Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)

Hendrickson Publishers Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)

For tens of thousands of Christians, Charles Haddon Spurgeon's Morning and Evening has been a daily devotional guide through life's ups and downs. But as time has passed, younger generations, nurtured on contemporary versions of the Bible and less familiar with Spurgeon's beautiful but sometimes difficult prose of the nineteenth century, have needed a devotional guide that made sense to them, written in their language, using the Scripture with which they are familiar. To that end, this new revised edition of Morning and Evening offers readers the best of the past - Spurgeon's insight and wise counsel - and the best of the present - the fresh, meaningful prose of the New International Version.
Average Customer Rating:
4.963 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Review 1 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book with great devotions.

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Serious
Location:Sandusky, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just started using this book with daily devotions. These devotions give a person a lot to think about, to dwell on. A great way to begin and end a day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it!

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Norman
Location:FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my husband. He loves it and reads it every day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grasshopper
Location:Medina, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So very up-lifting, & seems to say just what I need at any time! I love this book! I value it second only to my Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight into the scriptures!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Woody601
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles Spurgeon was blessed by God with wisdom into the scriptures. My husband was given this book for his birthday, and we often read it together, but I do read it everyday, a part of my daily devotions. This man can literally take five words out of the Bible, and preach a sermon on it...and not just any sermon or commentary, but one that often makes me cry, it is so insightful! This book is truly worth the price, and one I will read again and again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Richness of the English Language

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Nairobi, Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The devotional is timely plus the impeccable English makes it a good read because other than receiving encouragement from the Word of God, it makes for a good improver of word powere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book , great value .

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
JACarver
Location:freeville ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well worth getting for you devotions , easy to read daily ,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a beautiful devotional

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Rasmusson
Location:CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful devotional! I purchased this for my husband for Christmas & a different color for myself. We love this updated version of Charles Spurgeon's Morning & Evening. The cover is very much like leather, imprinted very nicely, & the font & layout of the book as very beautiful. The devotionals are meaty with Scripture references, & consistent in their content. It is medium sized & makes a great giftbook for anyone. Couldn't be happier with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly an inspiration.

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pridedixie
Location:Danville, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wake up and read and go to bed and read. You can live your whole life with this book and the Bible of course.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Morning and Evening NIV version - Charles Spurgeon

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda M
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Given to me as a gift - I now give it away as well! Expect more orders for this book from me! :) God continue to bless you! :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is easy to read and enjoy

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Countries50
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this version of Charles Spurgeon's Morning and Evening which is the New International Version which is easy to read and enjoy and understand. I have given it to friends and family and they also enjoy it and have ordered more to give to family and friends. It is the contemporary version of a devotional classic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charles Spurgeon was certainly inspired by the Holy Spirit to write such God-Praising devotionals
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heaven Sent!!!!!

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alymcaly
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I look forward to reading every morning and every evening.
I actually have to discipline my self to wait and not just read the whole thing straight thru.
Charles Spurgeon loves the Father, and I can't wait to meet him one day before the throne of Grace, where I know he sits at our heavenly Father's feet.
The encouragement I receive is boundless.
I have even begun to read it out loud to family members, who; by the way, now ask to hear more!
There can be no better praise then this, to me.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's what I expected.

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
slim
Location:Irons, Mi.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend of mine has the King James version and uses it for the devotion when it's his turn. we have a church mens breakfest twice a month at a local resturant. I fell in love with it and deciced to get my own copy. I prefered the NIV, but didn;t realize it would be a revised version. I am very happy with it.so far i've recomended it to several friends and plan on purchasing it as a gift for others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good revision of a devotional classic

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Bourbonnais, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a one page scripture based devotional for morning and evening of each day. These devotions are beautifully written and inspiring. The thoughts of Charles Spurgeon, though written over 100 years ago, are fresh in this edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danny
Location:Hamilton,NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is undoubtedly one huge gem of profound spiritual insight that never fails to challenge,inspire and enlighten the believer however many times it is read.Someday when our Heavenly Father has fulfilled His purposes for me in this world and takes me home to be with Him in heaven,brother Spurgeon will be one saint I'd love to seek out immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Wages
I love this devotional it is a insporation every morning and evening. Very well writting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melodee Mackinnon
I've been looking for a am & pm devotional. I am enjoying it! Seems like it would be a good fit for men or women. Thought provoking and a great way to end my day with the Lord. Would make a nice gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan DiGiacomo
I cannot read this devotional without my heart rising in awe towards the Lord. Spurgeon points me to Christ and helps me to see Him in fresh ways, to appreciate Him and grow in love for Him. I highly recommend this devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie Roman
Charles Spurgeon has succeeded again in writing another inspirational classic. The readings are clear and short enough to be accomplished in five minutes morning and evening, fitting into everyone's busy day. The metaphors are enlightening and fit the Bible passages cited at the top of each page. It encourages one to go to the actual Bible text of the passage and read further for additional understanding. It is just right as a spiritual devotional for all Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Morning & Evening: A Contemporary Version of the Devotional Classic (NIV)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gerald Manuel
I bought this as a gift. The person who received it says he has been able to not read it every morning and evening. Spurgeon's devotional is one of the most inspiring works in Christian literature, and this modern version brings it to a new gerenation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>