Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House June Bug

Tyndale House June Bug

June Bug believed everything her daddy told her. That is, until she walked into Walmart and saw her face on a list of missing children. The discovery begins aa quest for the truth about her father, the mother he rarely speaks about, and ultimately herself. A modern interpretation of Les Miserables, the story follows a dilapidated RV rambling cross-country with June Bug and her father, a man running from a haunted past. Forces beyond their control draw them back to Dogwood, West Virginia, down a winding path that will change their lives forever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for June Bug
Review 1 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an interesting novel about a little girl who sees herself on a missing child poster and realizes things aren't what they seem. She discovers who she really is and the truth about her father and their life. The book is a modern retelling of Les Miserables.
I thought the book was a good read and the storyline was such that I wanted to keep reading and find out if there was a happy ending.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this book! You know what the story is about as soon as you read the first paragraph; however, you have to stay with the book all the way to the end! It is a great read...interesting characters, a great storyline, keeps you captivated!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Dalton
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is great. It is one you read quickly because the plot keeps you going until the last page!! Loved it because I'm from West Virginia and it was great to hear about our wonderful State throughout this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chris Fabry is an excellent writer.

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
Location:Perkiomenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The characters are well developed and the story is one of restoration as well as, loving and letting go. I have reread the last few chapters several times and come away crying each time. June Bug is a precious character who reminds me in many ways of my grandaughter. I definately recommend this book, it is a great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June Bug is a poignant novel of survival, sacrifice, family and love. June Bug is a spunky, but mature 9-year-old traveling around the United States with her father in an old RV. At least, she believes the man she has been living with for the past seven years is her father. When she sees her face on a missing child poster in Wal-Mart, June Bug's life veers down an uncharted road. As June Bug seeks the truth from her father, John, he is forced to confront memories of a painful past. Meanwhile, June Bug's biological grandparents in West Virignia are struggling to uncover the truth about their beloved granddaughter's disappearance while dealing with the painful questions of their daughter's involvement. Chris Fabry's vivid story-telling will keep readers turning the pages as the truth unfolds and the characters' lives irrevocably change.
June Bug captivated me from the first page. Chris Fabry masterfully tells the story from several perspectives of the individuals impacted by June Bug's disappearance: June Bug, John, the grandparents, and the police officer heading the investigation. Each perspective is equally moving, but June Bug's voice is especially compelling. I was anxious to discover the truth about June Bug's life and how she came to live with her father, John. The ending, though bittersweet was not a disappointment. I would love to read a sequel to the novel that picks up several years later because I wonder what life holds for each character further down the road. This novel is one of those rare thought-provoking gems that I find myself thinking about even a couple of days after finishing it. June Bug is the first book I have read by Chris Fabry, and I am anxious to read his other novels.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Ordiway
Absolutely loved the book! It was a good read for both a teenager as well as myself, as an adult. I didn't want to put it down and wished that it had continued beyond the last page. I have never read Les Miserables, and I am now inspired to read that, too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
This book literally left me speechless after I turned the final page. Tears were streaming down my face, which is a rarity for me with any novel. This book had such a tenderness to it, particularly with the love that a father has for a daughter. That struck a chord with me since I am so close to my father, and as a girl, looked up to him for everything. But it also dealt with the harsh realities of life, and how, despite the best-made plans, things just don't always turn out the way people want them to. I loved the connections to Les Miserables. Knowing that there were similarities in the storylines, I was a little bit impatient for things to play out like I knew they did in Les Mis. Instead, the author just gave a little morsel every now and then, and before too long, I realized that he was retelling only part of the story of Les Mis, and sometimes, not sharing details as they happened, but rather in retrospect. This may make the story sound unappealing, but trust me, when those connections with Les Mis occurred, it was oh-so-powerful. Trust me on this one thing...if you're looking for a book that is lyrical in it's storytelling, and one that will resonate with you long after you've finished it, then you can't go wrong with reading June Bug. I am sooo eager now to go back and read Chris' first book, Dogwood. If it's anything like June Bug, then I doubt I'll be disappointed at all. June Bug has earned a spot on my favorite books list, for sure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
