Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life

Are you fed up with the "must" and "should" demands of life? Scazzero was---and left everything behind to begin a transforming journey of biblical "quitting." Here she shows you how to choose loving relationships over damaging dependencies, freedom over fear, truth over lies, responsibility over blame---and authentic life in Christ over superficial spirituality. 224 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
Review 1 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
This review is fromI Quit!: Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish I read this book years ago!

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
TJJA
Location:Northeast, US
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading this two nights ago and I felt as if the author and I were separated at birth! While our situations were different, our feelings and attitudes were the same. This is a must read book if you are putting everyone's wants before your own, feel guilty about saying "no" because you feel as a Christian you should always be "on", or because you're just plain worn out and don't know who you are anymore because you've become an extension of someone else. I enjoyed this book because the author didn't write this book with a bunch of psychobabble and useless information just to fill pages. She got right to the important points. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
As Geri Scazzero explains in her book, I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything is Fine and Change Your Life, quitting is vital to gaining a healthy spiritual and psychological state. Quitting is not simply admitting defeat, but rather "dying to the things that are not of God." Over the eight chapters of her book, Scazzero outlines the areas in her life in which she needed to finally quit: being afraid of what others think, lying to herself and others, dying to the wrong things, denying natural emotions, blaming herself and others, overfunctioning, faulty thinking, and living someone else's life.
Overall, I Quit! is a great guide that teaches readers to give up the things in life that are draining happiness and threatening relationships. Scazzero's advice is practical, and can easily be implemented into real life situations. Although the book is geared toward Christians, secular readers can easily benefit from it. Scazzero addresses God and religion, as well as the need for deep prayer. However, the majority of the book offers self-help advice and anecdotes from her personal life. At times, the numerous personal stories were a bit distracting. Many, however, contributed because they illustrated how Scazzero's quitting method improved her life significantly.
One of my favorite sections of the book examined the nine Enneagram personality types. These are the perfectionist, the giver, the achiever, the romantic, the observer, the dutiful, the adventurer, the asserter, and the peacemaker. While each of these personality types appear positive, they are actually unconstructive, and must be given up in order to live the life intended for us by God. Like all other problems addressed in her book, Scazzero provides a useful solution for each of these problematic personality types. I highly recommend this book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift my son ask for

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Location:Lebanon, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift my son specifically ask for after seeing it in a catalog I received from you. I glanced through it and told him I would like to read it when he is finished. Looks like it will be a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIFE CHANGING BOOK

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Luoma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT WORK - OUR CHURCH LEADERSHIP ARE ALL READING IT IN THE HOPES OF BETTER UNDERSTANDING OURSELVES AND THOSE AROUND US. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
This review is fromI Quit!: Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glean what you can, and I gleaned alot

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything is Fine and Change your Life
This book is for those who think they have to live two lives: the Christian one and the other one. This book is for those who think they have to put on a Christian façade. This book is for those who think the Christian life is all about sacrifice. This book is for those who think the Christian life is fake. I also think this book is for adults with self-esteem issues.
I originally saw this book advertized in a MOPs magazine. When it became available free on Kindle, I downloaded it. While the things Scazzero was doing as a pastor’s wife and mother, she did them because she had to and she felt should “rather than a gift freely given. [She] mistakenly believed [she] didn’t have a choice.” All of us can get burned out doing things we think we should, because other people think we should, or because we think we have to. This book is about identifying falsehoods, errors in thinking, while identifying God’s call on our life and reclaiming our identity in Christ—the person God has called us to be.
Some have commented that this book does not show a balanced view between sacrifice and putting others first while saying no when necessary and appropriate. Some have commented that this book is too personal and the author vents and rants too much like a therapy session. I will agree that some of her examples and comments seem a little over the top. But rarely can you take 100% of a self-help type book and apply it exactly as the author describes. We are different people with different circumstances. Glean what you can and apply as best fits your situation.
I could relate to many of the examples Scazzero cited as well as the warning signs she mentions. Bottom line—the author is trying to communicate that we shouldn’t be so worried about what others think of us to completely ignore all our wants and needs and be fake just to make others happy. If we are unhappy, we need to identify why—this alone could be difficult and be a bigger, deeper issue than what it would seem.
I also think this is the best book I have read that can help adults with self-esteem issues.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
This review is fromI Quit!: Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a book to make you stop and finally say "enough"

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
gail
Location:conn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you reach your end and want to stop pretending and performing in order to earn approval, keep them from getting mad, 'don't rock the ship', be a good and quiet and dutiful Christian etc..... read this and do the suggested activities...really just stop and think and write down real thoughts in response to the questions. My life has changed forever. Thank you God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
This review is fromI Quit!: Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book really hits home!

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lenni Jo Copeland
Location:Montrose, Colo
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been a true God send. At the time it was needed, the information it contains, the relateability and the hope that it gives. Thank you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Quit! Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life
This review is fromI Quit!: Stop Pretending Everything Is Fine and Change Your Life - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thankful for message of book.

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kittyhawk
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book is great. I so appreciate that I was able to read it for free. So, thank you! The ereader was difficult to use. Maybe I don't understand how it works but navigation backwards and forwards was tedious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.