Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1

Zondervan Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1

Tessa Lancaster's skills first earned her a position as an enforcer in her Uncle Teruo's Japanese Mafia gang. Then they landed her in prison for a crime she didn't commit. Now, three months after her release, Tessa's abilities have gained her a job as bodyguard for wealthy socialite Elizabeth St. Amant and her three-year-old son.But there's a problem or two . or three .. There's Elizabeth's abusive husband whose relentless pursuit goes deeper than mere vengeance. There's Uncle Teruo, who doesn't understand why Tessa's new faith as a Christian prevents her from returning to the yakuza. And then there's Elizabeth's lawyer, Charles Britton, who Tessa doesn't know is the one who ensured that she did maximum time behind bars. Now Tessa and Charles must work together in order to protect their client, while new truths emerge and circumstances spiral to a deadly fever pitch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Review 1 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ex-con, now Christian, for hire

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tessa just got out of prison three months ago. She had been an enforcer in her Uncle Teruo's Japanese mafia gang in San Francisco and she took the fall for her cousin's crime. All for the family, she thought.
But while she was in prison she had a life changing experience. She got saved. How can she possibly live a new life when her Uncle expects her to continue working for him?
Tessa meets a woman at a shelter who needs protection from her violent husband as she pursues a divorce. Tessa agrees to help her and both of them get plunged into the dangers of the Asian underworld.
This novel got off to a bit of a slow start. The Japanese mafia in San Francisco was entirely new to me, as was its conflict with the Chinese mafia. It took me a while to get involved in the novel but once I did, I enjoyed it. Tessa is an expert in martial arts and it is a good thing. As an ex-con, she cannot carry a weapon.
The force of this novel is Tessa's new faith. How can she live out her Christianity when there is vengeance and rage surrounding her? How can she maintain the honor of her family yet honor Christ?
There is just a hint of romance in this novel. At the end, we are certainly set up for more in the sequel. I look forward to the sequel.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved every page!

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always loved Ms. Tang's writing, but she really hit it out of the ballpark with Protection for Hire! The characters were fresh (not your normal characters!), the plot twisted (in a good way) the tension high, the story multifaceted and the theme meaningful. This author has such a clear, natural and witty voice that I find myself smiling quite often.. even during the tense parts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessa is a very talented, highly skilled young woman who can't find a job. The fact that she just recently got out of prison might be a factor. Also the fact that her skills are those of an enforcer for the Japanese mafia really doesn't provide her the background for necessary for most any other job.
Actually she can get a job, but she's a different woman than the one who entered prison. As a Christian, she refuses to return to the family business/ Deciding her only option is to hire out as a body guard, her first client is a wealthy lady with a small son.
One of the first complications is her client's lawyer. Unknown to Tess, this guy was involved in making sure she received the maximum sentence. Is it really possible that she might begin to fall in love with this jerk?
It can sometimes be difficult to figure out who are the good guys and who are the bad guys. One thing I can guarantee. Camy has done it again. She has yet to disappoint me with any of her books.
***A special thank you to Camy for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Suspense Novel!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have long been a fan of Camy's suspense novels. I wasn't real big on her other books but I love her mysteries! So when I heard this one was coming out I wa son the lookout for it. I was very glad to be able to get it through the author herself who was kind enough to pass on a copy for review purposes. This book is a full length mystery so I was wondering how it would be.
From page one I was plunged deep into a mystery and it starts off with a bang:) And from there it just keeps going. If you like an on-the-run, full speed, non-stop action book, you will enjoy this one. There were a couple things in this book that I didn't think needed to be in there. I know I am pretty strict on what is in the books that I read, but things like, he was dating her to get into her pants, etc. I could have done without.
I do like how the Christianity is woven through without being preachy. There are several instances of Tessa giving some sort of Bible lesson but it doesn't come across in that manner. Some good principles throughout the book. Again, if you like a good edge-of-your-seat suspense, check this one out!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting new Camy Tang novel series!

