Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon

Hendrickson Publishers The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon

A trio of eminent Old Testament scholars, Francis Brown, R. Driver, and Charles Briggs, spent over twenty years researching, writing, and preparing this lexicon. Since it first appeared in the early part of the twentieth century, BDB has been considered the finest and most comprehensive Hebrew lexicon available to the English-speaking student. Based upon the classic work of Wilhelm Gesenius, the "father of modern. Hebrew lexicography," BDB gives not only dictionary definitions for each word, but relates each word to its Old Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. BDB's exhaustive coverage of Old Testament Hebrew words, as well as its unparalleled usage of cognate languages and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render BDB and invaluable resource for all students of the Bible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Review 1 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product helps tremendously with word study.

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Columbus, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I am doing a word study of the Old Testament, this is one of the three books I use. Tremendous help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty Maurer
Location:Montgomery, A:
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Lexicon is most helpful in discerning the specific meaning/interpretation of the Hebrew Scriptures. It is somewhat difficult to locate a specific word and usually requires me to locate the Strong's reference number. The clarity of the definitions though is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mags
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very content with this lexicon, it greatly aids Hebrew studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
REVC
Location:Fort Mohave, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very helpful additional to our resources library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This lexicon is an invaluable resource!

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tamara Dayton
Location:Montana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small Hebrew class has been working on a translation project of the book of Ruth and will begin the Song of Solomon in a couple of months. We have been using a Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon. Tied to Strong's, it has helped us identify even the most obscure roots. Our project would not be progressing without it! This made the perfect Hanukkah gift for each of my classmates, and now we all have our own copy. What an invaluable resource!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Culmer
This Lexicon is a must for serious study of the Old Testament. Because entries are not strictly alphabetical, it is often helpful to use the index of Strong's numbers in the back of the book.The listing of words with other words using the same root makes it a little more work for the student who is not fluent or even well versed in Hebrew (like me, for example). However, a more in-depth study is easier. Also, as my Hebrew teacher pointed out, Strongs is a concordance with a brief lexicon and should not be used as the end-all authority for Biblical lexicography.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sem Student
This lexicon is great - except- as a student I really need an index of different forms of the root in order to find the root! Some lexicons come with this in the back. If you are new to Hebrew you may struggle to find the entry you are looking for.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Tyler
This is an amazing value for a timeless treasure! At this price anyone serious about old testament study should have one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Tracy V. Carman
It is the research tool that I was looking for, since I do not read or speak the Hebrew language, it gives me the added insight into word meanings from the Hebrew language which only one word of English can not truly justify. It can be a very useful tool in the hands of the Biblical scholar, which truly desires a full and precise understanding of Gods word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles Whipple
The best Hebrew lexicon there is - from a student who studied biblical Hebrew at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem,Israel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Keith Smith
A must have for anyone who wants to dig deeper in the word! Works hand in hand with Srongs Concordance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Niceta Owen
I have found this to be a bit difficult to use.. often go back to the Strong's Concordance.. but persistence is needed to "keeping searching!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
A. Almonacy
The BDB Lexicon is an essential tool to the serious student of scriptural studies. This Lexicon gives the reader an indepth look at each word enabling you to see the origins of the word in question.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lionheart Ministries
BDB is an invaluable asset to anyone attempting to study the ancient Hebrew, and I have long made it a part of my word study routine. This new edition has improved an already superb resource by keying the words to Strong's numbering system. This will make it accessable to those unfamiar with biblical languages, and make it even easier for those of us who are!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Hubbartt
I am a seminary graduate and this was one of the lexicons that my professors said that we should have. At the time I could not afford a copy. Its key to the Strong's Concordance will definitely be a plus in my word study of the Hebrew in the Old Testament. The organization of the book is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2000
Customer Avatar
Richard Haight
I am beginning to learn Hebrew. The Text is Biblical Hebrew by Page H. Kelly. He states the helps needed is the B-D-B. It was great to see you have it and at such a great price. The text was printed in 1992 and he said the B-D-B needed revising and you have that. Outstanding! Keep up the great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.