June Bug is a modern-day take on the captivating story of Les Miserables. I was very curious to see how Chris Fabry would interpret Les Miserables into his own story. While the modern story, June Bug, has some differences from the old French tale, it also has many similarities. I found the story to be captivating. I couldn't wait to finish the book! I even read for several hours one Saturday to reach the final page in the book; this is a luxury for me as I rarely read during the evenings or weekends. You'll find me reading while the girls are at their violin lessons or at youth orchestra rehearsals, and that is about all I allow myself to read for pleasure. Maybe that is going to have to change! After finishing June Bug last Saturday, I had this great feeling all day, clear 'til bedtime, about the book and about being able to sit and read while it was fairly quiet in the house. My daughters, ages 10 and 12, read this book before I did. They really enjoyed the book. My 10-year-old finds it difficult to read books that really capture her attention, but she is now begging me to purchase some of Fabry's other books. The character development was excellent; the twists and turns in the story kept me captive. I was surprised up to the end of the book, and I shed a few tears when I finished the story. I wish one or two events at the end of the book had resolved in a different manner, but I suppose that was because I didn't want to cry, LOL. If you enjoy books with good character development, jerks and twists, and that allow you to become very emotionally tied with the plot and characters, you will enjoy this book. It has a pro-Christian theme, which I enjoyed, instead of people's religions always being slammed as in many modern day books. I am looking forward to reading this author's other works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
This one had me in tears, so it definitely engaged my emotions. June Bug is a story that focuses on a little girl and her daddy, John. They have been living on the road in an RV for years. One day June Bug sees her face on a missing children's poster in Walmart and all of a sudden her questions about who her mama is take on new meaning. She starts wondering... The story follows the two of them on their journey home to find closure and new beginnings. The narrative is mostly written from June Bug's perspective, but it does switch to other characters along the way. June Bug is an endearing and inquisitive little girl, and I enjoyed her voice.I actually really liked the ties to Les Miserables, although I would not describe it as a retelling exactly. The flashbacks added beautifully to both the story and the character development. I also enjoyed Fabry's use of language. At one point I read a paragraph out loud to my husband stating that it sounded like the narration of a movie (in a good way). It is written in a way that I could hear it while I was reading it. I liked it, and I would recommend it to others. inspiredbyfiction.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Roach
If there were 10 stars, I would have given Chris that many. I was absolutely spellbound, and could not put June Bug down. On a whim, I emailed Chris Fabry to tell him how much he is appreciated (and to get a heads up on when his next would be published). His answer? Late 2010 or 2011....I can hardly wait, I'll buy it as soon as I can!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Padrelanan
June Bug, 10 years old, has always believed everything her dad told her. She knew that their family is different - she and her Dad live in their old RV and travel around the United States, never staying at a place long enough to establish relationships and put down roots; she has never met somebody related to her or her dad; but she also knew and relied on her confidence that her Dad loved her very much. Until that fateful day in Walmart when she sees her picture on the Missing Childrens poster with a different name on it. She strives to know everything about herself and her dad.In the process, her dad, John, faces his past and confronts the pain that he has run away from as she herself discovers her own roots.A beautifully written story by Chris Fabry, June Bug, is a story about families the love, the pain, the hope, the disappointments. It drives home the truth that family is not just those who are related by blood, but family is there as long as you have love, faithfulness, forgiveness and hope. June Bugs young faith in God carries her through all the events happening in her life as the truth about her past is revealed. The characters created by Chris Fabry are very realistic. The story is humorous, dramatic and heartwarming. Make sure that you have plenty of time when you start reading this book because it is hard to put down. And have some tissue paper beside you because the ending is heart-wrenching.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Wooley
Great, couldn't wait to get time to read it. The book has some twists I wasn't expecting!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Chris Fabry is a wonderful wordsmith, he has a way of delving into the culture and mindset of his subjects and bringing them to life. He does that in June Bug as he brings June Bug and her dad to life as they travel (or rather sit in the Wal-Mart parking lot) in their RV. We get inside the mind and life of a 9 year old little girl as she tries to figure out what is going on around her and who she really is.One day as June Bug and her dad are stranded in the Wal-Mart parking lot waiting for a part for their RV to come in, she sees a missing child poster with an aged picture that looks just like her. She doesn't know what to do with that information as she tries to figure things out. The book is about the journey to truth and it is not an easy road. We see two sides to the story - June Bug and her dad and then also back in Dogwood where a little girl went missing 7 years ago and Grandma and the sheriff have not forgotten.I loved this story. I was just distracted by the many references on the cover of the book that kept comparing June Bug to Les Miserables. It is called "a retelling" of Les Miserables, so what did I do as I read June Bug? I kept analyzing it and trying to find the similarities as I went. I wish I hadn't read the cover of the book first so I could've just enjoyed the story. I think it does Chris' writing a disservice to compare it instead of just letting a good story stand on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marcie
This story grabbed my heart from the first chapter!! Well told and I hope this author will keep them coming!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