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessa Lancaster is the strong heroine in a new series which starts with "Protection For Hire". Camy Tang introduces us to this multi-faceted character, a new Christian, who is a former member of the Japanese mafia. The "yakuza" gang is controlled by Tessa's Uncle Teruo. Newly released from prison, Tessa is jobless and spends her days as a volunteer at a women's shelter. She meets a battered wife, Elizabeth St. Amant and her young child at the shelter. A new career is opened for Tessa when Elizabeth asks her to hire on as her protector as a bodyguard. An unlikely and uneasy realtionship is also formed When Tessa works with Charles Britton, Elizabeths' lawyer.
The novel is published by Zondervan and Tang fans will find it a little different than her Love Inspired offerings. It is rich in characters that I'm sure we will be able to look forward to in the next books in the series. A good read. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The beginning of a new and great series

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Protection for Hire was the first book I read from Camy Tang and it won't be the last. It was neat reading something a little different having some of the Japanese culture mixed in. This book is full of action, supsense, romance and so much more that you will just have to read it to find out. The depth and dynamics of the character will keep you wanting more all the way to the last page. This is a book full of love, God's will, family, faith and choices and includes something for everyone. This book is the beginning of a new series and I am looking forward to reading the next. Book two, A Dangerous Stage will be out sometime in 2012. Great job Camy Tang on a great book!
*I received this book from Zondervan for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Action-packed

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I enjoyed this contemporary, christian fiction novel packed with action and full of realistic characters.
Tessa, our heroine, is a strong Christian woman trying to leave her dark past behind and make a new life for herself away from the Japanese mafia. But, of course, people -even her mother and especially her sister- are reluctant to give her a second chance. This was very realistic and I liked how the author portrayed the whole situation. I also liked reading about Tessa's struggles to live as a Christian and to learn to control her temper.
Also, the choices she had to make were never easy, but she was determined to live for Jesus.
I really loved this part.
The action part was a large part of the entire story, and while I would have liked it to be a little more fast-paced, it was ok and had a few surprises along the way. There were a few action scenes too, quite well-written.
The romance with a young lawyer, Charles, was really sweet, but also deep at times, which I loved. There was no love at first sight or any of this immature stuff, just a growing relationship of trust and getting to know each other. I just love it when the hero and heroine are forced to fight together, it just seems to make them bond much more than going on dates...
There were some funny parts, too, which I enjoyed.
The book is generally written in a chick-lit genre manner, which I am not a great fan of, and I expected it to be written differently. For this genre it was really well-written, though, although I had to skip over a few conversations that seemed boring to me.
I rceived this book form Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
Rating: 3/5
you can find this review and more at my blog,
bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great book can't wait to read rest of series

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great read, I enjoyed it a lot. Like I've said before I love this type of book and I'm so happy this is going to be a series. Tessa was born into a family that after serving a prison sentence she decides to leave it behind. But can she really leave behind her old life so easy? Can she just walk away from all the situations she finds herself into? Tessa is a very likeable character and a stand tall and proud type of girl. Tessa is doing all she can to stay true to her new found christian values. Follow Tessa's journey in book 1: Protection for Hire. Can't wait for the rest of the series to come out.
thank you zondervan for sending me the review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of her best books yet!

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zekkaina
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read and enjoyed Camy Tang's “Sushi Series”, I was ecstatic to see her first full length novel in two years (she's published two Love Inspired novellas during that time). Camy Tang doesn't disappoint in the first entry to the Tessa Lancaster series –with humor, action, unique characters and of course, Ms. Tang's signature “romance with a kick of wasabi”.
From “Walker, Texas Ranger's” Sydney Cooke to “NCIS's” Ziva David and many more in between, I've grown up watching many “kick-butt”, independent heroines on television, but I had never encountered them in Christian fiction until I met Tessa Lancaster in “Protection for Hire” (okay, I admit it, I usually read historicals). I appreciated that despite her strong personality and abilities, Tessa also had vulnerabilities and struggles that made her easy for me to relate to. I think every Christian who has relatives who don't share their faith can understand and emphasize with Tessa's struggle to relate to her family (especially with her mom and sister).
I eagerly await the continuation of Tessa's story in the next “Protection for Hire” novel and will probably peruse more contemporary inspirational suspense in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Romantic, Action Packed Novel!!!

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Megan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection for Hire is a romantic, action packed novel, that even has a slight mystery to it. I loved reading this book, it was enjoyable to the last page! I hated when I had to put this book down and was quick to hurry back to it. The story had many twists, which made it all the more enjoyable, because I was never sure who was behind it all.
When Tessa chose to take the blame for a murder she had nothing to do with, she went to prison for the maximum amount of time. This however was a blessing in disguise, because while in prison she accepted Jesus as her Savior and this turned her life around. She wants to get out of the family business and live her life right. Now she only has to find a job...with a criminal record and a reputation that strikes fear in most people, that shouldn't be too hard, right?
Protection for Hire is a great read. I LOVED it and am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I highly recommend this book.
***I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I was asked to give my honest opinion of the book - which I have done.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ExCon seeks bodyguard gig. Can provide own wasabi.

