Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook

Multnomah Books Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 out of 3194%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Review 1 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

don't settle for good enough. . .try greater

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
DiscipleMom Laura
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book Greater, pastor and author Steven Furtick encourages readers to pursue "greater" instead of good enough or greatness. He says, "Greater = the life-altering understanding that God is ready to accomplish a kind of greatness in your life that is entirely out of human reach."
Taking lessons from the prophet Elisha and weaving them together with scriptures and modern-day stories of faith, Furtick shows how God is present in the ordinariness of life and how readers must choose to break away from the old and embrace the new. He also encourages readers to:
get their hands dirty because faith is work;
to see their limitations as God's greatest opportunities; and
Furtick ends Greater with prayers over the readers, in a sort of "passing the mantle" just as Elijah passed the mantle to Elisha. Furtick encourages readers to take up the mantle and live a life that is not good enough or full of greatness, but a life that is greater.
As is normal, Furtick fills his book with Tweetable quotes. His story-telling abilities and down-to-earth, every-day way of putting things draw readers in to Elisha's story, meeting readers where they are and helping them move on to "greater."
This book is an easy read, but it's not necessarily easy to put the principles into practice. They are challenging in that the reader has to let go of pride and selfishness in order to take up the mantle and live a life that is greater--to embrace what God wants to do in and through them.
I like the suggested "Tweets" listed below each chapter title in the table of contents. They whet the reader's appetite, and then when the reader happens upon them in the text, they likely find themselves highlighting those very quotes. But in context, those quotes mean so much more. Additionally, there are discussion questions at the end for groups, though individuals would still benefit from them. The questions lead readers to process what they've read, to internalize it, to apply God's Word to life.
About the Author
Steven Furtick is the best-selling author of Crash the Chatterbox and Sun Stand Still. He is the founder and lead pastor of Elevation Church in Charlotte, North Carolina, and he holds a master of divinity degree from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Furtick and his wife Holly have three children, Elijah, Graham, and Abbey.
* Blogging for Books has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't take it seriously

