Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook

Zondervan The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook

A narrative interview story of how a dozen people moved from various forms of spirituality to come to Christ as Lord. Listen in on the interviews of individuals who had been part of Mormonism, Judaism, Hinduism, atheism, Jehovah's Witnesses, Wicca, agnosticism, Buddhism, Islam, Unitarianism, new ageism, and Satanism.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Review 1 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Job

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This great book take you through the account of people that were deceived by cults and their journey to Jesus Christ and the salvation He offers. The author talk to people coming out of everything from witchcratft and satanism, to islam and mormonism. I found the personal testimonies very powerful and moving, I love reading stories like this because it reminds me of just what a powerful God we love. He can redeem anyone from anything. I think that anyone who is interested in helping others out of the deception they have fallen into could find this book extremely helpful, however I would caution just giving this book out as a witnessing tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Know your audience before you give it away

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Russ
Location:Dayville, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While "Unexpected" was assigned reading for an evangelism class, I realized the best use in that setting is to remind the believer, no matter how long it has been since your re-birth - and no matter how much learning you have gained along the way, it is good to remember Jesus Saves and Transforms lives.
Being more familiar with the other works of Rainer, I found his approach in this work refreshing and personal - both in the stories he shared from the lives of others and his own. Sharing his struggles, far from distracting, lends naturally to the post-modern genre. So while I would not buy "Unexpected" to learn how to witness or defend my faith (as it really does neither), I would buy it for those who consider themselves post-modern as the idea of "being on a journey" and "share how this has meant something to you" they would find relevant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2 words : BUY IT! You'll not be sorry

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book a couple of times ago and truly I'm glad I did!!
I thought about posting a review to encourage others who might be wanting to buy this. Evangelism is one of THE most important things to me and frankly shouldn't it be for us all, as our Lord Jesus would want it? Anyways, God Bless Dr. Rainer and his wife - seriously. I love the humbling way they approached this. Did anyone apart me say amen when he said that we should not preach unbelievers with "my belief is superior to yours" as our approach?
The book does not justify, nor condemns the other religions but it does give a little background of them as the people tell their story.
Wonderful - truly Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting for our Christian faith

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book really helps strengthen your Christian faith to see it's the only way to salvation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The good things about this book

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heimdal
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed those stories and wish there would be another book so that there is a great testimony for each state of the United States. It was so refreshing to see how God works in the lives of those people and what difference a christian can make when he truly shows the love of Christ rather than only speak about it. The only reserve I have about this book is that the author tends to speak to much of himself (his food preference, holidays in Florida and the likes), without this the book would be perfect and a valuable gift to be passed around.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Joan Bigden
The book was fascinating, very well written and informative. It gave thumbnail sketches of the basics of other beliefs than Christianity. More importantly it stated the number of people that it takes to win one person to Christ and the simple key that has proven most effective. I was informed, challenged, and convicted in my need to walk the walk before my fellow man.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
peter alden
Excellent book! Greatly encouraging stories how God, in His wonderful grace and sovereignty, overcomes very dreadful situations, destructive life experiences and enslaving worldviews to draw people to Himself. The power of prayer and Christ-like love is highlighted. Your faith will be strengthened and your adoration of God will be enhanced. We used this book for a small group study and it was very equipping. A member of my group used the chapter of the Jehovah Witness coming to Christ to effectively deal with her JW co-worker. You will be encouraged to more boldly share Christ with family, friends and even strangers. You will be blessed by this book. Psalm 20:1-5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
jjanis21
This book was exactly what I was looking for. It shows how we can reach anyone by showing God's Love. I wish this book could have been longer to hear more and more. You will enjoy each person's story and not want to put your book down.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Unexpected Journey: Conversations with People Who Turned from Other Beliefs to Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth Ann
This is an excellent book. It is full of short chapters that describe different religions/beliefs and how each one found true life in Jesus. It is an easy to read book that gives practical insights and reminds us how real and life-changing Jesus is today.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.