Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1

Zondervan A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1

Hannah Glick, a recent widow, finds herself stuck at a crossroad in her life. Her community offers her love and support, but a new friend offers her the chance of a new life after unexpectedly losing her husband.Wealthy businessman Trey Peterson is surprised at his attraction for the gentle Amish woman who works as a housekeeper in the Lancaster Grand hotel where he is staying. They share a common bond of loss and are able to offer each other comfort and support as they journey through their grief.

Joshua King wants nothing more than to offer his friendship and love to Hannah and her family. Not only is he her husband's best friend and business partner in their shared horse business, he has always been in love with Hannah. Are they destined to be only business partners or will Joshua be able to convince her that they belong together for life?

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Review 1 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Hopeful start

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was totally worth the wait and I loved it from the start. I live outside Lancaster City and in Lancaster County so I always like to see how much is truly accurate in the Amish books set around here. I really enjoyed this book and I think that it addressed some things that aren't just Amish related but human related like gossip. I am looking forward to seeing how this series plays out and I am looking forward to revisiting the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay Start to a New Series

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first book in a new series by the author. Hannah is a widow with three kids and she is working at a hotel to help keep her horse farm running. Her brother-in-law runs the horse farm which had been her husbands dream. While working at the hotel she meets a man named Trey and they both have lost a spouse and they soon become friends. This does not sit well with her community or family. Could this friendship blossom into something more and put Hannah in jeopardy of losing everything she holds dear?
This book was okay. Not quite what I was expecting but still a well written story.
What I liked: I found the storyline interesting and I really liked the characters. Hannah’s husband had been dead for some time yet she still really missed him and I felt for her. She just did not feel like she quite fit in anymore. Hannah has twin daughters. One has a strong Amish faith and the other one has dreams that could lead her away from her community. It was kind of nice to read about the other side of the coin when it comes to the Amish.
What I did not like: **SPOILER ALERT(skip this if you don’t want to know the main story line)** Even though I liked the idea of the story and the characters I had a real problem with Hannah and that she seemed to almost act like a teenager in love instead of an adult. She barely knew Trey and spent very little time with him but fell in love enough to be with him and leave her family and friends. Honestly I thought she was a little crazy for such a quick decision. That is just my opinion of course but this book left me shaking my head a little.
Overall this was an okay book. I am actually looking forward to the next book in this series and how things work out for Hannah and the other people in her family and community. It was well written just not my cup of tea when it came to the plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Bag

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Hopeful Heart (Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel)
Amy Clipston
Book Description: In A Hopeful Heart, the first novel of the new Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel series from best-selling author Amy Clipston, Hannah finds herself at a crossroads in her life. Her community offers her love and support after the untimely death of her husband, but an Englisher offers her the chance of a new life after her unexpected tragedy. Wealthy businessman Trey Peterson is surprised by his attraction to the gentle Amish woman who works as a housekeeper in the Lancaster Grand Hotel. They share a common bond of loss and are able to offer each other comfort and support as they journey through their grief. Joshua Glick wants nothing more than to offer his friendship and love to Hannah and her family. Not only is he her late husband’s brother and business partner, he has always been in love with Hannah. A Hopeful Heart is filled with surprising twists as Hannah tries to balance her life in the Amish community and her growing love for an outsider.
Review: I loved the majority of this book. I liked the characters and the setting. The story line was sad at the start. Yet the book was not gloomy overall. I did find it difficult to believe that leaving the Amish life could be so easily resolved and that it would be harder than anyone could imagine. I believed the way Hannah’s mother-in-law treated her especially when Hannah was friendly with an Engilsher. I found much of the book to be realistic. In my own personal opinion I think that Hannah was a selfish about pursuing her own desires since the Amish are raised to be community minded. I felt very mixed by the end of the book and that is really where I still am.
I would like to thank Book Sneeze and Zondervan Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Hopeful Heart

Date:October 15, 2013
Amish widow Hannah Glick worked as a housekeeper at the Lancaster Grand Hotel. That’s where she met Trey Peterson, a widowed Englisher staying there while searching for a house to buy in the area. They had an instant bond after they talked and found there was finally someone who understood the loneliness from losing a spouse.
Joshua, Hannah’s brother-in-law and business partner, had four years to express his love for her but didn’t decide to do so until he saw her interest in Trey. He cared deeply for her and her children, sixteen year old twins Amanda and Lillian, and ten year old Andrew.
Hannah’s life got complicated when Joshua and Trey both asked her to marry them. This story is about the struggle Hannah has deciding if she should stay Amish and marry Joshua or leave all she has even known and marry Trey.
Hannah’s twins, Lillian and Amanda have there own concerns trying to find their place in the world and have some difficulty with choices they have to make.
Some readers may have trouble with the love at first sight aspect of this story, especially since it’s between and Amish woman and English man. This personally didn’t bother me and I found myself rooting for Hannah to find love again.
As I was reading A Hopeful Heart I could feel the attraction between Hannah and Trey and I appreciate in was done in a clean way. There is also a lot of talk about the characters’ faith and use of Biblical scripture that helped guide their lives. They were following their hearts while discovering if it was God’s will.
Amy Clipston is one of my favorite authors. Once I start one of her books I usually can’t put it down until I’m totally finished reading it. She has done great job of writing another clean romance from a Christian perspective.
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hopeful Heart