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cliffymania
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
“Naaman was a rock star.” – Steven Furtick
Why does the book exist?
Steven Furtick’s basic premise is that “most of us are not in danger of ruining their lives, we’re in danger of wasting them.”
This book promises not to be just another “self-help psuedo solution” but to “give you confidence to know that nothing is impossible with God, the clarity to see the next step He’s calling you to take, and the courage to do anything He tells you to do.”
Does he succeed in all this? Maybe I’m getting old, but this book reads like it comes from the experience level of a teenager. When I read quotes like “Naaman was a rock star”, or “Captain Awesomesauce”, or “history would be rewritten” it gets difficult to take it seriously. If I can’t take a book seriously it’s not going to give me confidence, clarity or courage.
What does Furtick do well?
The book is easy to read and engaging. He weaves personal anecdotes in and out of the message with ease.
In general, he encourages the reader to trust in God even when it doesn’t seem like things are getting better.
He also encourages the reader to not settle for good enough, or mediocrity. However, this one gets sticky because he assumes that if what you’re doing something like farming, or working a 9-5 job, then you’re stuck in the mundane and mediocre.
And that’s about all the good I can pull out of this book.
Where does the book fail?
The book is fraught with problems, but I’m going to narrow it down to three.
Assumptions
Furtick makes a lot of assumptions and they start at the very beginning. At the end of chapter 2, Furtick describes Elisha, the prophet whose life is the basis for the book.
“Elisha started out just like many of us, living under the tyranny of the ordinary, plowing hard dirt.”
Elisha’s first appearance in the Bible (1 Kings 19) finds him driving a plow behind a team of oxen. It was certainly hard work, but we are never told how Elisha feels about this work. Did he love it? Did he hate it? Was he doing a good job, or a poor job? We don’t know. Furtick makes the assumption that Elisha must be suffering from the “tyranny of the ordinary.” Even though there’s no evidence of it, Furtick needs Elisha to hate his job for the premise of the book to work; if you’re just plowing a field, you must be wasting your life.
Allegories
The next big problem is the allegory. Furtick has a bad habit of turning events into allegories.
When Elijah shows up to commission Elisha, Elisha burns his plows (1 Kings 19:21). Furtick then asks, “What plow do you need to burn?”
In 2 Kings 5 a man named Naaman wants to be cured of leprosy. Elisha instructs him to wash in the Jordan River seven times to be healed. Naaman refuses because the water is too dirty for him. Furtick asks us the question, “What is the Jordan River in your life?”
In 2 Kings 6:5 one of Elisha’s disciples is swinging an axe and it flies off the handle into the river. Furtick asks, “How have you lost your edge?” Your edge, like an axe head; get it?
These events aren’t morality tales, they are actual events. Elisha burning his plows means Elisha burned his plows. Naaman was actually told to wash in the Jordan. Elisha’s disciples actually lost an axe head. To allegorize these events is to make the Bible about you instead of God.
The sad part is how Furtick applies his own allegory. When Elisha burned his plows it was his source of income. No plow, no income. He was committing himself to God’s call through Elijah. There was no going back. How does Furtick apply this? He burned his CD collection.
Confusion
In my opinion there is one problem with this book that is “greater” than all the rest: It’s confusing. Furtick relies so heavily on emotional pulls and motivational cliches that he must think the reader will gloss over the “yes it is/not it isn’t” logic running through each chapter.
In one particular chapter he tells the reader it’s not about Jesus and then explains why it is about Jesus. Then he explains again why it is always, but never, about Jesus.
“The more I study the earthly ministry of Jesus Christ, the more I’m struck by an irony that marked his attitude toward His life. If Jesus had published a campaign slogan, I think it would have gone something like this: It’s not about Jesus.“ (Greater, page 131)
Admitting this will sound heretical he quotes a couple of Bible verses; Philippians 2:6-7 and Matthew 20:28, Luke 12:37. None of these passages imply that Jesus’ ministry wasn’t about Jesus, only that He came to serve.
Then he starts to back track.
Let me say clearly and definitively: everything is for Jesus’s glory. (Greater, page 132)
So, it is about Jesus. Well, no, it isn’t.
But as He walked the earth, how did Jesus demonstrate the riches of His eternal glory? By getting down low. By choosing the way that made Him appear to be nothing in the eyes of people, all the while reconciling all things to Himself with a servant’s towel around His waist. It only stands to reason: if it wasn’t about Jesus, then it definitely isn’t about you.” (Greater, page 133)
Okay, so what he means by “It’s not about Jesus” is that it’s not about us. That’s fair, it’s not about us, but does that mean it’s not about Jesus? Didn’t Jesus claim to be one with the father? Didn’t Jesus commend Peter for identifying Him as the Messiah? Didn’t John the Baptist proclaim that Jesus was the lamb of God?
Furtick goes on to confuse the issue even more.
“In the words of the One whom it was all about / never about: ‘Whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it’ (Mark 8:35)” (Greater, page 133)
“All about / never about”? That’s a logical impossibility and to suggest that it’s never about Jesus is just plain wrong and the verse he quotes proves it. Enough said.
The Wrap Up
As much as Steven Furtick wants to believe he’s on to something new with this book, he isn’t. The dustcover of the books says, “If you’re tired of being ordinary – dream bigger.” But what’s wrong with being ordinary? What’s wrong with doing your job well, providing for your family, and raising godly children? In Philippians 4, Paul talked about being content in all circumstances, but Furtick wants to incite us to discontent. If God calls you to do something different than what you’re doing, then you should do it, but never despise what God is doing with you right now, right where you’re at.
This is what “Greater” feels like: a motivational speaker who, because he’s also a pastor, shoe horns scripture into his messages to make them sound Christian. Consequently you get a good idea with no foundation. It reminds me of when Jesus talked about building a house (good idea) on sand (bad idea) in Matthew 7:24-27. Funny, in that passage Jesus was saying that those who put his words into practice were like the man who built his house on a solid foundation. I guess it was about Jesus.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. Check out my other reviews and you’ll see this is often true.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect timing!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chele
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're ready to really focus on what God has for your life, this is the perfect book for you. God will use it and His word to guide you into dreaming those big dreams and making the practical steps toward fulfilling them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Time & Space Saving

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
ProductionMgr
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great way to save space, time and take your entire library with you.
I love the fact that I can underline and make notes on my ebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

awesome book!