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Joy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Christian author Camy Tang asked her Street Team to review her latest book, Protection for Hire, I jumped at the chance. She's been my favorite authoress since I found her first book, Sushi for One?, on the clearance rack at my local (now out of business) Christian book store!
Protection for Hire is the first in her latest series. Camy's trademark "kick of wasabi" flavours the pages as the Asian-American heroine, Tessa, a mafia enforcer sent to prison for a crime she didn't commit, struggles to reconcile her new faith with her old life while saving the life of her client, a wealthy mother on the run from her abusive husband.
Tessa is a brand new Christian, and as such, still has significant struggles. She won't accept her mob-boss uncle's employment, but "borrows" money from her mother without permission. She struggles with her temper, knowing that with her martial arts training, a fight could turn deadly.
Most action heroines do not feel real to me. But when I read this book, I felt like I could run into Tessa on my campus or at church. Tang does an excellent job of writing characters realistically, with flaws her readers can identify with.
Fans of procedurals (such as Bones or Law & Order) will enjoy this book!
(I received a copy of the book for my review, however, my opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy Kanost
Location:York, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection for Hire is a great read. It is the kind of book that you start reading and keep reading until you finish it. I was so engaged in the story and characters that I couldn't put the book down until I found out what happened. The story and the characters much more original than your average Christian suspense, and the plot is unpredictable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Camy Tang's best book!

Date:December 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura J
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Tessa was just sixteen she began working for her Uncle Teruo's Japanese Mafia gang, so when she takes the fall for someone else's crime and gets seven years in prison, she isn't surprised that people still expect her to be a criminal. Instead, she's a Christian trying to make a fresh start. When she agrees to become a bodyguard for Elizabeth St. Amant, an abused woman whose life is in danger, Tessa finds herself back into her old world...except this time, she's on the right side. Will Tessa be able to stop the people who want Elizabeth dead?
I've read most of Camy Tang's work and enjoyed it. However, this is by far her best book. The action and character development were amazing. As always, the Chinese and Japanese cultures are woven throughout the novel. One of Tang's best writing qualities is her grasp of family dynamics, and this book had one of the best as Tessa forged a relationship with her mother and sister.
Tang did a great job peeling back the layers in her characters, pushing past the superficial and getting to their hearts and motivations....all while out-driving trails and fighting assassins.
Fans of Camy Tang will love this novel. It has a little of everything: culture, romance, action, and family. I look forward to reading the second book in the series!
I received this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As Always, Camy Delivers!

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
M C Pearson
Location:Morganton, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest book from Camy Tang, Protection for Hire, made my heart beat faster, my body giggle, and my stomach growl. Her writing is so much fun. I love her inner dialogue and the way she can make even the most serious scenes amusing. This new series promises to be exciting! It reminded me of a Bones episode, but Christian. The main character is 1/2 Japanese and 1/2 Irish, so you know she has a temper. Born into a Japanese mafia family, she becomes a Christian while in prison. When she gets out, she wants to stay away from her old life (and habits), but you know what they say about habits, don't you? She gets into lots of awkward spots, but with the help of a very cute lawyer, she is able to wiggle free. As always, Camy has lots of tantalizing food in her books. I inevitably end up eating some Asian food while reading. I give this book 5 stars...go out and buy it today! You'll have a lot of fun reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Suspense with a kick of Wasabi

