiene demasiado detalles de la vida de una prostituta- No no recomendo para jovenes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amor Redentor (Redeeming Love)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivi Rivers
When I first read this book in its original language, I was so blessed that it moved me to e-mail the author and inquire about a copy in Spanish.. I can only hope that the it blesses my Spanish-speaking family as much as it has blessed me. It is a wonderful portrayal of God's Unconditional Love!! Su familia y amigos de habla hispana van a apreciarlo inmensamente!! Bendiciones!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.