Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Sushi for One? - eBook

Zondervan Sushi for One? - eBook

When Lex Sakai's young relative gets married, Lex becomes the oldest single cousin left---and prime prey for her matchmaking grandmother. Lex is on the lookout herself, using guidelines from the Book of Ephesians---but the only guy who seems interested isn't athletic, employed, or even Christian! How could he be the one? 352 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sushi for One? - eBook
Review 1 for Sushi for One? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sushi Series Book 1

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sushi For One? By Camy Tang
Sushi Series Book 1
Alexis Sakai's life has just taken a few unexpected turns. The biggest one is that her grandma has declared she gets a serious boyfriend or else. And yes, her grandma has the power to enforce or else. Lex finds that going against Grandma can be like trying to climb a waterfall. She does keep running into one guy but he just don't fit her list of what she wants in a man.
This story is both serious and humorous. Four cousins have become Christians and they still struggle with their new beliefs at times. This series is about these four gals and their struggles with life and family. As the next four oldest single girls they are in the sights of the family. And it's a very, very large family. I find the story to be captivating and held my attention so it was hard to put it down.
Book 1.1 is The Sushi Toss, which is a short, free read on Camy Tang's blog. The Series continues with Trish's story in Only Uni, Venus's tale in Single Sashimi and finishes with Jennifer in Weddings and Wasabi.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Keley
This book is a must!! What a graceful witness. Through the honesty of feelings shared and humility of the characters testimony, evolving through the pages, this is a must read! It will be a balm to a hurting heart, and a lift to a sagging walk
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jolene
This book is very easy reading, extremely entertaining, so uplifting and totally hilarious!! There were many times when my husband would stop me and demand to know why I was laughing so hard. I found myself rooting for the main character (Lex), silently cheering her on and encouraging her to trust in our Heavenly Father. The plot is great and the conversations very real (I'm Chinese, I understand and appreciate all the Chinese/Asian humour, and I'm a girl so I immediately felt connected to Lex). Most of all this book leaves you wanting more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lainee
Sushi For One was a very good read! I was hooked right from the beginning, and read the whole book in about 2 hours. I really liked reading about Asian culture as it wasn't something I was familiar with. Camy Tang did a great job on this book and I can't wait to read the stories about the rest of the cousins!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
I love Sushi for One! I found it to be a very enjoyable read. Camy Tang writes very well and the story drew me in right away. I am not very familiar with Asian culture so I also enjoyed learning more through the eyes of the main character.I thoroughly enjoyed Camy's characters. I think she did an amazing job of helping the reader "get to know" them and their idiosyncrasies. If you are looking for a great read give Camy Tang's Sushi for One a try! You won't be sorry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina
I'm a big fan of chick lit, and I'm really glad to have picked up Camy's Sushi series. In Sushi for One?, there was so much happening in the story that I felt like I was watching a TV series. I couldnt let the book go because of all the enjoyable characters and scenes Lexs very annoying grandmother, her silly brother who keeps on setting her up with every guy he meets, Aiden, the silent observer and her physical therapist, Mimi, the flirtier cousin and her three closest cousins and friends, Trish, Venus and Jenn. Even if there was a lot happening, everything went well together and was somehow significant as the story goes on.Lex reminded me of myself, and consequently, my other character in my 2006 NaNoWriMo novel, Rain. She was such a control freak, and I knew that if I was thrown into her position (thank God for not having a grandmother like hers!), I would probably be doing the same thing. I felt sorry for her when she lost everything, and sympathized even more when the people she trusted to be there left her alone. As the praise on the back of the book said, I definitely started rooting for Lex until the very end, which was indeed very satisfying.The faith issue in the novel is melded quite well. I loved the scene where Lex finally surrendered it gave me tears when I re-read the part and realized what was really happening. And Im definitely curious about how the Christ painting looked like. I bet Id be crying like a baby once I saw it. The ending felt a bit rushed with all the events that happened one after the other, but it was still a nice wrap-up. Sushi for One? is such a fun book, and it inspired me to continue writing my own chick lit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheri Boeyink
I was entertained and challenged after the first few pages. Hooked right away. I read it in two days. It made me laugh, but yet warmed my heart with the emotion and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
"Sushi For One?", Camy Tang's freshman "sushi series" novel, is amazing! Camy is witty and intelligent with a sparkling personality, and this comes through in her writing. I can almost see her character's quirky relatives at my own family reunions only with a more European appearance. Lex has some issues. The least of which is certainly not her grandmother, who wants her to be married. When grandma tells her to have a boyfriend by the time her cousin gets married, Lex must find a man to bring to the wedding who will pass grandma's scrutinous inspection. If Lex fails, grandma will stop sponsoring the junior high girls volleyball team that Lex coaches. This book made me laugh so hard! It also made me cry. The writing style is wonderful - I sat down and read over 100 pages in almost no time. I will definitely look for more books by Camy Tang!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
