Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook

Multnomah Books The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook

Two bold messages--now combined into one--deliver high value whileintroducing new readers to David Platt's bestseller, Radical.

The message of Radical: taking back your faith from the American Dream hastransformed the missional conversation among evangelicals since its release--andthe book continues to win new readers. Both Radical and its follow up, RadicalTogether, were supported by 64-page booklets that delivered powerful, one-shotreading experiences with enormous pass-along appeal. Now in a hardcoverbind-up, this new resource provides an accessible entry point for an even largeraudience of individuals and churches.

Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Review 1 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jesus really is worth it!

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since the release of "Radical" in 2010, David Platt's plea to the contemporary church is to stop chasing after "the American Dream" and begin living sacrificially for the expansion of the Gospel and the glory of Jesus Christ. His message has found wide acceptance among evangelical ministries that have lost their focus and turned inward. Sincere Christians are not only looking for something to live for, but something worth dying for. To that extent, Platt sounds like a modern-day Bonhoeffer. In this present volume we find two smaller booklets that are summaries of "Radical" and his follow-up book addressed to the church, "Radical Together." This current format provides a condensed version for those more desirous of cutting to the chase. For that reason, this small volume proves helpful as a quick resource, as well as a non-invasive (until the book is actually opened and read!) gift to pass along to others. Both parts of its message are compelling but, as Platt would agree, if it does not spur the reader to action it has not accomplished its purpose. For the complacent Christian, it should come with a "warning" label: "Read at your own risk!" (As a postscript I would suggest that the reader invest in "Radical" and "Radical Together" rather than starting with this smaller volume. To do the reverse would be akin to reading the Cliff's Notes version of a classic novel and then trying to read the real thing).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Material Summaries

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Radical Question & A Radical Idea" by David Platt is a two-in-one book combination. The first book, "The Radical Question" appears to be a summary of some key concepts from his original book "Radical". The second book, "A Radical Idea", appears to follow the same vein and sum up key points from the book "Radical Together".
"The Radical Question" asks readers to consider what Jesus is worth to us. He challenges us to live differently, to pursue a true Christianity instead of simply a Christian spin on the American dream. As he talks about how underground house churches often risk everything, including their very lives, for the chance to gather together and worship Christ, he ponders "I could not help but think that somewhere along the way we in America have lost touch with what is essential, radical--even dangerous--about our faith and replaced it with what is comfortable" (p. 8). Having read the original book, "Radical" about a year and a half ago, I found this section to be a great reminder and summary of the challenges and questions from the original.
"A Radical Idea" addresses the question of "How can we in the church best unleash the people of God in the Spirit of God with the Word of God for the Glory of God in the world?" (p. 63). Platt looks at how the church can stand together, united to live for a radical purpose of living out a more biblical gospel. He questions our American desire to build big buildings and have top-notch programs instead of prioritizing getting the gospel to people who desperately need it and channeling greater amounts of funding toward things with a more far-reaching, eternal impact. He discusses the need to invest more in the people of the church, thereby creating disciples, instead of investing more in programs.
Overall, the message of both books is a great one. He has a great message that the American church desperately needs to hear and ultimately begin to live out on a much greater scale. This little book would be a great one for someone who hasn't yet read either "Radical" or "Radical Together". But it does seem a bit overkill to put out two short little summaries instead of encouraging people to read the longer volumes that are packed with far more substance. Content-wise, the book is fantastic. But for me personally, I'm going to stick with the original books and skip these little summaries.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Waterbrook-Multnomah through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Book

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have here a followup to the widely read volume “Radical” by David Platt. That book, I have learned, is changing the way some look at church. This book, apparently, expands on the earlier book. I have not read yet that earlier book, but some who have criticize this volume as being just a condensation of the earlier book and not worth the extra expense. I’ll leave that choice with you as I just consider this volume.
The core of the “Radical” question in the first half of the book is: Is Jesus worth it? That would seem to be a no-brainer as Mr. Platt readily admits, but he works to examine if we really feel that way. In the process he shows that we often act opposite to Jesus Himself. For example, we are consumed with crowds while Jesus was often turning them away. His concerns and goals were different from ours.
He finds fault with our massive building projects while we spend miniscule amounts on needs around the world. Some might feel he blurs the line between social projects and the Gospel. He is challenging but I feel that way myself as I read him. I can, however, certainly agree with his appeal that Christ is worthy of our lives.
The second half of the book is the idea for taking “Radical” forward. He criticizes our reducing church to a staff of paid professionals providing spectators a worship experience. I was about to think he wanted to put all of us full-time pastors out to pasture, but he finally confessed that was not his point as he himself was a full-time pastor! In truth he has a great point. We need all involved, not just a few. It would make such a difference in our churches were we to turn this around.
So this is an easy, quick read that will spur thought in our busy lives. You might want to give it a look.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Radical, yet compact

