Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks

Thomas Nelson #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks

Isabel St. James is the resident drama coach and drama queen and she needs help putting together the church play after an automobile accident. After being forced to help, April's fall is now devoted to spending every afternoon with two drama queens, Isabel and April's older sister Myra Sue. If that's not bad enough, the new boy at school won't leave her alone, and then Mama drops the biggest bombshell of all-April Grace is no longer going to be the baby of the family . . . 304 pages, softcover from Thomas Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Review 1 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:December 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love April Grace and she comes back in the second novel with as much humor and smarts as she did in the first book! In this novel however things get pretty serious with her mother's pregnancy and the baby! My heart went out to April Grace and Myra Sue because I knew things would be okay, but I didn't know how bad it was going to get! Overall, it was a great read and I'm definitely looking forward to the third book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for teenagers!!

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
emmylou585
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clicks, Hicks and Ugly Sticks (Thomas Nelson, 2011) written by KD McCrite is the second in a series of books about April Grace. I have not read the first book but was able to pick up the story line from the very beginning. As you read the opening lines you learn that Isabel St. James is a recovering hypochondriac. She once thought she had hoof-and-mouth disease just because she skittered through the barnyard while the cows were there waiting to be milked.
The more I read the story, the more I wanted to learn more about 11-year-old April Grace who obviously must live on a farm. In the first chapter we learn so much about her--not just age, family, hair color--but that she tells things in her very own way like it really is and in a funny way.
In the story we learn that April must move in with her sister, Myra Sue, to give up her room for Isabel (the drama queen) and Ian St. James. Her sister is trailing after dumb ol' Isabel like she's the best thing since sliced bread. If that's not bad enough, April's starting Junior High and discovering how friends can really change over the summer, and not in a good way. Then her mother is not herself and starts being grouchy all the time. And then there's a boy at school who keeps looking at her. How is she supposed to deal with that situation when she has to spend so much time helping Isabel and Myra Sue?
I decided to read this book because I have a daughter who I think could relate to this story. It is a book that she will want to read from beginning to end.
I would highly recommend this book to teenagers as well as women who would love a have a chuckle now and then and related April Grace to their life when they were her age.
I was given permission from Thomas Nelson to review this book and give an honest opinion. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait to go back and read the first book and then hopefully the rest of the books in the April Grace series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for both young girls and adults!

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jelly Fish
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks is the second book in the Confessions of April Grace series by K.D. McCrite. This book is all about April Grace Riley and how she helps put together the church play, the new clique at school "the Lotties", her Grandma's boyfriend, and doing Algebra.
I enjoyed reading this book and the first book, too! I got the first book, "In Front of God and Everybody" at a conference, so I was excited when I found out that I could review the second one. This is a hilarious book, because of April Grace's sense of humor with her confessions! One of my favorite parts was when April Grace accidentally leaves all of her school books at her house when she leaves for school.
This is a great book, and it is enjoyable for both young girls and adults. I definitely recommend reading it!
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny and Sweet young adult novel

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just LOVED the teenager, April Grace.
Her voice is so unique, quirky and funny and sarcastic and surprising. I laughed out loud while reading this book more than five times, which is extremely rare for me, except when I'm reading Georgette Heyer (but that's another thing altogether).
I loved to see her struggle and see her grow, I loved her disarming honesty to herself (and the reader) and I loved what she learned about family and relationships with God.
I didn't care about how her mother was portrayed, it left me feeling cold and I am sure that was not the intent of the author, and also I tought there were many things going exceptionally wrong with the church and everyone's conceptions of God and what is right in His eyes. I would not recommend this book if that's what you are interested in reading about, because it is a very minor if at all part of the whole thing.
Otherwise, it was a sweet and funny coming-of-age story, and only if the 'church' element was missing, it would make a wonderful young adult or middle grade novel.
Rating: 4/5
I received this book from Booksneeze in exchange for an honest review.
review originally posted on my blog bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

we love April Grace (great books for tweens!)