I hesitated to start this series because I had read several reviews that claimed it was shallow and all about yummy food, body type, and bad dates. But what can I say--this book tempted me like a good dose of chocolate, I gave in, and I'm glad I did. I'm not really a tomboy, so I didn't think Lex would be someone I could identify with, but she's a well-developed, sweet, sassy girl worth rooting for, and Aiden is, in many ways, her perfect match. I also found myself empathizing with Lex during the physical therapy scenes, having been through a lot of those for most of my life due to a disability--although thank goodness none of my therapists were as tough as Aiden! :) The family dynamics are great, also, and despite the whole "yummy food" criticism, I actually enjoyed hearing about the ins and outs of Asian-American cookery and culture. My only criticism is that Lex's Ephesians List seems to be quite a stretch when compared to what Ephesians actually says, but on the other hand, it does keep Lex from being a goody-goody or phony about her faith. When I finished this one, I was more than ready to go back for seconds!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda Snow
Poor Lex. A twenty-something Asian-American that is obsessed with volleyball, loves her culture and the Lord, and is completely fed up with her meddling family. Her grandmother, insists that Lex find a boyfriend before her cousins summer wedding, or else she will stop sponsoring the volleyball team that Lex is passionate about coaching. What Lex really wants to concentrate on is finding a new job, moving out of her dads house, and getting a spot on a prestigious volleyball team where she can finally showcase her skills. Her grandmothers ultimatum has put her in a tight spot. Lex doesnt want to fail her girls volleyball team, but she also doesnt want to fail herself either or God either by rushing into something she just isn't ready for.Suffering through several hilarious dates and mishaps all along the way, Lex is determined not to let the girls down. Romance is somewhat difficult for her, but if she shows fear, Lex knows shell run the potential man of her dreams off, exactly what she does not want to do. Through disasters, injuries, and backstabbing family members, Lex never forgets her connection to God. Is it weird that my favorite part of this book is the food descriptions? Ok, maybe not my favorite, but you have no idea how delicious and tantalizing the dishes sound! It seemed like every page I turned I was craving something else yummy. By the end, I didnt care what it was; I needed some Asian cuisine in my life! Camy Tang truly has a knack for description and not just with the food. Her descriptions of each of Lexs relatives and their hilarious antics was right on the ball, as was her subtle influx of Christian beliefs. The book is very much a Christian fiction novel, but in no way was it preachy or too much, which I loved. I know that all the readers of this book were really rooting for Lex, not only in finding a man that would love her for exactly who she was, but also for all the other positives that Lex really has in her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heidi Endicott
This book showcases Lex Sakai and her struggles with faith, family and friends while continuing on her life journey. Will she find the man of her dreams despite the demands of her family? Will she meet the man of her dreams as she follows her Ephesians guidelines? This book is one of the most fantastic chick-lit books I have read in years!! I read this book in ONE NIGHT, it was that fantastic!! You will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa (ForstRose)
This book is delightfully silly in places without being shallow. It makes for some good lighter weight reading in between the emotional roller coasters and tense suspense novels that twist my stomach into knots. Lex and her cousins have to band together because they are all the "next" OSFC (oldest single female cousin) after the family's spring wedding. What does being the OSFC mean, well in Lex's family it means Grandma isn't going to leave you alone till you're practically married and she thinks he's the right one. When Grandma decides it's your turn in this family, life will be miserable if you let her dictate the rules and if you decide to run your life on your terms or anyone's besides hers for that matter it gets even more miserable. Lex as the first in line after Mariko's wedding gets the brunt of Grandma in this book as well as the rest of the family trying to help. Finally Lex and her three closest in age cousins (Jenn, Trish and Venus), who will be next in line after Lex for the matchmaking attempts of the entire family, realize it will take all of them working together to outsmart Grandma and still manage to stick to their convictions where dating is concerned. This in itself is a whole kettle of fish because the four girls are Christians and Grandma is still enmeshed in Japanese Buddhist beliefs so thinks the girls are just playing the "he's got to be a Christian" card to reject all her offerings of young men. In this book Lex experiences any number of lessons about faith, love, discernment and obedience along with her cousins. I think the biggest thing for Lex in this book is letting go and trusting God enough to leave the outcomes up to him instead of trying to make it work her way. This is a great read for those who are single whether you are "looking" for a relationship or content to stay single and for anyone single or not who either has family and friends that insist they need a significant other NOW! or knows someone single in that position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2008
