Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2

Tyndale House Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2

Border Patrol Agent Danika Morales sends illegal immigrants back to Mexico; a job she's paid dearly for. Her husband, Toby, was murdered two years ago trying to help and his murder's never been solved. Now a string of attacks and arrests leads her to believe that someone from McAllen profits from sneaking undocumented immigrants into the country and somehow this illegal activity is tied to her husband, Toby's death.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Review 1 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
This review is fromSworn to Protect - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating!!

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing captivating writing!!! Had me so deep in the story that I just couldnt wait till morning to finish it.
All characters were developed well. Danika was a perfection of strength and honesty!! I felt really bad about Sandra. Alex a picture of compassion and patience kept me wishing for more parts with him. I absolutelly loved his mom and I hope in the future I will treat my son same way, instead of rallying for him like a mother hen. Amazing woman!!
Jacob is probably the character I felt for the most. I have gone through the path of grief/depression (my poor family had lots of patiance to pull me through) and his reaction and behavior were accurate. But sometimes it takes to loose all we hold dear to realize we need to get a grip on ourselves.
I loved the illigal immigrants and border patrol description. It is hard to comprehand what those poor people go through to get here for a brighter future. And the dangers and sacrifice of border patrol, I never realized was of this magnum.
I want to thank SusannGary Fryman for sharing a this amazing book with me! Im sorry for keeping it on my nightstand for so long, if I only knew the treasure in it, I would have read it the moment I got it.. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Sworn to Protect was a wonderful suspense novel told with heartbreaking love and care shown for family and friends. DiAnn Mills is a very good writer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
In Sworn to Protect, DiAnn Mills takes us inside the U.S. Border Patrol through Agent Danika Morales, a world of tension and suspense where each day men and women lay their lives on the line. Through her characters, Ms. Mills presents a well-researched and balanced view of the issue of illegal immigration with compassion, honesty and integrity for both sides through the characters and setting of her story. The people in this book are fully developed, well-crafted and engaging. You care about them right from the beginning. You are pulled into their stories, their dreams, their struggles. The antagonists are complete people, not stereotypes. Their true natures are not revealed until the end.The suspense, romantic and the Christian elements are very believable.This book is a definite page turner as you follow Agent Morales on duty protecting our borders, at home dealing with widowhood and a handicapped child, tentatively exploring the possibility of a romantic relationship all while her career and life are threatened by forces and people out to kill her.I highly recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley
All I can really say is that this book was great! It was very well written and the story was not one I had ever read before which was a joy all in its self. I have read many books and have re-read the same stories over and over again. So to come across a story I had not read before made my very happy! Everyone should read this book!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
I am not drawn to mysteries/thrillers, but I am drawn to most of Diann's works - and this one was a winner. I appreciated the scope of relationships, which beautifully blended with the drama and action. The reality of the horrid situations of undocumented immigrants was well presented with honesty and no overkill of their tragic treatments. Diann's careful and balanced delivery of the two opposing sides of this issues was done from a position of compassion, faith, and respect for the law - something not seen in society and open debates. Diann was not preachy, but clearly showed Jesus in the lives of her characters - which I greatly value in an era where the Gospel seems an afterthought for many stories. Both of the books in this series are well written and solid stand alone works, which I would easily recommend to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Danika Morales is a Border Agent, patrolling along the Rio Grande and attempting, along with other agents, to do the impossible stem the flood of illegal immigrants and the even more dangerous influx of Mexican drug cartel activity. Though she believes her job is for the good of the country, Danika is an agent because of a far more personal reason: her husband was murdered two years earlier and the case is yet to be solved. In spite of her own efforts to move on, the unanswered questions about her husbands murder and her Border Agent brother-in-laws growing instability and volatility stand in the way. When attempts are made on Danikas life and her niece disappears, the battle for Americas security becomes something more, a battle for faith and family.Di Ann Mills does a great job of keeping the entertainment value of the story and the weight of the subject matter in balance. On the day her husband was murdered our heroine discovered he had been an illegal immigrant activist for some time. The doctor she finds herself falling far, though not an activist, regularly treats battered illegal women with the promise of not reporting them. And, unknown to Danika, her trusted housekeeper of years is working in the country under forged papers. Even the people who seem most upstanding and legitimate in this