Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Damascus Countdown

Tyndale House Damascus Countdown

All eyes are on the Middle East. Israel has successfully launched a first strike on Iran, taking out all of their nuclear sites and six of their nuclear warheads-and causing The Twelfth Imam to order a full-scale retaliation. US President William Jackson threatens to support a UN Security Council resolution condemning the Jewish State for unprovoked and unwarranted acts of aggression.Meanwhile, CIA operative David Shirazi has infiltrated the Iranian regime and intercepted information indicating that two Iranian nuclear warheads survived the attack and have been moved to a secure and undisclosed location. In danger not only from the ongoing missile strikes on Iran but also from the increasingly hostile and suspicious governments of multiple countries, David and his team are in a race against time to find the remaining nuclear warheads before disaster strikes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 out of 3897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Damascus Countdown
Review 1 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. Despite the fact that I have not yet read the other books in the series, I could still understand what was going on. With a lot of series books, you have to read the prior books to be able to really understand what is happening. This one was not like that. Mr. Rosenberg did not refer to the back story often enough to make it hard to follow. I really appreciated that, especially since I did not realize that this was the third book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damascus Count Down by Joel C. Rosenberg was an action packed read that was hard to put down. Like the first two books it didn’t disappoint. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, holding my breath from one scene to the next. Once again Joel Rosenberg has written a political thriller that seems to have come from tomorrow’s headlines and has captured the attention of many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Suspenseful Thriller

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The plot is very involved. The technology is dizzying. It is realistic but it has more detail than I can absorb about the places, current events and people, and military ordnance. There is a plethora of characters to follow – it’s a good thing he puts a Cast of Characters up front! I find the study of End Times prophecies fascinating, so anyone who does not may not react so well to this series. The narrative jumps from place to place to build suspense. Also, a lot of new story lines keep opening up and I find I need to focus to follow them. I would do well to read this book in a quiet environment with plenty of time. The book stands on its own but does develop characters and continue events along the lines of prior books in the series. It is a serious what-if story, not an easy read for entertainment. It is dynamic and thought-provoking.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful Story

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book by Joel Rosenberg that I read but it won't be the last. Even though this is the third book in the series you can jump right in the series with this book and you won't be lost.
David and his team are working deep undercover in the Middle East to find two missing warheads and destroy them before they can be launched.
The book jumps from location to location and person to person but there is a "cheat sheet" of people in the front and each section of the book is labeled with the location.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Middle East Thriller

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Damascus Countdown was a riveting tale centered in the Middle East. David, also known as Zephyr, is an agent deep in the heart of Iran seeking to destroy Iran’s 8 warheads. However, something goes wrong on the mission and 2 of the warheads have disappeared. As David and his team seek to find and destroy the missing warhead, conflict rises between Israel and Iran. Iran has retaliated against Israel by bombing a nuclear plant and blames Israel for the murder of Iranian children during a failed strike against the Mahdi, who is trying to take over the Middle East with the help of Iran, Syria, and Pakistan. I found this book to be full of plot twisters and it was entertaining enough to keep me reading. I also really liked how Rosenberg uses Bible prophecy in the plot because it helps readers to understand what is going on better and why something has either happened or will happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful CIA spy story

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thrilling story takes place in Israel, the U.S., Iran and Syria and it involves a United States CIA agent David Shirazi working with his Agency handler Jack Zalinsky trying to save Israel from attacks by Iran and Syria. To help you track the constantly shifting scenes, the city and country are in bold print at the top of each section. David made the perfect undercover agent because he looked and talked like an Iranian. In Iran, the Twelfth Imam Mahdi was not pleased with the way the war was going, especially since they had 8 nuclear warheads and now they only have 2. But neither was David pleased because Iran still had two nuclear warheads. However he had developed a relationship with Dr. Birjandi, an aging professor and advisor of the Iranian regime. Through him David had tracked down Malik, the best nuclear scientist, persuaded him to defect, and gotten him out of Iran. Another scientist David had captured and sent out of Iran to the U.S. Israel was being attacked constantly by so many missiles that they could only stop about 80%. Schools, apartment buildings, shopping centers, a hotel and even the nuclear plant were hit. From that point on David was constantly being tasked to do more even when his contacts appeared to have dried up. Could he prevent the two nuclear missiles from being fired at Israel? In desperation he was taking numerous chances, getting shot at and even driving on the wrong side of the road to escape. This book is so exciting you won’t want to put it down. There are enough suspense and even love parts to interest women readers and wild escape stories, horrible blow them up adventures, and spy details to interest men. It's a must read book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a good read