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
grammy
Location:LaCygne, Ks.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Steve does an awesome job in helping you with your walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We are All Called to a Greater Life

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was received from Multnomah Books to review. Stylistically it is very similar to Greg Groschel’s works. Very sarcastic at times and sometimes taking the reader on a brief tangent. I even wondered if it was a generational thing that bothered me but I’m about the same age as the author. But overall, I enjoyed this book which examines the life of Elisha and his calling and ministry.
It is a Christian living book that will challenge new believers especially. I was excited to read a work on the life of Elisha who is one of my favorite men of faith of the OT. For the long-time believer, this work will challenges you not to settle and remembered your first calling.
I was deeply moved by the statement, “Pursuing God’s purpose can be exhilarating. It can also be terrifying. If you want to live surrounded by God’s miracles, you have to come to terms with the fact that you’ll always be surrounded by enemies. You’ll often be amazed at what God can do through you (167).” I encourage everyone to read this but especially those who are embarking on this journey of faith in Jesus Christ. He has called each of us to live GREATER lives than we realized. It is time we receive it with open arms and hearts. Also, A bonus I found with GREATER was the discussion guide in the back of the book. I always find it helpful to facilitate discussion in a small group setting with some suggested questions to start off with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, a must read for all.

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hope Joo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A practical and well direct book on what is the greater life Jesus call us to live. A big thank you to Ps Steven Furtick for reviving the dead vision in me and to call out the greater in me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Greater is a quick read.

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently read Stephen Furtick's book, "Greater." I was intrigued by the title and the description on the back of the book. Furtick's hypothesis is that we're so paralyzed by the pressure of being the greatest that we settle for being so-so. Instead, we should tap into the strength of God to be greater than we are, however much of little. The book makes some good points, but nothing in the book is revolutionary. We all need to be reminded that God isn't searching for perfection. But the strides we could make if we did just a little more would change the world. I definitely appreciated the achievability of this message, but I doubt I'd pick it up again. Worth a read if you're feeling a desire to move the needle and need some courage to start.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great value. So pleased that I got it here! Must Have for OBS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good easy fast read worth the time

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glorify Him
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did the Greater book for our woman's study. None of us had heard of the author. I loved the way he explains everything, so easy to read and understand. A lot of good info. to chew on. The contrasts he has with the story of Elisha the prophet are neat and thought provoking. I recommend reading Greater and hope you can take the info to heart and start living a greater life He has planned for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

realistic view of doing greater things for God

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you felt like you were meant for something more but have settled for less?
Furtick wants you to experience the fullness of life in Christ. He believes God wants to accomplish greater things through you.
Furtick doesn't write about doing “great” things. Rather, he shows the way to a place he calls “greater.” Here, God is ready to accomplish that which is entirely out of human reach.
Elisha is used as an example of one obedient to God, leading to the path to “greater.” Furtick shows that you must be willing to think big but start small. He writes, “Your greatest limitation is God's greatest opportunity.”
But Furtick is also realistic. “The journey toward greater things is marked with setbacks and real suffering.” He shares his own experiences, admitting that it is much easier to write about than to live out.
He tries to explain suffering and talks about a heavenly trust fund. God didn't answer your prayers here but maybe He will there. He shares a number of heartwarming stories illustrating his ideas.
Furtick writes, “I can't tell you where the greater life will ultimately take you, but I can tell you where it starts. It starts where you are. You have everything you need to do all that God is calling you to do right now.”
This is one more book in the style of “do great things for God.” What makes this one a little different is Furtick sharing his own experiences of failure and suffering. He also makes a serious attempt at explaining why the path to “greater” is littered with setbacks. Furtick's book is probably the most realistic one I've read encouraging Christians to following the path they believe God has set before them. Furtick's book is not “believe” and God will do magnificent things through you. He is very realistic in this book and that should be an encouragement to anyone wanting to do what God has called them to do.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ECowgill
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Are you ready to open your imagination to the possibility that God has a vision for your life that is Greater? . . .If you sense that you were meant for more but feel stuck where you are, Greater will give you the confidence to know that nothing is impossible with God, the clarity to see the next step He’s calling you to take, and the courage to do anything He tells you to do.”
Steven Furtick has written another inspiring, life-changing book. Greater is based on John 14:12 “Very truly I say unto you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.” In the book Furtick defines the following:
Good enough = Baseline living that is marked by
mediocrity, stuck in spiritual survival mode and controlled by complacency.
Greatness = Vague, unrealistic aspirations of doing better that don’t work in real life and lead to endless
frustration.
Furtick then explains the definition of Greater as: “the life-altering understanding that God is ready to accomplish a greatness in your life that is entirely out of human reach. It’s beyond anything you see in yourself on your best day, but exactly what God has seen in you all along.”
With chapter titles such as “A Little Oil,” and “Strike the Water” and motivational comments including “What matters most is not what you think you are or are not. What matters most is what your Father sees in you and what He says about you” this book has the potential to change the life of every reader.
As Steven says, “For everybody who is sick of playing it safe, for every dreamer who has been disillusioned, your moment is now. The mantle is yours.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ignite God's vision in your life

