Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Books Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook

IVP Books Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook

The Shack has touched millions of readers with its portrayal of a compassionate God in the face of great evil. Many have identified with the main character's Great Sadness, the terrible burden of grief that often accompanies and follows a deep loss, for the Great Sadness is part of the human condition. And it compels us to ask, Where is God? Who is God? Roger Olson, who has faced his own Great Sadness, finds a good deal of comfort in this much beloved story, as have so many others. Some may ask, however, Is God really like that? Is that really how God responds to evil? Can God be trusted? Olson also views The Shack with a theologian's eye and finds much sound truth. He delves into many of the significant issues raised by the book, such as forgiving those who have done us great evil, how God acts in the world, how God is three persons in one and what difference this makes to us. While he offers his own criticisms of the book, he largely finds the truth about God in The Shack.
Average Customer Rating:
3.536 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Review 1 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved reading the different perspectives.

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blessed Believer
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perspectives presented gives you more options to think about.
Very interesting. Also really enjoyed "The Shack".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bible study teacher
This book really helped us to put a more Christian light on The Shacks weaknesses allowing for meaningful and insightful discussion. While there is another book of the same name, don't be fooled. Olson has done his homework on this one. Anyone you says otherwise hasn't read it with an open mind if at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kirk Morris
I would like to encourage those who have not read the book (The Shack) to do so. For most of my life I have struggled w/ and been suspicious of the idea(s) and truth of Gods forgivness.The book (The Shack) aided me in my journey of understanding more of Gods forgivness causing me to reach into my past and forgive real people who hurt me deeply. Don't let the spiritual legalists turn you away from this amazing book. "All good things come from God"...This book is one of those things. I hope God will bless you and touch your heart and understanding w/ this book. The way He did me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frances Hilaire
A good read...helped explain some things that I would not have thought of in relation to the book. As I have very little experience reading the bible, this book really broke it down and still did not condemn the book as other people have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Stewart
Hm, I read "The Shack" which is a sad, sad mix of New Age spirituality, politically correct quasi-theological blabber and the inklings of a horror flick. Now this book is a commentary to "The Shack"? Like what is the Matthew Henry Commentary to the Bible? We should soon have The Shack study vs. a regular Bible study...
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mattie Dupree
The Shack is an excellent choice for a Book Club. I am a member of a club where I attend church, also The Senior Center wherein we had a wonderful discussion and many participants. Many testimonies were given by those whose lives could relate to this wonderful story. An excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valerie Moriset
Very in depth and right on! The author reviewed the Shack in a loving, non-judgmental way. However, I STILL loved the Shack and will read it again just for how it made me feel when I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Cleal
Excellent. Addressed many issues raised by The Shack. Reinforced Biblical basis. Easy to read. Referred book to my Bible study sisters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Kathy J Heitz
If you have read "The Shack", you will want to read "Finding God in the Shack". I found in reading this book that my impression from "The Shack" was right on and even had my faith deepened as a result of more understanding in "Finding God in The Shack". I find it to be a Great Companion. If you have had questions in reading "The Shack", this may help you sort out some of those questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Truth Seeker
You WILL find God in the BIBLE, You WILL find God if you seek HIM with your whole heart!!! The Shack & this book are mere attempts to replace the True God with a God that doesn't exist, a god made to suit themselves. Please don't waste your time with these books. God's Word says without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that He exists and that HE REWARDS THOSE WHO DILIGENTLY SEEK HIM!! Jesus says to SEEK 1st the Kingdom of God & His righteousness.... not by looking for the answers in books written by man. JESUS is the WAY, TRUTH & LIFE, no one can come to GOD except through Jesus.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pat Myers
I wanted to read this as a theologians answwer. I questioned for a while what The Shack was about and I came to the conclusion part way through the book that what this theologian thought was the way I had taken the book. Many people are reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amanda Humphries
Fantastic book, great way to review and think about what you have read in the Shack.Also the study guide was very helpful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Butch Rhodes
Very insightful book. Sound biblical reasoning about a great book and how God was presented in the book. Will definitely help you understand "The Shack" better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jacques Grenier
I found that many questions the author had were the same for me. His answers were generally at least acceptable, except at the end on his position about what it is to be saved. It is a too soft salvation, one that seemed by works at time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
kalona
This book was not necessary. The Shack does not need an interpretation. People just do not understand that God can, does and will do as He pleases. You see we put God in a "box" He can take any form he chooses. We, feel that if a book or story by someone does not fit into "our" understanding of what God can do...then it cannot be the truth. Please, we serve a wonderful God who is EVERYTHING to EVERYONE (if) we just believe. God Bless your unbelief.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Alley-Howard
Both The Shack and Finding God in the Shack are not worth the time to purchase them. This particular work is a ridiculous parasite on the success of the first one, which holds no accurate truth of the Living God; but thrives on sexual, evil sensationalism.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Leighton
Roger Olsen presents an even-handed critique of The Shack and a comprehensive and detailed explanation of what he thinks of it. I found his opinion of The Shack gave me a better understanding of the novel and I agreed with most of what Olsen wrote about it. His book is very important to shed light on this popular novel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Pedersen
Good and fair minded review. The author focuses on the characteristics of God as presented by the Bible in its entirety. Only a Calvinist would find major problems with his analysis of the biblical accuracy of the novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marylynn Carlson
I thought this was a great follow up to reading The Shack. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has read The Shack, especially if they have had "bad feelings" about how things are portrayed in it. It will clarify many things for them, as it did for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Finding God in the Shack: Seeking Truth in a Story of Evil and Redemption - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pirouette
This book is a good way to provide a study on the book THE SHACK byYoung It discusses Biblical truths and concepts comparing what is written in the book and found in the Bible. It reminds the reader THE SHACK is a novel. But, can be used as a tool to spread the Good News.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>