Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Stuff Christians Like

Zondervan Stuff Christians Like

Using the same humor and honesty that galvanized 450,000 online readers from 199 countries, blogger Jonathan Acuff brings his insightful take on Christianity to the book world with Stuff Christians Like. From prayer shot blocks to Metro Worship Leaders, no stone is left unturned in this hilarious look at faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stuff Christians Like
Review 1 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
shamroks829
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the book was recommended to me by a friend. i shopped around at different sites and this site had it for less. my book arrived within a week of placing the order and i love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hilarious truths about how we Christians behave!

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
TeMc
Location:Acworth, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book pokes fun at the things we Christians do. If you don't mind laughing at yourself and other Christians, this book is for you. It's a quick read that handles some serious sin issues with humor. You'll be reminded that although we are saints with a sin problem, we can find joy and laughter throughout our stuggles to become all that God wants us to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very funny, for the right person!

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
jazz guy
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not a book everyone would love, but I sure did! (But then I used to love the Wittenburg Door)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Rutledge
I didn't finish it--the "humor" was not funny. I could tell what the author was trying to accomplish, but it didn't happen. Better luck next time!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Central Baptist Church
"Stuff Christians Like" is already my favorite blogspot. The book continues the witty and insightful look at the Church, challenging some of our silliness, and affirming the wonderful grace of God. A great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Humorous sarcasm laced every page. I liked how he tackled every aspect of the Christian life. I liked how he made fun of it. Sarcasm is wonderful, but I would have liked to see some sort of declaration of beliefs in the introduction or as an epiloguesomething a new believer or searching soul could rest his eyes upon and drink in minus the sarcasm. Sarcastic humor is hard to interpret and with churches nowadays that pick scripture to fit their theology an explanation would have been a nice addition to Stuff Christians Like. For the most part, his words rang truehilariously soand while I liked his book, a couple of entries caused some disquiet like his thoughts on the Old Testament. Lets start with what I liked about the book: He didnt come to take just the good people with him on a bus, and say it was okay if the sick folks like me clung to the side or rode on the roof. He came for us, the broken, the beaten, the severely messed up. Like me. Like you. In Mark 2:17 Jesus says, It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners. When I bumped into the truth, it changed the way I saw my ruined bowl of ice cream. It was no longer something I needed to stir and try to make perfect. It was no longer something I imagined Jesus and God being disguised by. My wasted years and broken promises were no longer something I needed to hide. (From Trying Harder, pg. 200)Book Provided by Zondervan Publishing to Review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
There aren't many books that make me laugh out loud. The problem with Stuff Christians Like is that it had me laughing so much, it threw me out of stealth reading mode. My teenage son quickly realized he was missing out on the fun. From then on, it was a battle to see who'd pick up the book first and get to say, "Oh, you've got to hear this." What makes Stuff Christians Like so funny is the honesty of it. Anybody who's been in church for awhile can relate to these short entries with titles like Dominating the "Please Turn to..." Bible Race During Church, Side Hugs, and Using "Let Me Pray About It" As a Euphemism For "No." But don't fear. Despite his razor sharp wit, there's never a question about Acuff's motives. He's one of us, and he's laughing with us, not at us. If you need a pick-me-up, do yourself a favor and get a copy of Stuff Christians Like. Just don't read it during church... unless you want to cause a commotion. NOTE: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for reviewing purposes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
This is one of those books that readers will either love or hate - there's very little middle ground on this one. Jonathan Acuff grew up the son of a pastor and has the inside track on "stuff" that happens in churches. His approach in Stuff Christians Like is pretty edgy and I'm guessing that the more conservative reader may not appreciate his style.Although I didn't find this book "side-splitting" hilarious, the author does make several good points in this book. One of my favorites was Christians who use prayer request time to spread gossip - how sad, and how true! I also thought his point about abstinence and how to teach it was good, as was his description of how Christians use vacation bible school for free babysitting, Facebook witnessing, Post Modern relevance, side hugs, etc.Jonathan Acuff tells the truth about a lot of taboo "hot topics" in the church/Christian circles but he did make me uncomfortable with some of the topics and opinions he shared in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeri Decker
