Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3

Tyndale House Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3

Special Agent Bella Jordan is assigned to investigate a series of murders in West Texas that are linked to the Spider Rock Treasure. Since she spent the first fifteen years of her life in this area, FBI authorities believe she can get the job done. What they don't know is that one of their prime suspects-a man who's been on their wanted list for years-is deeply connected to Bella's past.

The other prime suspect is Carr Sullivan, the man who owns the ranch where the murders occurred. Carr was once one of the wealthiest businessmen in Dallas and has a shady past a mile long. But it appears he's turned his life around. Can Bella trust him, or is he just trying to cover his tracks?

Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Review 1 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pursuit of Justice

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bella Jordan is an FBI agent that is sent to investigate a series of murders in Texas. Since she is familiar with the area, she is given the lead agent position for the case. One of the suspects is someone she knew years ago and she doesn't know who to trust.
I thought this was a good mystery. An old treasure legend features prominently in the story and that made for an interesting story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
rmreadalot
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of those that it hurt to put down. The twist and turns and questions the author leaves you with throughout the book made me stay up half the night to finish it. The third book in the series, each book can be read independent of each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would order it again!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom35
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book came in the condition described and in a timely manner. Thank-you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Find out in A Pursuit of Justice

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review : Pursuit of Justice - Book #3 - Call of Duty Series -DiAnn Mills - September 2010
All Bella Jordan has ever worked for is about to come true, if she can crack this next case that she is assigned too. FBI Special Agent Bella Jordan, is up for a major promotion and if she can solve a triple homicide in the country , then the promotion may have her name on it. Unfortunately for Bella, this isn't going to be a cut and dry case as it involves her returning to the town she ran away from when she was fifteen years old and two of the main suspects happens to be the two people she ran away from -her father Stanton Warwick and Brandt Richardson. When the dead bodies turn up on Carl Sullivan's land , all fingers start pointing to him , however Bella is not exactly certain what role he plays just that the blasts from her pasts are involved. Can Bella solve this case quick and fast or will it require her to connect with the family that she ran away from fourteen years ago, the family who know her as Rachel Warwick not Bella Jordan. As more people die and Bella is shot, it seems that the only way to solve this case is to let her past unravel and in order to solve it , Bella must revisit the demons that she experienced as fifteen year old Rachel. However have things changed or are people still the same as Bella comes face to face with her Dad who seems that God has touched his life and changed him , but if her dad is no longer in partnership with Brandt , who from Bella's past is calling the shots ?
Find out in A Pursuit of Justice , a book that will have you in circles and one that is written well that you will be kept intrigued as the storylines progress
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suspense and romance what more can a girl want

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve always really enjoyed suspenseful books, and this book didn’t disappoint. I love it when you get so wrapped up in a book your like giving the characters advise :). Come on admit it we all do that right? :) DiAnn Mills wrote a whole series of books called Call of Duty series. While I had not read book 1 or 2 that didn’t leave me confused and wondering what was going on. I really like DiAnn Mills and have put book 1 and 2 on hold at my library. I will definitely add her to my growing list of authors I like. What I really love about her writing is she writes with such description that you can picture the scenes as if you are there. What I loved about Pursuit of Justice is that has so much action that you are sitting on the edge of your seat. Pursuit of Justice also has romance and characters that your really like and hope that they find true happiness.
thank you Tyndale for sending me this book for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book. A Must read.

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Blankenship
Location:Scottsville, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For centuries, the legend of the Spider Rock Treasure has lured people to West Texas with promises of unimaginable wealth.
And it just claimed three more victims
Did they fall prey to the legend’s curse or just get too close to someone’s discovery? To investigate the murders, the FBI calls one of its most promising up-and-comers- Special Agent Bella Jordan. What they don’t know is that one of their prime suspects is deeply connected to the past she’s been running from for fourteen years.
As Bella begins to sift through evidence, another murder and threats on her own life convince her she’s hunting an experienced killer...and he’s not working alone. To catch the suspect before he catches her, Bella must draw on all her skill and instinct and finally gather the courage to face the memories she’s tried so hard to forget.
*My review
A book about Bella Jordan, special Agent in the FBI who is sent on a task to catch the Spider Rock Murderer. Is there really a treasure that these men lost their lives for? Or is it a hoax- buried somewhere where no one will find it, or possibly already found?
This book keeps you glued to the page with it’s well written chapters. It never spills the secrets, only lets you grab more and more evidence as you go on, still surprising with what really happens.
Bella went to live with her Aunt when she was 15, to try and get away from the poverty that her dad had placed on his family years ago after her mother died.
She isn’t sure whether her greedy father has anything to do with the murders, so when threats happen and she almost loses her life, it keeps her head spinning.
And mine as well... I didn’t know the people who were involved until they clearly showcased it. So- props to the writer.
It isn’t an easy crime to solve. While the investigation is going on, more people are dying and Bella doesn’t know which direction to point her finger in. There are so many possibilities as to who could have made such a mess of this Texas town.
Carr Sullivan is the main suspect because the 3 dead men were found on his property and he used to have an ager/drinking problem. There’s Brandt Richardson who has been searching for the treasure as long as anyone can remember and who is wanted by the FBI for previous murders and Bella is determined to get the bottom of all the craziness.
And while all this is happening- her FBI partner Vic Anderson, a 20 year veteran has left her in the middle of the investigation. She doesn’t know what to think or how to act about his disappearing- claiming his wife has cancer. She didn’t know whether to believe the iffy story or if in fact it were true.
It’s a great book that I know you would love to have on your bookshelf. It is a Fiction/Romance/Suspense that brings a little faith in your life.
I want to thank Tyndale Network for letting me review this awesome book. It is a great suspense novel and one that I am glad to say I have read and have on my bookshelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A page turner

