Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson #1: Here's Lily!

Thomas Nelson #1: Here's Lily!

Meet Lily Robbins, an awkward sixth grader who, after receiving a compliment about her looks from a woman in the modeling business, becomes obsessed with her appearance and with becoming a model. As she sets her sights on winning the model search fashion show, she exchanges her rock and feather collection for lip gloss, fashion magazines, and a private "club" with her closest friends. But when the unthinkable happens the night before the fashion show, Lily learns a valuable lesson about real beauty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Here's Lily!
Review 1 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here's Lily

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
bugaboo622
Location:Arkansas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book. Great for all young girls to read. Here's Lily is outstanding.
I was give the opportunity to review the book Here's Lily by Nacny Rue and I loved it!! I have read a few of the books in this series and all of them have been wonderful.
I would recommend this book and the other books in the series for any girl.
Welcome to the wonderful world of Lily Robbins!! In this funny first story in a series that has sold over one million copies, you'll meet red-headed sixth-grader Lily Robbins. After receiving a compliment about her looks from a high-powered woman in the fashion industry, Lily obsesses over becoming a model, setting her sights on winning the "model search" fashion show. Overnight, she packs away her rock and feather collection in exchange for fashion magazines and lip gloss-but is God in the middle of this change in Lily's life. When the unthinkable happens a couple of nights before the fashion show, Lily learns a valuable lesson about real beauty.
This book will teach girls the your real beauty, the beauty that God has blessed you with, is what is important. Not the beauty made by fashion models and T.V actresses. So be like Lily and just be yourself.
I received this book for review purposes through the Booksneeze book review program. I was not paid for this review and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the fashionista

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you have a girly girl? One that is really into fashion? Between ages 7-11 then this is the book for her. very well written on a subject that is very needed at this age...real beauty with biblical truths and insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lily Is A Character That Young Girls Can Identify

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Rue in her new book “Here’s Lily!” Book One in The Lily Series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Lily Robbins.
From the back cover: Here’s Lily!
Meet Lily Robbins, clever and charming, awkward and not-so-perfect- and always fun.
Welcome to the wonderful world of Lily Robbins!
In this funny first story in series that has sold over one million copies, you’ll meet red-headed sixth-grader Lily Robbins. After receiving a compliment about her looks from a high-powered woman in the fashion industry, Lily obsesses over becoming a model, setting her sights on winning the “model search” fashion show. Overnight, she packs away her rock and feather collection in exchange for fashion magazines and lip gloss – but is God in the middle of this change in Lily’s life? When the unthinkable happens a couple nights before the fashion show, Lily learns a valuable lesson about real beauty.
No doubt about it kids can be cruel and when they find someone whose appearance is different from themselves well they can just have a field day. While that may be fun for them it most certainly is not fun for the person being abused. And when that person is a young girl the abuse can wear on a person’s self-confidence. But Lily gets a chance to rebuild her self-confidence by being accepted to modeling school and things begin to change. However, the things being taught all have to do with outer beauty. But God has a way of teaching about inner beauty and Ms. Rue does a superior job of demonstrating both and hiding everything in a very entertaining story. Ms. Rue has created a wonderful character and a role model for young girls to identify with. I am sure they will enjoy this story much more than I did and I enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this book highly and am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Books I will urge my 8-yr-old daughter to read

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids in school tease Lily for being so tall and having such curly red hair. But when a talent agency owner comes to school to talk to the girls about beauty, she singles Lily out and offers her a chance to be a model. Lily’s parents allow her to participate in the modeling classes on one condition: that she find out whether God is present in this opportunity. So Lily sets out to discover if there is more to beauty that looking good.
This was a really sweet little story. Lilly and her friends were “young” sixth graders, as the ones in most public schools today, sadly, are already dating. But I find this book refreshing and know that these are books I will urge my daughter (who is eight) to read. Lilly was a kind girl, she worked hard to treat others kindly, even when others were mean to her. And she went through a traumatic experience and didn’t let it get the best of her. I liked Lilly a lot and found her an excellent and relatable role model for young readers. Recommended for readers 8-12.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Here's Lily

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book because I thought that my daughter would enjoy reading it. It really is for an older child (maybe fifth grade and up) Lily is in Jr. High and the book talks about stuff that affects mostly this age group. Still, it is a good book that I think a jr. higher would enjoy reading. I think that Lily is a character that many girls can identify with and learn from and the situations she faces are common in school and relationships.
If you have a girl that is around fifth grade and up, I bet she'd really enjoy this book.
I received this book from booksneeze and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Here's Lily!

