Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Violet Dawn - eBook

Zondervan Violet Dawn - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Violet Dawn - eBook
Review 1 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book will grab hold of you from the first chapter! Paige Williams has had a tough time sleeping so she decides to take a dip in the hot tub on her deck along the back of the house she is renting. She just lays back to enjoy the stars and the warm water when something brushes against her leg. She thinks nothing of it and continues to try to relax, but it happens again. What is in the hot tub with her?
Paige Williams has had a very difficult childhood and teenage years. She has left her former hometown on the run, but from whom? What has she done that would warrant someone searching for her extensively? She currently works at a small gift shop in town for the past month, ever since she came to Kanner Lake. She has no friends, no family, and wants to keep it that way initially. She does find herself longing for a best friend or a sister to share things with, but her past keeps her from reaching out to anyone.
Paige becomes a suspect in the disappearance of a has-been celebrity as the two had a run-in at the gift shop. Paige denies having anything to do with her disappearance, but a subsequent search of her house reveals potential implicating evidence. Now, the police chief, Vince Edwards, has reason to believe more happened than just a kidnapping, perhaps murder has been done. Paige appears awfully nervous when Vince talks to her. Is she just not wanting to talk about her past or is she guilty of murder? We see flashbacks of a young girl named Rachel and her horrendous life growing up. How is she connected to Kanner Lake?
There are other characters involved in the story such as a fledgling reporter trying to make a name for herself and thinks the Williams case could be the break she is looking for. There is the couple who own the local coffee shop and their battles with finances. The police chief himself is dealing with the grief of a son lost in war and the effects of that even on his marriage. There also is a guy who spends most of his time in another reality of his own creation as he is writing a novel. All of these characters are easily relatable to someone we all know at one point or another in our lives.
This is a page-turner that will keep you glued to your seat, reading nonstop. At the end of the story, we see Paige realizes God has given her a second chance at life, and she is going to grab hold and not let go. Look for upcoming reviews of other books in the Kanner Lake Series right here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
dottie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sorry to say, but this series of books I have had to pull from the church library. There is too much violence in these books. Several of my patrons have complained.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
----My Favorite Author!!!----Brandilyn Collins is an author you can trust for a consistent, strong read, and she doesn't disappoint in this first release in the Kanner Lake series. The book provides a large cast of characters--as if the town itself is a character--and yet makes us care about the individuals central to the action. Collins is also excellent at weaving in scenes of backstory between current action, deepening the mystery and making us hungry for more. Her point of view shifts are deliberately placed to tighten the screws and the resolution highly satisfying. If you've never read anything by Collins, you're missing a treat...."But once you've read just one in anyone of Brandilyn's Seatbelt Suspense Stories..." You'll find out why "we can't get enough of her!...(The Kanner Lake Series is awesome, So is "The Hidden Faces Series") .... Hmmm, They are "ALL" Excellent Suspense Novels!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Barbieri
IThis book certainly made me want to read the rest of this series. Good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Hi, my name is Tracy, and Im an addict! I have just finished the book Violet Dawn, which is the first in the Kanner Lake Series by Brandilyn Collins. Brandilyn is known for her trademark Seatbelt Suspense and with Violet Dawn she did not disappoint. If you like suspense and drama this book is for you. Of course, it is a page turner and after reading it, youll probably think twice before jumping into a darkened hot tub The characters are completely believable and enjoyable. Continually, I wanted to reach through the book to hug Paige, the main character, who had good reasons for her fear and loneliness. I generally enjoy the MCs in the books I read, but this is the first time I remember feeling true empathy for one. In addition, Brandilyn paints a wonderful picture of the small town of Kanner Lake, complete with beautiful north Idaho nature and quirky townsfolk. I loved the setting, the shops and the people. The whole murder thing aside, I really wanted to pack up my stuff and move there. This really was a thrilling read and Im glad I started. Its time now for me to get my next fix. Coral Moon, Im coming for you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhonda
My first Brandilyn Collins book and I was quite impressed. It was a definite page turner. I am currently reading the second in the series "Coral Moon" and like the first, I have trouble putting it down! The short chapters makes the reading faster as well. I look forward to getting the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Waite