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Glick stays busy raising her children, working as housekeeper at Lancaster Grand Hotel and not to forget chores on the farm. Her deceased husband and his brother, Josiah Glick had gone into business together leaving Josiah to run the business with Hannah. There seems to never be enough hours in a day for Hannah. Josiah tries to make her burdens lighter which is no burden to him for he has loved Hannah since before she even fell in love with his brother. Hannah is somewhat aware of his feelings but does not feel the same type of love for Josiah. To her he is a good friend and family.
While working at the hotel she meets a guest, Trey Peterson and finds herself becoming attracted to him. It was very easy to talk with him since they both had lost a spouse. He also has the same dream as she, which is to start a Bed and Breakfast in town. Hannah was warned to guard her heart because he was English. She even invites him to her home for a meal which makes Josiah jealous and her deceased husband's mother very angry with Hannah. Her children seem to be divided in their opinion of their mother's new friend. This concerns her because she finally feels as if her heart is healing.
The author writes about the struggles of healing and starting anew after the loss of a spouse. She shows how it touches the children and the loved one's parents and sibling. Then she kicks it up a by having the widow befriend an Englisher. It's like she turned a fox loose in the hen house. This story keeps you guessing from one chapter to the next. I for one did not want to put the book down. I didn't know whether to be happy or sad with the ending. Probably a little of both.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan/Booksneeze for review was in no way to compensate for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Amish book

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEJ99
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that I have read the book, I see the significance of the woman on the cover, who is turning her back on something. The cover is very pretty and simple.
Description (from Goodreads): Hannah Glick, a recent widow, finds herself stuck at a crossroad in her life. Her community offers her love and support, but a new friend offers her the chance of a new life after unexpectedly losing her husband. Wealthy businessman Trey Peterson is surprised at his attraction for the gentle Amish woman who works as a housekeeper in the Lancaster Grand hotel where he is staying. They share a common bond of loss and are able to offer each other comfort and support as they journey through their grief. Joshua King wants nothing more than to offer his friendship and love to Hannah and her family. Not only is he her husband’s best friend and business partner in their shared horse business, he has always been in love with Hannah. Are they destined to be only business partners or will Joshua be able to convince her that they belong together for life?
Language: 0.
Other objectionable: There was nothing really objectionable in this book, except for some minor flirting and a family is split because of a decision one of their members has to make. No spoilers for you guys here!
Suitable for: I'd say middle schoolers would be okay to read this book. Even though it's adult fiction, it's very clean.
Pros: The plot of this book was very intricate, detailed, and fast-moving. There were several minor stories developing along with Hannah's story, so that made the book very interesting. I love reading about the Amish...they are such an interesting people group and I have a lot of respect for them! I also loved the backstories of Hannah and Trey. That added a lot to the book.
Cons: I didn't really read anything that I didn't love! The ending is sad, but almost every character gets what they wanted (in a good way!) and I think it provided closure. I was also surprised by the ending, as I thought it would be your typical happily-ever-after romance ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SO FAR OFF-BASE

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Technically, Amy's writing is excellent. Leaving the standard Amish plot was interesting; until it digressed to ridiculous. Moms DON'T abandon 16 year old kids for their own needs. SO selfish! This is common in the secular world, but should NOT be supported by Christian authors. God does NOT divide families! God would never encourage any woman to meet their needs above their children. SO disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story and excellent reading.

