Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Three Hearts DVD

Thomas Nelson Three Hearts DVD

Follow Cissie Graham Lynch---granddaughter of evangelist Billy Graham---as she interns with the Children's Heart Project, a mission connecting U.S. sponsor families with medically at-risk children around the globe! You'll hang on every moment as she supervises the arrival and surgeries of three Mongolian children whose future depends on the life-saving interventions of heart surgeons and nurses with Samaritan's Purse. Riveting! 98 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Three Hearts DVD
Review 1 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well made Christian documentary

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
picturegirl
Location:Watertown, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This documentary style film was produced by Samaritan’s Purse, and it was distributed by Thomas Nelson Publishers.
Normally I’m not a big fan of documentaries, but this one may have changed my mind AND heart. The story begins with Cissie Graham Lynch, granddaughter of Billy Graham and daughter of Franklin Graham. Cissie began her internship with Samaritan’s Purse with the intent to fly to Mongolia and bring back three children with congenital heart defects. Due to family obligations, she is unable to go. Instead, a young boy from Texas was invited to come along with his family for the adventure of a lifetime.
The film follows them to Mongolia and shows you the living conditions of each family. Each child will be given a new lease on life with these surgeries. Each one would not live long without the surgery.
They are flown to San Antonio where a team of people, from host families to medical professionals, helps them along the way.
While watching a real heart surgery was incredible, what really made me well up in tears was watching these people from Mongolia be introduced to the Savior.
This is a beautiful, well-made film that will touch your heart.
I was given a copy of this movie for purpose of review, but was not required to review it positively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful movie of life's being changed!

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
krentzmom5
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a mom there is nothing worse then your child being sick and there is nothing you can do to get them the help they need. Three Hearts takes you on the journey of three children from Mongolia who have fatal congenital heart defects. The children are not able to get the care and help that they need in their home country. This is where Samaritan’s Purse working with the Children’s Heart Project steps in and offers the help that they need. The movie took me on an emotional roller coaster as I watched life's being changed not only medically but spiritually. The movies follow the three children and their families as they come to America to get the help they need. I really enjoyed the movie and learning more about the work that Samaritan’s Purse working with the Children’s Heart Project is doing around the world. They are saving life's physically and spiritually.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Hearts touched my heart (pun intended)!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was born with a rare congenital heart defect called Ebstein's anomaly. Thankfully, my case is fairly mild and I'm blessed to have access to quality healthcare to monitor my condition. I also have a cousin and a close childhood friend who were born with heart defects. Like me, they have both benefitted from the medical technology we have available in this country.
Many, many children are not as blessed. Every year, there are over 1 million babies born with congenital heart disease worldwide. Most of these children live in countries where surgery is not an option. These children are the reason for the Children's Heart Project (CHP), a ministry of Samaritan's Purse. Since 1997, CHP has arranged life-saving operations for more than 800 children from Bosnia, Kosovo, Honduras, Uganda, Mongolia, and Bolivia. Currently, over 200 more children have been identified and placed on a waiting list. These children, along with a parent and translator, are flown to the United States to have surgery in top-quality hospitals across the country. Surgeons and medical facilities donate their time, expertise, and equipment. Host families provide a place for these children to stay and offer support and encouragement through the whole process.
Cissy Graham Lynch, granddaughter of Billy Graham and daughter of Franklin Graham, recently made a documentary telling the story of three children from Mongolia who were brought to San Antonio, Texas for surgery. I was blessed to have the opportunity to review this DVD, Three Hearts, for publisher Thomas Nelson.
I have to admit I wasn't sure I was going to like the movie at first. In the beginning, it seemed to focus on Cissy's internship with CHP and her schedule conflicts. But as soon as the team traveled to Mongolia to meet and bring back three-year old Toggie and teenagers Otga and Uugna, I was hooked! All three suffered from tetralogy of fallot, a condition that is most often corrected in infancy and is usually fatal by age twenty if left untreated. The two boys, ages sixteen and eighteen, had been unable to attend school because of their condition, and the stress on their hearts over the years meant time was running particularly short for them.
I was completely drawn into the stories of these three young people who were in what appeared to be a hopeless situation. And yet through CHP, they were given the opportunity for not only physical healing, but spiritual wholeness as well. Watching the interaction and the deep bonds that formed between the doctors, host families, and the children and their parents was incredible. The host families, medical professionals, and others involved were just as deeply impacted as the children and their families I think!
The tension I felt as I waited to see the outcome of each child's surgery was intense. My heart broke for Toggie's mother as I watched her hand her sweet baby over to be taken back for surgery. I can't imagine being halfway around the world from my husband and having to go through that. My heart was filled with joy as I watched Otga and Uugna wake up and realize that they had pink lips, fingers and toes rather than blue! I was moved to both laughter and tears more times than I can count.
My kids' reactions were similar. They were immersed in the story. The movie has spurred great discussion in our family and motivated every one of us to support the Children's Heart Project in any way we can.
I know that my fumbling attempt to put words to the effect this movie has are not doing it justice. Please get your hands on a copy of Three Hearts and watch it! It's a wonderful movie to watch as a family or with your bible study group or Sunday School class. Watch it as a group and then pray for the project and children and discuss how you can join forces to support CHP in their efforts.
As I was gathering information for this review, I came across updates on two of the three children since their surgery. Sixteen-year-old Otga, now nineteen, and his mother, led fifteen family members to Christ. They started a nomadic church that currently has thirty members. Otga works at Children's Heart Project Heart Camp in Mongolia and is finally learning to read!
Reading that Uugna passed away just last month, nearly four years after his surgery, hit me like a ton of bricks. Please pray for his family as they adjust to life without him. He spent the last four years of his life proclaiming God's Word to his family and friends, and expressed the desire to bring glory to God until his final moments on earth.
I couldn't find any information on adorable three-year-old Toggie, but her beautiful face adorns the cover photo on the Children's Heart Project Facebook page.
The Children's Heart Project is worthy of support. Please visit their website to learn more, pray for all those involved, and prayerfully consider financially supporting them if possible. If you live in a city that needs host families, maybe God would lead you to consider hosting a child traveling here for surgery.
Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a copy of the Three Hearts documentary to review and share with others! This movie has the potential to have a tremendous impact for good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching Story