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you believe that God has a plan for your life? Do you believe that it is greater than you can imagine? Steven Furtick, in his new book, “Greater”, shows you how dreaming bigger and starting smaller can help you find and complete God’s purpose in your life. This is not a book about how to become greater. It is about doing things that have a greater impact for God.
Looking at the life of Elisha, Furtick explains how we can believe God will use us to accomplish great things for Him. Christians want to have an impact, but sometimes their meager faith or lack of faith holds them back. Furtick offers an example of a family who adopted two boys from Liberia and the faith it took to be obedient to God’s call and the difficulties that followed. Furtick demonstrates in several examples how following God and being obedient aren’t always easy or glamorous.
I’ve never heard Steven Furtick preach, but what I get from his books is that his writing and his preaching is similar. He appears to be a relational speaker and it comes across in his writing. His writing is personal. He’s been there and he wants to show others how to become greater for God. He didn’t use the verse from Colossians 3:23-24 that says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” However, some of the principles set forth in “Greater” were based on this idea. Whatever you are doing, do it greater. No matter what God calls you to do, you can be great at it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Blogging for Books, as part of Waterbrook Multnomah’s Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Greater: A study on Elisha

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven Furtick's book, Greater, wasn't at all what I expected. That's a good thing. It seems like most Christian books nowadays are about how to reinvigorate stagnant Christian walks and overcome the common, mundane feel of our faith. Everyone seems to know the one magic formula, catchphrase, object lesson, or key verse that will revolutionize your life and make you sell your house, quit your job and move to Africa as a missionary.
The trouble is that such books sometimes miss the value of the entirety of God's Word by focusing on one tiny passage! They also often leave me disillusioned. If I'm not a missionary in Africa, does that mean I'm not passionate enough about God or that He isn't Lord of my life? There's not much hope then for a small-town mom of three young kids like me.
So, what is there left to say about being "Greater" that hasn't been said by the fifty other Christian authors flooding the market with books on this topic?
It turns out, Furtick's take is a little different. This book is based on a study of Elisha's life, who we're told in Scripture did twice the amount of miracles and had double the anointing of his mentor Elijah, but who we tend to talk about far less. With practical tips, encouragement, and stories from his own life, Furtick teaches how Elisha's ministry involved sold out obedience to God even in the most everyday of activities.
The key here, as Furtick says, is: "Maybe God will call you to make a major life change. Or maybe He simple wants you to come at your present life with greater passion from a fresh perspective." For the study on Elishah alone (including group study questions in the back of the book), Greater is a good read. And if God does open your life up and invite you to something new and fresh that He wants to do, well that would be even . . . Greater.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Why Settle for Great. There’s something Greater!