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one is a bit harder for me to review than I expected. First off, I love it, but I preferred the 2 books this one is based on. So, I felt slightly disappointed, but it is unfair to judge this one on those merits. (It would be like reviewing the summary after reviewing a beloved book.) If you have read the other two books, this may not be the book for you. However, the gist of those books is contained, so I really do love this one. I have friends who do not do much reading, due to lack of interest or time, and I am thinking that this would be perfect for those friends. Hopefully, this shorter, more compact book, will lead them to wanting to know more about the impact they can make on others. Even if they don't choose to go more indepth with their reading, this is a perfect size for anyone to refresh and renew the commitment their faith walk. I pray it is a catalyst for me to seriously consider my priorities and the emphasis I place on Jesus and sharing Him with others.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What is Jesus worth to you?

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Asian countries believers in Jesus Christ face hardship every day. Every day they are faced with the potential loss of home, family, freedom and their very life. And yet they still continue to meet together with their fellow believers to worship. They travel, often on foot and in the middle of the night, many miles just to meet with others. They spend their time not praying for a release from the relentless persecution they face, rather they spend their time worshiping, truly worshiping Jesus. Praising Him for who He is, for what He has done. They have an uncanny grasp on who Jesus really is.
A grasp it seems most people of European descent, which includes the country I’m proud to call home, lack. It’s not that we think Jesus is less than God, we know He is very God and very man. But we’ve made Him a god in our own likeness.
My husband told me a quote he heard,
“God made man in His likeness,
And man returned the favor.”
Now that might be true for Americans, but I doubt it’s true for all Americans or even all Christians worldwide. But it does bear pondering.
David Platt in his book, The Radical Question, says,
“But do you and I realize what we are doing at this point? We are molding Jesus into our image and making Him look like us. And the danger now is that when we gather to sing and lift our hands in worship, we are not actually worshiping the Jesus of the Bible. Instead, we are worshiping ourselves.”
His question then is, “What is Jesus worth to us? To you?” What are we willing to give up for the cause of Christ? Would we willing give up our multi-million dollar churches? Our homes? Our cars? Our weekly dinners out? Our Starbucks? Our designer clothes? Are we willing to live in the land and lap of luxury and not crave our slice of the American pie? Can we live trying to keep up with the Joneses only not materially but spiritually? Can we look at someone living life sold out to Jesus Christ and say, “I want that! Only I want more than what they have!” ? Can we?
This book was very convicting. It was also what I had been thinking and pondering in my own life lately. I don’t want to settle for mediocre Christianity. I want to dive in. I want to be immersed in Jesus.
There was only a couple of things I didn’t care for in the book. I am really about sick to death of Christians trying to guilt trip American believers. God placed each one of us in America for a reason. He could have placed us in Asia or the Middle East or Africa. But He, in His infinite wisdom set us here. Our boundaries are the borders of the United States of America. But our influence reaches world wide. Yes, I am blessed. Yes, compared to most of the rest of the world I am rich beyond compare. But it is because God and His grace, His plan and not my doing.
The other thing, yes we are commanded to help the poor. Why do we think the poor are only those lacking vast financial resources? What about the rich business man who is poor emotionally? Or spiritually? Are we not to care for and help those as well?
Why do we equate helping with giving a hand-out? Look at all the aid the USA has provided both at home and abroad, have we wiped out poverty? Have we made anyone rich with our handouts? No. In fact, I might dare go on to say, we’ve made the problem worse. The way to help the poor is not to give them a handout, but a hand UP. Even for those in the church.
It is one thing to help financially when someone’s needs exceed their income at that time. It is another thing to enable someone to not work for their living, to not work for and earn everything they have. The Bible very clearly states, “if a man does not work, he won’t eat.” (yes, that is my paraphrase.)
So while we are running around handing out money hand over fist to those we think are poor, we are completely ignoring their real need. Which is Jesus. Money does not heal all wounds. Those poor are not just lacking finances.
Of course before we can see Jesus as the true answer to their needs, we have to realize He is the true answer to our needs as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Overview