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought the book was well written--in showing that Amish widows have the same feelings as other women in their predicaments. With Hannah--she was the dutiful wife-and did as her first husband wished. But after his untimely death--she wanted to find her dream--a bed and breakfast place. She found it with Trey--but also found that 2 of her children were comfortable going to live with her --while one of them wanted to remain being Amish. As always-Amy Clipston comes through --ON TOP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Hopeful Heart by Amy Clipston is a wonderful Amish story with a different twist than most Amish novels. Hannah Glick has been widowed for four years and has sixteen year old twin daughters and a six year old son. She works as a housekeeper at the local hotel and in an embarrassing situation, she meets Trey Peterson a wealthy businessman who lost his wife and daughter a year earlier. Her brother-in-law, Joshua, has loved Hannah since they were children and the desire of his heart is to become her husband and a father to her children. As Hannah and Trey continue to see each other regularly at the hotel they realize that they are beginning to feel more than just friendship for each other. Hannah has been Amish all her life and loves her community and family but she has always had dreams that can be fulfilled if she decides to leave the Amish community and marry an Englisher. Rumors about Hannah and Trey fly through the Amish community and Hannah must decide if she wants to remain Amish which would require that she kneel and repent before the entire church or if she wants to leave the faith and marry Trey.
Characters were so well developed that they became alive on the pages of the book and I felt as if I knew every one of them personally and that they were my friends. The plot line had a surprise or two that kept me guessing if Hannah would remain Amish or marry Trey. The author’s description of the farms with their houses, barns, animals, and buggies were so expertly done that I could clearly picture each one as I read about it.
The emotions of the main characters were so real that I was crying or laughing right along with them and I wanted to give the mother-in-law a good shaking. I really like the way that the author included Dietsch words throughout the story for in my opinion they add authenticity to the story. I really liked that this story was somewhat different than all the other Amish stories that I have read. Usually the problems happen to the community as a whole or to one of the characters but in this book the main character has to decide if she will stay in the Amish community or if she will marry an Englisher. I am sure there are other Amish books that deal with that problem but so far this is the first one I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great Amish story.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan as a part of the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Hopeful Heart, by Amy Clipston, is the first book in the Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel series. It focuses on two people who have previously lost their spouses in sudden, unexpected ways.
Hannah Glick is working at the hotel in order to help pay for hired help at the horse farm she shares with her brother-in-law. Having been a widow for four years, she finds herself confused when she meets Trey Peterson, a widower who has lost his wife and daughter. As she struggles with her feelings, as well as her community’s reaction to relationship with Trey, she also struggles to make a proper decision for her children. Torn between marrying her brother-in-law, Josh, and remaining in the community or marrying Trey and facing a shunning, she turns to God for answers.
I enjoyed reading this book. It is one of the few Amish fiction novels I have read where the main character leaves the Amish community. It seems that most of them involve the characters returning to the group after a period of time away from it. This was a refreshing change. I would recommend this book to all who enjoy Amish fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amy pulls at your heartstrings with this one

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hannah Glick lost her husband a few years ago but continues to live on the farm where he and his brother Joshua raised horses. She is the mother of 16 year old twin girls and a 10 year old son. The family is getting along well but she still misses her husband and has gone to work at the Grand Hotel in Paradise to help supplement the business so they can hire Joshua some help. The property actually belongs to her in-laws and she has to pay them rent to live in the house.
Joshua has loved Hannah since the were youngsters, even though she married his brother he never found another woman he wanted to make his wife. He feels like he's gotten closer to her since Gideon has died and he loves his nieces and nephew as if they were his own. He sees Hannah daily and eats many meals with her family and he's falling more in love with her every day.
While Hannah is working at the Grand Hotel she meets Trey Peterson, a very nice and handsome man, but he's an Englischer. Trey lost his wife and teenage daughter about a year ago so they have a lot in common. When Andrew, Hannah's son, falls while she's at work and is bleeding profusely, Trey offers to drive her home. He waits until he knows Andrew is okay to leave and when Hannah walks him to the car he comforts her with a hug.
Rumors are soon running rampant and not only affecting Hannah, but her children also. After talking to the Bishop she agrees to stay away from Trey, she has to for the sake of her family. Will she ever find out who started the rumors, will she be able to stay away from Trey, or will she agree to marry Joshua for her family's sake? Hannah spends a lot of time in prayer and crying, she even takes a leave from work, she really doesn't know what to do.
I found my heart beating in sympathy for Hannah and the decisions she has to make, it is heartbreaking. Amy kept my blood pressure up and I was praying right along with Hannah, thanks Amy, I already have high blood pressure, haha! I hope the choice she made is the right one and that she and her children will be happy.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God led her to the hotel so she could find joy!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading The Outsider by Penelope Williamson, "A Hopeful Heart" grabbed my attention by the similar plot. It is the first book in a series from "Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel", and from the very first page I knew this was truly going to be a "Grand" journey, that might even surpass The Outsider! The 317 pages just flew by, as Miss Amy Clipston tells the story of young, widowed Hannah Glick, a maid at the hotel who awkwardly and unexpectedly encounters one of the English guest's, Trey. They are instantly drawn to each other by the bonds of one another's lost spouses and friendship which eventually blossoms into forbidden love! I was rooting for Hannah and Trey the entire way, once she welcomed him into her home and her heart! True they are from different worlds, but the Lord works in mysterious ways as in "opposites attract" ;) They go through quite a few hurdles to find happiness again, an unlikely villain, Hannah's brother-in-law, Joshua, (wolf in sheep's clothing), secretly obsesses over his late brother's wife, more in lust than in love to me, I could never like his character! The strict Amish community, her Mother, and friends all have their opinions, but in the end, God has the final word! ;)
You will instantly feel for them. What's also beautiful is how we not only get the POV or Hannah and Trey, but also her two daughters, Amanda "positive as the morning sunshine", and Lillian "worrisome as storm clouds brewing in the afternoon"! I love them both, but I must say I love Amanda more, as she has a heart to care for animals as I do, while Lily dreams of becoming a teacher, yet both are extremely lovable! ;) You'll get a lesson in life how our personal decisions can have a rippling effect that can be heartbreaking but rewarding! It's sure to be a Classic, filled with forbidden love, gripping drama, family ties, and above all, having no doubts and faith in God! A clean book for all ages, I'm so eager to learn what becomes of the Glick's next!!
A BIG THANK YOU to Miss Amy Clipston for personally sending me a copy in exchange for an unbiased, non-profit review!! BLESS YOU ALWAYS!! ;)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hopeful Heart

