Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles

Thomas Nelson Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles

Help your teens discover their unique gifts and how they can use them to help others with this book inspired by the biblical story of the feeding of the 5,000. Written in a candid, down-to-earth voice from author Austin Gutwein, whom is a teenage philanthropist who has built a high school, two medical clinics, and a dormitory in Africa, all before the age of 16! Through this book, he shares how to take what may seem like the simplest of talents, gifts, and interests and to use them for something Jesus can use to move mountains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Review 1 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Amazing message to live by!

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Austin Gutwein is a young man who has chosen to live the life as one who can change his world. In his second book, Live to Give, he inspires an entire generation to do the same. Through his books and his own dream, Hoops For Hope, Austin is making a difference.
Live to Give is a powerful book for people of all ages to read and be challenged to give more of themselves to the world around them. Like the boy in scripture who gave his small lunch, we too can give a small amount and let God make it profound. The writing of this book is definitely intended for young people but its message is timeless.
There are countless scripture references to back Austin's life philosophy as well as the proof that he walks what he talks. He actually got up off his butt, left his ninetendo behind and started to change the world ... by giving of himself. He learned that God is waiting for our willingness; He will supply the rest. No more excuses.
My favourite part was Gutwein's challenge to push through the hard parts, the "smoky" parts because ...
"God is always right beside us, ready to help us out and hand us the oxygen. The oxygen for us is His word."
Read it. Be inspired. Then go change the world.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great inspiration for teens

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What does it mean to live to give? It starts with knowing the reason God put you on this earth. God has something for you to do. He has given you a gift and when you use it, it keeps in giving. Austin knows that God could do it all Himself. Yet, for some reason, God chooses people to solve the world's problems.
Austin has written this book to help young people understand what they have been living for and what they were made to be living for. He uses the example of the boy in John 6 with the lunch to show that each person is unique. He helps his readers find out what their spiritual gifts are.
He continues to use the idea of the lunch to teach several spiritual lessons. He has the knack of telling a very interesting story then associating a truth lesson with it. For example, oven baked, Chicago style pizza can take forty-five minutes to bake. But, “Like many good things, it's worth the wait.” (124) He goes on to write about waiting for God to produce results in your giving. Like planting a garden, results might not come for months.
Austin declares, “Nothing beats living this way! Nothing we could eat, drink, buy, play, watch, or win in life can compare to the feeling of giving ourselves away...” (11)
His final encouragement is to start where you are. “Be willing to let Him use you and your lunch.” (190)
This is a great book for teens. Austins gives man examples of young people who are giving their lives away. He relates stories of Bible characters. And he adds just the right amount of humor.
There are discussion questions at the end of each chapter so this would be a perfect book for a group study.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the LitFuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How We Can Work Together With God!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Austin Gutwein in his new book, “Live To Give” published by Thomas Nelson helps us Let God Turn Your Talents into Miracles.
From the back cover: God doesn’t need your help. But He definely wants it.
Let’s face it. God is God, and there isn’t a single problem in the universe that He can’t solve. But the fact is, God gave each of us unique talents for a reason.
When we offer up the gifts He’s given us, He will transform them into something bigger than we could have ever imagined. He might even work a miracle, like turning one lunch into a meal for 5,000 people. Or turning Austin Gutwein’s favorite hobby into an international AIDS relief organization. What gifts do you have to offer?
God tells us that there is nothing too hard for Him and that there is nothing that He cannot do. So here is the question, what does He need us for? God has chosen to work together with us to accomplish His purposes. When Jesus is on the mountain and He looks at the crowd that had 5,000 men not including the women and children He saw they were hungry and decided to feed them. If He had wanted Jesus could have turned the stones into bread and feed everybody but He chose to work, instead, with the lunch that a boy had. Austin Gutwein gives us the tools we could use to change our mind sets and give our talents to God the same way that boy gave up his lunch. At the end of every chapter there are study questions that will help focus all the teaching in that particular chapter. This is a great book and one that will probably be referred to often.
“Get and Give” Campaign! Win a Kindle Fire from @AustinGutwein and have $250 donated to the Charity of your choice!
< Austin’s new book Live to Give is about “Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles”! Celebrate with him by entering his “Get and Give” Campaign – you could win a Kindle Fire for yourself AND Litfuse will donate $250 to the charity of your choice!
One winner will receive:
A Brand New Kindle Fire with Wi-Fi
Five copies of Live to Give by Austin Gutwein
$250 donated on the winner’s behalf to the charity of their choice
Hurry, the giveaway ends on 8/25/12. The winner will be announced on 8/27/12 on the Live to Give Landing Page!
Just click one of the icons below to enter. Tell your friends about Austin’s giveaway on Facebook or Twitter and increase your chances of winning.
Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Challenge to Teens (and Adults)

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live to Give by Austin Gutwein is a book targeted to a young adult audience. It's a book filled with inspiration and motivation to help young adults see how they were created to partner with God. From a launching point of the boy with the five loaves and two fish, it explores how God chose to work with each of us and challenges readers to search for ways God can use them. At the end of each chapter, there are five questions that walk readers through applying the principles to their lives.
In a time when our focus is often inward, I loved the way the author encourages readers to look at how they can work with God to solve problems. It's a great companion to Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris. And it exemplifies a generation that wants to be used by God. Made me think of my niece who for her 16th birthday had her friends help her serve a meal in a homeless shelter. And instead of gifts, she asked people to bring times they could put in blessing bags that could be given to the homeless.
This is a great book that will challenge others to think outside the box and in big ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very challenging