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Moore, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is Book 3 in the "Call of Duty" series by DiAnn. Although I have not read the first two books, I enjoyed the thrill of reading this book.
"Pursuit of Justice" centers around FBI agent Bella Jordan who returns to West Texas to solve three murders. Bella spent the first fifteen years of her life in this area. She is familiar not only with the area but with the local legends, especially the one concerning the Spider Rock treasure. Bella's primary suspect, Carr Sullivan, is the owner of the ranch where the three victims were found and has a history of violent behavior. As the story unfolds, there are many twists, turns and double takes to keep the reader turning the pages. These twists and turns also lead Bella down a path of unexpected personal danger as her life is threatened and the investigation unravels buried memories. Bella knows she will have to confront these buried memories in order to solve the mystery of the murders and to finally have peace. Intertwined with the danger a romance, unlikely as it seems, blooms under impossible circumstances. Will Bella decide to finally open her heart or keep protecting it?
DiAnn's descriptive narrative brings the arid yet beautiful West Texas to life so you feel as though you are there with the characters, experiencing the beauty and the 100+ heat. DiAnn's message about God's forgiveness and the strength He can provide if we lean on Him is woven through the story in a masterful way. I did not feel "preached to" or distracted by the characters talk of faith. Instead, it was written into the conversation in a way which flowed gracefully and added to the mood of what was transpiring at the time.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pursuit of Justice