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
cowgirl
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Camy Tang must have taken a cue from her days in the biology lab when she came up with the formula for “Protection For Hire.” She took the basic ingredients of romantic suspense and added in a kick of her trademark wasabi to create a five-star recipe that will keep you coming back for more!
Tessa Lancaster is a Japanese American with deep family ties. From the age of sixteen Tessa is known on the streets as a violent and ruthless enforcer for the Japanese Mafia (yakuza) until she sacrificed her freedom to protect the family. Fresh out of prison after serving seven years for a crime she didn’t commit, Tessa is free to return to “the family”-literally-the yakuza run by her Uncle Teruo. While in prison, Tessa is set free spiritually, encountering Christ and becoming a Christian.
Tessa sets out on a straight career path, channeling her skills into serving as a bodyguard for wealthy socialite Elizabeth St. Amant and her three-year-old son. But being from the upper crust doesn’t preclude Elizabeth from having problems. The socialite comes with a lot of baggage, including an abusive ex-husband and a missing fortune.
Tessa is grittier than most heroines-she’s trained in martial arts and we get to see her put her skills to the test against a variety of bad guys. She doesn’t doubt her ability to keep her charges safe but she’s going to have a harder time guarding her own heart. The case forces her to work closely with Elizabeth’s lawyer, Charles Britton. Tessa unknowingly lets her guard down to the man who led the charge to lock her up and throw away the key for her supposed crime.
The pair must try to survive assassins, gang rivalries, and exasperating family in their search to give Elizabeth her life back.
It’s not only evil that Tessa is battling. She faces temptation in the form of a disappointed mother, an angry sister and eager uncle, who all still see Tessa the same as they always have. Tessa must decide whether to handle things herself, the way she did when her life revolved around the yakuza, or to fully follow Christ.
I was surprised that one of my favorite characters was Uncle Teruo. Tang does an excellent job of slowly growing his character into a man much deeper than just a caricature of the organized crime boss.
The first few chapters are heavy on description-though it’s integral to the plot and informative about the Asian mob community. The book quickly progresses to a page turning read with strong dialogue, an engrossing plot and characters you’ll care about.
Fans of books by Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock and Irene Hannon, and fans of female detective including Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series and the Sunny Randall series by Robert B. Parker will enjoy “Protection For Hire.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fastpaced thriller with romance faith & girl power

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
cheryl59
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection For Hire follows the story of Tessa Lancaster, former enforcer and niece to the Japanese mafia's big boss who, after going to prison for a crime she didn't commit,has come out with a new found faith and set of morals, hoping for a second chance. Like the cartoon characters with a devil and an angel on opposite shoulders, Tessa can either take the easy option and go back to the fold, accepting her uncle's job offer in the Mafia, or listen to her heart and try to find a respectable job and lifestyle.
It's a fast-paced thriller with a hint of romance and a generous dose of girl-power ! The supporting cast of characters are interesting and I'm hoping they will be further developed in the following books in the series. The opening excerpts of book 2, included at the end of the first tome, promise another soul-searching and adrenalin-fuelled novel.
Reading this back to back with Camy Tang's Sushi For One?, I couldn't help but draw a lot of parallels between them. They both have sporty, tomboyish, tough as nails on the outside but vulnerable underneath, female lead characters and both offer a fascinating glimpse into the world of Japanese and Chinese culture. While being categorised as Christian literature, both novels offer stories that, while certainly having a strong message of faith, deliver it in such a way that it will not be offputting to non-believers. Camy gives you food for thought, she doesn't ram it down your throat !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian Fiction with an Edge of Sassy!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Passionate Reader
Location:Sevierville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection for Hire: A Novel
I have read a lot of Christian fiction and I can't remember one that reads like Camy Tang's Protection for Hire. It is a cross between Alias and Covert Affairs with an overlay of faith! It takes a gifted author to mix that into a winning combo and Camy has! I can really get caught up into an edgy suspenseful drama like this one. It incorporated an arsenal of human emotions which made the characters seem real and transparent; certainly relatable. Although the prologue was hardhitting, it set the tone for Tessa's transforming faith. I like that Camy didn't "perfect" her faith but allowed us to see the reasoning behind her choices and her realization that she could easily slip into old habits. (Can't we all?)
I appreciated learning about Asian culture including new words, foods and martial arts moves! Everyone has a story and it isn't until we take a closer look into the depth of the character that we can truly appreciate who they are. Life can have an ugly side and we see that in the Mafia underground. It was interesting to me to see the loyalty Tessa displayed - even unto a jail sentence for a crime she didn't commit. Don't know too many who would make that choice willingly! Her character although has a hard edge has a vulnerable side that surfaced frequently.
I could personally relate to the family dynamics between Tessa her sister and mother. There was a wonderful balance of suspense, human emotions and comic relief. I look forward to Book 2 in the series and watching Tessa grow in faith; and kick butt in the process! I would hire her for a bodyguard! PS - Camy, she needs a new car!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Suspense from Sushi Author