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pat Phelps
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, I would say this was a good read...I was a little disappointed the way Rosenberg seemed to cut the story short at the end...although I would recommend the book, this has to be my least favorite piece of fiction written by Mr. Rosenberg to date...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
RuthSophia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I picked up this book, I didn't know it was the 3rd in a series. Thankfully, you can follow along just fine without Books 1 & 2.
I had heard high praise for Rosenburg's work in the past, but never read any of his books until now. It won't be the last book of his I read, I'm sure. I really enjoyed Damascus Countdown. It's intriguing, well written, and is not predictable. In my experience, fiction written by a Christian author does not deliver quality work. Rosenburg does. And that is a refreshing change of pace.
I don't usually give books 5 stars. This novel deserves each one.
I see several reviewers state that if you like the Left Behind Series you'll like this book. That may be true, but don't let the comparison turn you off if you weren't a fan. I did not care for that series, and, thankfully, was not once reminded of Left Behind while reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action pack

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reds8
Location:Pikesville, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your a fan of the Left Behind and Jerry Jenkins you'll love this book. Lots of action. This is third in the series, I will go back and read the first two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

To similar to the Left Behind Series For me

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am a bible believing Christian but this book series I could not get into. I am just not a fan of this type. I thought I would try it but I still did not like it. If you are a fan of the Left Behind series then you might like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Israel launches a strike against Iran, and CIA operative David deals with the consequences. There are Iranian warheads missing and David must find them before they are launched.
I thought the story was good, but long (over 450 pages and the events mostly took place in 2 days). There are quite a few characters to keep track of, so the cast of characters in the beginning is helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing author and book series!

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Fordham
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love listening to Joel's books on CD! He is one of the best writers of this type of story that mixes in history, prophecy, faith, action, human relations, and more! I laugh, I cry, I meditate, I get angry, and I am spellbound! Absolutely amazing!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damascus Countdown by Joel Rosenberg is the third book in the Twelfth Imam Series, also known as David Shirazi series Book #3. This book is incredible. It concludes the story of David Shirazi and his mission to foil the plan of the Muslim Messiah in destroying Israel.
Incredibly, this book is more action-packed than the first two in the series. I seriously couldn't put the book down. If this book were a movie you'd have white knuckles from gripping the seat. The story is wonderful and moves very well. Most of the chapters in this book weren't long which was nice since I'm the mother of a newborn and sometimes was unable to sit and read this book for long bouts of time. I read it every chance I got though. Mr Rosenberg knows a lot about the Middle Eastern cultures and countries. I came to the conclusion whilst reading this book, that I know very little about Iran, Iraq, Syria, Israel and the Middle East in general.
I was drawn into the story and became very attached to the characters. I even found myself crying and Praising God by the end of the book as if the story were true. You cannot go wrong reading this series. It wraps up wonderfully and leaves you wanting more. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action packed page turner

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damascus Countdown is a novel (third in a series), written by best-selling author Joel C. Rosenberg. In this book CIA operative David Shirazi and his team race against the clock to hunt down Iranian nuclear warheads to keep them from being launched at Israel. The book is action packed and while I was reading, I was hoping this would eventually be made into a movie. It is hard to believe this book is a work of fiction as I can easily imagine these events happening, given the tensions in the Middle East. Another thing I liked about the book is that it is very suspenseful but there are scriptural elements in it also, as one of the characters (Dr. Birjandi), is a secret Christian convert and frequently refers to scripture as he talks to David and fellowships with two newly converted men. There is also a romantic element as well and you will need to read to the end to see how that relationship turns out. The action continues all the way to the end. I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Action and Real Characters.