I finished this book on the weekend and cant wait for Only Uni to be released.Lex is a Sports mad Asian girl who loves nothing more than playing Volleyball. Her Grandmother has different ideas of what Lex should be doing.With her cousin soon to be married, Lex is now the oldest single female cousin and is now being singled out by her grandmother.Everyone seems to be trying to set her up with suiters but could the right one be under her nose?I enjoyed the way Camy explained the Japanese/Chinese customs and the importance of family events. I really felt for Lex at times and I did relate very well to some of the incidents that happened to her, and thought it added to the book.I found the book really good and the more I read the more I just couldnt put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah Katie
Sushi for one? (What a great title, by the way)What can I say about this book? I pretty much LOVED it. I love Camys style of using humor and serious situations together. I was totally rooting for Lex; shes one of the most memorable and realistic heroines Ive ever read about(and Ive read a lot)*Smile*. Im not that hot on volleyball but Camy has addressed it in such a way that I didnt feel lost. Lexs family reminds me of my big fat Greek wedding, which speaks for itself. Camy has all the quirkiness of a memorable author and all the brilliance of a seasoned one. The glossary in the back cracked me up! I cant wait to read the others in this fantastic series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Missy Tippens
I loved this book! I laughed out loud so many times that my kids finally asked me what on earth I was reading. Fun, touching, and very entertaining, Sushi for One? is a book I highly recommend. Camy Tang has an excellent deubt novel, and I look forward to reading the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
L CLARK
I so love this book!It's like My Big Fat Greek wedding but with differences.....1) it's Asian instead of Greek, and 2) the main girl and her 3 close girl cousins are Christians;totally awesome!I read it in one day. and I've gotten my library to get the series.....Sushi for One? is already checked out again at my library......I can hardly wait for book 2!!I love Ms. Tang's humor....I started laughing on page 2 and really never stopped!!!You guys should get the pack that has book 1&2....trust me....if you liked My Big Fat Greek Wedding but want a Christian version (and better) get this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri
Wow, what a page turner! Enter into the Japanese culture in this Asian twist on Chick Lit. The author Camy Tang will have you in stitches in this hilarious romance. This reviewer just couldnt put this awesome book down and once you finish the novel youll be wanting more from Tang. Check out the glossary of Asian words (Camy style) at the back of the book and pick up some new words along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was a lighthearted, funny, interesting read, and opened the door just a bit into the Asian culture. So many Christian books are either very heavy subject matter or are somewhat cheesy; I appreciated a book that was able to be humorous without being silly (for the most part). I definitely would recommend this book for a fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
In some ways, reading Camy Tangs debut novel "Sushi for One" is like a dining experience at a great Chinese restaurantan exotic buffet of quirky and engaging characters, a simmering plot of sweet and sour fun, and a hefty wasabi-dose of sass and humor. Oh, and yeah, a short time after you finish this enjoyable meal youre hungry for more!My first clue I was going to like this book was the covera beautiful, contemporary Asian woman stares you down, her head cocked and hand on her hip, almost daring you to look inside. When you do, you are reeled in by a cast of unforgettable characters and a fun and well-written story as sharp and sassy as the lady on the cover. Enter Lex Sakai, a 30-year-old sporty and no-frills kind a gal who butts heads with her grandma, a pit-bull matriarch who strikes fear in the hearts of Lex and her three female cousins over their marital status (or lack thereof). Grandma threatens to pull funding of the girls club volleyball team Lex coaches if Lex doesnt come up with a boyfriend fast. The lineup of comical suitors that Grandma sends her way gives Lex more heartburn than a trip to a really bad sushi bar, especially given a dark secret from her past thats soured her taste for romance. Nonetheless, armed with a boyfriend checklist based on Ephesians and faith in God, Lex is determined to make a match that will please her grandmother. Imagine her surprise when God has an unlikely match in mind to please her as well. Camy Tangs writing is witty, crisp and fresh with a spiritual message that makes this taste of Asian chick-lit truly satisfying. Do yourself a favor and go out for Chinese Sushi for One definitely hits the spot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sushi for One? - eBook
This review is fromSushi for One? Sushi Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kristy
This is a really fun and easy book to read and I would definitely plan to read the following books that Camy is writing. I like how Lex ends up with a guy who is perfect for her but doesn't fit what SHE'S always thought would be perfect for her--this has recently happened to me. :) Lex's family is a bit freaky and seem unbelievable but apparently they are based on truth...thank goodness I don't live with them!! There are a lot of real-to-life scenarios played out in Lex's life and it is anything but easy for her but definitely a time for growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>