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mattparks35
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Platt has combined the question from his ground-breaking and fresh book, Radical, with the collective call of all believers from his second book in the series, Radical Together, to form this small volume. This edition is two for one, containing both of his short publications, The Radical Question and The Radical Idea. Together these two short works form concise introductions to his major works.
The information in this edition is nothing we haven’t heard, but it has been long forgotten and neglected by many Christians today. Platt challenges believers to be radical in their faith by asking the question: What is Jesus worth to you? He follows this question with the idea that people are the instigators of real growth in the church today. It is people—not performances, places, programs, or professionals—who come together with radical obedience to Christ’s commandments that will spread the gospel with an unstoppable force. If the collective community of the body of Christ would come together and pursue Christ and each other for the love of Christ, nothing would be able to stop the viral spread of the gospel.
I received this book free of charge as part of a Blogging for Books program and was not obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2-in-1?

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read and reviewed Radical... and was deeply challenged. When I was given the opportunity to review this one, I thought, "Great! I would love to read it!"
"2 books in 1!" I was disappointed. The Radical Question is really just the first chapter from the book Radical. I haven't read Radical Together, but I would assume that The Radical Idea is the same thing - the first chapter.
So, needless to say, it's a short book. It would probably take about 30 minutes to read and ponder (if uninterrupted).
Even though I was disappointed that it wasn't what I thought it was, I still think it could make a good gift. Perhaps you've read Radical and you want to encourage someone else to pick up the book. This would be a great way to "bait" them into it, to see if they'd like to read more. The two parts of the book (Question/Idea) are still extremely thought provoking and challenging, so I can't say "Don't buy it." Just be aware that it isn't both books in their entirety.
I received this book for free via WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The perspectives above are entirely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What is Jesus worth to you? (Question from the back cover of The Radical Question/A Radical Idea) This is a question that should shake all believers to the core. What value do we place on Christ? Do we desire Him above all else? More importantly do our actions back up our words?
In this book David Platt has taken snipets from two books he has written (Radical and Radical Together) on the topic of what Biblical Christianity is meant to be and how we are to fulfill the call Christ has for the church. In those books he makes the point that we as followers of Christ must serve Him radically since He deserves that and so much more. Great questions and discussion found in those books.
And that is the problem with The Radical Question/A Radical Idea - it isn't needed. All that is in them is found in those others. So I think that to review this book I need to recap the reviews I had of the others.
After reading both I came away convicted and pushed away. Platt urges the reader to make much of Christ by reaching everyone we can with the Gospel. He teaches that we need to put much of our efforts into reaching the hurt, hungry and dying with the love of Christ. I agree with that entirely.
Where I disagree with Platt is that he puts so much emphasis on reaching those in other countries that he neglects ministering to those in our communities. He does mention them but just briefly, not nearly as much as those around the world.
And he does that in this book. It is unfortunate. Just look around your community. Are we to neglect them for the world? Leave them to die on the streets? Of course not. Nor should we ignore going beyond the borders of the USA. It isn't an either/or proposition. It’s a both/and. That is what Christ did. That is what the apostle Paul did. It is what we should be doing.
It is my prayer that I have the desire to reach everyone I come in contact with the Gospel. That is David Platt’s goal as well. Did he need to tell us that in another book? No. He did in two others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little book with a great message

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this 2-in-1 book from Blogging for Books because it was the only print book available, and I didn’t really think it would be very interesting. However, I was excited to discover that is an incredible book. In the first book, The Radical Question, David Platt asks the question ‘How much is Jesus worth to you?’ and explains what total commitment to Jesus might look like in action. The second book, A Radical Idea, speaks about the need to reach out to people in our homes, not just in churches, and how equipping people to effectively witness in the community is more important than having a fancy church building and a great preacher. Bottom line: this book is a challenge to be more committed to serve God and to reach out to people. While the book is really small, there is a powerful message in it. I would recommend this book.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reviewing the Radical Primer