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessa is half-Japanese, half-English/Scottish/Italian, aged 30 and unemployed. She is looking for a job while she volunteers at a San Francisco women's shelter, but her prison record (seven years for manslaughter) and her family (niece of a notorious Japanese crime lord, for whom she used to work as an enforcer) are making it difficult for her to find an honest job. Her uncle has offered for her to return to working for him, but she became a Christian in prison, and wants to live a life that reflects her new faith.
While working in the shelter she meets Elizabeth St. Armant and her son, Daniel. Elizabeth is a wealthy heiress whose husband is trying to kill her, so when she finds out about Tessa’s unique skills, she hires Tessa as her own personal bodyguard. Her attorney (and old family friend) does not approve of this move. Charles thinks Elizabeth is over-reacting, he knows Tessa from his days as a law clerk involved in her trial and sentencing, and he has a hard time believing that she has changed. However, it soon becomes apparent that someone really is trying to harm Elizabeth, so Charles and Tessa are soon investigating to find out who and why. While Charles might know the law, it soon becomes apparent that Tessa’s knowledge of the criminal underworld is invaluable.
Protection for Hire is a fast-paced and enjoyable thriller with lots of crossing and double-crossing, and although it was a little lacking in the romance department, there is a sequel in the works that will hopefully deliver more on this front. While the novel overall was serious, there were also a handful of comic moments that I enjoyed, such as when Charles does some undercover investigating, and is introduced as Charles Carmichael - the name of Chuck Bartowski’s suave spy alter ego from the TV show ‘Chuck’. Or when we find out Charles’s mother is from Shreveport, the home of all those vampires in the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the TV show ‘True Blood’.
Thanks to Zondervan and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Different from Sushi Series, still a great read

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
pwnmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Protection for Hire by Camy Tang was really different from the books I am used to reading by her. It is categorized as "general, Christian, fiction" and most of what I have read by her has been "chic-lit." While it was different, Protection for Hire was just as good as her Sushi Series.
Tessa Lancaster, niece of the head of a Japanese mafia gang, is an enforcer with skills that earned her a position in the otherwise "all-guy" mafia. Her position earns her respect (or fear as the case may be), but also a prison sentence that she doesn't deserve when she takes the blame for a murder she didn't commit. While in prison, Tessa turns her life over to Christ and decides to change her ways. Three months after her release, she meets socialite Elizabeth St. Amant while volunteering at a domestic abuse shelter. Elizabeth is running from an abusive husband and hires Tessa to be her bodyguard.
Tessa has several problems to overcome: her Uncle Teruo, who doesn't understand why she can't return to the mafia, Elizabeth's husband, who is relentless in coming after her, even trying to kill her, Alicia her own sister who drives her crazy and is constantly snipping at her and Charles Britton, Elizabeth's lawyer, who is the one who made sure that Tessa served the maximum time behind bars, unbeknownst to Tessa.
Tessa and Charles have to work together to protect Elizabeth and her son and try to get her inheritance back from Elizabeth's husband in the midst of deadly circumstances and hidden truths coming to light.
There is definitely some suspense and a little darkness in this book. It's still a "good read" filled with hope, growth and a budding romance! I can't wait until the second book in the series comes out, especially after the teaser excerpt at the end of this book.(less)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Protection for Hire, Protection for Hire Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense, Humor, Inspiration - What a Package!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marji Laine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camy Tang has created a great new character for book one of her new series. Tessa is downright scary in the prologue, and though I committed to reading the book, I didn't identify with her at all. That is, until I reached the first page of Chapter One, where she led a game of
Simon Says for a group of children at a battered wives' safe house. You can bet I liked her from then–on. Tough and smart, she is also compassionate, but troubled.
Protection for Hire has a twisted plot set in the shadowy underworld of the San Francisco mafia. As I read, I felt over and over again the helplessness of the case. There was no safety. No way out. The tension with the entire situation never gave release. Just as answers showed up on the radar, new problems cancelled them out. The energy stayed amped, but avoided frustration. Ms. Tang also avoided bookmark spots; I couldn't put the story down!
While Tessa's journey provided the impetus of the story, other characters brought charm to a new level. I really liked Charles, but his mother and her friend were downright delightful and not just because they were from the South. Or maybe it was! Either way, I could totally identify with them!
Protection for Hire is full of humor and shares a powerful message of grace and trust. The story moves the reader as well as entertains. I give it 4 1/2 kisses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>