border town are in fact holding illegals in what amounts to virtual slavery for their own financial gain.Readers that love Terri Blackstock and Dee Henderson will find the Call of Duty series a welcomed addition to their reading library. Hardcore suspense fans may find the emphasis on relationships a bit of a test but issues of family and loyalty are matters we all can relate to.With solid characters, a convincing plot, and good story resolution, Sworn to Protect is a fine addition to the field of faith-based suspense. Though far from preachy, this is definitely a novel that deals with matters of faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Thank you to CFBA and Tyndale House Publishers for my copy of this terrific suspense novel. I enjoyed this one, and I honestly hated to interrupt my reading to take time to eat or sleep. The writing is third-person point of view, with short chapters--which I prefer. The story seems to move along at a faster pace as I flip pages. The characters are all quite believable, and even a bit of romance is included. Both viewpoints of immigration are presented in a balanced manner, allowing the reader to reach to her own opinion. The plot is a smooth flow of heart-thumping action. I've learned such a good bit about the hard work of the Border Patrol and how our Texas borders are protected. Discussion questions are included. This is a suspense novel I recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
McAllen, TX. Border Patrol Officer Danika Morales, the only female agent in the BP, took the oath to protect our borders at the Rio Grande River. Little did she know it would come with a great personal pricethe death of her husband, Toby, leaving her to single parent her deaf daughter, Tiana.Two years later, she has no intentions of leaving the Border Patrol, and is ever more vigilant in her job, so that she can also help solve her husbands death, even though there is a price on her head.She deals daily with drugs, gangs, terrorists, illegals, and human trafficking along the border. To make the situation even more desperate, there is a potential leak within the ranks of the Border Patrol, derailing their work. Attacks are being perpetrated on her and her co-workers in the field. Everyone in the operation is under suspicion.When things get out of control on the home front, she turns to a local doctor, Alex Price, for help in finding the truth and help in protecting her daughter. Little does she know the relationship Alex had with her deceased husband.Whos behind it all? The men whom she captures know her by name. How? Why was her husband murdered? Where can she keep her daughter safe? Quick-turning twists keep you pushing the pages for answers into the wee hours of the morning!This book gives you a healthy respect for the work of the Border Patrol on our behalf. It could easily have come off the pages of current newspapers, such as areas in TX.In communicating with the author, I found she researched for a month on this book directly with McAllen, TX, Border Patrol to get the detailed information she writes about. She even rode the line to get the feel of the danger involved. This book was supplied by the author though Tyndale for my review. These are my own personal views of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
An interesting look at a different group of police, the border patrol. Well written, suspenseful, good development of characters. Although it's an area of law enforcement that isn't well publicized, I found the actions and attitudes of the characters believable. It was interesting to see that aspect of work where there would be a tug between sympathy and law-breaking, who was the real immigrant and who was the drug carrier. I learned some about the profession as well as enjoyed the suspense mystery and of course the romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2010
Danika Morales is a hard working Border Patrol Agent. An agent so conscious of keeping her daughter safe, that she takes her uniform to work to dress, so her neighbors won't realize what her line of work is. Of course Danika has reason to be concerned about safety, her husband was murdered two years earlier and his murderer has never been caught. That plus the threats that she has received. It seems every illegal immigrant she catches has a message for her about a contract that has been put out on her. Yes life for Danika is stressful. Top that off with an over protective brother in law who works with her and you would think things couldn't get worse. But they do, under suspicion for being a rogue agent, Danika is appalled and angered to be questioned, but also worried when they begin to suspect her brother in law also. Sworn to Protect is a fast paced book that will have you on the edge of your seat, wondering what in the world could happen next. DiAnn Mills has written a novel that is definitely sure to hit the best seller list. A five star book in my opinion. Don't miss this exciting story of a Border Patrol Agent's life, the people she loves, and the friends she is desperate to protect. A story of suspense, mystery, drama and redemption. 379 page $12.99 US 5 starsThis book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sworn to Protect, Call of Duty Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Garmon
From the first paragraph of Sworn to Protect, DiAnn Mills had me rooting and cheering for our Danika Morales. It's the second anniversary of Morales's husband's murder, and she's a single mom. And she's tough. And honest. And human. Mills kept me up late last night racing toward the end of the book. I thought I had it all figured out, but she pulled one over on me (actually she pulled a few twists over on me). I love it when authors do that! Mills has the guts to tackle a controversial subject, and expertly weaves her plot with grace and finesse--her protagonist is a Border Patrol.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.