Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Tehran Initiative, Softcover

Tyndale House The Tehran Initiative, Softcover

The countdown to disaster begins after Iran conducts its first atomic weapons test! Israel fears the Twelfth Imam---the supposed Muslim messiah---will order a nuclear attack. And Washington is worried that Jerusalem could launch a pre-emptive strike against Iran. Can CIA operative David Shirazi sabotage Iran's nuclear warheads before the Middle East erupts in flames? Softcover, from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 out of 5298%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Review 1 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
plm6846
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosenberg books are the best and this one did not disappoint! Very facinating facts, he contiued with his characters that kept one rivited to the book until the end. Can't wait until the next one for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Joel's writings.

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Joel's writings and even though fiction; very thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terhan Initiative

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
TLynnCh
Location:Meadville, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel Rosenberg has hit another home run. This book is a continuation of the Twelfth Imam. Mr. Rosenberg is uncanny in describing current events before they happen, I can't wait for the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tehran Initiative by Joel C. Rosenberg was exciting! A great sequel to The Twelfth Imam. It was fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dale
Location:Westminster, VT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This would be pure pleasure reading if it weren't so close to what I'm reading in headlines these days. Good read - hard to put down. This was my first experience reading Joel's books. I just ordered The Last Jihad series to read more of his work. Keep em coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome read

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read and reviewed the first book in this series, The Tweflth Imam, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I couldn't wait for the next book to come out, and it finally did. It starts where the first book left off and launches right into fast-paced drama, suspense, and international intrigue.
Rosenberg has created a great character in David Shirazi. He is a CIA agent, but is a very complex individual. I enjoyed reading more about him and seeing even more character development done on him.
Joel Rosenberg knows his "stuff." Although this is a fictional series, he brings a lot of non-fiction into the books. I liked The Tehran Initiative even more than the first book and could not put it down until I finished it. Awesome book. I am looking forward to the next one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Sequel

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Little Man in China
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tehran Initiative by Joel Rosenberg is book two in a series covering the rise of the Mahdi, also called the Twelfth Imam, the messiah figure of Islamic eschatology. Required reading, in my opinion, before any reader jumps into this book or its prequel, The Twelfth Imam (2010), is Rosenberg's most recent non-fiction piece, Inside the Revolution (2008). For anyone too young to know the details of what took place in Iran during the Carter administration, or too non-Muslim to know a thing about Islamic eschatology, a solid grasp of both these historical events and the religious bents of current Middle Eastern leaders, specifically those in Iran, is essential.
I have praised Rosenberg's writing elsewhere, and I must here again. While it had been a while since I read The Twelfth Imam, the storyline came back to me quickly as I got into Tehran. While I did find the central chapters sluggish and a slight chore to get through---it focused much on relationships with very little suspense or action---I finished the final quarter of the book as if it were a matter of pages. Rosenberg has fitted his newest novel with action, intrigue, a little innocent love, and even the Gospel message in a plot-substantive way. Once again, I cannot wait for the next installment to this fantastic series.
Joel Rosenberg is a Christian author who does so much more than write fiction: he is a respected speaker and authority on Middle Eastern relations, is a die-hard advocate for Israel's peaceful existence, and has also recently been the Number One watchdog against Iranian aggression. Check out his blog and keep yourself informed. I highly recommend it.
©2011 E.T.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always enjoy Rosenburg's books

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
norwes
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly enjoyed the book, looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book continues the series wonderfully!! I highly recommend reading it. Believe it or not, I think that there was more action in this book than the first. It was great to read about these wonderful characters again. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent summer thrill ride

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
alfamania
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Shirazi is back! And so is the other cast of characters in the second installment of Rosenberg's new political thriller series which could have easily been plucked from today's headlines. The Tehran Initiative sees the return of CIA operative Shirazi working undercover to foil the plans of Iran's leadership to initiate a pre-emptive nuclear strike against Israel. Shirazi equally plays his role well as a government operative working under the auspices of the CIA and under the guise of a telecommunications salesman for an international company, seeking to provide Iran with a new communications infrastructure for their new leadership, which has bas been essentially taken over by the purported Twelfth Imam, miraculously revealing himself as the long awaited Muslim Messiah. Reminiscent of a charismatic leader who is essentially handed over a kingdom, the Imam poses a formidable threat in many respects, not just politically, but to followers of assorted religions as well. Mandated by his government handlers, Shirazi battles not only his clearly identifiable enemies, but more importantly, his inner struggles to learn the truth of who really is the Messiah. A great addition to the series, and it was thoroughly enjoyed, particularly the analytic skills demonstrated by Shirazi's love interest, Marseille Harper, who discovers a secret about Shirazi which has a profound impact. Bring on the third installment Mr. Rosenberg!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

made chill bumps on me

Date:June 29, 2012
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now read several of Rosenberg's novels and this one like the rest makes me laugh ,cry, praise the Lord and puts chill bumps on me all at the same time. A definite read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Follow Up to The Twelfth Imam