My first time to read Brandilyn Collins, I was quite surprised during the first chapter that this was a choice for our church Book Club. However, it drew me in. Graphic and violent without being "graphic and violent" in the usual manner of popular culture today. Ms. Collins does an excellent job of leaving some things unsaid while letting us know exactly what happened. The back and forth from present to past provided a cliff-hanger at the end of each chapter. The discussion questions provided on the Kanner Lake website provided me with better insight as to how this could be used for a church Book Club discussion of damaged, hurt people and how they might face and begin to overcome a past that simply cannot be erased or forgotten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diana Chinn
I love this author and she had me finding it hard to put this book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Paige Williams finds herself in a terrifying situation and faces a horrible decision. She knows that any choice she makes will force worse circumstances upon her, but she has no idea of the danger in which she will entangle herself as her clumsy attempts to influence her future place her on a collision course with death.The newest thriller series by Brandilyn Collins starts with a shock, and Collins deftly weaves a tight plot that takes place within a twenty-four hour time frame. While her earlier suspense novels evidence good writing and story lines, Violet Dawn showcases the authors finely honed skills in suspense writing, especially in the area of characterization. At the moment readers wonder about characters skills or motives, Collins supplies the answers, showing great planning and forethought on her part. With the Kanner Lake Series, Collins launches into the realm of great inspirational suspense writing. I look forward to reading Coral Moon, the second in the Kanner Lake Series, which is already garnering rave reviews.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Paige Williams life couldn't get any worse after her tragic childhood....or so she thought! When she bumps up against a dead body while relaxing in her spa she quickly reconsiders. Terrified of the past coming back to haunt her, Paige chooses a dangerous and harrowing path.In Violet Dawn, the continually impressive Brandilyn Collins, introduces the small town of Kanner Lake, with it's beautiful lake, haunting forest and vibrant community brimming with entertaining and unique characters. Bailey Truitt, owner of the Java Joint faithfully prays for her town while struggling with her husband's injuries, spunky journalist Leslie Brymes always on the lookout for the "big one", S-man, the intense novelist who speakes in his own sci-fi language and Wilbur Hucks with his propensity to partially disrobe at a moment's notice!The pacing and suspense is tight, balancing well with genuine character development that has become Brandilyn's trademark. Flashbacks provide essential backstory without disruption and descriptions of the killer's inmost thoughts are chilling and revealing. You really can't go past a Brandilyn Collins' book if you are looking for, as she calls it, seatbelt suspense! Strap yourself in and hold on tight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jill Nelson
Brandilyn Collins is an author you can trust for a consistent, strong read, and she doesn't disappoint in this first release in the Kanner Lake series. Violet Dawn blends many difficult techniques and makes them look effortless. The book provides a large cast of characters--as if the town itself is a character--and yet makes us care about the individuals central to the action. Collins is also excellent at weaving in scenes of backstory between current action, deepening the mystery and making us hungry for more. Her point of view shifts are deliberately placed to tighten the screws and the resolution highly satisfying. If you've never read anything by Collins, you're missing a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jodi C.
My introduction to Brandilyn was her Hidden Faces series, and I couldn't put them down! They were incredible, and I immediately put her name on my "must read" list. I wasn't quite as excited about the last book in the series, but I've never liked spiders so I figured that was most of it. I was eagerly looking forward to Violet Dawn. I have to say I was disappointed. Somehow, I just couldn't get into it like I had the earlier books. I couldn't connect with any of the characters like I did with Annie Kingston, and there were so many. That was probably part of the problem. Plus, it seemed like there were too many "in-references", such as the fantasy writer and her references to her own previous novel "Web of Lies" as a book in her own story. It cut down on my ability to take the story seriously. The whole book seemed less well developed than I'd come to expect from this writer. However, I'll still give the next books in the series a chance. Here's hoping for better things in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Tina