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location:Denver
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
“Imagine that your church had no buildings or facilities whatsoever. Could you still make disciples?” This is one of the questions (page 84) that David Platt raises in his dual book The Radical Question and A Radical Idea. The answer is, of course, yes. The church did just fine without ginormous monoliths and multimillion dollar facilities. They in fact thrived on not having those things, it meant more money to give away and help those in need. But it is a question I think the modern church misses all too much. We might even be tempted to say, “Of course not! Where would we bring people?”
This brief book (excerpts from his two larger books Radical and Radical Together) provide a nice primer to the subjects he covers in those books. That said, I just can’t for the life of me see what the point of this book is. The larger premise is something I agree with (more on that below) but I don’t get why we need a book that has excerpted chapters from other books that are readily available. Do we really need to spend money reading a few chapters, like them, and then have to go out and spend more money buying the full book? It would be about like paying to see a trailer for a new movie and then having to go pay to see the movie too.
That said, I want to review the content a bit more closely. I like the premise of this book (and therefore the full books too). We need to be less institutionally focused and more people transformation focused. The larger, gathered church still has a purpose, but we have replaced as a way to worship with being the way to worship. Jesus’ call to make disciples who make disciples is not one bound by four walls, a nice choir and a set time. It is instead one that permeates every facet and dimension of our lives and needs to be lived out in front of others in the context of community.
This quote goes a long way in establishing his gentle and yet firm critique of American churches. “...I was overwhelmed by the differences between our version of Christianity that prevails among our brothers and sisters around the world. Instead of weeping together on our faces before God, we calmly sit on plush chairs in beautiful buildings. Instead of going against the grain in our culture, we settle into our culture with lifestyles that are virtually indistinguishable from the world around us. Instead of a simple, costly, humble, authentic, passionate, risky pursuit of Christ, we prioritize clean, elaborate, entertaining, slick, innovative church programs and performances that cater to our personal tastes. And in light of these differences, I am convinced we need to answer a fundamentally important question. What is Jesus worth to us?”
The call he raises in this book is a legitimate one, and one that I have heard more and more people adopting. As the American church looks to regain her voice in today’s society, Platt’s book can serve as a useful tool that have sensed for awhile that something is wrong but aren’t sure where to turn.
I read the book in just a few house and it left me wanting more. My suggestion, skip this little primer and jump straight to the full books.
For more on David Platt and his Radical book series visit: http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=103707
Disclaimer: I reviewed a free copy of this book through the BloggingForBooks program offered by WaterBrook Multnomah publishing. I was in no way compensated for this review and all views are solely and completely my own. I was not required to offer a positive review either through the publisher or author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read Radical. I've heard some great things about it, but figured it was similar to Not a Fan and the K.P. Yohannan books I had read.
This book was a summary of David Platt's 2 books, Radical and Radical Together. It has definitely made me want to read them both! The concepts he presents are exactly what the Lord has convicted me of the last couple years.
He challenges the church's
This is a teaching desperately needed in the American church today!
I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for this review.
" Instead of radical devotion to Jesus, we so easily settle for nominal devotion to him while we indulge ourselves in other pursuits. We are captivated by an American dream. Told at every turn to believe in ourselves, trust ourselves, and promote ourselves, we work to gain it all; a comfortable life, a good career, a decent family. Sure we tack church attendance onto the end of everything, nut at the core our lives are consumed with a dream of success, security, safety and satisfaction in all this world has to offer."
"Jesus is worthy of more in our lives than a Christian spin on the American dream."
"God has a purpose for {your} life that is greater than the pursuit of the next and bigger thing...surrounding every facet of {your} life to knowing Jesus and making His worth known in all the world."
It means "following Jesus for who He is, not for who we have created Him to be. Deciding not to play games with their lives and in church while billions around the globe suffer and die without Christ. Forsaking the priorities and pursuits of this world so that {our} lives might count in this world or the spread of the gospel and the glory of Christ."
"Lets stop living as if we need more possessions, greater positions, more plaudits, or greater pleasures in this world. For that matter let's stop living as if this world is even our home."
"We are called to spur one another toward Christ and His agenda in the world."
"I want people in the church to be able to fulfill the purpose for which they were created without being dependent on gifted preachers, nice buildings, and great programs to do it for them."
"The goal is always for all of God's people to be equipped and empowered to lead as many people as possible to Christ."
"Why not invite people from our neighborhoods, not to go to church with us, but to come across the street and into our homes with us? Home is where we could show the gospel to their children while we also share life with them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It was ok...