June Bug by Chris Fabry is a fresh take on the classic tale Les Miserables. Nine-year-old June Bug is mostly content with her life on the road with her dad, Johnson, until she sees her own picture on a poster for a kidnapped child. The poster says she was kidnapped seven years ago, and that her real name is Natalie Ann and has an age-progressed photo that looks just like her, down to the small birthmark on her cheek. Her discovery sets a chain of events in motion that will change her entire life and may just give life to her deepest dreams of stability and a home. As a narrator, June Bug is precious and just a bit precocious. She tells the story of her life with wonder and honesty. Alternating chapters depicting the frustration and heartbreak of searching for a long missing little girl are moving and devastating. It's a terrific read with a message of how God can turn the worst evil into good for his purposes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
I was not sure what I would think of this book when I picked it up, but I enjoy Chris Fabry's writing, and was not sorry I picked it! This story makes you wonder at times as you are trying to figure out if her father is a bad guy, a kidnapper or if he really is a good guy and just when you think you have decided...boom, Mr. Fabry surprises you. "June Bug" is such a sweetheart who you just want to hug and take care of! This is a great summer read and great modern retelling of Les Miserables
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Chris Fabrys June Bug is the sweetest, most touching book Ive read in quite a while. I was amazed at Fabrys ability to brilliantly create the narrative of a nine year-old girl! June Bug lives in an RV and wonders what it would be like to have friends she could invite to sleep over. She and her Dad park the RV at Walmart while he is waiting for a part to repair the vehicle. When she enters the store, she notices the picture of a missing child, a little girl who was abducted seven years earlier the picture was of her own face. Chris Fabry is a brilliant storyteller who plainly and simply processes this horrific event through the eyes of a child. The innocence that saturates each page tore my heart completely up as I was forced to take my own angry reaction to the situation and really see the situation through untainted eyes eyes that I can only imagine God uses to see us eyes full of pure love and waiting forgiveness. This book reminds me that Jesus said we must be as little children to enter heaven. Id like to be like June Bug when I grow up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Chris Fabrys exceptional artistry as an author is once again demonstrated in the poignantly written tale of June Bug. It is a truly worthy companion to Chriss debut adult novel Dogwood.The story June Bug is told predominantly through the eyes of a nine year old girl, who begins to really examine her life and the secrets she never knew existed. Chris gives this little girl a voice that illuminates the depths of a childs heart and thoughts. It is with a great deal of skill that Chris balances quite mature thoughts with the reality that there is much a nine year old cannot know. I found June Bug to be a girl Id love to know in real life. A girl full of spunk, endearingly precocious and fiercely loyal, June Bugs character works her way into your heart before you know it.June Bug is the very definition of bittersweet. As the final chapters reveal all the details of the truth Johnson kept hidden, my heart broke and tears flowed. It is through these final revelations that Chris deftly ties together the threads that challenge ones thoughts on justice and mercy, of doing the right thing and of honesty and integrity.Chris Fabrys exceptional style and his mastery of the written word will solidify his already well-earned place on bookshelves across the globe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natalie Ference
I rarely read Christian novels; classic fiction and children's literature is much more my style. I rarely agree to review fiction because I find so little I would feel good about recommending. But I chose June Bug. My attention was immediately grabbed within a few pages of starting this novel. June Bug sees herself on a missing child poster. Her name is Natalie.There is no denying that Fabry is a talented author. You experience the story from the perspective of 9-year-old June Bug, and the voice and feel of the book is genuine. The writing style is as contemporary as they come, which I don't care to read a lot of, but occasionally is a nice change. It takes guts to retell a story as powerful and timeless as Les Miserables in 21st century America.June Bug releases July 30; if you are interested in a quality, bittersweet story this is worth a look.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for June Bug
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
I like the name June Bug. It is affectionate and cute. It's also the title of a new book by Chris Fabry that's being published by Tyndale. I really wanted to read this book. The description intrigued me. And I'm glad it did.June Bug is the story of a little girl and her dad who live in an RV. They travel around the U.S. spending the nights in Walmart parking lots. At the very beginning, June Bug sees a picture of herself on the missing picture wall right inside the Walmart where they are staying. Knowing just that much is enough to make you think,"Hmm, this could be an interesting story."I don't want to give away any of the plot, because that's what's best about a good book--you don't know where exactly it's going and when things are going to happen. So, instead I'll describe the writing and the book itself.One complaint many writers have is that a lot of Christian fiction books write books that can be compared to Nancy Drew books. I love Nancy Drew (the old ones) and my husband teases me for this. They are written at a fourth grade reading level with entirely predictable plots with only a little character development. There are just as many secular writers that write this type of fiction, but good books that draw you in are so much more satisfying, memorable, and enjoyable to read.This book is a good book. It is written well. I enjoyed the characters. The descriptions of physical appearances were minimal, but the feelings conveyed by the characters allow readers to picture them in their minds. The plot twists and turns and never gets too slow or too fast, for that matter.I would recommend this book. If you enjoy Angela Hunt's books, you'd likely enjoy this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.