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVED it! I loved the first April Grace book I read and this book was just as great if not better. April Grace is such a great likable character. I love this series of book for tweens. Tween girls need a lot more books like this. Books that show life is not all roses but that family is always there for you, even if they drive you batty sometimes. This book is such a great book that shows it is hard growing up and navigating that new path into tween dom. If you have a tween girl go to your library or bookstore and grab Cliques, Hicks and Ugly Sticks while your there grab the first one In Front of God and Everyone
thank you booksneeze for allowing me to review this ebook. I enjoyed it a lot and glad to have it for my tween! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Megan And I made a great memory reading this

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
simplyraising8
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brought laughter and tears to My Daughter (10) and I when we read it to each other. It is set in the 80’s and middle school. The town feels a lot like the one I grew up in small, Church on Sunday and country like. April Grace lives with her mom and dad and has one older sister. As if life is not already complicated enough with the changes that come with middle school, Live in houseguests and a Grandma that has a few too many suitors, April’s mom becomes pregnant. The live in who does not believe in god becomes the director of the church play while April’s mom is on bed rest and it makes quite an interesting story. Read this story with your Daughter and it is sure not to disappoint you. This is part of a series and I cannot wait for the next one. The book gave lots of opportunity for discussion with my daughter about how she felt when I became pregnant, what it’s like at school at her age and many other things. Megan thought that the grandma having so many men she was dating was a bad addition to the story but I thought it showed the reality of grandparents dating after divorce or the death of a spouse. We cannot wait to read the next in the series and wish we had not missed the first.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have express in my reviews are my own. They are based on mine and/or my children’s reactions to the book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun and Sweet Story

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was an adorable middle grade story, with some deep topics. April Grace's mother had some really tough times with her pregnancy. While it was really good storytelling, it put April Grace through a lot of stress and heartache, and since she's so young it was hard to read about sometimes. She was so strong and never wanted to add to her parents' stress over the baby, so she internalized a lot of own pain. Of course, the story isn't all heartache, there are lots of more typical everyday issues explored in the book. It's a nice balance of tough issues and everyday middle school problems, instead of all fluff.
I love how strong April Grace is, she is a great role model, especially at that tough age when boys and clothes and makeup start to take over common sense. She stands up for herself and doesn't let the cliques at school run her life. Her family has some very accurate observations on why cliques are the way they are.
I thoroughly enjoyed April Grace's story and I would love to read the other books in the series. Her authentic southern charm really won me over.
Book was sent by publisher in exchange for honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book for tweens girls and growing up

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica Blankenship
Location:Scottsville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April Grace Reilly is having everything within her world change so fast. Her friends from elementary school have turned into people she barely recognizes as they head for middle school.
Aprils mom seems to be acting different, and her family has also taken in Mr. and Mrs. St. James while their house is being fixed up.
This girl is a wear her heart on her sleeve kind of girl. She is learning there are life matters that she can change, and then there are those that she can’t. She’s learning to be patient and tolerate the things she can’t help in the world.
This is a book targeted to tween girls, a book written in an open and honest tone about the difficulties of getting older during this time.
I would recommend reading this along with your daughter, and sharing with her that everybody changes and grows up and that it isn’t a big deal for people to be forming cliques, but the gossip and troublemaking during these years get worse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Walton's in the 80's

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cliques, Hicks, and Ugly Sticks: Confessions of April Grace" by K.D. McCrite is a really cute story for late-elementary-age girls. If you have a young daughter, I recommend this book, the second in a series, to her and to you. (I still remember loving it at that age when my mom read the books I was reading!)
April Grace is an 11-year-old girl entering her first semester of junior high. The story is set in the 80’s. (Does that make it an historical novel?! Oh, my! Can't be.) Yet April Grace, her family, and her community reminded me of the Walton’s and their little town. So picture Elizabeth in 80’s attire, and you know what April Grace is like. (She even has the red hair!)
Along with the normal challenges of junior high, April Grace must deal with unwanted house guests who take her older sister’s room forcing her sister to move into hers, her mom’s surprise and difficult pregnancy, and her placement under protest in the church’s Christmas play. Life is hard for this spunky, little girl. And she very honestly shares all of her feelings!
Yet she survives and learns many valuable life lessons along the way. Themes regarding family, community, compassion, self-esteem, forgiveness, and living out one’s faith are subtly woven throughout this fun story.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary eCopy for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.