Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed

Tyndale House Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed

This easy-to-read giant print New Living Translation Bible is perfect for the growing baby boomer segment and customers preferring a larger font.

Features include:
  • 14-point font size
  • Words of Christ in red
  • 16 pages of full-color maps
  • Presentation page
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • Thumb-indexed
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2387%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought this for my elderly mother. She loves it!

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is an excellent choice for those with decreased vision. NLT is easy to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent interpretation

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ArthriticBill
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Others say they're "large print", but this one comes through and delivers!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is great for reading.

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
GaGa
Location:Houston, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed that there was no concordance but it had everything else that I wanted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is excellent for clear reading

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sommie
Location:Wellington, New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breat Bible with giant print. Makes reading much easier and clearer. The thumb-index makes life easier also.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gramps
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's everything that was advertised and my wife and I are really enjoying it! The font size and thumb index are nice.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Bible for new believer

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grams
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my friend in prayer since 1982. Led her to the Lord a few weeks ago and she needed a Bible she could read easily. This one is perfect for her and she is growing daily. Thank you!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Please with the whole package

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heaven's Way Ministries Inc.
Location:Apollo Pa.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just what I expected. The Giant print is great. Really didn't care for the imitation leather, looks it. But was very pleased with the purchased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Translation. Great Value.

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
NEW11
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the NLT translation for it's clarity but a truly Giant print version has been difficult to find. This Bible exceeded all of my expectations. The print is large and clear and the binding is strong. I think that this Bible will give me many years of daily use.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Two concerns

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Medford, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The two things I would have liked better were (1) a genuine leather cover, but the best I could find in your on-line website was bonded leather, and (2) pages that you couldn't see through. I know that would make a thicker Bible, but it was a distraction to be able to see shadows from the print on the next page showing through to the page one is on. Otherwise, the size of the print was excellent, and the gilded edges and color of the cover were beautiful. A very handsome Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Foord
Location:Southcoast of Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My newphew just became a Chaplain and it was his Ordination gift. He felt it was a great addition to his toolbox, i.e., easy to read and understandable for younger Christians and baby Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Giant Print - Fancier Font

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
nickname
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The giant print would be nice if it wasn't for the fancy font (used in many Bibles) which for my eyes makes things blur together. Expensive for just a last resort reference. I haven't come across this font used in giant print before - usually found it in regular size print.
The pages are very stuck together - worst then any Bible I have ever had. The pages feel very gritty, as if the gilt from the page edges was covering them.
The cover was ok, but didn't feel very solid/supportive of the pages.
Not what I had expected in quality, I would have to say that this is one of the very poorest quality I have ever gotten - and I have quite a few.
However, the translation is the updated NLT that I was looking for.
For those with better eyes, then the font will not be a problem.
The hardcover (also giant print and updated translation) - while having the same font, is much better quality. Solid and beautiful too.
The hardcover makes for a nice gift - this one unfortunately I would not give as a gift.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product but learned valuable lesson

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
autumnheather
Location:WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible is great but here's a tip if you are buying a bible as a gift for someone who wants a bible of a specific type make sure it's definitely what they want before writing in it in case you want to exchange it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
ebric188
Location:Inverness Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all my Bible arrived one day earlier than you said. That was great. I have very poor Eye sight and when I seen this Giant print Bible I just had to get it. I can see and read my Bible very easy. I have trouble seeing the thumb index but I was not disapointed because I figured it would be a little small. Other than that I would recommend anybody to get this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
January
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible was bought for my grandson. The large-size print will help him to better read and understand the Scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible! Great features!

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible!!! I couldn't wait to get it and I was so pleased with this Bible. I love the font!! It is so great for my eyesight! Absolutely wonderful. Love that it is the red letter version, has great maps in back and I can't stop reading it!! I am so pleased with this Bible. It truly is giant print, yet the bible itself is easily taken wherever I go. Oh my gosh, I love this Bible. Great for the price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The gift recipients loved it!

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Force
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for my older parents (70's) who did not read the word as much as wanted. Their Bible's font was too small and the translation had become tedious for them. They really appreciated this Bible as a gift and now read the word daily. Praise the Lord! Getting it engraved made it all the more special.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT - Easy to read and understand

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was a great buy.
I selected this version becuase I'm a SS teacher and it breaks the language down to something middle schoolers understand much better.
Love it, very glad I purchased it.
There are very few study helps, no problem for me I have plenty of other bibles.
Buy this one for good easy reading not study, there are a few * (greek or hebrew) on each page which is fun, but no deep studies included.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace of God
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There should be genuine leather in this product, because there are people like me that would like to have it in genuine leather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

too many like it

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
MAJ52653
Location:San Jose Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best translation in the best print size. Everyone loves how it reads and is so easy to understand. Which means I keep having to buy another one as I keep having to give them away.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Holy Bible, Giant Print NLT, Bonded Burgundy Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a gift for my wife and she loves it!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
august589
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife had wanted a giant print NLT Bible for quite some; however, such Bibles were hard to find. We were glad to find one through Christianbook.com. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.