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jcheinrichs
Location:Winnipeg
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three hearts is a documentary, chronicling three Mongolian youth (aged 3, 16,18) with heart defects and their journey to America to get surgery. The organization is called Children's Heart Project from Samaritan's Purse, an organization spear headed by Franklin Graham's daughter, Cissie Graham Lynch. I had know idea what this DVD was about when I put it into my DVD player, but it did not take long before I was engrossed in this documentary that was emotional, joyful, hopeful and spiritual. Here you have three children that are on the road to a certain early grave with little hope. No surgical hospitals, little money, little resources and an absence of the knowledge that there is a loving Father God. All of this changes when they are chosen to be part of The Children's Heart Project.
The documentary takes you from family life in Mongolia to the American hosts in Texas. You will find your self jealous for the compassion you see in the people involved. The best part was seeing the children the families changed by the love and hope that they find in Christ.
While this documentary is clearly a project aimed at getting people involved in support and prayer and perhaps giving current supporters a glimpse into what they are sowing into, it was encouraging to see what work IS being done, and it causes you heart to be filled with compassion.
This DVD was provided free from the booksneeze.com reviewers program for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three HEARTS DVD

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dvd is a heartfelt documentary of children with heart diesease. Cissie Graham, (grandaughter of Billy Graham, and daughter of Franklin Graham) is doing an internship at the orginization Samaritain Purse and is assigned to help 3 families in Mongolia get to San Antonio,TX for life saving heart surgery on their children. When a life situation comes up, Cissie is forced to find someone to go to Mongolia to bring back the children and families to TX. She finds a family that has also had to deal with the heart surgery of their own son. The mom, dad and son that has never flown was asked to go and pick up these families from the home country. They except the inviation and the journey beings.
The story also involves doctors, nurses and host families. When they arrive in TX they cover the stories with the host families and the journey they all face. The love of GOD is all over this movie. Each family is told about Jesus the Healer and taught to pray for everyone and everything.
I LOVED THIS STORY **** Warning..... have a box of tissues handy as this is a tear jerker of joy and happiness... I cried from start to finish... I RECOMMEND THIS TO EVERYONE!!!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome and touching :]