Date:June 27, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
David Shirazi is back with more secrets than ever. After successfully extracting Iran's top nuclear scientist, David is confronted with a race against time as he desperately tries to track down missing nuclear war heads and top political operatives while following the events happening in the rest of the world and at home.
In this sequel to The Twelfth Imam, more details are revealed as we continue to learn what is really going on in this alternate future where the new leader of Iran is reestablishing the Caliphate and nuclear armageddon is looming. The plot is redolent with details, and the author does a masterful job at tying up the loose ends and eliminating possible plot holes.
However, while the first book was definitely action driven, much of this book is stuck in committee, focusing on dialogues between characters that I sometimes had trouble keeping straight. The politics in this novel are as confusing as in real life, and everyone may or may not have a double motive.
Violence is here again in plenty, including shootings, beatings, water boarding, other forms of torture, earthquakes, bombings, and what not. The descriptions are not overly graphic, and the fast pace of the novel keeps you from dwelling on these disturbing scenes too deeply. In fact, most of the characters don't seem to be too shaken either. At one point in the story, when a main character finds himself tortured by supposed allies, he finds himself almost immediately back at work without any seriously debilitating pain or trauma. In the author's eagerness to move on with the story, perhaps he sacrificed the reality behind what it means to have human beings purposely inflicting severe mental and physical pain on other human beings, and in the process lessened the sense of reality the book worked so hard to create.
Religion continues to be a central theme, specifically Islamic mythology and conflict between Islam and the rest of the world, including Jews and Christians. Evangelism begins to play a crucial part in the plot, as does reading the scripture, prayer, and faith. The author does a good job in keeping these aspects relevant to the story and characters, rather than laying it on the top like an artificial veneer.
There are no notes in the back of the book citing Mr. Rosenberg's sources and inspirations. This is something included in the first novel which I sorely missed in this sequel.
I'd recommend this book to a reader who enjoys the spy thriller genre but also has the patience to wade through pages of explanatory dialogue where nothing terribly exciting happens. This book requires a significant time and patience investment to finish, but finishing rewards the reader with another installment in a very good suspense series. Thumbs up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmie
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keep them coming very good program for reaching the lost sheep!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Frighteningly Plausible and also a must read!!

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ken Bumgarner
Location:Guangzhou, China
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another outstanding and insightful effort from Mr. Rosenburg and also well worth the read. Based on sound theology and a very accurate reading of the goals of Islam and the cultures of the Middle East Mr. Rosenburg weaves a frighteningly plausible scenario that may be playing out in the headlines even now. Please take note of the Grand Mufti's statement from Mecca recently concerning Christian churches in Muslim and increasingly Muslim lands.
If you want to know the root causes for the activity in Iran and the Middle East, read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Clark
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Timely story which is almost surreal in its timing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I completely enjoyed this book

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Penny Pincher
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all Rosenberg's writing. I feel like I can't put the book down until I'm done reading! Keeps me on the edge of my seat, too, with all the suspense!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

book is fine

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
iraf
Location:Irvine, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By their own response to me the reader is just not a finished product.on my android tablet each page was missing words or sentances. It made for an awful reading experience. -
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
weaseleyes
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel Rosenburg is an awesome author. His stories really grab you. I had trouble putting this one down. I can hardly wait for the next part of the story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoy Joel Rosenberg's books immensely

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
geoden
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Twelfth Imman series. In this series Mr. Rosenberg has even written better and developed characters better than in his previous books. The events in The Tehran Initiative are so real that I have a hard time separating the news that is happening right now in Iran and the Middle East from what I read in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Tehran Initiative, Softcover
This review is fromThe Tehran Initiative - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series is so riveting, a real page turner

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa H
Location:Auburndale, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This could really be happening. It really makes you think about the world today and all that is happening. Excellent and thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.