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Damascus Countdown, Joel Rosenberg has created a stunning conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Twelfth Imam and The Tehran Initiative.
Joel Rosenberg has fused together a single story out of multiple viewpoints, using the breaks in perspective to heighten the tension.
And there is much tension in this book, as there is in our world today.
The Islamic false messiah, the "Twelfth Iman" has come into power, an he is leading Muslims all over the globe as they attempt to establish the universal Caliphate. Total Muslim domination is his end, and the Imam is manipulating religion and politics to achieve his goal.
Despite his claims that the global Caliphate will be a reign of peace, justice and unity, the Imam is pursuing as many nuclear weapons as he can. Of course, he calls them "weapons of life."
As Iran's nuclear capabilities increase and increase, Israel launches an effective pre-emptive strike, cutting Iran down to two nuclear warheads. But the warheads cannot be accounted for... and now these "missing" warheads are on the move, on their way to a launch site that American intelligence cannot pinpoint.
Israel knows these warheads must be stopped, but America resists a full commitment to help their ally. The America government is not pleased with Israel's self defense, and instead warns them to stand down or fear sanctions.
Meanwhile, In Iran, crack CIA operative David Shirazi and his fine paramilitary team are given this mission: Find and Destroy the warheads. And do this now. Millions of Israeli and soon America lives hang in the balance.
Shirazi, Fox, Crenshaw, Torres, and Mays must move with precision, and they must let nothing stop them. In other words, they must be the special ops team that they are.
As I read this book aloud, my listeners sat riveted. The action is incredible... The characters are real and you care about them as you read. The story is thought provoking on many levels...especially considering our world today.
Thank you Joel Rosenberg for this book, and thank you Tyndale House and Goodreads for hosting this Giveaway for Damascus Countdown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great ending to a great series

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susanjane
Location:Brampton, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was wonderful to read. I like to see all the Scripture that is included in his stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzy
Location:Laguna Hills, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Joel Rosenbergs books. I swear the man sees into the future. While I was reading the series, the news came on and reported large earthquakes in Iran. I had just read the part in his book about Iran setting off a nuclear weapon underground and triggering a large earthquake. I highly recommend this book as well as the rest of the series. It is a page turner, even if you are not a Christian
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
nannye
Location:B.C. Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as an ebook. I loved the story and how easy it was to download. The story made me ponder as to the possiblity that this could really happen. Nothing dull about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What we have come to expect from Joel Rosenberg

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
PurplePolish
Location:northeast Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel Rosenberg continues to write page turners! The only problem: the next book will be a while in coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Damascus Countdown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spy Thriller Based In The Middle East

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joel C. Rosenberg in his book "Damascus Countdown" Book Three in The Twelfth Imam series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us to The Middle East in the possible future.
From the inside jacket flap: This time, all eyes are not just on Iran, but on Syria as well.
Israel successfully launches a first strike on Iran, taking out all of their nuclear sites and six of their nuclear warheads. American President William Jackson threatens to support a U.N. Security Council resolution condemning the Jewish State for unprovoked and unwarranted acts of aggression. And The Twelfth Imam prepares to order a genocidal retaliation.
Meanwhile, CIA operative David Shirazi has infiltrated the Iranian regime and intercepted top secret intelligence indicating that two Iranian nuclear warheads survived the attack and have been moved to a secure and undisclosed location. In danger not only from the ongoing war between Israel and Iran but also from the increasingly hostile governments in multiple countries, Shirazi and his team are in a race against time to find the remaining nuclear warheads before the most cataclysmic event in the history of The Middle East comes to pass.
I think it is entirely possible that Joel Rosenberg is a spy. Not your typical spy I suppose but since I have never met one and have no reference point based on what I read all I can say is he must be some kind of spy. Mr. Rosenberg knows a lot about how governments work. He has a fascinating amount of information about what is going on in the Muslim world and he has written a fast-paced thriller to prove it.
In "Damascus Countdown" Joel C. Rosenberg weaves together headlines from our current news with Biblical prophecy. This book is entertaining and will have you flipping pages as fast as you can read but, be prepared, it is also thought-provoking and will have you looking up from the page going, "wow". I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Rosenberg is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>