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have several friends with "tween" daughters, which is why I wanted to review the book "Here's Lily!" by Nancy Rue. But it turned out that I really enjoyed this book! Lily is quirky and cute, and her family is real and honest. They show their faith without being cheesy. The entire book was such a fun read.
Lily obviously has some self-esteem issues, thanks to her older brothers teasing her and her wild, red hair and ivory white skin. So when she gets the opportunity to do some modeling work, she jumps at the chance. Her parents encourage her to find God in modeling. It takes a somewhat tragic event for her to do that, but she eventually does.
This book was an easy read but it was so much fun! I am definitely passing it on to friends, and honestly I can't wait to read this series myself. It was written for young girls but I loved Lily's spunky personality and the way this book was written. Two thumbs up!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Confidence Builder with Biblical Basis

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
savvyshoppingmomma
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Here's Lily" by Nancy Rue is such a fantastic book for young girls. We live in a world where body image starts affecting children at an incredibly young age, through constant bombardment from television, magazines, and other media. "Here's Lily" is a children's book that tackles big issues. Lily is just like so many young girls, struggling to feel comfortable in their own skin, wanting to feel beautiful. This book takes on the issue of God confidence, helping these girls to really understand their own special beauty, through an entertaining and easy to read story. I found this to be an amazing book, and although my daughter is still a little young to understand it, I intend to hold onto it and use it as a tool when she is a little bit older. I absolutely would recommend this book to anyone with a daughter or granddaughter - it's such a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Here's Lily!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book for girls

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's Lily by Nancy Rue is a story of 6th grader who is like most 12 year olds self conscious about her actions and her appearance. She is constantly being pestered by her older brothers and the assorted male and female bullies of her class. Lily is offered a wonderful opportunity to train to be a fashion model by an agent who drops in on her school. Through rapid talking she gets her parents' permission to go to the training and as she starts to develope her self confidence she decides to help some of the other girls in her class by forming the Girlz Club. Lily learns to rely on her real friends, family and most especially God and she goes through the year.
Here's Lily is a delightful book about a Christian girl who learns to rely on God and family as she goes the the various crisises in her life and the major one at the end of the class. She learns that everyone has their own special beauty and talents if one looks for them. She learns to trust God in all of her problems and that God loves her through all of her problems even when she forgets about Him; He never forgets about her. I loved this book and would recommend it for reading to all older elementary and middle school children. It is a Christian book that doesn't preach Christianity so much as shows how to live it. It will help Christian girls deal with the usual everyday problems that most girls face as they grow toward maturity.
I was provided this book by Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Here's Lily!
This review is fromHere's Lily - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book!

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MJsMommy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Nancy Rue's book, Here's Lily, tells the story of Lily Robbins, a 6th grader who gets teased a lot at school and is embarrassed by her height, pale skin, red hair and big lips. When Lily is invited to join a modeling class, her parents allow her to join, but tell her she has to look for where God in the experience. However, Lily becomes obsessed with her appearance and modeling. A tragic accident will change everything though for Lily and her family, and Lily will learn that real beauty is on the inside.
I enjoyed this book. The author did a good job of making the book appropriate for the current "times." I think that it so important for young girls to find confidence and realize that despite teasing, they are beautiful and special because they have God on their side. I loved the idea of having "God-confidence - the confidence in God that allows her to trust in Him no matter what." I think the idea of "God-confidence" applies not only to young girls, but to all ages. It was an important reminder for me. I highly recommend this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.