Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes

Hendrickson Publishers History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes

Philip Schaff (1819-1893) was a German Reformed church historian, born in Switzerland. He was educated at Tubingen, Halle, and Berlin, and later took a position as Professor of Church History at Union Theological Seminary, New York. Schaff bases his work on the premise that church history in order to be valid and valuable must deal with three factors: 1) God through Christ, 2) man as a responsible moral creature, and 3) Satan as a real being employing the Anti-Christ as his agent at the end of time.

Schaff begins his history with an examination of the preparation for Christianity in Judaism and the heathen world and the life and resurrection of Jesus Christ. The 8 volume series concludes with a general introduction to modern church history and a thorough analysis of the productive period of the Reformation, tracing the Protestant movement in Germany and Switzerland to the close of the 16th century. There are footnotes, charts, maps and each volume contains its own alphabetical index.

Schaff taught church history at German Reformed Seminary in Mercersburg, Penn., and Union Theological Seminary in New York. He was involved in the formation of the Evangelical Alliance, the revision of the English Bible (the Revised Version), and the Alliance of the Reformed Churches. Schaff was founder of the American Society of Church History.

Average Customer Rating:
4.816 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Review 1 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christ Follower
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good binding and nicely packaged, I am anxious to read them cover to cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Deal

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid Biblical perspective. Great price for such quality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Schaff's history is a classic of great value.

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catman
Location:Tacoma, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schaff's History of the Church is an ongoing pleasure of information and encouragement in the training of churchgoers the world over. Depth of insight combined with practical summations bring out the quality of the material for understanding where the Church has been, and why it is going in a particular direction now. A must for all ministers, theologians, and church libraries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christian History.

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rev Robert West
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a top-rate history of the Christian Churches from the beginning and up to the time of the 16th Swiss Reformation, produced in high-quality, well-bound volumes on good paper and that reads well. Maybe someone can add to the volumes on all the history that has happened since; but that would be a major undertaking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very readable and practical.

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave Kehler
Location:Steinbach, Manitoba Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Covers all the basics--gives an excellent understanding of events in the church and history. Highly recommend every leader read the entire 8 volumes. I have. I buy these and give them as gifts to upcoming leaders and for basic schools on the mission field.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great source of information/nominal cost

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
TWS7
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been reading through a couple of the volumes since purchasing this set. I find the reading very easy and enjoyable. The set goes into admirable detail when it comes to tracing the history of the Church throughout the centuries. And you just can't beat the price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

history of christian church 8 volumes

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big daddy
Location:Warwick, R.I.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am currently attending a Christian college on line and the purchase of these series of books is invaluable, they are hardcovered, excellant first class binding with a wealth of church history for referral. Great Buy on Sale. I would reccomend to any student, lay person or christian interested in Church history.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Philip Schaff is a preterist (just a heads up)

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
AllGloryToGodMinistry
Location:Boston
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I have only begun to study this set of Christian history books, but felt I should share what I found early on in the first book: Philip Schaff is a preterist.
On page 82 of Volume 1 of this series, he refers to Revelation 18:11-14 as being fulfilled in the fall of the Roman empire. Finding this idea telling, I did a quick online search and sure enough, he's a preterist.
Does that make this series of no value to someone who does not hold to a preterist perspective on eschatology? No, but it should help one approach his use of the scriptures with a discerning eye. We should be practicing our skills of discernment always, anyhow, as the scriptures exhort.
Just a word of warning to anyone considering purchasing this series of books.
+15points
22of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good indepth presentation of church history

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
cliepak
Location:Sonoma County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This collection provides an in depth scholarly presentation of church history up to the Reformation era. I would recommend it as a valuable reference tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the investment

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roger Marks
Location:Drouin Victoria Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a church history enthusiast and have read over 40 books on the subject. I bought this set because reading books is one of my retirement pleasures.
I have been reading volume one and if the other seven are in the same vein, I am in for some very happy reading.
The style of wrting is very easy to read and flows simply and uncomplicated. He is not into big theological words, and he doesn't pad out his writing with unecessary and tiresome detail. He makes comprehesive use of scripture references, so a bible will be required whilst reading.
Because I already know quite a bit of church history, it did not take much to work out if what he was saying was in fact true. Generally speaking it is very informative and will allow the reader to get a good overall picture for themsleves.
There were a few times where he was falling back into traditional church interpretations of the information such as communion but on the whole he has avoided this.
The books are set with headings covering all the topics and within topics so one can navigate very easily, which means one does not have to read everything if you want to explore a specific subject or aspect of a subject.
A very good read in addition to the fact that all eight volumes look very impressive on the book shelf.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this product cannot be beat. A theologically rich and historically accurate marriage is a rarity among historical accounts of the Christian church. If you are a serious reformed Christian that is interested in learning the basics of the history of the Christian church, this is a necessity (particularly if you are entering the ministry as this is a curriculum requirement for some).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worthy reprint

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
freddyf
Location:Sinsheim, Germany
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schaf's church history remains a classic reference work for pastors, missonaries and Christian colleges. Although only bringing the reader up to the end of the Reformation Age, the work provides compact information, great analysis and vibrant, magnaminious excursions on high-profile personalities. The work is well footnoted and serves as a great diving board into an ocean of source materials. Schaf's mediating theology will not satisfy everyone's text-critical viewpoint, but his genuine Christian spirit is refreshing and devotional.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with the purchase.

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mdpenrod
Location:Garden City, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Content & quality is more than I expected. Can't beat the price. A+++
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great history

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thanksgiving1622
Location:Auburn, Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good history of the Christian CHurch until the time of the Swiss Reformation. Lots of information and good footnotes for further research.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent purchase

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jurrien
Location:Sleeuwijk, Netherlands
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best person to write a history of the church is a christian. The love Philip has for Jesus Christ and his body is clear on every page. But also the debt of his study is remarkable. Every aspect of the church is thoroughly investigated: the fact Philip could visit the old libraries in Europe makes the History of the Christian Church a work of unmeasurable value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent a must

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Location:Montreal
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So well written, a must for people who whant to know more about church history and not get bore along the way.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than Expected!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stillsman
Location:Hudson, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of books is THE best value i have encountered in a long time. Then again, ALL of my recent purchases from CBD.com have been excellent values! These volumes are written very very well; no dry academic blah blah. They are easy to read, very informative and actually difficult to put down once i start reading. I have searched for several years for a reputable and sincere history of the Christian Church. I found that and much more in this 8 volume set!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good set for the price

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert883
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compared to other “sets” I have purchased, the copy I received is good. Unlike the others the print is clear (font is a little dated) and the binding is adequate. The subject matter is what’s important, so one can glean a lot from what each volume contains.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Thumbs up!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Israel2Joy
Location:Lafayette, In
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 8 vol. set arrived at my door yesterday afternoon. The books are not only hardback but they are appealing to the eye. Having read through the introduction of volume 1, I am of the opinion that "The History of the Christian Church" will not only be easy to digest, but quite informative, and will in the end, help me to have a greater appreciation for our church fathers and what they have to say in regards to God and His word. And too, that if you are a serious bible student, you might want to include this 8 volume set in your library. Read and enjoy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for History of the Christian Church, 8 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
ggt12
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was impressed with the price that CBD placed on the History of the Christian Church. Keep checking back on any item you wish to purchase because CBD keeps adjusting prices. Great value.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>