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Salina
Location:Sinton, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I requested this DVD from BookSneeze it's called Three Hearts A World Away, Three Children Need A Miracle by Samaritan's Purse. I wasn't sure what this DVD was about when I requested it, just that it looked interesting. After watching the DVD I must say it touched my heart. The children's project choose three kids from Mongolia to help, two were teenagers and one was a small child. They had the same kind of health problem, they were not able to have the operation they needed in Mongolia so they had to go overseas for the operation. I would recommend this to my friends/family because if it touched my heart the way it did I know it would touch their's well.
This is what the back of the DVD say's:
Cissie Graham Lynch, granddaughter of Billy Graham and daughter of Franklin Graham, takes on a life-changing internship with the Children's Heart Project. Like Cissie, your life will be changed forever as you share her journey to help bring three Mongolian children to America for surgery to repair deadly congenital heart defects. A Texas Family joins Cissie for the adventure of a lifetime as they accompany the heart patients from the steppes of Mongolia to a high-tech hospital in San Antonio. In Texas, two host families make sacrifices to care for these children and their mothers, while a volunteer team of doctors and nurses stare into the face of life and death as they attempt a medical Miracle.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! This was amazing!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
mereads
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This was amazing! Three Hearts tells the story of how the hearts and lives of three families were eternally changed. Cissie Graham Lynch, daughter of Franklin Graham and granddaughter of Billy Graham, takes a internship with the Children’s Heart Project, a ministry of Samaritan’s Purse. Through her internship, she shares the story of three families who lives are changed by this ministry. These children are from the country of Mongolia and all three share a common heart defect which cannot be repaired in their country. The Children’s Heart Project makes it possible for them to come to the United States to receive medical treatment. This DVD chronicles their journey from Mongolia to America, from sickness to health, and ultimately to new life through Jesus Christ.
You cannot help but be touched as you watch the lives that are changed through this ministry. It is also a huge reminder not to take for granted the blessings that we enjoy daily and may not be as grateful for as we should be. This story is one that you won’t soon forget. May God bless this ministry that they may be able to help more children and more importantly that it may be used as a tool to bring more and more people to Christ.
*This DVD was given to me by Thomas Nelson, Inc. in exchange for my review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life Changing Movie!

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How far would you be willing to go to risk saving your child's life? Three very beautiful lives were put to that test along with their families as they have been waiting, some for over ten years to have heart surgery that will save their lives. This is their personal journey through Samaritan's Purse as they take much needed children and bring them to the United States for a surgery that may save their life.
Join Cissie Graham Lynch, the granddaughter of Billy Graham as she begins her own journey as an intern working with Samaritan's Purse in Boone, North Carolina that finds children that need heart surgery. If they are eligible, they arrange for them to fly here and have surgery that will forever alter not only the lives of the child or teen but also their families and host families here in the U.S.
The three lives that are showcased here in this movie called Three Hearts, brings Otga, a 16 year-old boy who wishes to live as a herder in Mongolia but has had to drop out of school because he was teased because he couldn't keep up with his peers. His heart defect keeps him short of breath most days and he can no longer ride the horses he raises even though he dreams of doing it one day.
Uugna is 18 years old and has faced a life of living with the recent death of his father, now just him and his mother while he struggles just to make it through the day without dying.
Both boys are from Mongolia. 99% of children born with fatal heart defects such as Otga and Uugna have won't make it to the age of 15 and almost all of them die by the age of 25, so they are both literally living on borrowed time.
The youngest to make the journey is the breath-taking, adorable angel known as Toogi. She is three years old and most likely won't live to be 6. Coming from Mongolia in the Gobi desert, her family has struggled with trying to find a way to raise money to pay for her operation. Now she has hope.
This film will take you into their journey in hopes of a new life and in the process will find the love and faith of God along the way. This movie will tug on all your heart-strings and leave you laughing, crying, and restoring your faith in God above through witnessing their journey. A must see movie for the entire family and one I am so happy to be able to share, thanks to Propeller Films and Samaritan's Purse for the opportunity to review this movie for my honest review. This is an amazing "Life Changing Movie" as quoted by my 13 year old daughter who watched it with me and rates a hands down 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful for the whole family!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Madeline Drew
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished watching an incredible movie called Three Hearts. It has inspired me to live every minute to the fullest, and to not take for granted one second of the wonderful life that God has given to me. You will be moved as you watch 3 precious young lives (and their families) being changed in front of your eyes.
The Children's Heart Project run by Samaritan's Purse is something I had never heard of before. It provides medical procedures to people in other countries- a chance at life. Cissie Graham Lynch, granddaughter of Billy Graham, had heart surgery as a teenager and this cause is very dear to her. Along with Cissie you will meet a young man in Texas that was also saved through heart surgery and learn how he raises money to help other children have that same opportunity.
There are literally hundreds of children waiting for the phone call that will mean a trip across the world. The journey is a dream come true but it's also frightening and uncertain. I was in tears as I saw three children from Mongolia go through heart surgery to save their lives. Not only were their hearts healed in the operating room, they were also saved through Jesus Christ as they learn how much the Lord loves them. The people that dedicate their lives to hosting, teaching, mentoring, healing these precious souls truly inspired me! God needs all of us and I am praying that He will show me where He can use me the most. This movie was absolutely beautiful and a must see for your whole family.
Thank you Propeller for the opportunity to review this wonderful movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Warming!