Date:August 17, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I was reading this book, I found myself forgetting that a teenager wrote this book and was impressed at what this young man has learned in such little years in his life. He has grasped something that many people have yet to grasp about Christ, sadly.
Austin talks about who we were made to give. He reminds his readers that God didn't have to use us. He is very capable of fixing things and doing things on His own. However, He doesn't want to. He WANTS to use us to accomplish His goals.
At the end of each chapter, there are study questions that can be used in a group setting or individually. Reading through the questions, I was impressed with the thought that went through these questions. They weren't cheesy questions, but questions that were well-thought out and were written with the intention of you really thinking about it and figuring out for yourself what God is asking for you to give.
The readers of this book will be asked over and over to answer two questions..."What is it that you HAVE been giving" and "What is it that you were meant to be giving?" He challenges age because he, too, is a young man who founded Hoops of Hope and has already written a book. His gift was playing basketball and he used that to raise nearly $3 million for AIDS relief in Africa.
Encouragement is all throughout this book, as well as things to watch for when you give. You can see Austin's sweet spirit of giving in the pages as you're reading. You can tell that he really does enjoy giving of his time, his talent, and himself.
_____________________________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A worthy message

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Live to Give is an incredible call to live a radical life of both excitement and sacrifice, as the author urges us to realize that God has made us to give back to the world around us. The book is written in easy to read chapters, with "study questions" at the end of each chapter that are designed to make you think about what is unique about you, what gifts God has given you, and how to go about using your talents and time for his purposes and glory. I did find some of the chapters a bit repetitive, but overall feel it a worthwhile read, and one that both teens (the target audience) and adults will enjoy and be inspired by. Austin Gutwein is an individual worth reading about, someone who didn't let his young age hold him back but instead put feet to his faith and has made a significant difference in this world. His message is one worth spreading, especially for the next generation who is looking for purpose in a world that often seems so hopeless.
I definitely plan on recommending this book to the teenagers I interact with on a regular basis, and hope that they take this message and run with it, learning that they have been given so much by God, gifts that they can use to bless the world around them. I award this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Thomas Nelson and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live To Give

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT READ !!!
This book is told by a teenager that has learned the lesson of life and is willing to share with all of us. Austin tells of how the theory of a lunch box, makes you see how your own life is based on GOD's gifts he has given you and how you are able to find them -- his explanation of the theory is very simple and easy to understand.
Think about packing your lunch or ordering your lunch, each day when you eat lunch do others pack or eat the very same things as you? No everyone will pack different things and if eating out they will order different then you. That is how we have to look at ourselves and how GOD wants us to be, all different. If we all packed the same exact lunch then we would not accomplish what GOD has planned us to be. This is such a great theory and a way to remember we all need to use our different gifts we have and not wish we had the gifts that GOD has given to others. Austin explains how people seem to want to have what other bring in their lunch boxes and not liking what we have in ours own boxes... why is that? Let's use what GOD has packed in our lunch boxes.
Austin uses the bible story of the little boy, a loaf of bread and feeding 5,000 people along with the story of how he (Austin) has used his giving to help the children in Zambia. This book has many examples of bible stories and verses as references.
Each Chapter is a short read and has questions at the end for you to use as a personal study, group study or a Sunday School class.
I would recommend this book to everyone to read, it is a great and easy read. I would suggest read thought this book once and then read it again, at a slow pace and really think and answer the questions at the end of each chapter.
To learn more about this book go to the following link:
http://litfusegroup.com/blogtours/13528976/livetogive
To purchase this book go to the following link:
http://ow.ly/cMKFm
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through theLitfues group review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Making a Difference - Impacting Your World

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Austin Gutwein’s uses the story of the five loaves and two fishes from Mark’s gospel as the premise for his book “Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles. Eighteen year old Austin writes for teenagers challenging them to offer up their unique gifts, talents, and passions to God, allowing Him to turn them into miracles in the same way Jesus turned the young boy’s offering of loaves and fishes to miraculously feed 5,000 people.
With amazing insight Austin stimulates his readers to consider two questions: “What have I been living for? And what was I made to be living for?” Each chapter provides profound, practical, do-able action steps in response to relevant challenges from the scriptures, parallels from his personal life, and examples from real life contemporary heroes.
Profound study questions accompany each chapter emphasizing:
• Our individual uniqueness
• The consequences of choices
• Discovering, dedicating, and using spiritual gifts
• Issues of fear, loneliness
• The significant of the proper intake of physical and spiritual food
Austin delivers a strong message of hope and encouragement with a challenge to make a difference and impact the world. Austin is founder of “Hoops of Hope” an organization which has raised nearly $ 3 million for AIDS relief in Africa.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Live to Give: Letting God Turn Your Talents into Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging message about individuality & purpose

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannahetrotter
Gender:female
The most striking thing about Live to Give is the author. I wasn’t at all familiar with Austin Gutwein when I started reading this book, so you can only imagine my confusion when he started writing about packing his lunch for school!
Austin isn’t your typical high-schooler though. His organization, Hoops of Hope is made up of over 40,000 members and has raised nearly $3 million for AIDS relief in Africa. He is also the author of Take Your Best Shot and travels speaking to different youth groups about his organization and his message that God has a plan for each and every one of us.
Chapter One starts off by reminding us “God doesn’t need you”. Austin recounts a time when he was in Africa building a house for a needy family and some of the children approached them, wanting to help. While Austin and his team didn’t need their help, they were overjoyed to allow the children to get involved in the project. He writes, “God can create anything, fix any problem, and He can do it all without us. But He wants to use us, which means we get to work by His side and have front-row seats to see His amazing power.”
This book contains an encouraging message about individuality, purpose, and the amazing gift opportunity we have to be used by God.
I encourage you to purchase your own copy of the book or read more reviews online.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity agency. However, I was not required to write a positive review. The thoughts expressed above are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.