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven Furtick’s Greater: Dream Bigger, Start Smaller, Ignite God's Vision for your Life (Multnomah Books, 2012) is one of those books that are hard to put down. Furtick demonstrates his skill at weaving scripture and current reality into a seamless whole. On one level this book is the story of Elisha, an Old Testament prophet who dared to dream big; and on the other it’s the story of any number of people that you already know, and maybe even yourself. In the words of the author it’s a challenge to live an audacious life.
It’s the reality that God is ready to take each of us to the next level, as long as we’re ready to go there. Just how small Elisha started is anybody’s guess: he was out with the oxen plowing a field. But he certainly dreamed big. Elijah said let’s go, and he went; and when Elijah, Israel’s greatest prophet was about to be taken, Elisha asked for nothing less than “a double portion of your spirit” (2 Kings 2:9), pretty gutsy request. Elisha know all about good enough, he knew all about great, but he also knew that with God's help there was something more: something called greater. And he wanted it.
But that sense of greater doesn’t just apply to Old Testament prophets, it’s something that each of us can go after; Furtick points us in the right direction, and gives us some hints on how to find it. In our church life, with our family or on the job, we can strive for and reach “greater”.
So get ready to burn your plows, dig some ditches, take just a little bit of oil, and see to what heights God can help you climb, as long as you’re not willing to settle for just good enough.
The author and the publisher have made some resources available for you: you can read the first chapter before buying the book. http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/blog/2012/04/01/sneak-peek-greater-by-steven-furtick/ and get more information about the book here: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=203162
5/5
I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book! Challenging and encouraging!

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Page
Location:Twin Cities MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love trivia! For years, I have been an avid sports fan, and love to dig into those little known facts about certain players that a: sets them apart, and b: makes me seem super smart for knowing these little tidbits. I have also been involved in children’s ministry for a number of years and so lately, I have also been plucking wonderful tidbits of Bible trivia to share with the kids I work with (i.e. Did you know there were 2 Noahs in the Bible? 1 man and 1 woman - a boat builder and a daughter of Zelophehad). I am also a story teller. I love to reenact these stories from scripture that kids may not be totally familiar with and help them learn the story and see the cool things that God has done, so they can become more aware of the cool things God is doing.
One of my favorite sections of the bible – for story telling and trivial purposes, begins near the end of 1 Kings and stretches into 2 Kings. This is the portion of scripture that talks about the prophetic lives of Elijah and Elisha. Mostly, I’ve been drawn to these stories because of their cool factor – Elijah’s showdown with the prophets of Baal and the Raven food delivery system the man vs. horse foot race – and Elisha with the widow’s oil, Naaman’s leprosy and the floating ax head.
So as I began “Greater” the new book by Steven Furtick that hits bookstores tomorrow, I was excited to learn that it would be about Elisha and the stories that I knew and loved. But then Furtick blindsided me with life application and a challenge to live a life in pursuit of more than “good enough” – rather going after the “greater” life that comes with going all out after the best that God has for us.
The book brings application and teaching to so many parts of Elisha’s story, from his unorthodox invitation to follow Elijah to Elisha’s death and burial, from burning his plows – a sign of leaving the old life behind and moving on to the “greater” life in such a way that a return to the old way in impossible – to the miraculous things God accomplished through his life. This book, and my prayer time, helped me identify some plows that I need to burn in my life if I am truly going to follow God with my whole heart. It continues on to challenge us to do hard things, confidently knowing that God is with us and able to do whatever He wants, and what He wants is the best for us.
You can read Chapter 1 for yourself here.
I’d love to spend some time recounting to you what I read and how it is already and will continue to apply to my life and the place God is leading me – but I don’t yet know what it is all going to look like – and that is fine with me. I would, however, strongly recommend that you get your hands on a copy of this book. But that comes with a caveat. Reader beware, this book holds between its covers truth that can expose a frightening, challenging road to walk. It is not for the faint-hearted – or maybe it is, because in our weakness, He is strong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Greater