I laughed out loud while reading this book and do not miss Jon's blog since then.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patrick
Best new author of the year! He is so hilarious that he will have you and whoever you decide to read this to rolling on the ground, laughing! He writes about everday, common occurances that he sees Christians doing. It also makes you think about why we do certain things.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marky B
The title the author wanted to use for this book was "Stuff Christians Like: The Book C.S. Lewis Would Have Written If He Were 40% More Sarcastic and 100% Less Dead." If you don't find that funny, this book is not for you. If you have a good sense of humor and find many things Christians do rather peculiar, this is a great book. Most of the content is light-hearted, humorous observations about Christian life like how to break up with your small group or how to quantify the degree of metrosexuality your worship leader possesses, but there are some really profound applications attached to many of the essays too. You will find yourself going from, "That is so true. People at my church do that" to "Wow, he just pointed out some part in my walk I've been ignoring for years" multiple times throughout this book. If it were up to me (and thank God it's not), I would have added sarcasm to the list of fruits of the Spirit in Galatians 5, and Jonathan Acuff has it in spades.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rich Chamberlain
1. Don't buy this book unless you are able to laugh at yourself. 2. Don't buy this book unless you believe God has a sense of humor. My wife and I literally laughed out loud--prolonged, gut wrenching, hysterical laughter variety--while reading this book. Jon knows his audience well, uses sarcasm with the precision of a surgeon (and occasionally with the precision of a sledge hammer), and he is not afraid to take one sacred cows. Great stuff!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
jennifer webb
I have the audio version of this book and I highly recommend it. I love the Stuff Christians Like blog and when the book came out, I was all over it. Listening to an author read his own book is, in my opinion, the closest you will ever get to what they want to say. Inflection, pronunciation, and emphasis all play a huge part of the audio experience. I enjoyed every minute of the book. My laughing out loud while washing dishes or making dinner drew many dubious looks from my children, but I just said "Razzle Dazzle" and shooed them out of the kitchen.If you're unlucky enough to only have the hard copy of the book, that's ok too. We really don't believe in luck, anyway. Whatever form you can get of this book, do it. Your ab workout of laughter will thank you. I don't want to make you believe that it's all side hugs and worship eagles. There is serious matter dealt with in the pages(or mp3 file) of this work. Jonathan's desire to love on the reader comes across. A thoroughly enjoyable read with encouragement and love thrown in. There's something for all. "This book's for you."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stuff Christians Like
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
Jon, the pastors kid with a mind for branding, a sarcastic mouth, and a heart for God, is challenging how we laugh about faith (as described on the back of the book). He comes up with some alternatives to the Hedge of Protection, which he thinks is slow growing, easily jumped, not nearly enough protection for these crazy times (pp. 68-70): A Beaded Curtain of Wasps A Trampoline Moat of Lions A Rugby Scrum of AngelsI think my favorite part of the book is how Jon confessed to God that he wanted to be famous and Gods response:One night while jogging, I confessed that to God. As ugly and as shallow as that sounds, I said to him, God, I want my story to bring me fame. I want fame. I want to be famous.In a split second, I felt like God laughed. Not AT me, but WITH me, which is something I feel like he regularly does. In my heart, I heard:Ha! You want fame? The creator of the universe knows your name. The Alpha and Omega knows who you are and what you care about. Thats as famous as youre ever going to be. Whose acknowledgement of you is going to stand up next to mine?Is whatever youre doing right now in life going to make you famous? Maybe it will, maybe it wont. But ultimately it doesnt matter. As Christians, weve already peaked. We can stop worrying about trying to become famous Christians. Thats done.We are all famous. (p. 195)I really love Jons heart and his sense of humor knows no bounds! I look forward to continuing to read his thoughts on his blog & the sequel to this book!This book was provided to me by Zondervan Press for review purposes.Ponderings by Andrea
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.