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I have just watched the movie Three Hearts presented by Samaritan's Purse. Our hearts have definitely been touched!
Cissie Lynch, the granddaughter of Billy Graham, has just begun an internship with the Children's Heart Project. This organization brings children from other countries to America for life saving heart surgeries they would never receive in their homelands. Cissie has helped convince a doctor in San Antonio to take a third patient instead of the two he has already agreed to.
That is when the story really begins. We meet Otga, Uugna, and Toggie, three Mongolian children with life threatening heart defects. Cissie's schedule conflicts with her husband's so she makes the decision not to go meet the children in Mongolia. In her place however, 10 year old Garrett Ferguson and his family go. Garrett has an amazing story that got him involved in the Children's Heart Project.
The movie follows the three children and their mothers as they leave Mongolia for San Antonio. Viewers are allowed a peek into their surgeries and share in the emotional journey with the family and host families. We are able to witness the life changing power of Jesus.
I am thankful to have received this video from Book Sneeze for the purpose of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Three Hearts will tug at your heart

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three Hearts DVD review
Over 200 children’s names sit on a waiting list with Children’s Heart Project, seeking a life-saving operation that would correct a life-threatening heart defect. These children live in countries without access to the surgery necessary to save their lives. The Children’s Heart project, which is operated by Samaritan’s Purse, seeks to provide a means for these children to travel to the United States in order to receive the operation they so desperately need.
This documentary-like story follows Cissie Graham Lynch, daughter of Franklin Graham, and granddaughter of Billy Graham, as she interns with the Children’s Heart Project. CHP has the responsibility of choosing 3 children in dire need of medical assistance in order to transport them to obtain this needed operation. The video parallels the story of Cissie’s newlywed husband waiting for a draft call for pro football and the families awaiting the phone call that will forever change the life of their child.
Meanwhile in Texas a young boy, who was also born with a heart defect, has raised money to bring several children to the US for an operation. Garrett and his family know all too well what it feels like to deal with the aftermath of this type of diagnosis and resulting surgery, which is why they are so dedicated to helping those less fortunate born in countries where the essential surgery is not available.
You will follow the journey of CHP along with Garrett and his family as they travel to Mongolia, in the middle of the Gobi desert, to bring back the 3 children and families. Their arrival, the stay with host families, and adjustment to this temporary life is all captured. The children will undergo their surgeries, complete recovery and later return to Mongolia. Several of the children and their families are affected in a far more radical way when they are introduced the “Great Physician” and the healing He can offer each one of us.
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and the opportunity offered by Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze blogger program. I admit I needed a tissue or two as you will be emotionally drawn into the story of the children and their families as the course of their lives is so radically altered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Three Hearts DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

survival, faith, and a new life for these 3 hearts

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thursday, February 23, 2012
Three Hearts, The Movie: Samaritan's Purse, The Children's Heart Project
Graduating college senior, Cissie Graham Lynch, granddaughter of evangelist Billy Graham, takes on an internship at Samaritan’s Purse working with the Children’s Heart Project.
She finds out that the task is not easy and filled with unexpected challenges. The Children’s Heart team turns to a Texas family who travels to Mongolia for the adventure of a lifetime to help bring the children to San Antonio for their surgeries.
In Texas, two host families make sacrifices to care for these children and their mothers, while a team of doctors and nurses volunteer their time only to stare directly into the face of life and death.
How far would you go to save a life?
Samaritan’s Purse is a nondenominational evangelical Christian organization providing spiritual and physical aid to hurting people around the world.
Since 1970, Samaritan’s Purse has helped meet needs with the purpose of sharing God’s love through His Son.
About Children’s Heart Project
Children’s Heart Project brings children with congenital heart defects to North America for life-saving surgery. Since 1997, Children’s Heart Project has helped hundreds of children from more than a dozen developing countries.
There are many ways you can be an Ambassador for CHP children: Find Surgeons, Fundraising, Participate as a Professional, Pray, Donate.
Help mend broken hearts and give new life to children overseas.
My Review
Your heart will be changed anew as you watch this story of life-giving. The sacrifice and trust to come from a county so far from Texas to bring three children and their mothers, to receive open heart surgery and the benefit of a changed life for them. Their interpreters share joy and truth; the doctors with hearts of compassion. Come to Mongolia to see their countryside and their lives amid the plains and beautiful mountainous countryside. From the sands to the highrise and pavement with fast moving cars. Two teen boys and a three-year-old girl go home with vitality and huge smiles. Home. You will rejoice with the families and their host families as they welcome and cherish and then say goodbye with hope. This is a very well-documented story.
It’s a fight for survival, a fight of faith, and a fight for a new life for these three hearts.
Youtube Trailer Links: http://youtu.be/sMUA8lbbkDU
Youtube Trailer Links: http://youtu.be/1aUxbJd15fk
Christian Book Distributors Link: http://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/product?item_no=320721
Thank you to Propeller for sending me this online movie for my review in my own words.
"Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.