Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monarch Books The Heavenly Man - eBook

Monarch Books The Heavenly Man - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.959 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Review 1 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changed my perspective

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book changed my perspective on many things about my life. To realize how easy I have it in America, even when things are bad, I haven't had to go through much at all compared to this brother. We are blessed on one aspect in that we don't have the persecution he had, but maybe we would be closer to the Father if we had some. God puts each of us where we are, so I'm not asking for persecution, but through this book will try to be bolder and learn to know God in a closer, more real way and should persecution come, from his example, be a bolder Christian!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is an eye opener & interesting.

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MOFox
Location:Saint James, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to everyone whom wants to learn about Christians in China and how they are treated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Significant motivating and challenging read.

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tscott
Location:Bellingham, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavenly Man is an inspiring story of the working of the Holy Spirit in the lives of many many people in China. The story centers on Brother Yun, but the power of the anointing in his life forever changed the lives of thousands if not millions of Chinese people. Along the way Brother Yun suffered (he and his family) many times and in many ways for the Gospel. The description of his sufferings and the lessons he learned continue to challenge me today. My life was and is impacted by this book in that I am challenged to live a much more abandoned, sold out, sacrificial life for my Savior.
Thank you Brother Yun for putting into words what God has done through you, for all people everywhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every Christian

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LRose
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will challenge you in your faith, which is a good thing! It really made me think about things I hadn't given much thought to before and made me realize some areas of my relationship with God where I am making mistakes. I am so thankful for reading this book; the lessons and stories it provides are irreplaceable.
Brother Yun is truly a man of God and has been through so much in the name of the Lord. But in his perseverance and unfailing love for humanity is a message that I think anyone who reads it will take to heart. In all his torture and imprisonment Yun remains rooted in Jesus and doesn't even hold anger towards his attackers; yet in the West where there isn't such persecution people can be afraid to even mention God or Jesus because they might get a dirty look. It really makes you evaluate your faith and how much trust you are actually putting in God. Brother Yun is human, of course, so he does admit to times when he has failed God or grown weak in his relationship with Him, but this makes his story more relatable. Brother Yun is just a person, like all of us, but his commitment and love for Jesus is a powerful example for Christians.
I liked how near the end of the book it really all comes together in terms of what Yun has learned from the journey the rest of his book just explained. It points things out I never thought about too much before and gave me a new perspective on how to approach my relationship with God. One of the main ideas that is mentioned a few times in the book is my favorite; don't quote me exactly but it is something like this: Don't focus on the answers you think you need from God but center your life around Jesus and the answers will come.
I have to be honest, a couple times I was taken aback at certain things or kind of said in my head, "Come on...really?!" But I think most of these reactions are from one of two things. Either the translation/cultural differences in how we describe things or the fact that you just don't hear this kind of story every day. It is miraculous. It can be hard to believe at times, but I do believe it and it is such an amazing testimony that God can do anything and is faithful to those who are faithful to Him.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!!!

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Author Amanda Beth
Location:MI
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely amazing book! It's like reading stories from the New Testament. It just goes to show us that there's so much more God wants to do in and through us. We've settled in our busy lives and let too many "things" take our time and attention away from God and His will. I was very humbled by Brother Yun's powerful, heartfelt testimony. The prison escape story was absolutely amazing. I even went on Wikipedia to see what they said about it. They stated, "It is reported that the official investigation by the Chinese Government concluded that 'Yun received no human help in his escape.'" Love that! God is awesome! I only hope I could be as brave as Yun to keep my faith in the face of such intense persecution. Truly inspiring!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read by everyone

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bruster
Location:Verona Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book spoke to my heart greatly and constantly brought me to tears. I would recomend that as many people as posible get this book read it and pass it on to someone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opener

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Praying
Location:Burbank
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read for any Christian, to get an idea of what it means to be a Christian in other countries, and to see God at work in China, amazing story, you won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BenHur
Location:Arad, Romania
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to tell you that this book is awesome. I cried a lot when I read about these real experiences with God this man truly had. I felt like being far away from what God wants from me.
I am almost sure that no other autobiography over here is so awesome like this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It gave us a good example of proper missions work

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rich
Location:Buffalo, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
He stated the fact that sometimes groups want to put their preferences on those in other countries that just need to study the Word of God. A proper understanding of the Word of God can come through study and meditation. It might be preparing us in America what could be coming to those who stand up for the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
cecil
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!! It will blow your mind put it back together, then blow it again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very inspiring

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bouclier
Location:Quebec, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has changed my perspective on many things. God is powerful today and nothing is impossible to him. It showed me that the very source of peace, and strength to go on in times of trouble is in nothing else and in nobody else but the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Testimony!!

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MerryMary
Location:Minnesota USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the better autobiographies I have ever read!
The faith of this servant of God and his wife are an inspiration to me to go forth boldly, witnessing for Jesus. He gives one a challenge not to "kick back" in sharing our faith. God has truly worked in the lives of this man, and his wonderful wife and mother as well. God has done miracles galore, using this servant and other Christians in China. A real blessing!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written book and a great look at what Christians in other parts of the world are going through. It gives a personal look at persecution that is occurring in our own day and age. The author was born the same year I was. If God had had me born in another part of the world, that could have been my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Next to the Bible this book is my favorite

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
David
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For true followers of Christ, its a book that will prepare one for the events/times coming to America. Brother Yun is sent to the west to prepare us for how to cope with the end times, in a way that will glorify God. This is not a book for people looking for the gospel that is currently taught in a majority of churches in America.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miracles still occur in bunches!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
eharrisca
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The incredible life story of Brother Yun who completely surrendered to the will of God regardless of the hardship. A consummate evangelist and preacher of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, he endured unspeakable torture for his soul winning activities. God's abundant grace manifests itself in numerous miracles that sustain and protect Brother Yun. He was apparently one of the Christians the Lord used to multiply exponentially the number of believers in China.
An inspirational read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Gardner
This book is probably one of the most inspiring my husband and I ever read. A MUST-READ for every true, radical christian believer. His story will blow you away and make you realize how much we have it easy as christians, here in America.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel Futrell
Reading the miracles God performed in the life of Brother Yun is like reading the miracles God did through Paul in the the book of Acts. It is amazing to see the lengths God will go to, to sustain and build His Church in the face of severe persecution.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pastor Tom
This book is an eye opener to things we already know, but often forget. It opens your eyes to the real battle - all of the details of life are not important, the gospel is. It is very inspiring.Pastor Tom
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bruce W. Olson
Wonderful! One of the absolute best biographies I've ever read. Inspiring. Everyone should read this wonderfuland blessed story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Heavenly Man - eBook
This review is fromThe Heavenly Man.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Will Li
The German evangelist Reinhard Bonnke wrote:"You may begin reading the book 'The Heavenly Man' on your couch, but you will finish it on your knees. This is what happened to me. Anyone reading these pages will not remain the same. Brother Yun's testimony wakes and shakes us up. This is the message: In the fiercest persecution God's people, filled with the Holy Spirit, are invincible! They out live and out die the enemies of God and fill the world with the glorious Gospel of Jesus Christ. We are condemned to Victory! This is not only true for China, but also for the rest of the world."There are few books in one's life that can make a dramatic, long lasting impact. The Heavenly Man will not only challenge the reader, it will leave the reader in utter awe of the indescribable emotional, uplifting, and true tale told through this man. Yun has been through the fires of persecution that few people on earth could even imagine. Through the love of Christ, he has not only overcome the forces of the world, but has become a beacon of light that testifies to God's grace reaching every corner of the earth! His life and testimony is an example of the exemplary life every every Christian should strive for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.