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mamaof4
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Glick has taken a job cleaning at the hotel in town to make enough money to keep the horse farm running, now that her husband has died. At first it was just a job, but now she enjoys getting out of the house a bit and meeting interesting people. And with her children a little older, it is easier to be away several days each week. Plus, her brother-in-law and partner is working with the horses if the children would need anything.
Trey Peterson is trying to fulfil his wife's dream of opening a bed and breakfast in an Amish community. He is plagued by guilt that he worked too much and was not home when his family was killed by carbon monoxide one night. But now that his has taken an early retirement and sold the house, he is ready to try and move on with his life.
Hannah and Trey meet unexpectedly in the hotel where he is staying and she is working. Their paths cross multiple times and they strike up a friendship of understanding, because both have lost their spouse. Their friends and family do not understand the friendship and Hannah encounters problems because Trey is not Amish.
The book is well written and easy to read. The characters are well developed and believable. While I have read a number of Amish fiction books, this one does take the Amish/ English tension in a little different way that others. But still preserving the Amish faith and convictions. I look forward to the next book in the series.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Zondervan, the publisher. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

hopeful story

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy Clipston has written a delightful tale of hope and healing in A Hopeful Heart. Hannah Glick, an Amish widow who is working in housekeeping at the Lancaster Grand Hotel, meets English widow, Trey Peterson, who is staying at the hotel. He is hoping to fulfill his former wife's dream of running a Bed & Breakfast in Lancaster's Amish country. Hannah is hoping to be able to provide for her family and find love again. What is God's will for their lives? To be together, one of them must give up the lifestyle they are accustomed to. Add to the mix Hannah's teenage twin daughters and young son and a critical, harsh mother-in-law and one love struck brother-in-law and you have a very exciting tale! I read this book within 24 hours, picking it up as much as I possibly could.
I think there are many possible things to relate to in the book: critical relatives, children with agendas of their own, lost love, fears of the future, and grief and loss. I was certainly able to relate to many of the character's feelings, and I was rooting for each of the main characters to follow their hearts. For horse lovers among readers, an added bonus is the family horse farm !
I received a free pdf version of this book from booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Story

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book, A Hopeful Heart, by Amy Clipston, is a modern day Romeo and Juliet story with a twist. Widow, Hannah Glick, has been forced by circumstances to work outside her Amish home to provide extra income to care for her family. The family horse farm, co-owned with her brother-in-law Joshua, is successful, but needs to hire additional help to continue to thrive. Through an awkward situation, Hannah meets an Englishman, Trey Peterson, while working at the hotel. Something about his story draws Hannah into a relationship with him. Hannah struggles with this friendship, knowing that there are complications. However, her heart will not allow her to walk away. She has decisions to make, but there are serious repercussions that she must be willing to accept. Will Hannah be able to follow her heart or will her Amish roots keep her firmly planted, leaving the void her husband's death created, unfilled?
This book is absolutely full of dialogue; conversations between the various characters. This novel was a good, clean story, but I did not find myself delving into it. When I really like a book, I struggle to put it down. I have never read other books by this author, so I do not have anything further to base my opinion on.
I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Booksneeze. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Hopeful Heart, Hearts of the Lancaster Grand Hotel Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great love story

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:Davenport, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Hopeful Heart was a great story about love, faith and choosing your path that God has chosen for you. I am looking forward to finding out what will happen next with Hannah and Trey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.