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished Pursuit of Justice which is book 3 in DiAnn Mills Call to Duty series. This one was just as good as the last two. I love how she writes suspense and romance fiction. Her writing reminds me of Dee Henderson's series. This book was about an FBI agent-Bella Jordan. There is a legend in West Texas called the Spider Rock treasure that has been buried for centuries. It has claimed three more victims and Bella is assigned to find the murderers. The only problem is: she is from the area and knows a lot about the treasure and suspects her father and another man are responsible for the murders. She has haunting memories of these two men and must catch the suspect before he catches her. There are a lot of twists, romance deception, trials, redemption and lots of adventure. I didn't guess one of the culprits-she had me completely fooled. Loved how Bella was lost and came to faith in Jesus in the book. Sure hope there is a book 4 coming soon. Thanks to Tyndale Publishers for this free book in exchange for my honest review of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
"Pursuit of Justice" is the story of an FBI agent who is a) pursuing a serial killer who has been stalking her and b) solving the mystery and tragedies of the legendary Spider Rock treasure. I loved the ending.After the story, the author, DiAnn Mills has included a note telling readers a little about her research process. It sounds to me like she had fun writing this story.And it is a good story. Its a combination suspense-romance. Bella, the FBI agent, and those shes working to protect are always in a bit of danger. As she gets to know the people around her, Bella learns about forgiveness and love and trust. She overcomes the betrayals of her past, moving into a happier future.As I was reading, I did wish for stronger character development and more of a sense of the danger the characters were in. I think because of the suspense-romance combination, the short time period for the story, and several characters moving quickly in and out of the picture, some of the things the author revealed to or told the reader didnt feel realthey were hard to accept. I cant say much more about that without giving too much of the story away. Even so, it was a good story, and I did love the ending.One other note, and this is not the authors fault, but Mills described Bella throughout the book as being auburn haired with green eyes. She mentions this several times. But the cover doesnt match this description. I think the artist should have read the book. The cover became a distraction to me. That's not really fair to Mills.If you enjoy light suspense/romance with a touch of mystery and Christian insight, "Pursuit of Justice" fits that category well. Thank you, Tyndale House Publishers, for sending me a copy for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
This novel showcases DiAnn Mills' amazing talent for action-packed suspense. The book captured my attention on the first page and didn't let go until the final sentence. Fast-paced and full of adrenaline, the pages pulse with danger, intrigue, and greed while countering these aspects with loyalty, friendship, and a hint of romance. The spotlight on the FBI fascinated me, increasing my appreciation and respect for those who put their lives on a daily basis. DiAnn has quickly become one of my must-read authors, and I highly recommend this book and series to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
his novel showcases DiAnn Mills' amazing talent for action-packed suspense. The book captured my attention on the first page and didn't let go until the final sentence. Fast-paced and full of adrenaline, the pages pulse with danger, intrigue, and greed while countering these aspects with loyalty, friendship, and a hint of romance. The spotlight on the FBI fascinated me, increasing my appreciation and respect for those who put their lives on a daily basis. DiAnn has quickly become one of my must-read authors, and I highly recommend this book and series to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Wow! Intrigue/thriller/romance!! DiAnn Mills has written a book that will keep you turning page after page and leave you wanting more! I loved this book. There were so many twists and turns in this read it will keep you on the edge of your seat. A crime happens and three people are dead on Carr Sullivan's ranch. Special FBI agent, Bella Jordan, is sent out to investigate. There is a legend in West Texas filled with tales of gold and wealth. Carr has a past and Bella too is carrying her own demons that haunt her. Bella is from this area and carries a deep past here. Does she know more than she is willing to share? Sullivan is the top suspect in these murders, but soon, there are more and Sullivan is desperately trying to prove his innocence, while Bella is on the search. She is on the trail and she is close, but the murderer seems to always be one step ahead. Bella is discovering and uncovering much more than she ever imagined. Bella is pursuing justice in more than one area. The Lord is doing a work in Bella's heart and she is fighting Him every step of the way. Her past has hardened her heart, but Carr Sullivan is about to change all that. This book takes you deep into Texas where legends are alive and truth prevails. This is a winner in my collection and one that I will have to share with friends!This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
kcjs
Pursuit of JustinceBy DiAnn MillsFor centuries, the legend of the Spider Rock Treasure has lured people to West Texas with promises of unimaginable wealth. And it just claimed three more victims.Bella Jordan, an FBI agent was sent to West Texas to solve the ministry of these murders. Sent home to the many memories of her past life, memories that she would eventually have to let go of.The murders occurred at the ranch of Carr Sullivan a man who had come to Christ, but was known for his easy fixes to things with his anger and his fists. Trying to prove his innocence he tries to team up with Bella (who at first thinks he is the murder). They work together to find the killer(s) and eventually find love also.Mills did a great job introducing her characters. The book was suspenseful and was a good in that aspect. I did however find that the book did drag a bit in some places and it took a bit for me to get into it. I received a free copy of this book courtesy of Tyndale Publishing Company for the purpose of reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2010
Bella Jordan, an FBI agent was sent to Ballinger, Texas to a High Butt Ranch where the three bodies had been found. The deaths were associated with the Spider Rock treasure. The two suspects are obviously the rancher with a criminal past who refused access to the treasure seekers and Richardson a killer who is on the FBI's most wanted list. However, as Bella digs for clues, she soon receives threats to back off or else. The warnings seem too personal so she concludes whoever this individual is he or she knows her.Bella got to know the police and the people around her, and some she remembered as she came from this part of Texas before she ran away at the age of sixteen from her father that had sold her to Richardson to pay off his gambling debts. This is her first time back and she wanted to find her half brothers and little sister. She is worried how their lives had turned out with her father as care taker.Pursuit of Justice is such a great read that from the first page you don't want to put it down. DiAnn Mills did such a great job with this book that you can not figure out who done it. There are so many twist and turns that as you read you will think one person was the killer and then change you mind the second page. I was tempted about half way through the book to peek in the back, but I didn't I keep reading and changing my mind about the killer.This book was sent to me by Tyndale Publishing for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pursuit of Justice, Call of Duty Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
5 StarsPursuit of Justice By DiAnn MillsTyndale House Publishers, Inc.Reviewed by Diane A. BrownHas Special Agent Bella Jordan bit off more than she can handle? When her past collides with the present, danger lurks ever closer.DiAnn Mills gets the action started and your mind active from the first pages. Her characters have a mind and will of their own. Numerous conflicts lead to deadly consequences as the death toll rises. DiAnns descriptions are vivid and easy to imagine. The dialogue flows well and adds depth to the unseen action. With a bit of creative imagination you can read between the lines and into closed hearts. West Texas, dry, arid and beautiful is a great setting to awaken your senses. The twists, turns and double takes lead Bella down a path of unexpected personal danger. Is the mysterious Spider Rock Treasure connected? Could memories of her dark past bring needed answers? Intertwined with danger, disappointment, and dead ends romance, unlikely as it seems, blooms under impossible circumstances. Will Bella open her heart or protect it?Pull on your boots, cinch up your saddle, and hold on tight, as you gallop into this bold adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.