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Two books in one. Well, actually I fell like it's more like two pamphlets in one, since each 'book' is only about 50 pages long, and with the book being approximately 4"x6", we're not talking big pages. I sat and read both "books" in less than 30 minutes.
The first 'book', The Radical Question, is about what Jesus is worth to you...I feel like it read more like a summery (since it's a follow-up to Pratts book, Radical)....Though Pratt brings up very valid points,
"This is where we come face to face with a dangerous reality. We do have to give up everything to follow Jesus[......]But we don't want to believe it. we are afraid of what this might mean for our lives. So we rationalize these passages away. (in reference to Luke 9:57-62). [....] 'What Jesus really meant was...' And this is where we need to pause. We need to pause because we are redefining Christianity according to our preferences. We are giving in to the dangerous temptation to take the Jesus of the bible and begin twisting Him into a version of Jesus that we are more comfortable with."
I also feel some parts of the book read, "Give until it hurts, give, give give! Put everything in the collection plate and don't worry."
I don't believe in giving until it hurts. I believe in giving what you can (after all, God will know if your offering is true). I went to a church once that did nothing but talk about giving to the church. They told stories about people who were jobless and tithed away the money meant for their heating bill (because they had to tithe no matter what!) and they then got a check from their old job (one they didn't even know they had). It was all about money.
And I feel this book talks a lot about abandoning money and possessions and following Jesus a little to literal.
As for the second 'book', A Radical Idea. This 'book' is more for churches than individual and I...really didn't get this 'book'....nothing stood out, and I really felt like I was reading more of a blog post, or church bulluton....
All in all....
It was an OK book and I think it did bring ups some valid points...But I feel like this book was rather pointless and there really was no need to publish it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not fond of over worded quick summaries. But the book did a have a good underlying point. I'm not sure how to summarize a book that has already been summarized. I understand he wants to tell who Jesus is to him and where He is in his life. It was not a bad book, just not one I would have chosen for myself.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very challenging message

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very short introduction to his first and second book Radical and Radical Together. It is a very quick read but it has a powerful message in it. I think it does a solid job of introducing you to his other books. I love the opening example of how the church meets in a closed country in Asia where being a Christian can get you killed. These people gather to worship God and pray together no matter the cost. I think he does a good job getting his point across and it is a powerful message to remember the church is about people, not buildings and programs. The church can get caught up in materialism the same way we can personally while we pursue our "American dream". A good, challenging read.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Radical Question and A Radical Idea / Combined volume - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Short but powerful

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can read this book in day, but God will use it to change your life for much longer.
David Platt is definitely one of my all time favorite pastors. I remember reading Radical for the first time and being completely blown away by this idea of being more than a church going, no cussing, Christian.
I didn't read the second book to Radical, but heard great things about it and as I've been reading through 'A Radical Idea' I've definitely added Radical Together to a list of books I want to read.
Maybe you have or haven't read Radical. That's okay either way. Wanna know why? Because if you have read it, this quaint little book will re-ignite that passion you had when you first read it and if you haven't then you'll definitely be wanting to pick it up afterwards. This is definitely something the Lord uses to give us all a heart check.
Often times we live in our cute houses with our nice cars and cool clothes and never stop to think of the person who is starving to death or without a home or without a family. Can you imagine actually being thankful for your family? Ludicrous I know! (That's sarcasm by the way.) Do you really believe that this life of luxury is the life the Lord intended for us to live? The One who said to "love your neighbor as yourself" and yet we constantly overlook our neighbors as if they don't exist. I certainly don't believe a life lived for ourselves is what God wants. I believe that's a complete contradiction to what He saved us from and if you read this book you might be enlightened to this point as well.
This book is definitely one you can read in a day,but it's probably one you might want to work your way through bit by bit because you will for sure have thoughts about your life now and how you might or might not be making His name known.
I encourage you to cross the threshold and see your life through the Lord's eyes in no fear and giving it all up for Him. Ultimately you must answer this question that Platt asks,
What is Jesus worth to you?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.