Violet Dawn lived up to the expectations that Web of Lies planted. Collins work is billed as seatbelt suspense and not only is it a catchy tag-line its a true discription of her body of work. On her web page Collins explores why she choose to write Christian suspense, saying: The question iswhy do I choose to write suspense? Why not romance, or historicals, or contemporariessomething a little easier on the nerves? My mother wonders this too. She thinks Im getting more warped by the minute. Shes probably right. My stories do tend to beintense. But the truth is, I have an amazing, fun freedom in writing Christian suspense. I get to tell all sorts of scary storiesand inject the hope of God into them. Thats the best of both worlds, if you ask me. Truth is, we do live in an evil world. But the truth doesnt end there, thanks be to God. The truth ends with the fact that Gods power can help us live, even be victorious, amid this evil. Not to say bad things dont happen to good people. They doin real life, and in my books. It is to say that followers of Christ have been given the awesome authority to go before His throne and ask for help in times of troubleeven big, bad trouble. Especially big, bad trouble.blcBang on Brandilyn! She nailed it. And she nailed one of the reasons I love her work so much. We do live in an evil world but with Gods help we make it. And without sounding like a preacher she shows us how with every word she writes. And speaking of not sounding like a preacher, thats one of the things that really impresses me about the way Collins writes. Faith is interwoven throughout the book, subtle and honest, rather than presented in paragraphs of exhortation. Way to go woman!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
Deborah Piccurelli
Just when you think she can't get any better, Brandilyn Collins does. In Violet Dawn, first in the Kanner Lake Series, she ratchets up the spook factor and the suspense. The hot tub scene took my breath away. The very real, unique characters will find their way into your heart like old friends. Read this book! You won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Merry Kocian
This is a hard review for me to write. I never thought I would be giving Brandilyn Collins anything less than a 5 rating. I've read her Hidden Faces series and I thought this series would be just as good. I thought this book was "too busy". There were a lot of characters to keep up with and I found myself working to remember who was who. I did like the "Rachel Chapters". It was nice getting to "glimpse" Paige's past. I'm not sure about continuing on with this series, but I will read "Coral Moon" to see if it was just me, the book, or if it will be the series. I do highly recommend Brandilyn's "Hidden Faces" series. I'm looking to read her "Eyes of Elisha and Dread Champion" series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2006
Brandilyn Collins has done it again. Violet Dawn begins with a gruesome discovery and then takes off to give the reader another breathless ride. The difference with this book is in the characters created for the town of Kanner Lake. Quirky, lovable, sympathetic, and somewhat eclectic, the townspeople are richly drawn against the tapestry of the beauty of Idaho. The reader will suffer with Paige as she tries to fit in with the others, but finds herself the victim in an elaborate scheme to frame her for murder. No one is free from suspicion and help comes from the least likely direction. The care and concern of these likable characters contrasts sharply with the scenes from Paiges past. In this first novel in the Kanner Lake series, Brandilyn has all the suspense of her usual thrillers combined with the small town feel and unforgettable characters so her earliest novels. A must read for fans of Brandilyn Collins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Violet Dawn by Brandilyn Collins takes suspense fiction to a new level. From the opening sentence to the last page this book will keep you wondering . . . and looking behind you! . . . Paige Williams moves to Kanner Lake to start a new life and leave a horrid past. In the dark of a sleepless night she seeks solace in the warmth of her hot tub. Instead, she finds terror, death. And in one moment of stark panic makes a decision that will affect her life and the lives of all the residents of Kanner Lake. The quaint tourist town is turned upside down as police search for the missing celebrity, Edna San. Paige trusts no one, not even her fledgling faith in God. When evidence points to her, must she battle the evil alone as she has all her life? . . . Brandilyn has done it again. When she labels it 'seatbelt suspense' she is not joking. Open this book when you have time to read. You won't put it down. The rich characters, mystery and danger will keep you turning pages. I guarantee you will never look at a hot tub the same way. And, as with each of her books, remember to breathe. Chandra Lynn Smith
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rich Bullock
Violet Dawn over Kanner Lake paints a tranquil picture--until the dead body shows up! Brandilyn Collins sets one young woman (with a mysterious past) against an slithering evil. Great story. I didn't want it to end, and I'm looking forward to the next in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Quiroga
Read this book! The characters are so real they become part of your life! You'll find yourself talking the townspeople and advising them; however, they don't follow your advice. Hey! They must be real . . . Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Violet Dawn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cynthia M. Hickey
Paige Williams arrives in Kanner Lake looking for all the things she'd always wanted. A family. A friend. The feeling of belonging. Unable to sleep one night, Paige decides to take a long soak in her hot tub only to discover the floating body of the resident movie star. Paige does the unthinkable and the town of Kanner Lake is rocked on its heels.Although I found Brandilyn's "Violet Dawn" a little more predictable than her Hidden Faces series, this book is every bit as much of a page turner. The characters feel real, with human quirks. The villain every bit as evil. This is definitely a book to read when you have a chunk of time. You won't want to put it down. - Cynthia M. Hickey, author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>