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenny W
Location:Williamsburg, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried about reading Greater by Steven Furtick. I'm an avid listener of his sermons and I've read his first book Sun Stand Still, so he's someone I've come to trust when it comes to biblical insight and inspiration. I was concerned, though, about it being yet another book about doing big things for God. These days it seems as though the book market is flooded with books about doing more, being greater, searching for the one golden ticket in Christ's kingdom. I wondered what more could be said that is still biblical that hasn't been said already.
I'm glad to say that Greater did have something unique to add to the conversation. Using the story of Elisha, Furtick walks us through what is required of us to take the next step for the kingdom of God. He asks us to transcend our thinking of what is good enough or trying to achieve greatness and instead asks us to seek a sense of being "greater", as Jesus said in John 14:12.
Personally, though I think just about anyone would benefit from reading this, I think it would be incredibly beneficial to college aged students and young adults. This is the period in their life where many of their expectations and choices will decide the ultimate course of their life. How awesome it would be for them to start off adulthood with the concept of "greater"...to dream big, start small and chase God's vision for their life...right from the beginning! I know for me the concepts of "digging ditches" and "burning plows" that Furtick discuses are concepts I've relied on often since I've finished reading the book and they are ideas I wish I would have known long ago. Overall, I recommend this book, especially for those making big decisions about the trajectory of their life.
I was given a free copy of this book from Multnomah Books in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Furtick Does It Again

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elder Wiggins
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greater is the second book that I have read by Steven Furtick. I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect after his first book, Sun Stand Still, changed so many lives of people who I know. The short answer is, Steven Furtick has done it again. There are many books on the market classified as inspirational or self-help, but Pastor Furtick of Elevation Church is truly passionate about helping people. It comes across so well in his conversational style of writing. What I love about his books is that the study guide is included in the back of the book. Small groups won’t need to necessarily purchase a separate guide to get high-impact discussion around this topic.
This no-nonsense, give-it-to-them straight book gets right to the point of how to experience something greater, regardless of the area that you are expecting greater in. In order to get greater, some tough decisions have to be made. There are no easy answers, but if you really want greater and are tired of experiencing lesser, you will make the decision to go after it followed by the actions to bring it to pass. This starts with a clear understanding of the difference between good, greatness and greater. (No spoiler here, you’ll have to read page 9 and 10 for that.) Perhaps you already know these differences because you’ve been working this thing for many years. Pastor Furtick addresses this as well in “The Makeup of Monotony”. You can’t talk about greater without dealing with the reality that you sometimes get stuck in a rut. You’ve developed a rhythm for how things are to be, day in and day out without even realizing that you are in the incubator of complacency. These and other topics are covered in an easy to read fashion that typifies Furtick’s writing. Be sure to check this one out beginning September 4, 2012.
A complimentary advance copy of this book was provided for review purposes by Multnomah Publishing. I was not required to post a positive review and the views expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
aemcd
Location:Boaz, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was super excited to hear that Steven Furtick was about to release a new book. {I am addicted to the Elevation podcast!!} So with high expectations, I read this most recent release, Greater. I must say, I was not disappointed!!! It was inspiring, convicting, fun, deep, and full of Jesus much like most of the content that Pastor Steven puts out.
The premise of the message is to seek great-er lives. Not to be confused with seeking greatness, or settling for good enough. Greater is "The life-altering understanding that God is ready to accomplish a greatness in your life that is entirely out of human reach. It's beyond anything you see in yourself on your best day, but exactly what God has seen in you all along." Pastor Steven preaches tells the stories of the events in the life of Elisha, the prophet of God, to explain how to pursue this "Greater" vision of our life. Through Elisha's ups and downs Pastor Steven chronicles how that we too can see God do great things all around and through us.
As I said, I was greatly inspired and convicted by this book. I think every person who claims Christ publicly should read it and be challenged to live above the line of mediocrity, but not in a worldly get all the money and fame you can way. More like a get all the Jesus and Spirit you can! I believe more people would be won to Christ if more of His followers lived "Greater" lives.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Greater: Dream Bigger. Start Smaller. Ignite God's Vision for Your Life. - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be great...

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I became familiar with Furtick through his best-selling Sun Stand Still. He continues to display his audacious faith as evidenced by the continued growth of his ministry. Simply states, Greater is...well, greater. He teaches the reader how to think bigger. He reiterates how all things are possible for those who believe. Life shouldn't be about settling for the mediocre, but rather about reaching for the greater - in and out of ourselves. The book encourages us to examine and find the greater in our talents and gifts and then use them for God's glory. The ability to do so comes from belief in what God says if true, the ability to grasp what we know is true, and to ork it for our benefit and the benefit of others. God will do what He says; it's up to us to learn it, grasp it, believe it, and work it, based on His promises. This book is Greater, indeed.
I received this book from the Booksneeze program in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>